CHAPTER VI

CHAPTER VIINTELLECTUAL AND RELIGIOUS FORCES OF WALLA WALLA COUNTY; EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS OF WALLA WALLAWhile the eastern parts of the United States and pre-eminently New England, above all the State of Massachusetts, have assumed, and to considerable degree justly, that they hold priority in education, yet the people of the Far-West may rightfully claim that within the past dozen or twenty years they have made such gains in educational processes and results as to place them in the front rank. The report of the Russell Sage Foundation a few years ago that for all 'round efficiency the schools of Washington State were entitled to first place in the United States, was not surprising, though gratifying to those familiar with the extraordinary growth in equipment and teaching force during the last decade. As is well known, several western and Pacific Coast states outrun all others in freedom from illiteracy, having practically no permanent residents of proper age and normal faculties unable to read and write. It is one of the glories of American democracy, and in fact the logical consequence of self-government in this or in any country, that the craving for knowledge and power and advancement exists in the masses. Thus and thus only can democracy justify its existence. In the West, and perhaps even most intensely in the Pacific Coast states, the ambition to succeed, the spirit of personal initiative, the feelings of independence and equality, were the legitimate product of the pioneer era.Jefferson SchoolGreen Park SchoolLincoln SchoolWashington SchoolSharpstein SchoolSCHOOLS OF WALLA WALLAThe state builders, the offspring of the immigrant train, the homesteaders of the Walla Walla country, were, like other westerners, anxious to bequeath to their children better opportunities for education than they in their primitive surroundings could command. Hence they had hardly more than satisfied the fundamental necessities of location, shelter, and some means of income than they began to raise the question of schools. In the earliest numbers of theWashington Statesmanthe pioneer newspaper of the Inland Empire, beginning in 1861, we find the question of suitable school buildings raised. But that was not the beginning. It is interesting to recall that Doctor and Mrs. Whitman were constantly active in maintaining a school at Waiilatpu, not only as a missionary enterprise for the Indians, but, as time went on, for the children of the immigrants, who gradually formed a little group around the mission. Then after the long period of Indian wars and the establishment of the United States garrison in its present location, there was provision made in 1857 for teaching the children of the garrison together with a few stray children in the community. The teacher of that little group was Harry Freeman of the first dragoons, Troup E. The building used was on the garrison grounds. Among the children were several well known later in Walla Walla and the state, as James and Hugh McCool and their sister Maggie, afterwards Mrs. James Monaghan, mother of the gallant Lieutenant Monaghan, who lost his life heroically in the Samoan Islands and for whom a commemorative monument stands at the southern end of the Monroe Street bridge in Spokane. In that first little company of school children were Robert Smith, Mrs. Michael Kenny, and the Sickler girls, one of whom is now Mrs. Kyger. The first school within the limits of Walla Walla was conducted in 1861-2 by Mrs. A. J. Miner in a private house at about what would now be Alder and Palouse streets. Another pioneer teacher was J. H. Blewett.PUBLIC SCHOOLSPrior to 1862 there had been no public school organization. The scholastic needs of the children had been recognized, however, in the first permanent organization of the county on March 26, 1859, by the appointment of Wm. B. Kelly as superintendent of schools. At the election of July 14, 1862, J. F. Wood was chosen superintendent, and District Number 1 was organized, a room rented, and a teacher appointed. Progress seems to have lagged, however, until the fall of 1864, in which year the census showed a school population of 203, though of that number only ninety-three were enrolled. A meeting on December 12th of that year voted to levy a tax of 2½ mills for the erection of a building. Dr. D. S. Baker donated the land now occupied by the Baker School and a building was erected at a cost of $2,000, the first public school building in the Inland Empire. In 1868 a second district numbered 34 was organized in the southwestern part of town at the corner of Willow and Eighth streets. That building with some additions served its purpose till 1879, and in that year the Park Street building, in use for a number of years, was put up at a cost of $2,000. Districts number 1 and 34 were consolidated by the Legislature in 1881 and the board of directors consisted of the directors of the two districts. As a matter of record it is worth while to preserve the names of that board: H. E. Johnson, D. M. Jessee, B. L. Sharpstein, N. T. Caton, Wm. O'Donnell, and F. W. Paine. E. B. Whitman was clerk.By vote of the district on April 29, 1882, a much more ambitious plan of building was adopted, one commensurate with the progress of the intervening years, and a tax of $17,000 was levied for the purpose of erecting a brick building. That building accordingly was realized on the Baker School ground, in which many of the present "grave and reverend seigniors" of Walla Walla had their first schooling. Not until 1889 was there any high school work in Walla Walla. In that year Prof. R. C. Kerr, who was city superintendent, met the few pupils of high school grade in the Baker School building. In the following year those pupils were transferred to the Paine School, now known as the Lincoln School, which had been erected in 1888.FIRST HIGH SCHOOL CLASSThe first high school class was graduated in 1893. Up to 1900 there was a total number of high school graduates of eighty. New buildings have beenadded from time to time and new courses established, with suitable equipment and teaching force. Perhaps we can in no way better indicate the growth of the schools of Walla Walla County and city, than by incorporating here a report prepared by County Supt. G. S. Bond in 1900 for a history of Walla Walla by the author of this work, and contrast with it the last report of City Supt. W. M. Kern. While Walla Walla and adjoining communities have not been considered as of rapid growth, compared with some other parts of the state, a perusal of these reports, seventeen years apart, will give the present citizen some conception of the changes in that short period.Professor Bond's report follows: "It is the primary object of the writer, in preparing this statement, to present to the public a brief recital of the present condition of the educational facilities of Walla Walla County, rather than attempt to give any account of the history and growth of those facilities. Were it even desirable to do so, it would, for two reasons, prove a somewhat difficult undertaking. The records compiled by the earlier school officers are quite incomplete, if compared with present requirements, and the subdivision of the original county into the present counties of Columbia, Garfield, Asotin and Walla Walla occasioned many changes in the various school districts, and led to a complete re-districting and re-numbering. This, the records in the county superintendent's office show, was done between the years 1879 and 1886."In 1891, the county superintendent, by order of the county commissioners, brought together in one book the plats and boundaries of the various districts, numbered consecutively from one to fifty-three. Since that date, to meet the requirements of the constant increase in population, many changes in boundaries have been made and thirteen new districts have been formed, making a total of sixty-six. Six of these are joint with Columbia County."The subdivision of the county into sixty-six school districts brings nearly every section within easy range of school facilities. Especially is this true of the eastern and southern portions where the county is most densely populated. With but few exceptions these districts have good, comfortable schoolhouses, furnished with modern patent desks, and fairly well supplied with apparatus. Six new schoolhouses were built, and a considerable amount of furniture was purchased last year."A movement which is receiving considerable attention and which is proving of great service to the county is the establishment by private enterprise, entertainment or subscription of district libraries. About twenty have received their books which are eagerly read by both pupils and parents. Others are preparing entertainments to raise a library fund. It is greatly to be hoped that our Legislature may pass some law at this session to encourage the district library. It is one of the measures most needed to improve our rural schools."Another feature that is proving of benefit to the country schools is common school graduation. An opportunity to take an examination for graduation is given at various time, to eighth grade pupils in any of the schools. The diplomas admit to high school without further examination. Many take pride in having finished the common school course, and are inducted to remain in school much longer than they otherwise would."Eight districts are at present maintaining graded schools. There seems tobe a growing sentiment in some of the more densely populated sections to gather together their pupils for the superior advantages of the graded schools. Walla Walla (No. 1) provides an excellent four-year high school course. No. 3 (Waitsburg), also has a high school department."Were all the schools in session at the same time there would be required a force of 116 teachers. The districts employing more than one teacher are: Walla Walla—30, Waitsburg—7, Prescott—3, Seeber—3 and Dixie, Wallula, Harrer and Touchet—2 each. Of those employed at this time, 7 hold life diplomas or state certificates, 18 normal diplomas, 25 first grade certificates, 21 second grade, and 15 third grade. Twenty applicants failed last year. If the present crowded condition of the Walla Walla and Waitsburg schools continues next year it will necessitate an increase in the teaching force of five or six at the former place and of one at the latter."The Teachers' Reading Circle was reorganized in January, and meetings have been arranged for the more central points throughout the county. The sessions are well attended, the exercises carefully prepared. About fifty teachers have purchased one or more of the books and enrolled as members. All teachers have free access to a library of about seventy-five volumes, treating principally on theory and practice, or the history and philosophy of education."Our school districts never began a year on a more solid financial basis than they did the present one. Fifty-one of the sixty-six had a good balance to their credit in the hands of the county treasurer. A comparison of the last financial statement with that of previous years is given to mark the increase.Receipts189718981900Balance in hands of county treasurer$9,521.43$9,279.24$25,838.81Amount apportioned to districts by county supt.32,104.5456,210.3158,574.66Amount received from special tax11,761.6226,346.8126,503.99Amount from sale of school bonds500.001,410.00500.00Amount transferred from other districts........................Amounts from other sources131.5482.692,212.15————————————Total$54,019.13$93,347.05$113,629.61Expenditures189718981900Amount paid for teachers' wages........$47,278.95$38,691.71Amount paid for rents, fuel, etc.$38,027.3910,697.7813,653.06Amount paid for interest on bonds2,578.002,645.554,301.00Amount paid for sites, buildings, etc.........2,902.6832,152.61Amount paid for interest on warrants4,113.755,649.781,650.94Amount reverting to general school fund2.75................Amount for other districts................12.86————————————Total$44,721.89$69,173.94$90,962.18Balance on hand9,297.2424,173.1122,667.43"The hard times experienced two or three years ago materially affected teachers' wages in this county. The average amount paid male teachers, according to the annual report of the county superintendent in 1898, was $56.57; for female teachers, $39.54. For 1900, male teachers, $62.50; female teachers, $52.40. There seems however, to be dawning a brighter future for the conscientious teacher. Rigid examinations for two years have lessened the competition from those who entered the work only because they had no other employment; the districts are able to hold longer terms and pay larger salaries now. The minimum salary this year is $40, other rural districts pay $45 and $50. Salaries in the graded schools are from fifty-five to one hundred dollars per month. The average length of term in 1898 was 6½ months; the average from 1900 is 7¾ months."The estimate in the county superintendent's annual report for 1898 places the total value of schoolhouses and grounds at $162,080; of school furniture; $15,317; of apparatus, etc., $3,871; of libraries, $1,690. Amount of insurance on school property, $79,605; of bonds outstanding, $45,300; warrants outstanding, $41,274. The last enumeration of children of school age shows 4,275 resided in the county on June 1st; of these 3,621 were enrolled in the public schools, and made an average daily attendance of 2,076."For 1900, schoolhouses and grounds, $194,060; furniture, $16,350; apparatus, $4,000; libraries, $2,450; insurance, $100,650; bonds outstanding, $75,300; warrants outstanding, $82,721.16; children of school age, 4,767; children enrolled, 4,102; average daily attendance, 2,322. Such was the report of the county superintendent in 1900. Now we present the report of city superintendent, W. M. Kern, for year ending in 1917:EnrollmentBoysGirlsTotalElementary schools1,2801,2342,514High school428393821Night school4681127—————————Total1,7541,7083,462Transfers to high school172643—————————Total actual enrollment1,7371,6823,419Deduct night school4681127—————————Actual enrollment, grade and high school1,6911,6013,292Teachers in city schools, 101; valuation of property of city schools, grounds and buildings, $790,000; equipment, $72,000."Over seven thousand children of school age reside in Walla Walla County, according to the 1917 school census, completed yesterday. The census shows a total population of school children of 7,331. Of this number 3,928 live in the city school districts and the rest in the other districts of the county.HIGH SCHOOL, WALLA WALLA"The number of children in the county this year is almost identical with that of last year, 1917 showing a decline of two. Last year's figures showed 7,333, as against 7,331 this year. In the city there was a decline in the number of children, the census this year being 3,982 as against 4,000 last year. The county districts, however, showed a gain of sixteen."The city school census of 1917 shows the following:Number of pupils receiving diplomas—BoysGirlsTotalGreen Park211233Baker121123Sharpstein174057Jefferson171734Washington8614——————Total, grades7586161High school445599Per cent of attendance—Grades98.17High school98.10"As will have been seen, Professor Kern's report gives a view of the buildings and other successive additions to the facilities of the public schools of Walla Walla City. Similar development has taken place in Waitsburg, Prescott and Touchet, as will be seen from the following. It may be added that the smaller places, and the country districts also, have experienced a like improvement.WAITSBURGWaitsburg has maintained excellent schools for many years. We have presented some facts in regard to the earlier schools of the place, and are giving here a view of present organization and equipment.At this date the board of education consists of Messrs. N. B. Atkinson, J. A. Danielson, and W. J. Taylor. Miss Mary Dixon is clerk. The faculty consists of the following: Superintendent, James H. Adams; high school, principal and instructor in science and athletics, B. B. Brown; instructor in English, Edna McCroskey; instructor in Latin and German, Freda Paulson; instructor in mathematics, Ione Fenton; instructor in history, Elizabeth Nelson; instructor in domestic science and art, Gladys Persels; instructor in manual training and mechanical drawing, Earl Frazier.The Central School contains the grades, eight in number, Anna Goff being principal.Waitsburg is provided with three excellent buildings valued as follows: high school, $20,000; Central School, $25,000; Preston Hall, $35,000. The last named is the pride of the Waitsburg School system. It is, in fact, a structure and an instrumentality of unique interest. It was the gift of W. G. Preston, one of the most conspicuous of the pioneers of Walla Walla County. It was the result of the philanthropic impulse as well as the practical good judgment of its donor, for Mr. Preston had formed the impression during his busy and successful careerthat a knowledge of the manual arts was vital to the average boy and girl. The building was completed in 1913 and was provided with the most perfect equipment for manual instruction which the space would allow. During the past year there were enrolled in the manual training course, thirty-four boys, in the sewing course thirty-five girls, and in the cooking course, thirteen girls. There is also a well-equipped gymnasium in the building. The campus on which the high school and Preston Hall stand contains five acres of land, about half of which is covered with a grove, while the athletic field occupies the remainder of the open space.Some other valuable data we derive from the information kindly supplied by Superintendent Adams. We find, as an interesting point worthy of preservation for future comparison, that the average salary during the past year paid the male teachers was $1,308.75, and that of the female teachers was $746.25. Included in these averages are the superintendent and principals. The total enrollment during 1916-17 was: boys, 216, girls, 208. Percentage of daily attendance was 95.1 for the boys and 95.3 for the girls. The number in the high school was: First year, 48; second year, 30; third year, 28; fourth year, 18; a total of 124. The school library contains the following number of volumes: high school, 700; grades, 400.PRESCOTTPrescott, while not a large town, is an ideal home town in the midst of a magnificent and extensive farming country, and conducts an amount of business quite beyond the ordinary volume for its population. The county tributary to Prescott produces about seven hundred thousand bushels of grain annually, and here is grown the famous blue-stem wheat, the highest grade milling wheat produced in the Northwest. The land here yields from twenty-five to forty bushels of wheat per acre. Crop failures are quite unknown. The laudable pride and ambition of the people has led them to the construction of so fine a school building as to be a source of wonder and admiration to all visitors. In this elegant building there is sustained a high school department of four years curriculum, with four teachers and, during the past year, forty pupils. Part of the building is occupied by the grades. The value of the school property is estimated at fifty-four thousand dollars, the most of which is included in the high school building. Situated upon a slight eminence overlooking the fertile and beautiful Touchet Valley, with the vast sweep of the wheat covered hills closing it in, this Prescott school building presents an appearance which many large towns might envy. During a number of years past a succession of peculiarly well qualified teachers have devoted themselves to the progress of the Prescott schools, and as a result have lifted them to a status which has been indicated in the high grades which the pupils have attained in higher institutions and the efficiency which they have shown in business engagements upon which they may have entered. Prescott obtains its water supply from the snow-capped Blue Mountains, lying twenty miles to the east. Thus being assured of a perpetual supply of pure water. Prescott is noted for its healthfulness.MAIN STREET, PRESCOTTKNIGHTS OF PYTHIAS BUILDING, PRESCOTTDescending the Touchet about twenty miles we reach its junction with the Walla Walla, and there we find another of the fine little towns which border that beautiful and historic stream.TOUCHETThe Town of Touchet is at a lower level, only 450 feet above sea level, and by reason of that and of its more westerly situation it has higher temperature and less rainfall than any other of the Touchet towns. It is consequently an irrigated fruit and alfalfa section. The splendid Gardena District on the south and the productive lands in the Touchet and Walla Walla bottoms north and east and at their junction, give the town a commanding location. It is accordingly an active business center, with several well stocked stores, a bank, an attractive church of the Congregational order, and a number of pleasant homes.The pride of the place, however, like that of Prescott is the school building. This is a singularly attractive building, built for the future, though well utilized in the present. The valuation of school property in the Touchet District is $27,500, practically all represented in the high school building with its equipment. There is a total enrollment of 203 pupils with eight teachers. There are forty pupils in the high school, and a four year course is provided.GENERAL SCHOOL STATISTICSThe following statistics from the report of the state superintendent for 1917 will indicate the general condition of the schools of Walla Walla County. These figures are for the school year 1915-16.MaleFemaleTotalNumber of census children, June 1, 19163,6463,7067,352Number of pupils enrolled in public schools3,1222,8385,960Average daily attendance2,4662,2374,703Total number of teachers employed218Average salary paid high school teachers$ 990.10Average salary paid grade teachers788.45Average salary of superintendents, principals, and supervisors1,328.00Number of children over six years of age not attending school600Number of children between the ages of five and fifteen years not attending school32From every point of view it may be said that the schools of Walla Walla County (as will be seen in later chapters the same is true of Columbia, Garfield, and Asotin counties) have kept pace with the general progress of the regions in which they are located.PRIVATE INSTITUTIONSFrom the public schools we turn to the various private institutions. Foremost of these, and indeed in many respects the most unique and distinctivefeature of Southeastern Washington, both from a historical and existing viewpoint, is Whitman College. This institution grew out of the mission at Waiilatpu, with its brave and patriotic life and tragic end. After the period of Indian wars, beginning with the Whitman Massacre in 1847 and continuing, with some interruptions, till 1858, there occurred a return to Waiilatpu, one of the constructive events in our history. In 1859 Father Cushing Eells came from Forest Grove, Ore., where he had spent some years as a teacher, to the Walla Walla country, with a view to a new enterprise of a very different sort from that which had led Whitman, Spalding, and Gray in 1836, and Eells, Walker, Smith, and Rogers in 1838 to come to Oregon. The first aim was purely missionary. The twenty and more following years had demonstrated the fact that this country was to be a home missionary field, instead of foreign. It was clear to Father Eells that the educational needs of the boys and girls of the new era must be regarded as of first importance. Standing on the little hill at Waiilatpu and viewing the seemingly forsaken grave where Whitman and his associates had been hurriedly interred twelve years before, Father Eells made a vow to himself and his God, feeling as he afterwards said, "The spirit of the Lord upon him," to found a school of higher learning for both sexes, a memorial which he was sure the martyrs of Waiilatpu, if they could speak, would prefer to any other. That vow was the germination of Whitman Seminary, which grew into Whitman College.In pursuance of his plans, Father Eells acquired from the foreign missionary board the square mile of land at Waiilatpu allowed them as a donation claim and there he made his home for several years. It was his first intention to locate the seminary at the mission ground, but as it became obvious that the "city" would grow up near the fort six miles east, he decided that there was the proper place for his cherished enterprise. The years that followed were years of heroic self-denial and unflagging labor by Father and Mrs. Eells and their two sons, Edwin and Myron. They cut wood, raised chickens, made butter, sold vegetables, exercised the most rigid economy, and by thus raking and scraping and turning every energy and resource to the one aim, they slowly accumulated about four thousand dollars for their unselfish purpose. On October 13, 1866, the first building was dedicated. It was on the location of the present Whitman Conservatory of Music. The building was removed to make way for the conservatory and now composes part of Prentiss Hall, a dormitory for young men. The land on which Whitman Seminary and subsequently the college was located was the gift of Dr. D. S. Baker.Space does not allow us to enter into the history of the seminary, but the names of those longest and most efficient in its service should be recorded here. Aside from Father Eells and his family, Rev. P. B. Chamberlain, first pastor of the Congregational Church, with Mrs. Chamberlain and Miss Mary A. Hodgden, were the chief teachers during the time of beginning. Later Prof. Wm. Marriner and Capt. W. K. Grim were the chief principals. Associated with the latter was Mr. Samuel Sweeney, still well known as a business man and farmer, and the only one of the seminary teachers still living in Walla Walla, aside from the author of this work, who was for a short time in charge of it in 1878-9. In 1883 the second great step was taken by the coming of Dr. A. J. Anderson, whohad been for several years president of the State University at Seattle. The history of Doctor Anderson's connection with Whitman College and the general educational interests of Walla Walla and surrounding country constitutes a history by itself worthy of extended notice. He was ably assisted by his wife, one of the finest spirits of early days in Walla Walla, and by his sons Louis and George, the former of whom became later one of the foremost teachers in the expanded college and is now its vice president. With the coming of Doctor Anderson the seminary was raised to college rank with new courses and added teaching force. In the same year of 1883 a new building was erected which served as the main building for nearly twenty years. For the purpose of raising money for further development Father Eells made a journey to the East at that time. Although he was becoming advanced in years and the work was trying and laborious, he succeeded nobly in his aims, securing $16,000 and laying the foundations of friendships which resulted later in largely added amounts. During the eight years of Doctor Anderson's presidency Whitman College, though cramped for funds and inadequately provided with needed equipment, performed a noble service for the region, laying broad and deep the foundations upon which the enlarged structure of later years was reared. Some of the men and women now holding foremost places in every branch of life in the Northwest, as well as in distant regions, were students at the Whitman College of that period.After the resignation of Doctor Anderson in 1891 there was a period of loss and uncertainty which was happily ended in 1894 by what might be considered the third great step in the history of the college. This was the election to the presidency of Rev. S. B. L. Penrose, a member of the "Yale Band" of 1890 and during the three years after his arrival the pastor of the Congregational Church at Dayton. Of the monumental work accomplished by Doctor Penrose during the twenty-three years of his presidency, we cannot here speak adequately. Suffice it to say that while Whitman is still a small college in comparison with the state institutions of the Northwest, the increase in buildings, endowment, equipment, courses and instructors has been such as to constitute a chapter of achievements hard to match among the privately endowed colleges of the United States. We have spoken of three great events in the history of the college, the founding of the seminary by Father Eells, the establishment of the college by Doctor Anderson, and the assumption of the presidency by Doctor Penrose. It remains to add a fourth of the great events. This was the raising by Walla Walla and vicinity of the accumulated debts of a series of years caused by the heroic efforts to keep pace with necessary improvements while resources were still scanty. Due to those conditions the college was heavily encumbered and much handicapped as a result. In 1911 an offer of large additions to the endowment was made by the General Education Society of New York, on condition that all debts be raised. This led to a campaign in 1912 for the funds needed for that purpose. This may truly be called a monumental event, both for the permanent establishment of the college upon a secure foundation, as well as a remarkable achievement for Walla Walla. For though the city and county are wealthy and productive, yet to lay right down on the counter the sum of $213,140.30 was notable and the gift was rendered more remarkable in view of the fact that abouteighty thousand dollars had just been raised for the Young Men's Christian Association, that churches were raising contributions for expensive buildings, that costly school buildings had just been erected, and that the need of a new high school and a new courthouse building was becoming agitated. It may be added that within a year the burning of St. Mary's Hospital precipitated a call for large contributions to replace it. This was duly accomplished in the erection of one of the best hospitals in the Northwest. It is probably safe to say that the amount put into public buildings, together with contributions to the Young Men's Christian Association, the college, and the hospital, during a period of about three years, exceeded a million dollars—a noteworthy achievement even for a wealthy community, and one demonstrating both the liberality and resources of Walla Walla. From the standpoint of Whitman College it may be said that aside from the indispensable aid which this large contribution afforded, there was another result of the campaign equally valuable. This was the commensurate interest felt by the community in the college and all its works. Up to that debt-raising campaign there had been an indifference and in some quarters even a certain prejudice which crippled the efforts of the college management. With the raising of the debt there was a new sense of harmony and community interest which will bring immeasurable advantage to the future both of the college and the community.As a matter of permanent historic interest it is well to incorporate here the names of trustees and faculty, as given in the catalog for 1917.THE BOARD OF TRUSTEESThe president of the college, ex-officio, William Hutchinson Cowles, A. B., Spokane, 1919; Allen Holbrook Reynolds, A. M., Walla Walla, 1919; Louis Francis Anderson, A. M., Walla Walla, 1918; Park Weed Willis, M. D., Seattle, 1920; John Warren Langdon, Walla Walla, 1917; Miles Conway Moore, LL. D., Walla Walla, 1918; Oscar Drumheller, B. S., Walla Walla, 1917; Edwin Alonzo Reser, Walla Walla, 1920.Numbers indicate the years in which terms of trustees expire. The election takes place at the annual meeting in June.OFFICERS OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEESPresident, Miles Conway Moore, LL. D.; treasurer, Allen Holbrook Reynolds, A. M.; secretary, Dorsey Marion Hill, Ph. B.FACULTYStephen Beasley Linnard Penrose, D. D., president and Cushing Eells professor of philosophy; Louis Francis Anderson, A. M., vice president and professor of Greek; William Denison Lyman, A. M., Nelson Gales Blalock professor of history; Helen Abby Pepoon, A. B., professor of Latin; Benjamin Harrison Brown, A. M., Nathaniel Shipman professor of physics; Walter Andrew Bratton, A. B., dean of the science group and Alexander Jay Anderson professor of mathematics; James Walton Cooper, A. M., professor of Romance languages; Howard Stidham Brode, Ph. D., Spencer F. Baird professor of biology; Edward Ernest Ruby, A. M., dean of the language group and Clement Biddle Penrose professor of Latin; Helen Louise Burr, A. B., dean of women; Elias Blum, professor of the theory of music; William Hudson Bleakney, Ph. D., professor of Greek; William Rees Davis, A. M., Mary A. Denny professor of English; Walter Crosby Eells, A. M., professor of applied mathematics and drawing; Raymond Vincent Borleske, A. B., director of physical education; Charles Gourlay Goodrich, M. S., professor of German; Frank Loyal Haigh, Ph. D., professor of chemistry; Arthur Chester Millspaugh, Ph. D., professor of political science; Thomas Franklin Day, Ph. D., acting dean of the philosophy group and acting professor of philosophy; Frances Rebecca Gardner, A. B., acting dean of women; William Ezekiel Leonard, A. M., acting professor of economics and business; Walter Cooke Lee, A. B., associate librarian; Milton Simpson, A. M., acting associate professor of English; Harriet Lulu Carstensen, A. M., assistant librarian; Alice Popper, instructor in French and German; Margaret Lucille Leyda, A. B., instructor in English and physical training for women.Billings Hall, Department of ScienceThe GymnasiumWhitman Memorial BuildingReynold's Hall, Young Ladies DormitoryMcDowell Hall, Conservatory of MusicGROUP OF WHITMAN COLLEGE BUILDINGS, WALLA WALLAThe catalog shows also that at the present date the college owns equipment, buildings, and grounds to the value of $466,091.40 and endowment funds to the amount of $684,247. The expenses for the session of 1915-16 were $88,892.92. The enrollment of students in the literary departments for 1916-17 was 312, and in the conservatory of music 289.The graduates of the college who have received bachelor's degrees during the years 1886-1917 aggregate about four hundred and twenty-five. The large majority of these have received their degrees during the seven years ending with the latter date. Classes were very small up to about 1910. Since that time the number of seniors has been from twenty-five to forty. Besides those who have graduated with the regular college literary and scientific degrees, a large number have graduated from academic, normal and conservatory courses.We are indebted to Mr. W. L. Stirling of the board of trustees of St. Paul's School for Girls for the sketch here subjoined.HISTORY OF SAINT PAUL'S SCHOOL, WALLA WALLASaint Paul's School was opened in September, 1872, as a day school for girls by the Rev. Lemuel H. Wells, a missionary of the Protestant Episcopal Church, who had come to Walla Walla the previous year and organized Saint Paul's Church.Seeing the need of a girls' school, a board of trustees was selected consisting of the Rev. Lemuel H. Wells, John S. Boyer, Philip Ritz, B. L. Sharpstein, A. B. Elmer, Judge J. D. Mix and John Abbott. Funds were obtained in the East and a frame building was erected near the corner of Third and Poplar streets.The school prospered, and it was decided to make it a boarding school. More money was raised in the East and in Walla Walla, more land was purchased and a dormitory was built.In September, 1873, it was opened as Saint Paul's Boarding and Day School for Girls, with Mrs. George Browne as principal. Mrs. Browne was succeededby Miss Henrietta B. Garretson (who later became Mrs. Lemuel H. Wells) and the Rev. J. D. Lathrop, D. D.In the earlier days of the school, pupils from Idaho, Montana and Eastern Oregon frequently paid their tuitions in gold dust, and there were a few cases where payment was even made in produce, such as flour, and potatoes. One parent paid in cattle, which remained on the ranch and multiplied until they paid for an addition to one of the school buildings.The school was successfully maintained until the year 1885, when it was closed. It was reopened in 1897 under Miss Imogen Boyer, as principal. It was incorporated September 14, 1897, by E. B. Whitman, Rev. Francis L. Palmer, B. L. Sharpstein, W. H. Upton, and J. H. Marshall, Rev. F. L. Palmer being chosen its first president.In 1899 a new site was purchased on Catherine Street, and a new three story building erected named "Appleton Hall." The trustees at that time were Bishop Wells, The Rev. Andreas Bard, B. L. Sharpstein, Levi Ankeny, R. F. Smitten and W. H. Upton. Miss Imogen Boyer was principal, and so continued until her resignation in 1903. Under Miss Boyer's administration the school increased substantially in prestige and in the number of pupils in attendance.In 1903 Miss Caroline F. Buck was elected principal, and by formal agreement between Bishop Wells and the board of trustees the school was thenceforth to be conducted as a diocesan school of the Protestant Episcopal Church.In 1904 Miss Buck was succeeded by Rev. Andreas Bard, as principal.In 1906 funds were secured by Bishop Wells for the erection of a new three story brick dormitory named "Ewing Hall" which greatly increased the accommodations for boarders and materially assisted in the growth of the school.In 1907 Rev. Andreas Bard resigned and was succeeded by Miss Anna E. Plympton, who remained until 1910. Miss Nettie M. Galbraith was then elected principal, and under her able administration, assisted by Miss Mary E. Atkinson, as vice principal, the school has grown rapidly year by year until it is now the largest, as well as the oldest school for girls in the State of Washington, and probably in the entire Northwest.In 1911 Bishop Wells secured additional funds for the purchase of the Sharpstein property adjoining the school grounds to allow for expansion in the near future. The acquisition of this fine property 200 feet by 200 feet gave the school a frontage of 543 feet on Catherine Street, one of the finest pieces of property in the city.In 1916, Bishop Herman Page, of Spokane, succeeded Bishop Wells as president of the board of trustees; the other members of the board at that time being Rev. C. E. Tuke, George A. Evans, W. A. Ritz, Dr. F. W. Rees, H. G. Thompson, Dr. H. R. Keylor, J. W. Langdon and W. L. Stirling.The need of increased accommodation for boarders being imperative, Bishop Page undertook to raise the sum of $10,000 to $12,000 for a new building provided $5,000 additional should be subscribed by the people of Walla Walla. This was done and a new fire proof brick building was erected in 1917, containing assembly hall, gymnasium and dormitories, and named "Wells Hall" in honor of Bishop Wells, who had founded the school in 1872 and had ever since been its most constant and devoted supporter. Even with its new equipment the schoolat once became crowded to its capacity, there being fifty boarders, as well as a large number of day scholars, and plans are being considered for another new building.Although the school now has an annual budget of nearly twenty thousand dollars, it has never been entirely self-supporting, being without endowment, and always having given the greatest possible service at a very moderate charge. The raising of an adequate endowment fund is contemplated as soon as circumstances will permit.The school offers a systematic and liberal course of study, maintaining kindergarten, primary, intermediate, grammar, grade, academic and music departments, also special post graduate, business, and finishing courses. The course includes eight years in the elementary school, completed in six or seven years when possible, and four years in the academic department. There is also an advanced course offered for irregular students and for those graduated from the high schools and academies.The instructors are Christian women, and it is the aim of the school to administer to the individual needs of girls; to aid in their moral, intellectual and physical development by offering them the advantages of a well ordered school and the wholesome influence of a refined home. The scholarship of Saint Paul's is attested by the fact that Eastern and Western examiners of leading educational institutions have expressed their willingness to accept its graduates without examination. Saint Paul's covers a wide field, having had among its boarders in recent years scholars from Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, Panama and Alaska.The location of the school is exceptionally fine, the grounds extensive, well laid out and shaded, and the buildings, four in number, are spacious, well constructed and conveniently arranged and equipped.THE CATHOLIC ACADEMIESThe Catholic Church has maintained two academies, one for boys and one for girls, for a number of years. These were founded early in the history of Walla Walla. In 1864 the Sisters of Providence opened the doors of a school for girls on the location where St. Mary's Hospital now stands. Rev. J. B. A. Brouillet was at that time at the head of the local church and the school was officially under his oversight. In 1865 St. Patrick's Academy for boys was opened. This was on the site of the present Catholic Church, and the first teacher was H. H. Lamarche. He acted as principal for fifteen years. In 1899 notable changes occurred in the academy. In that year fine and noteworthy exercises in its dedication occurred under charge of Rev. Father M. Flohr. The presence of Bishop E. J. O'Dea added to the interest of the occasion. In August following three brothers from San Francisco arrived to take charge of the academy. In honor of St. J. B. De La Salle, founder of the congregation to which those brothers belonged, the name of the academy was changed to De La Salle Institute. It opened in September, 1899, with 100 pupils. The numbers and influence of this institute have steadily increased. The teachers at the present are: BrotherLuke, director; Brothers Damien and Daniel, teachers. The number of boys enrolled is eighty.The school for girls, founded in 1864, as stated, developed into St. Vincent Academy, and as such it has occupied a position of great influence and usefulness ever since its foundation. Every facility for academic study, with special attention to the varied accomplishments of music, drawing, painting, and decorative work, as well as the practical branches in needle work, in stenography, and in typewriting, is afforded by St. Vincent's Academy. Extracts from the current reports indicate the present conditions.The Sister Superior in charge of the academy is Sister Mary Mount Carmel. There are six teachers employed at the present time. The enrollment consists of 164 girls and fourteen small boys.WALLA WALLA COLLEGEWalla Walla has become known as an educational center, and in addition to the public schools, and private institutions within the city, there is still another outside the city limits entitled to interest. This is Walla Walla College at College Place, a flourishing suburb of the city. The college is under the direction of the Seventh Day Adventists. It was founded by that denomination in 1892 upon land donated by Dr. N. G. Blalock and has been maintained by contributions from the membership of the church and tuitions from the students. In connection with it there is a well conducted hospital. There is a beautiful and commodious main building, besides the other buildings needful to provide for the large number of students who come from elsewhere and make their home at the college. From the current catalog we derive the following exhibit of the managers and faculty.PRESIDENTS OF WALLA WALLA COLLEGEWilliam W. Prescott, 1892-94; Edward A. Sutherland, 1894-97; Emmett J. Hibbard,1897-98; Walter B. Sutherland, 1898-1900; E. L. Stewart 1900-02; Charles C. Lewis, 1902-04; Joseph L. Kay, 1904-05; M. E. Cady, 1905-11; Ernest C. Kellogg, 1911-17; Walter I. Smith, 1917-.BOARD OF TRUSTEESC. W. Flaiz, College Place, Wash.; H. W. Decker, College Place, Wash.; F. S. Bunch, College Place, Wash.; H. W. Cottrell, Portland, Ore.; J. J. Nethery, College Place, Wash.; J. F. Piper, Seattle, Wash.; G. F. Watson, Bozeman Mont.; F. W. Peterson, College Place, Wash.; E. C. Kellogg, College Place, Wash.OFFICERS OF THE BOARDC. W. Flaiz, chairman; E. C. Kellogg, secretary; F. W. Peterson, treasurer.

CHAPTER VIINTELLECTUAL AND RELIGIOUS FORCES OF WALLA WALLA COUNTY; EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS OF WALLA WALLAWhile the eastern parts of the United States and pre-eminently New England, above all the State of Massachusetts, have assumed, and to considerable degree justly, that they hold priority in education, yet the people of the Far-West may rightfully claim that within the past dozen or twenty years they have made such gains in educational processes and results as to place them in the front rank. The report of the Russell Sage Foundation a few years ago that for all 'round efficiency the schools of Washington State were entitled to first place in the United States, was not surprising, though gratifying to those familiar with the extraordinary growth in equipment and teaching force during the last decade. As is well known, several western and Pacific Coast states outrun all others in freedom from illiteracy, having practically no permanent residents of proper age and normal faculties unable to read and write. It is one of the glories of American democracy, and in fact the logical consequence of self-government in this or in any country, that the craving for knowledge and power and advancement exists in the masses. Thus and thus only can democracy justify its existence. In the West, and perhaps even most intensely in the Pacific Coast states, the ambition to succeed, the spirit of personal initiative, the feelings of independence and equality, were the legitimate product of the pioneer era.Jefferson SchoolGreen Park SchoolLincoln SchoolWashington SchoolSharpstein SchoolSCHOOLS OF WALLA WALLAThe state builders, the offspring of the immigrant train, the homesteaders of the Walla Walla country, were, like other westerners, anxious to bequeath to their children better opportunities for education than they in their primitive surroundings could command. Hence they had hardly more than satisfied the fundamental necessities of location, shelter, and some means of income than they began to raise the question of schools. In the earliest numbers of theWashington Statesmanthe pioneer newspaper of the Inland Empire, beginning in 1861, we find the question of suitable school buildings raised. But that was not the beginning. It is interesting to recall that Doctor and Mrs. Whitman were constantly active in maintaining a school at Waiilatpu, not only as a missionary enterprise for the Indians, but, as time went on, for the children of the immigrants, who gradually formed a little group around the mission. Then after the long period of Indian wars and the establishment of the United States garrison in its present location, there was provision made in 1857 for teaching the children of the garrison together with a few stray children in the community. The teacher of that little group was Harry Freeman of the first dragoons, Troup E. The building used was on the garrison grounds. Among the children were several well known later in Walla Walla and the state, as James and Hugh McCool and their sister Maggie, afterwards Mrs. James Monaghan, mother of the gallant Lieutenant Monaghan, who lost his life heroically in the Samoan Islands and for whom a commemorative monument stands at the southern end of the Monroe Street bridge in Spokane. In that first little company of school children were Robert Smith, Mrs. Michael Kenny, and the Sickler girls, one of whom is now Mrs. Kyger. The first school within the limits of Walla Walla was conducted in 1861-2 by Mrs. A. J. Miner in a private house at about what would now be Alder and Palouse streets. Another pioneer teacher was J. H. Blewett.PUBLIC SCHOOLSPrior to 1862 there had been no public school organization. The scholastic needs of the children had been recognized, however, in the first permanent organization of the county on March 26, 1859, by the appointment of Wm. B. Kelly as superintendent of schools. At the election of July 14, 1862, J. F. Wood was chosen superintendent, and District Number 1 was organized, a room rented, and a teacher appointed. Progress seems to have lagged, however, until the fall of 1864, in which year the census showed a school population of 203, though of that number only ninety-three were enrolled. A meeting on December 12th of that year voted to levy a tax of 2½ mills for the erection of a building. Dr. D. S. Baker donated the land now occupied by the Baker School and a building was erected at a cost of $2,000, the first public school building in the Inland Empire. In 1868 a second district numbered 34 was organized in the southwestern part of town at the corner of Willow and Eighth streets. That building with some additions served its purpose till 1879, and in that year the Park Street building, in use for a number of years, was put up at a cost of $2,000. Districts number 1 and 34 were consolidated by the Legislature in 1881 and the board of directors consisted of the directors of the two districts. As a matter of record it is worth while to preserve the names of that board: H. E. Johnson, D. M. Jessee, B. L. Sharpstein, N. T. Caton, Wm. O'Donnell, and F. W. Paine. E. B. Whitman was clerk.By vote of the district on April 29, 1882, a much more ambitious plan of building was adopted, one commensurate with the progress of the intervening years, and a tax of $17,000 was levied for the purpose of erecting a brick building. That building accordingly was realized on the Baker School ground, in which many of the present "grave and reverend seigniors" of Walla Walla had their first schooling. Not until 1889 was there any high school work in Walla Walla. In that year Prof. R. C. Kerr, who was city superintendent, met the few pupils of high school grade in the Baker School building. In the following year those pupils were transferred to the Paine School, now known as the Lincoln School, which had been erected in 1888.FIRST HIGH SCHOOL CLASSThe first high school class was graduated in 1893. Up to 1900 there was a total number of high school graduates of eighty. New buildings have beenadded from time to time and new courses established, with suitable equipment and teaching force. Perhaps we can in no way better indicate the growth of the schools of Walla Walla County and city, than by incorporating here a report prepared by County Supt. G. S. Bond in 1900 for a history of Walla Walla by the author of this work, and contrast with it the last report of City Supt. W. M. Kern. While Walla Walla and adjoining communities have not been considered as of rapid growth, compared with some other parts of the state, a perusal of these reports, seventeen years apart, will give the present citizen some conception of the changes in that short period.Professor Bond's report follows: "It is the primary object of the writer, in preparing this statement, to present to the public a brief recital of the present condition of the educational facilities of Walla Walla County, rather than attempt to give any account of the history and growth of those facilities. Were it even desirable to do so, it would, for two reasons, prove a somewhat difficult undertaking. The records compiled by the earlier school officers are quite incomplete, if compared with present requirements, and the subdivision of the original county into the present counties of Columbia, Garfield, Asotin and Walla Walla occasioned many changes in the various school districts, and led to a complete re-districting and re-numbering. This, the records in the county superintendent's office show, was done between the years 1879 and 1886."In 1891, the county superintendent, by order of the county commissioners, brought together in one book the plats and boundaries of the various districts, numbered consecutively from one to fifty-three. Since that date, to meet the requirements of the constant increase in population, many changes in boundaries have been made and thirteen new districts have been formed, making a total of sixty-six. Six of these are joint with Columbia County."The subdivision of the county into sixty-six school districts brings nearly every section within easy range of school facilities. Especially is this true of the eastern and southern portions where the county is most densely populated. With but few exceptions these districts have good, comfortable schoolhouses, furnished with modern patent desks, and fairly well supplied with apparatus. Six new schoolhouses were built, and a considerable amount of furniture was purchased last year."A movement which is receiving considerable attention and which is proving of great service to the county is the establishment by private enterprise, entertainment or subscription of district libraries. About twenty have received their books which are eagerly read by both pupils and parents. Others are preparing entertainments to raise a library fund. It is greatly to be hoped that our Legislature may pass some law at this session to encourage the district library. It is one of the measures most needed to improve our rural schools."Another feature that is proving of benefit to the country schools is common school graduation. An opportunity to take an examination for graduation is given at various time, to eighth grade pupils in any of the schools. The diplomas admit to high school without further examination. Many take pride in having finished the common school course, and are inducted to remain in school much longer than they otherwise would."Eight districts are at present maintaining graded schools. There seems tobe a growing sentiment in some of the more densely populated sections to gather together their pupils for the superior advantages of the graded schools. Walla Walla (No. 1) provides an excellent four-year high school course. No. 3 (Waitsburg), also has a high school department."Were all the schools in session at the same time there would be required a force of 116 teachers. The districts employing more than one teacher are: Walla Walla—30, Waitsburg—7, Prescott—3, Seeber—3 and Dixie, Wallula, Harrer and Touchet—2 each. Of those employed at this time, 7 hold life diplomas or state certificates, 18 normal diplomas, 25 first grade certificates, 21 second grade, and 15 third grade. Twenty applicants failed last year. If the present crowded condition of the Walla Walla and Waitsburg schools continues next year it will necessitate an increase in the teaching force of five or six at the former place and of one at the latter."The Teachers' Reading Circle was reorganized in January, and meetings have been arranged for the more central points throughout the county. The sessions are well attended, the exercises carefully prepared. About fifty teachers have purchased one or more of the books and enrolled as members. All teachers have free access to a library of about seventy-five volumes, treating principally on theory and practice, or the history and philosophy of education."Our school districts never began a year on a more solid financial basis than they did the present one. Fifty-one of the sixty-six had a good balance to their credit in the hands of the county treasurer. A comparison of the last financial statement with that of previous years is given to mark the increase.Receipts189718981900Balance in hands of county treasurer$9,521.43$9,279.24$25,838.81Amount apportioned to districts by county supt.32,104.5456,210.3158,574.66Amount received from special tax11,761.6226,346.8126,503.99Amount from sale of school bonds500.001,410.00500.00Amount transferred from other districts........................Amounts from other sources131.5482.692,212.15————————————Total$54,019.13$93,347.05$113,629.61Expenditures189718981900Amount paid for teachers' wages........$47,278.95$38,691.71Amount paid for rents, fuel, etc.$38,027.3910,697.7813,653.06Amount paid for interest on bonds2,578.002,645.554,301.00Amount paid for sites, buildings, etc.........2,902.6832,152.61Amount paid for interest on warrants4,113.755,649.781,650.94Amount reverting to general school fund2.75................Amount for other districts................12.86————————————Total$44,721.89$69,173.94$90,962.18Balance on hand9,297.2424,173.1122,667.43"The hard times experienced two or three years ago materially affected teachers' wages in this county. The average amount paid male teachers, according to the annual report of the county superintendent in 1898, was $56.57; for female teachers, $39.54. For 1900, male teachers, $62.50; female teachers, $52.40. There seems however, to be dawning a brighter future for the conscientious teacher. Rigid examinations for two years have lessened the competition from those who entered the work only because they had no other employment; the districts are able to hold longer terms and pay larger salaries now. The minimum salary this year is $40, other rural districts pay $45 and $50. Salaries in the graded schools are from fifty-five to one hundred dollars per month. The average length of term in 1898 was 6½ months; the average from 1900 is 7¾ months."The estimate in the county superintendent's annual report for 1898 places the total value of schoolhouses and grounds at $162,080; of school furniture; $15,317; of apparatus, etc., $3,871; of libraries, $1,690. Amount of insurance on school property, $79,605; of bonds outstanding, $45,300; warrants outstanding, $41,274. The last enumeration of children of school age shows 4,275 resided in the county on June 1st; of these 3,621 were enrolled in the public schools, and made an average daily attendance of 2,076."For 1900, schoolhouses and grounds, $194,060; furniture, $16,350; apparatus, $4,000; libraries, $2,450; insurance, $100,650; bonds outstanding, $75,300; warrants outstanding, $82,721.16; children of school age, 4,767; children enrolled, 4,102; average daily attendance, 2,322. Such was the report of the county superintendent in 1900. Now we present the report of city superintendent, W. M. Kern, for year ending in 1917:EnrollmentBoysGirlsTotalElementary schools1,2801,2342,514High school428393821Night school4681127—————————Total1,7541,7083,462Transfers to high school172643—————————Total actual enrollment1,7371,6823,419Deduct night school4681127—————————Actual enrollment, grade and high school1,6911,6013,292Teachers in city schools, 101; valuation of property of city schools, grounds and buildings, $790,000; equipment, $72,000."Over seven thousand children of school age reside in Walla Walla County, according to the 1917 school census, completed yesterday. The census shows a total population of school children of 7,331. Of this number 3,928 live in the city school districts and the rest in the other districts of the county.HIGH SCHOOL, WALLA WALLA"The number of children in the county this year is almost identical with that of last year, 1917 showing a decline of two. Last year's figures showed 7,333, as against 7,331 this year. In the city there was a decline in the number of children, the census this year being 3,982 as against 4,000 last year. The county districts, however, showed a gain of sixteen."The city school census of 1917 shows the following:Number of pupils receiving diplomas—BoysGirlsTotalGreen Park211233Baker121123Sharpstein174057Jefferson171734Washington8614——————Total, grades7586161High school445599Per cent of attendance—Grades98.17High school98.10"As will have been seen, Professor Kern's report gives a view of the buildings and other successive additions to the facilities of the public schools of Walla Walla City. Similar development has taken place in Waitsburg, Prescott and Touchet, as will be seen from the following. It may be added that the smaller places, and the country districts also, have experienced a like improvement.WAITSBURGWaitsburg has maintained excellent schools for many years. We have presented some facts in regard to the earlier schools of the place, and are giving here a view of present organization and equipment.At this date the board of education consists of Messrs. N. B. Atkinson, J. A. Danielson, and W. J. Taylor. Miss Mary Dixon is clerk. The faculty consists of the following: Superintendent, James H. Adams; high school, principal and instructor in science and athletics, B. B. Brown; instructor in English, Edna McCroskey; instructor in Latin and German, Freda Paulson; instructor in mathematics, Ione Fenton; instructor in history, Elizabeth Nelson; instructor in domestic science and art, Gladys Persels; instructor in manual training and mechanical drawing, Earl Frazier.The Central School contains the grades, eight in number, Anna Goff being principal.Waitsburg is provided with three excellent buildings valued as follows: high school, $20,000; Central School, $25,000; Preston Hall, $35,000. The last named is the pride of the Waitsburg School system. It is, in fact, a structure and an instrumentality of unique interest. It was the gift of W. G. Preston, one of the most conspicuous of the pioneers of Walla Walla County. It was the result of the philanthropic impulse as well as the practical good judgment of its donor, for Mr. Preston had formed the impression during his busy and successful careerthat a knowledge of the manual arts was vital to the average boy and girl. The building was completed in 1913 and was provided with the most perfect equipment for manual instruction which the space would allow. During the past year there were enrolled in the manual training course, thirty-four boys, in the sewing course thirty-five girls, and in the cooking course, thirteen girls. There is also a well-equipped gymnasium in the building. The campus on which the high school and Preston Hall stand contains five acres of land, about half of which is covered with a grove, while the athletic field occupies the remainder of the open space.Some other valuable data we derive from the information kindly supplied by Superintendent Adams. We find, as an interesting point worthy of preservation for future comparison, that the average salary during the past year paid the male teachers was $1,308.75, and that of the female teachers was $746.25. Included in these averages are the superintendent and principals. The total enrollment during 1916-17 was: boys, 216, girls, 208. Percentage of daily attendance was 95.1 for the boys and 95.3 for the girls. The number in the high school was: First year, 48; second year, 30; third year, 28; fourth year, 18; a total of 124. The school library contains the following number of volumes: high school, 700; grades, 400.PRESCOTTPrescott, while not a large town, is an ideal home town in the midst of a magnificent and extensive farming country, and conducts an amount of business quite beyond the ordinary volume for its population. The county tributary to Prescott produces about seven hundred thousand bushels of grain annually, and here is grown the famous blue-stem wheat, the highest grade milling wheat produced in the Northwest. The land here yields from twenty-five to forty bushels of wheat per acre. Crop failures are quite unknown. The laudable pride and ambition of the people has led them to the construction of so fine a school building as to be a source of wonder and admiration to all visitors. In this elegant building there is sustained a high school department of four years curriculum, with four teachers and, during the past year, forty pupils. Part of the building is occupied by the grades. The value of the school property is estimated at fifty-four thousand dollars, the most of which is included in the high school building. Situated upon a slight eminence overlooking the fertile and beautiful Touchet Valley, with the vast sweep of the wheat covered hills closing it in, this Prescott school building presents an appearance which many large towns might envy. During a number of years past a succession of peculiarly well qualified teachers have devoted themselves to the progress of the Prescott schools, and as a result have lifted them to a status which has been indicated in the high grades which the pupils have attained in higher institutions and the efficiency which they have shown in business engagements upon which they may have entered. Prescott obtains its water supply from the snow-capped Blue Mountains, lying twenty miles to the east. Thus being assured of a perpetual supply of pure water. Prescott is noted for its healthfulness.MAIN STREET, PRESCOTTKNIGHTS OF PYTHIAS BUILDING, PRESCOTTDescending the Touchet about twenty miles we reach its junction with the Walla Walla, and there we find another of the fine little towns which border that beautiful and historic stream.TOUCHETThe Town of Touchet is at a lower level, only 450 feet above sea level, and by reason of that and of its more westerly situation it has higher temperature and less rainfall than any other of the Touchet towns. It is consequently an irrigated fruit and alfalfa section. The splendid Gardena District on the south and the productive lands in the Touchet and Walla Walla bottoms north and east and at their junction, give the town a commanding location. It is accordingly an active business center, with several well stocked stores, a bank, an attractive church of the Congregational order, and a number of pleasant homes.The pride of the place, however, like that of Prescott is the school building. This is a singularly attractive building, built for the future, though well utilized in the present. The valuation of school property in the Touchet District is $27,500, practically all represented in the high school building with its equipment. There is a total enrollment of 203 pupils with eight teachers. There are forty pupils in the high school, and a four year course is provided.GENERAL SCHOOL STATISTICSThe following statistics from the report of the state superintendent for 1917 will indicate the general condition of the schools of Walla Walla County. These figures are for the school year 1915-16.MaleFemaleTotalNumber of census children, June 1, 19163,6463,7067,352Number of pupils enrolled in public schools3,1222,8385,960Average daily attendance2,4662,2374,703Total number of teachers employed218Average salary paid high school teachers$ 990.10Average salary paid grade teachers788.45Average salary of superintendents, principals, and supervisors1,328.00Number of children over six years of age not attending school600Number of children between the ages of five and fifteen years not attending school32From every point of view it may be said that the schools of Walla Walla County (as will be seen in later chapters the same is true of Columbia, Garfield, and Asotin counties) have kept pace with the general progress of the regions in which they are located.PRIVATE INSTITUTIONSFrom the public schools we turn to the various private institutions. Foremost of these, and indeed in many respects the most unique and distinctivefeature of Southeastern Washington, both from a historical and existing viewpoint, is Whitman College. This institution grew out of the mission at Waiilatpu, with its brave and patriotic life and tragic end. After the period of Indian wars, beginning with the Whitman Massacre in 1847 and continuing, with some interruptions, till 1858, there occurred a return to Waiilatpu, one of the constructive events in our history. In 1859 Father Cushing Eells came from Forest Grove, Ore., where he had spent some years as a teacher, to the Walla Walla country, with a view to a new enterprise of a very different sort from that which had led Whitman, Spalding, and Gray in 1836, and Eells, Walker, Smith, and Rogers in 1838 to come to Oregon. The first aim was purely missionary. The twenty and more following years had demonstrated the fact that this country was to be a home missionary field, instead of foreign. It was clear to Father Eells that the educational needs of the boys and girls of the new era must be regarded as of first importance. Standing on the little hill at Waiilatpu and viewing the seemingly forsaken grave where Whitman and his associates had been hurriedly interred twelve years before, Father Eells made a vow to himself and his God, feeling as he afterwards said, "The spirit of the Lord upon him," to found a school of higher learning for both sexes, a memorial which he was sure the martyrs of Waiilatpu, if they could speak, would prefer to any other. That vow was the germination of Whitman Seminary, which grew into Whitman College.In pursuance of his plans, Father Eells acquired from the foreign missionary board the square mile of land at Waiilatpu allowed them as a donation claim and there he made his home for several years. It was his first intention to locate the seminary at the mission ground, but as it became obvious that the "city" would grow up near the fort six miles east, he decided that there was the proper place for his cherished enterprise. The years that followed were years of heroic self-denial and unflagging labor by Father and Mrs. Eells and their two sons, Edwin and Myron. They cut wood, raised chickens, made butter, sold vegetables, exercised the most rigid economy, and by thus raking and scraping and turning every energy and resource to the one aim, they slowly accumulated about four thousand dollars for their unselfish purpose. On October 13, 1866, the first building was dedicated. It was on the location of the present Whitman Conservatory of Music. The building was removed to make way for the conservatory and now composes part of Prentiss Hall, a dormitory for young men. The land on which Whitman Seminary and subsequently the college was located was the gift of Dr. D. S. Baker.Space does not allow us to enter into the history of the seminary, but the names of those longest and most efficient in its service should be recorded here. Aside from Father Eells and his family, Rev. P. B. Chamberlain, first pastor of the Congregational Church, with Mrs. Chamberlain and Miss Mary A. Hodgden, were the chief teachers during the time of beginning. Later Prof. Wm. Marriner and Capt. W. K. Grim were the chief principals. Associated with the latter was Mr. Samuel Sweeney, still well known as a business man and farmer, and the only one of the seminary teachers still living in Walla Walla, aside from the author of this work, who was for a short time in charge of it in 1878-9. In 1883 the second great step was taken by the coming of Dr. A. J. Anderson, whohad been for several years president of the State University at Seattle. The history of Doctor Anderson's connection with Whitman College and the general educational interests of Walla Walla and surrounding country constitutes a history by itself worthy of extended notice. He was ably assisted by his wife, one of the finest spirits of early days in Walla Walla, and by his sons Louis and George, the former of whom became later one of the foremost teachers in the expanded college and is now its vice president. With the coming of Doctor Anderson the seminary was raised to college rank with new courses and added teaching force. In the same year of 1883 a new building was erected which served as the main building for nearly twenty years. For the purpose of raising money for further development Father Eells made a journey to the East at that time. Although he was becoming advanced in years and the work was trying and laborious, he succeeded nobly in his aims, securing $16,000 and laying the foundations of friendships which resulted later in largely added amounts. During the eight years of Doctor Anderson's presidency Whitman College, though cramped for funds and inadequately provided with needed equipment, performed a noble service for the region, laying broad and deep the foundations upon which the enlarged structure of later years was reared. Some of the men and women now holding foremost places in every branch of life in the Northwest, as well as in distant regions, were students at the Whitman College of that period.After the resignation of Doctor Anderson in 1891 there was a period of loss and uncertainty which was happily ended in 1894 by what might be considered the third great step in the history of the college. This was the election to the presidency of Rev. S. B. L. Penrose, a member of the "Yale Band" of 1890 and during the three years after his arrival the pastor of the Congregational Church at Dayton. Of the monumental work accomplished by Doctor Penrose during the twenty-three years of his presidency, we cannot here speak adequately. Suffice it to say that while Whitman is still a small college in comparison with the state institutions of the Northwest, the increase in buildings, endowment, equipment, courses and instructors has been such as to constitute a chapter of achievements hard to match among the privately endowed colleges of the United States. We have spoken of three great events in the history of the college, the founding of the seminary by Father Eells, the establishment of the college by Doctor Anderson, and the assumption of the presidency by Doctor Penrose. It remains to add a fourth of the great events. This was the raising by Walla Walla and vicinity of the accumulated debts of a series of years caused by the heroic efforts to keep pace with necessary improvements while resources were still scanty. Due to those conditions the college was heavily encumbered and much handicapped as a result. In 1911 an offer of large additions to the endowment was made by the General Education Society of New York, on condition that all debts be raised. This led to a campaign in 1912 for the funds needed for that purpose. This may truly be called a monumental event, both for the permanent establishment of the college upon a secure foundation, as well as a remarkable achievement for Walla Walla. For though the city and county are wealthy and productive, yet to lay right down on the counter the sum of $213,140.30 was notable and the gift was rendered more remarkable in view of the fact that abouteighty thousand dollars had just been raised for the Young Men's Christian Association, that churches were raising contributions for expensive buildings, that costly school buildings had just been erected, and that the need of a new high school and a new courthouse building was becoming agitated. It may be added that within a year the burning of St. Mary's Hospital precipitated a call for large contributions to replace it. This was duly accomplished in the erection of one of the best hospitals in the Northwest. It is probably safe to say that the amount put into public buildings, together with contributions to the Young Men's Christian Association, the college, and the hospital, during a period of about three years, exceeded a million dollars—a noteworthy achievement even for a wealthy community, and one demonstrating both the liberality and resources of Walla Walla. From the standpoint of Whitman College it may be said that aside from the indispensable aid which this large contribution afforded, there was another result of the campaign equally valuable. This was the commensurate interest felt by the community in the college and all its works. Up to that debt-raising campaign there had been an indifference and in some quarters even a certain prejudice which crippled the efforts of the college management. With the raising of the debt there was a new sense of harmony and community interest which will bring immeasurable advantage to the future both of the college and the community.As a matter of permanent historic interest it is well to incorporate here the names of trustees and faculty, as given in the catalog for 1917.THE BOARD OF TRUSTEESThe president of the college, ex-officio, William Hutchinson Cowles, A. B., Spokane, 1919; Allen Holbrook Reynolds, A. M., Walla Walla, 1919; Louis Francis Anderson, A. M., Walla Walla, 1918; Park Weed Willis, M. D., Seattle, 1920; John Warren Langdon, Walla Walla, 1917; Miles Conway Moore, LL. D., Walla Walla, 1918; Oscar Drumheller, B. S., Walla Walla, 1917; Edwin Alonzo Reser, Walla Walla, 1920.Numbers indicate the years in which terms of trustees expire. The election takes place at the annual meeting in June.OFFICERS OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEESPresident, Miles Conway Moore, LL. D.; treasurer, Allen Holbrook Reynolds, A. M.; secretary, Dorsey Marion Hill, Ph. B.FACULTYStephen Beasley Linnard Penrose, D. D., president and Cushing Eells professor of philosophy; Louis Francis Anderson, A. M., vice president and professor of Greek; William Denison Lyman, A. M., Nelson Gales Blalock professor of history; Helen Abby Pepoon, A. B., professor of Latin; Benjamin Harrison Brown, A. M., Nathaniel Shipman professor of physics; Walter Andrew Bratton, A. B., dean of the science group and Alexander Jay Anderson professor of mathematics; James Walton Cooper, A. M., professor of Romance languages; Howard Stidham Brode, Ph. D., Spencer F. Baird professor of biology; Edward Ernest Ruby, A. M., dean of the language group and Clement Biddle Penrose professor of Latin; Helen Louise Burr, A. B., dean of women; Elias Blum, professor of the theory of music; William Hudson Bleakney, Ph. D., professor of Greek; William Rees Davis, A. M., Mary A. Denny professor of English; Walter Crosby Eells, A. M., professor of applied mathematics and drawing; Raymond Vincent Borleske, A. B., director of physical education; Charles Gourlay Goodrich, M. S., professor of German; Frank Loyal Haigh, Ph. D., professor of chemistry; Arthur Chester Millspaugh, Ph. D., professor of political science; Thomas Franklin Day, Ph. D., acting dean of the philosophy group and acting professor of philosophy; Frances Rebecca Gardner, A. B., acting dean of women; William Ezekiel Leonard, A. M., acting professor of economics and business; Walter Cooke Lee, A. B., associate librarian; Milton Simpson, A. M., acting associate professor of English; Harriet Lulu Carstensen, A. M., assistant librarian; Alice Popper, instructor in French and German; Margaret Lucille Leyda, A. B., instructor in English and physical training for women.Billings Hall, Department of ScienceThe GymnasiumWhitman Memorial BuildingReynold's Hall, Young Ladies DormitoryMcDowell Hall, Conservatory of MusicGROUP OF WHITMAN COLLEGE BUILDINGS, WALLA WALLAThe catalog shows also that at the present date the college owns equipment, buildings, and grounds to the value of $466,091.40 and endowment funds to the amount of $684,247. The expenses for the session of 1915-16 were $88,892.92. The enrollment of students in the literary departments for 1916-17 was 312, and in the conservatory of music 289.The graduates of the college who have received bachelor's degrees during the years 1886-1917 aggregate about four hundred and twenty-five. The large majority of these have received their degrees during the seven years ending with the latter date. Classes were very small up to about 1910. Since that time the number of seniors has been from twenty-five to forty. Besides those who have graduated with the regular college literary and scientific degrees, a large number have graduated from academic, normal and conservatory courses.We are indebted to Mr. W. L. Stirling of the board of trustees of St. Paul's School for Girls for the sketch here subjoined.HISTORY OF SAINT PAUL'S SCHOOL, WALLA WALLASaint Paul's School was opened in September, 1872, as a day school for girls by the Rev. Lemuel H. Wells, a missionary of the Protestant Episcopal Church, who had come to Walla Walla the previous year and organized Saint Paul's Church.Seeing the need of a girls' school, a board of trustees was selected consisting of the Rev. Lemuel H. Wells, John S. Boyer, Philip Ritz, B. L. Sharpstein, A. B. Elmer, Judge J. D. Mix and John Abbott. Funds were obtained in the East and a frame building was erected near the corner of Third and Poplar streets.The school prospered, and it was decided to make it a boarding school. More money was raised in the East and in Walla Walla, more land was purchased and a dormitory was built.In September, 1873, it was opened as Saint Paul's Boarding and Day School for Girls, with Mrs. George Browne as principal. Mrs. Browne was succeededby Miss Henrietta B. Garretson (who later became Mrs. Lemuel H. Wells) and the Rev. J. D. Lathrop, D. D.In the earlier days of the school, pupils from Idaho, Montana and Eastern Oregon frequently paid their tuitions in gold dust, and there were a few cases where payment was even made in produce, such as flour, and potatoes. One parent paid in cattle, which remained on the ranch and multiplied until they paid for an addition to one of the school buildings.The school was successfully maintained until the year 1885, when it was closed. It was reopened in 1897 under Miss Imogen Boyer, as principal. It was incorporated September 14, 1897, by E. B. Whitman, Rev. Francis L. Palmer, B. L. Sharpstein, W. H. Upton, and J. H. Marshall, Rev. F. L. Palmer being chosen its first president.In 1899 a new site was purchased on Catherine Street, and a new three story building erected named "Appleton Hall." The trustees at that time were Bishop Wells, The Rev. Andreas Bard, B. L. Sharpstein, Levi Ankeny, R. F. Smitten and W. H. Upton. Miss Imogen Boyer was principal, and so continued until her resignation in 1903. Under Miss Boyer's administration the school increased substantially in prestige and in the number of pupils in attendance.In 1903 Miss Caroline F. Buck was elected principal, and by formal agreement between Bishop Wells and the board of trustees the school was thenceforth to be conducted as a diocesan school of the Protestant Episcopal Church.In 1904 Miss Buck was succeeded by Rev. Andreas Bard, as principal.In 1906 funds were secured by Bishop Wells for the erection of a new three story brick dormitory named "Ewing Hall" which greatly increased the accommodations for boarders and materially assisted in the growth of the school.In 1907 Rev. Andreas Bard resigned and was succeeded by Miss Anna E. Plympton, who remained until 1910. Miss Nettie M. Galbraith was then elected principal, and under her able administration, assisted by Miss Mary E. Atkinson, as vice principal, the school has grown rapidly year by year until it is now the largest, as well as the oldest school for girls in the State of Washington, and probably in the entire Northwest.In 1911 Bishop Wells secured additional funds for the purchase of the Sharpstein property adjoining the school grounds to allow for expansion in the near future. The acquisition of this fine property 200 feet by 200 feet gave the school a frontage of 543 feet on Catherine Street, one of the finest pieces of property in the city.In 1916, Bishop Herman Page, of Spokane, succeeded Bishop Wells as president of the board of trustees; the other members of the board at that time being Rev. C. E. Tuke, George A. Evans, W. A. Ritz, Dr. F. W. Rees, H. G. Thompson, Dr. H. R. Keylor, J. W. Langdon and W. L. Stirling.The need of increased accommodation for boarders being imperative, Bishop Page undertook to raise the sum of $10,000 to $12,000 for a new building provided $5,000 additional should be subscribed by the people of Walla Walla. This was done and a new fire proof brick building was erected in 1917, containing assembly hall, gymnasium and dormitories, and named "Wells Hall" in honor of Bishop Wells, who had founded the school in 1872 and had ever since been its most constant and devoted supporter. Even with its new equipment the schoolat once became crowded to its capacity, there being fifty boarders, as well as a large number of day scholars, and plans are being considered for another new building.Although the school now has an annual budget of nearly twenty thousand dollars, it has never been entirely self-supporting, being without endowment, and always having given the greatest possible service at a very moderate charge. The raising of an adequate endowment fund is contemplated as soon as circumstances will permit.The school offers a systematic and liberal course of study, maintaining kindergarten, primary, intermediate, grammar, grade, academic and music departments, also special post graduate, business, and finishing courses. The course includes eight years in the elementary school, completed in six or seven years when possible, and four years in the academic department. There is also an advanced course offered for irregular students and for those graduated from the high schools and academies.The instructors are Christian women, and it is the aim of the school to administer to the individual needs of girls; to aid in their moral, intellectual and physical development by offering them the advantages of a well ordered school and the wholesome influence of a refined home. The scholarship of Saint Paul's is attested by the fact that Eastern and Western examiners of leading educational institutions have expressed their willingness to accept its graduates without examination. Saint Paul's covers a wide field, having had among its boarders in recent years scholars from Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, Panama and Alaska.The location of the school is exceptionally fine, the grounds extensive, well laid out and shaded, and the buildings, four in number, are spacious, well constructed and conveniently arranged and equipped.THE CATHOLIC ACADEMIESThe Catholic Church has maintained two academies, one for boys and one for girls, for a number of years. These were founded early in the history of Walla Walla. In 1864 the Sisters of Providence opened the doors of a school for girls on the location where St. Mary's Hospital now stands. Rev. J. B. A. Brouillet was at that time at the head of the local church and the school was officially under his oversight. In 1865 St. Patrick's Academy for boys was opened. This was on the site of the present Catholic Church, and the first teacher was H. H. Lamarche. He acted as principal for fifteen years. In 1899 notable changes occurred in the academy. In that year fine and noteworthy exercises in its dedication occurred under charge of Rev. Father M. Flohr. The presence of Bishop E. J. O'Dea added to the interest of the occasion. In August following three brothers from San Francisco arrived to take charge of the academy. In honor of St. J. B. De La Salle, founder of the congregation to which those brothers belonged, the name of the academy was changed to De La Salle Institute. It opened in September, 1899, with 100 pupils. The numbers and influence of this institute have steadily increased. The teachers at the present are: BrotherLuke, director; Brothers Damien and Daniel, teachers. The number of boys enrolled is eighty.The school for girls, founded in 1864, as stated, developed into St. Vincent Academy, and as such it has occupied a position of great influence and usefulness ever since its foundation. Every facility for academic study, with special attention to the varied accomplishments of music, drawing, painting, and decorative work, as well as the practical branches in needle work, in stenography, and in typewriting, is afforded by St. Vincent's Academy. Extracts from the current reports indicate the present conditions.The Sister Superior in charge of the academy is Sister Mary Mount Carmel. There are six teachers employed at the present time. The enrollment consists of 164 girls and fourteen small boys.WALLA WALLA COLLEGEWalla Walla has become known as an educational center, and in addition to the public schools, and private institutions within the city, there is still another outside the city limits entitled to interest. This is Walla Walla College at College Place, a flourishing suburb of the city. The college is under the direction of the Seventh Day Adventists. It was founded by that denomination in 1892 upon land donated by Dr. N. G. Blalock and has been maintained by contributions from the membership of the church and tuitions from the students. In connection with it there is a well conducted hospital. There is a beautiful and commodious main building, besides the other buildings needful to provide for the large number of students who come from elsewhere and make their home at the college. From the current catalog we derive the following exhibit of the managers and faculty.PRESIDENTS OF WALLA WALLA COLLEGEWilliam W. Prescott, 1892-94; Edward A. Sutherland, 1894-97; Emmett J. Hibbard,1897-98; Walter B. Sutherland, 1898-1900; E. L. Stewart 1900-02; Charles C. Lewis, 1902-04; Joseph L. Kay, 1904-05; M. E. Cady, 1905-11; Ernest C. Kellogg, 1911-17; Walter I. Smith, 1917-.BOARD OF TRUSTEESC. W. Flaiz, College Place, Wash.; H. W. Decker, College Place, Wash.; F. S. Bunch, College Place, Wash.; H. W. Cottrell, Portland, Ore.; J. J. Nethery, College Place, Wash.; J. F. Piper, Seattle, Wash.; G. F. Watson, Bozeman Mont.; F. W. Peterson, College Place, Wash.; E. C. Kellogg, College Place, Wash.OFFICERS OF THE BOARDC. W. Flaiz, chairman; E. C. Kellogg, secretary; F. W. Peterson, treasurer.

INTELLECTUAL AND RELIGIOUS FORCES OF WALLA WALLA COUNTY; EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS OF WALLA WALLA

While the eastern parts of the United States and pre-eminently New England, above all the State of Massachusetts, have assumed, and to considerable degree justly, that they hold priority in education, yet the people of the Far-West may rightfully claim that within the past dozen or twenty years they have made such gains in educational processes and results as to place them in the front rank. The report of the Russell Sage Foundation a few years ago that for all 'round efficiency the schools of Washington State were entitled to first place in the United States, was not surprising, though gratifying to those familiar with the extraordinary growth in equipment and teaching force during the last decade. As is well known, several western and Pacific Coast states outrun all others in freedom from illiteracy, having practically no permanent residents of proper age and normal faculties unable to read and write. It is one of the glories of American democracy, and in fact the logical consequence of self-government in this or in any country, that the craving for knowledge and power and advancement exists in the masses. Thus and thus only can democracy justify its existence. In the West, and perhaps even most intensely in the Pacific Coast states, the ambition to succeed, the spirit of personal initiative, the feelings of independence and equality, were the legitimate product of the pioneer era.

Jefferson SchoolGreen Park SchoolLincoln SchoolWashington SchoolSharpstein SchoolSCHOOLS OF WALLA WALLA

The state builders, the offspring of the immigrant train, the homesteaders of the Walla Walla country, were, like other westerners, anxious to bequeath to their children better opportunities for education than they in their primitive surroundings could command. Hence they had hardly more than satisfied the fundamental necessities of location, shelter, and some means of income than they began to raise the question of schools. In the earliest numbers of theWashington Statesmanthe pioneer newspaper of the Inland Empire, beginning in 1861, we find the question of suitable school buildings raised. But that was not the beginning. It is interesting to recall that Doctor and Mrs. Whitman were constantly active in maintaining a school at Waiilatpu, not only as a missionary enterprise for the Indians, but, as time went on, for the children of the immigrants, who gradually formed a little group around the mission. Then after the long period of Indian wars and the establishment of the United States garrison in its present location, there was provision made in 1857 for teaching the children of the garrison together with a few stray children in the community. The teacher of that little group was Harry Freeman of the first dragoons, Troup E. The building used was on the garrison grounds. Among the children were several well known later in Walla Walla and the state, as James and Hugh McCool and their sister Maggie, afterwards Mrs. James Monaghan, mother of the gallant Lieutenant Monaghan, who lost his life heroically in the Samoan Islands and for whom a commemorative monument stands at the southern end of the Monroe Street bridge in Spokane. In that first little company of school children were Robert Smith, Mrs. Michael Kenny, and the Sickler girls, one of whom is now Mrs. Kyger. The first school within the limits of Walla Walla was conducted in 1861-2 by Mrs. A. J. Miner in a private house at about what would now be Alder and Palouse streets. Another pioneer teacher was J. H. Blewett.

PUBLIC SCHOOLS

Prior to 1862 there had been no public school organization. The scholastic needs of the children had been recognized, however, in the first permanent organization of the county on March 26, 1859, by the appointment of Wm. B. Kelly as superintendent of schools. At the election of July 14, 1862, J. F. Wood was chosen superintendent, and District Number 1 was organized, a room rented, and a teacher appointed. Progress seems to have lagged, however, until the fall of 1864, in which year the census showed a school population of 203, though of that number only ninety-three were enrolled. A meeting on December 12th of that year voted to levy a tax of 2½ mills for the erection of a building. Dr. D. S. Baker donated the land now occupied by the Baker School and a building was erected at a cost of $2,000, the first public school building in the Inland Empire. In 1868 a second district numbered 34 was organized in the southwestern part of town at the corner of Willow and Eighth streets. That building with some additions served its purpose till 1879, and in that year the Park Street building, in use for a number of years, was put up at a cost of $2,000. Districts number 1 and 34 were consolidated by the Legislature in 1881 and the board of directors consisted of the directors of the two districts. As a matter of record it is worth while to preserve the names of that board: H. E. Johnson, D. M. Jessee, B. L. Sharpstein, N. T. Caton, Wm. O'Donnell, and F. W. Paine. E. B. Whitman was clerk.

By vote of the district on April 29, 1882, a much more ambitious plan of building was adopted, one commensurate with the progress of the intervening years, and a tax of $17,000 was levied for the purpose of erecting a brick building. That building accordingly was realized on the Baker School ground, in which many of the present "grave and reverend seigniors" of Walla Walla had their first schooling. Not until 1889 was there any high school work in Walla Walla. In that year Prof. R. C. Kerr, who was city superintendent, met the few pupils of high school grade in the Baker School building. In the following year those pupils were transferred to the Paine School, now known as the Lincoln School, which had been erected in 1888.

FIRST HIGH SCHOOL CLASS

The first high school class was graduated in 1893. Up to 1900 there was a total number of high school graduates of eighty. New buildings have beenadded from time to time and new courses established, with suitable equipment and teaching force. Perhaps we can in no way better indicate the growth of the schools of Walla Walla County and city, than by incorporating here a report prepared by County Supt. G. S. Bond in 1900 for a history of Walla Walla by the author of this work, and contrast with it the last report of City Supt. W. M. Kern. While Walla Walla and adjoining communities have not been considered as of rapid growth, compared with some other parts of the state, a perusal of these reports, seventeen years apart, will give the present citizen some conception of the changes in that short period.

Professor Bond's report follows: "It is the primary object of the writer, in preparing this statement, to present to the public a brief recital of the present condition of the educational facilities of Walla Walla County, rather than attempt to give any account of the history and growth of those facilities. Were it even desirable to do so, it would, for two reasons, prove a somewhat difficult undertaking. The records compiled by the earlier school officers are quite incomplete, if compared with present requirements, and the subdivision of the original county into the present counties of Columbia, Garfield, Asotin and Walla Walla occasioned many changes in the various school districts, and led to a complete re-districting and re-numbering. This, the records in the county superintendent's office show, was done between the years 1879 and 1886.

"In 1891, the county superintendent, by order of the county commissioners, brought together in one book the plats and boundaries of the various districts, numbered consecutively from one to fifty-three. Since that date, to meet the requirements of the constant increase in population, many changes in boundaries have been made and thirteen new districts have been formed, making a total of sixty-six. Six of these are joint with Columbia County.

"The subdivision of the county into sixty-six school districts brings nearly every section within easy range of school facilities. Especially is this true of the eastern and southern portions where the county is most densely populated. With but few exceptions these districts have good, comfortable schoolhouses, furnished with modern patent desks, and fairly well supplied with apparatus. Six new schoolhouses were built, and a considerable amount of furniture was purchased last year.

"A movement which is receiving considerable attention and which is proving of great service to the county is the establishment by private enterprise, entertainment or subscription of district libraries. About twenty have received their books which are eagerly read by both pupils and parents. Others are preparing entertainments to raise a library fund. It is greatly to be hoped that our Legislature may pass some law at this session to encourage the district library. It is one of the measures most needed to improve our rural schools.

"Another feature that is proving of benefit to the country schools is common school graduation. An opportunity to take an examination for graduation is given at various time, to eighth grade pupils in any of the schools. The diplomas admit to high school without further examination. Many take pride in having finished the common school course, and are inducted to remain in school much longer than they otherwise would.

"Eight districts are at present maintaining graded schools. There seems tobe a growing sentiment in some of the more densely populated sections to gather together their pupils for the superior advantages of the graded schools. Walla Walla (No. 1) provides an excellent four-year high school course. No. 3 (Waitsburg), also has a high school department.

"Were all the schools in session at the same time there would be required a force of 116 teachers. The districts employing more than one teacher are: Walla Walla—30, Waitsburg—7, Prescott—3, Seeber—3 and Dixie, Wallula, Harrer and Touchet—2 each. Of those employed at this time, 7 hold life diplomas or state certificates, 18 normal diplomas, 25 first grade certificates, 21 second grade, and 15 third grade. Twenty applicants failed last year. If the present crowded condition of the Walla Walla and Waitsburg schools continues next year it will necessitate an increase in the teaching force of five or six at the former place and of one at the latter.

"The Teachers' Reading Circle was reorganized in January, and meetings have been arranged for the more central points throughout the county. The sessions are well attended, the exercises carefully prepared. About fifty teachers have purchased one or more of the books and enrolled as members. All teachers have free access to a library of about seventy-five volumes, treating principally on theory and practice, or the history and philosophy of education.

"Our school districts never began a year on a more solid financial basis than they did the present one. Fifty-one of the sixty-six had a good balance to their credit in the hands of the county treasurer. A comparison of the last financial statement with that of previous years is given to mark the increase.

"The hard times experienced two or three years ago materially affected teachers' wages in this county. The average amount paid male teachers, according to the annual report of the county superintendent in 1898, was $56.57; for female teachers, $39.54. For 1900, male teachers, $62.50; female teachers, $52.40. There seems however, to be dawning a brighter future for the conscientious teacher. Rigid examinations for two years have lessened the competition from those who entered the work only because they had no other employment; the districts are able to hold longer terms and pay larger salaries now. The minimum salary this year is $40, other rural districts pay $45 and $50. Salaries in the graded schools are from fifty-five to one hundred dollars per month. The average length of term in 1898 was 6½ months; the average from 1900 is 7¾ months.

"The estimate in the county superintendent's annual report for 1898 places the total value of schoolhouses and grounds at $162,080; of school furniture; $15,317; of apparatus, etc., $3,871; of libraries, $1,690. Amount of insurance on school property, $79,605; of bonds outstanding, $45,300; warrants outstanding, $41,274. The last enumeration of children of school age shows 4,275 resided in the county on June 1st; of these 3,621 were enrolled in the public schools, and made an average daily attendance of 2,076.

"For 1900, schoolhouses and grounds, $194,060; furniture, $16,350; apparatus, $4,000; libraries, $2,450; insurance, $100,650; bonds outstanding, $75,300; warrants outstanding, $82,721.16; children of school age, 4,767; children enrolled, 4,102; average daily attendance, 2,322. Such was the report of the county superintendent in 1900. Now we present the report of city superintendent, W. M. Kern, for year ending in 1917:

Teachers in city schools, 101; valuation of property of city schools, grounds and buildings, $790,000; equipment, $72,000.

"Over seven thousand children of school age reside in Walla Walla County, according to the 1917 school census, completed yesterday. The census shows a total population of school children of 7,331. Of this number 3,928 live in the city school districts and the rest in the other districts of the county.

HIGH SCHOOL, WALLA WALLA

HIGH SCHOOL, WALLA WALLA

HIGH SCHOOL, WALLA WALLA

"The number of children in the county this year is almost identical with that of last year, 1917 showing a decline of two. Last year's figures showed 7,333, as against 7,331 this year. In the city there was a decline in the number of children, the census this year being 3,982 as against 4,000 last year. The county districts, however, showed a gain of sixteen.

"The city school census of 1917 shows the following:

As will have been seen, Professor Kern's report gives a view of the buildings and other successive additions to the facilities of the public schools of Walla Walla City. Similar development has taken place in Waitsburg, Prescott and Touchet, as will be seen from the following. It may be added that the smaller places, and the country districts also, have experienced a like improvement.

WAITSBURG

Waitsburg has maintained excellent schools for many years. We have presented some facts in regard to the earlier schools of the place, and are giving here a view of present organization and equipment.

At this date the board of education consists of Messrs. N. B. Atkinson, J. A. Danielson, and W. J. Taylor. Miss Mary Dixon is clerk. The faculty consists of the following: Superintendent, James H. Adams; high school, principal and instructor in science and athletics, B. B. Brown; instructor in English, Edna McCroskey; instructor in Latin and German, Freda Paulson; instructor in mathematics, Ione Fenton; instructor in history, Elizabeth Nelson; instructor in domestic science and art, Gladys Persels; instructor in manual training and mechanical drawing, Earl Frazier.

The Central School contains the grades, eight in number, Anna Goff being principal.

Waitsburg is provided with three excellent buildings valued as follows: high school, $20,000; Central School, $25,000; Preston Hall, $35,000. The last named is the pride of the Waitsburg School system. It is, in fact, a structure and an instrumentality of unique interest. It was the gift of W. G. Preston, one of the most conspicuous of the pioneers of Walla Walla County. It was the result of the philanthropic impulse as well as the practical good judgment of its donor, for Mr. Preston had formed the impression during his busy and successful careerthat a knowledge of the manual arts was vital to the average boy and girl. The building was completed in 1913 and was provided with the most perfect equipment for manual instruction which the space would allow. During the past year there were enrolled in the manual training course, thirty-four boys, in the sewing course thirty-five girls, and in the cooking course, thirteen girls. There is also a well-equipped gymnasium in the building. The campus on which the high school and Preston Hall stand contains five acres of land, about half of which is covered with a grove, while the athletic field occupies the remainder of the open space.

Some other valuable data we derive from the information kindly supplied by Superintendent Adams. We find, as an interesting point worthy of preservation for future comparison, that the average salary during the past year paid the male teachers was $1,308.75, and that of the female teachers was $746.25. Included in these averages are the superintendent and principals. The total enrollment during 1916-17 was: boys, 216, girls, 208. Percentage of daily attendance was 95.1 for the boys and 95.3 for the girls. The number in the high school was: First year, 48; second year, 30; third year, 28; fourth year, 18; a total of 124. The school library contains the following number of volumes: high school, 700; grades, 400.

PRESCOTT

Prescott, while not a large town, is an ideal home town in the midst of a magnificent and extensive farming country, and conducts an amount of business quite beyond the ordinary volume for its population. The county tributary to Prescott produces about seven hundred thousand bushels of grain annually, and here is grown the famous blue-stem wheat, the highest grade milling wheat produced in the Northwest. The land here yields from twenty-five to forty bushels of wheat per acre. Crop failures are quite unknown. The laudable pride and ambition of the people has led them to the construction of so fine a school building as to be a source of wonder and admiration to all visitors. In this elegant building there is sustained a high school department of four years curriculum, with four teachers and, during the past year, forty pupils. Part of the building is occupied by the grades. The value of the school property is estimated at fifty-four thousand dollars, the most of which is included in the high school building. Situated upon a slight eminence overlooking the fertile and beautiful Touchet Valley, with the vast sweep of the wheat covered hills closing it in, this Prescott school building presents an appearance which many large towns might envy. During a number of years past a succession of peculiarly well qualified teachers have devoted themselves to the progress of the Prescott schools, and as a result have lifted them to a status which has been indicated in the high grades which the pupils have attained in higher institutions and the efficiency which they have shown in business engagements upon which they may have entered. Prescott obtains its water supply from the snow-capped Blue Mountains, lying twenty miles to the east. Thus being assured of a perpetual supply of pure water. Prescott is noted for its healthfulness.

MAIN STREET, PRESCOTT

MAIN STREET, PRESCOTT

MAIN STREET, PRESCOTT

KNIGHTS OF PYTHIAS BUILDING, PRESCOTT

KNIGHTS OF PYTHIAS BUILDING, PRESCOTT

KNIGHTS OF PYTHIAS BUILDING, PRESCOTT

Descending the Touchet about twenty miles we reach its junction with the Walla Walla, and there we find another of the fine little towns which border that beautiful and historic stream.

TOUCHET

The Town of Touchet is at a lower level, only 450 feet above sea level, and by reason of that and of its more westerly situation it has higher temperature and less rainfall than any other of the Touchet towns. It is consequently an irrigated fruit and alfalfa section. The splendid Gardena District on the south and the productive lands in the Touchet and Walla Walla bottoms north and east and at their junction, give the town a commanding location. It is accordingly an active business center, with several well stocked stores, a bank, an attractive church of the Congregational order, and a number of pleasant homes.

The pride of the place, however, like that of Prescott is the school building. This is a singularly attractive building, built for the future, though well utilized in the present. The valuation of school property in the Touchet District is $27,500, practically all represented in the high school building with its equipment. There is a total enrollment of 203 pupils with eight teachers. There are forty pupils in the high school, and a four year course is provided.

GENERAL SCHOOL STATISTICS

The following statistics from the report of the state superintendent for 1917 will indicate the general condition of the schools of Walla Walla County. These figures are for the school year 1915-16.

From every point of view it may be said that the schools of Walla Walla County (as will be seen in later chapters the same is true of Columbia, Garfield, and Asotin counties) have kept pace with the general progress of the regions in which they are located.

PRIVATE INSTITUTIONS

From the public schools we turn to the various private institutions. Foremost of these, and indeed in many respects the most unique and distinctivefeature of Southeastern Washington, both from a historical and existing viewpoint, is Whitman College. This institution grew out of the mission at Waiilatpu, with its brave and patriotic life and tragic end. After the period of Indian wars, beginning with the Whitman Massacre in 1847 and continuing, with some interruptions, till 1858, there occurred a return to Waiilatpu, one of the constructive events in our history. In 1859 Father Cushing Eells came from Forest Grove, Ore., where he had spent some years as a teacher, to the Walla Walla country, with a view to a new enterprise of a very different sort from that which had led Whitman, Spalding, and Gray in 1836, and Eells, Walker, Smith, and Rogers in 1838 to come to Oregon. The first aim was purely missionary. The twenty and more following years had demonstrated the fact that this country was to be a home missionary field, instead of foreign. It was clear to Father Eells that the educational needs of the boys and girls of the new era must be regarded as of first importance. Standing on the little hill at Waiilatpu and viewing the seemingly forsaken grave where Whitman and his associates had been hurriedly interred twelve years before, Father Eells made a vow to himself and his God, feeling as he afterwards said, "The spirit of the Lord upon him," to found a school of higher learning for both sexes, a memorial which he was sure the martyrs of Waiilatpu, if they could speak, would prefer to any other. That vow was the germination of Whitman Seminary, which grew into Whitman College.

In pursuance of his plans, Father Eells acquired from the foreign missionary board the square mile of land at Waiilatpu allowed them as a donation claim and there he made his home for several years. It was his first intention to locate the seminary at the mission ground, but as it became obvious that the "city" would grow up near the fort six miles east, he decided that there was the proper place for his cherished enterprise. The years that followed were years of heroic self-denial and unflagging labor by Father and Mrs. Eells and their two sons, Edwin and Myron. They cut wood, raised chickens, made butter, sold vegetables, exercised the most rigid economy, and by thus raking and scraping and turning every energy and resource to the one aim, they slowly accumulated about four thousand dollars for their unselfish purpose. On October 13, 1866, the first building was dedicated. It was on the location of the present Whitman Conservatory of Music. The building was removed to make way for the conservatory and now composes part of Prentiss Hall, a dormitory for young men. The land on which Whitman Seminary and subsequently the college was located was the gift of Dr. D. S. Baker.

Space does not allow us to enter into the history of the seminary, but the names of those longest and most efficient in its service should be recorded here. Aside from Father Eells and his family, Rev. P. B. Chamberlain, first pastor of the Congregational Church, with Mrs. Chamberlain and Miss Mary A. Hodgden, were the chief teachers during the time of beginning. Later Prof. Wm. Marriner and Capt. W. K. Grim were the chief principals. Associated with the latter was Mr. Samuel Sweeney, still well known as a business man and farmer, and the only one of the seminary teachers still living in Walla Walla, aside from the author of this work, who was for a short time in charge of it in 1878-9. In 1883 the second great step was taken by the coming of Dr. A. J. Anderson, whohad been for several years president of the State University at Seattle. The history of Doctor Anderson's connection with Whitman College and the general educational interests of Walla Walla and surrounding country constitutes a history by itself worthy of extended notice. He was ably assisted by his wife, one of the finest spirits of early days in Walla Walla, and by his sons Louis and George, the former of whom became later one of the foremost teachers in the expanded college and is now its vice president. With the coming of Doctor Anderson the seminary was raised to college rank with new courses and added teaching force. In the same year of 1883 a new building was erected which served as the main building for nearly twenty years. For the purpose of raising money for further development Father Eells made a journey to the East at that time. Although he was becoming advanced in years and the work was trying and laborious, he succeeded nobly in his aims, securing $16,000 and laying the foundations of friendships which resulted later in largely added amounts. During the eight years of Doctor Anderson's presidency Whitman College, though cramped for funds and inadequately provided with needed equipment, performed a noble service for the region, laying broad and deep the foundations upon which the enlarged structure of later years was reared. Some of the men and women now holding foremost places in every branch of life in the Northwest, as well as in distant regions, were students at the Whitman College of that period.

After the resignation of Doctor Anderson in 1891 there was a period of loss and uncertainty which was happily ended in 1894 by what might be considered the third great step in the history of the college. This was the election to the presidency of Rev. S. B. L. Penrose, a member of the "Yale Band" of 1890 and during the three years after his arrival the pastor of the Congregational Church at Dayton. Of the monumental work accomplished by Doctor Penrose during the twenty-three years of his presidency, we cannot here speak adequately. Suffice it to say that while Whitman is still a small college in comparison with the state institutions of the Northwest, the increase in buildings, endowment, equipment, courses and instructors has been such as to constitute a chapter of achievements hard to match among the privately endowed colleges of the United States. We have spoken of three great events in the history of the college, the founding of the seminary by Father Eells, the establishment of the college by Doctor Anderson, and the assumption of the presidency by Doctor Penrose. It remains to add a fourth of the great events. This was the raising by Walla Walla and vicinity of the accumulated debts of a series of years caused by the heroic efforts to keep pace with necessary improvements while resources were still scanty. Due to those conditions the college was heavily encumbered and much handicapped as a result. In 1911 an offer of large additions to the endowment was made by the General Education Society of New York, on condition that all debts be raised. This led to a campaign in 1912 for the funds needed for that purpose. This may truly be called a monumental event, both for the permanent establishment of the college upon a secure foundation, as well as a remarkable achievement for Walla Walla. For though the city and county are wealthy and productive, yet to lay right down on the counter the sum of $213,140.30 was notable and the gift was rendered more remarkable in view of the fact that abouteighty thousand dollars had just been raised for the Young Men's Christian Association, that churches were raising contributions for expensive buildings, that costly school buildings had just been erected, and that the need of a new high school and a new courthouse building was becoming agitated. It may be added that within a year the burning of St. Mary's Hospital precipitated a call for large contributions to replace it. This was duly accomplished in the erection of one of the best hospitals in the Northwest. It is probably safe to say that the amount put into public buildings, together with contributions to the Young Men's Christian Association, the college, and the hospital, during a period of about three years, exceeded a million dollars—a noteworthy achievement even for a wealthy community, and one demonstrating both the liberality and resources of Walla Walla. From the standpoint of Whitman College it may be said that aside from the indispensable aid which this large contribution afforded, there was another result of the campaign equally valuable. This was the commensurate interest felt by the community in the college and all its works. Up to that debt-raising campaign there had been an indifference and in some quarters even a certain prejudice which crippled the efforts of the college management. With the raising of the debt there was a new sense of harmony and community interest which will bring immeasurable advantage to the future both of the college and the community.

As a matter of permanent historic interest it is well to incorporate here the names of trustees and faculty, as given in the catalog for 1917.

THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

The president of the college, ex-officio, William Hutchinson Cowles, A. B., Spokane, 1919; Allen Holbrook Reynolds, A. M., Walla Walla, 1919; Louis Francis Anderson, A. M., Walla Walla, 1918; Park Weed Willis, M. D., Seattle, 1920; John Warren Langdon, Walla Walla, 1917; Miles Conway Moore, LL. D., Walla Walla, 1918; Oscar Drumheller, B. S., Walla Walla, 1917; Edwin Alonzo Reser, Walla Walla, 1920.

Numbers indicate the years in which terms of trustees expire. The election takes place at the annual meeting in June.

OFFICERS OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

President, Miles Conway Moore, LL. D.; treasurer, Allen Holbrook Reynolds, A. M.; secretary, Dorsey Marion Hill, Ph. B.

FACULTY

Stephen Beasley Linnard Penrose, D. D., president and Cushing Eells professor of philosophy; Louis Francis Anderson, A. M., vice president and professor of Greek; William Denison Lyman, A. M., Nelson Gales Blalock professor of history; Helen Abby Pepoon, A. B., professor of Latin; Benjamin Harrison Brown, A. M., Nathaniel Shipman professor of physics; Walter Andrew Bratton, A. B., dean of the science group and Alexander Jay Anderson professor of mathematics; James Walton Cooper, A. M., professor of Romance languages; Howard Stidham Brode, Ph. D., Spencer F. Baird professor of biology; Edward Ernest Ruby, A. M., dean of the language group and Clement Biddle Penrose professor of Latin; Helen Louise Burr, A. B., dean of women; Elias Blum, professor of the theory of music; William Hudson Bleakney, Ph. D., professor of Greek; William Rees Davis, A. M., Mary A. Denny professor of English; Walter Crosby Eells, A. M., professor of applied mathematics and drawing; Raymond Vincent Borleske, A. B., director of physical education; Charles Gourlay Goodrich, M. S., professor of German; Frank Loyal Haigh, Ph. D., professor of chemistry; Arthur Chester Millspaugh, Ph. D., professor of political science; Thomas Franklin Day, Ph. D., acting dean of the philosophy group and acting professor of philosophy; Frances Rebecca Gardner, A. B., acting dean of women; William Ezekiel Leonard, A. M., acting professor of economics and business; Walter Cooke Lee, A. B., associate librarian; Milton Simpson, A. M., acting associate professor of English; Harriet Lulu Carstensen, A. M., assistant librarian; Alice Popper, instructor in French and German; Margaret Lucille Leyda, A. B., instructor in English and physical training for women.

Billings Hall, Department of ScienceThe GymnasiumWhitman Memorial BuildingReynold's Hall, Young Ladies DormitoryMcDowell Hall, Conservatory of MusicGROUP OF WHITMAN COLLEGE BUILDINGS, WALLA WALLA

Billings Hall, Department of ScienceThe GymnasiumWhitman Memorial BuildingReynold's Hall, Young Ladies DormitoryMcDowell Hall, Conservatory of MusicGROUP OF WHITMAN COLLEGE BUILDINGS, WALLA WALLA

The catalog shows also that at the present date the college owns equipment, buildings, and grounds to the value of $466,091.40 and endowment funds to the amount of $684,247. The expenses for the session of 1915-16 were $88,892.92. The enrollment of students in the literary departments for 1916-17 was 312, and in the conservatory of music 289.

The graduates of the college who have received bachelor's degrees during the years 1886-1917 aggregate about four hundred and twenty-five. The large majority of these have received their degrees during the seven years ending with the latter date. Classes were very small up to about 1910. Since that time the number of seniors has been from twenty-five to forty. Besides those who have graduated with the regular college literary and scientific degrees, a large number have graduated from academic, normal and conservatory courses.

We are indebted to Mr. W. L. Stirling of the board of trustees of St. Paul's School for Girls for the sketch here subjoined.

HISTORY OF SAINT PAUL'S SCHOOL, WALLA WALLA

Saint Paul's School was opened in September, 1872, as a day school for girls by the Rev. Lemuel H. Wells, a missionary of the Protestant Episcopal Church, who had come to Walla Walla the previous year and organized Saint Paul's Church.

Seeing the need of a girls' school, a board of trustees was selected consisting of the Rev. Lemuel H. Wells, John S. Boyer, Philip Ritz, B. L. Sharpstein, A. B. Elmer, Judge J. D. Mix and John Abbott. Funds were obtained in the East and a frame building was erected near the corner of Third and Poplar streets.

The school prospered, and it was decided to make it a boarding school. More money was raised in the East and in Walla Walla, more land was purchased and a dormitory was built.

In September, 1873, it was opened as Saint Paul's Boarding and Day School for Girls, with Mrs. George Browne as principal. Mrs. Browne was succeededby Miss Henrietta B. Garretson (who later became Mrs. Lemuel H. Wells) and the Rev. J. D. Lathrop, D. D.

In the earlier days of the school, pupils from Idaho, Montana and Eastern Oregon frequently paid their tuitions in gold dust, and there were a few cases where payment was even made in produce, such as flour, and potatoes. One parent paid in cattle, which remained on the ranch and multiplied until they paid for an addition to one of the school buildings.

The school was successfully maintained until the year 1885, when it was closed. It was reopened in 1897 under Miss Imogen Boyer, as principal. It was incorporated September 14, 1897, by E. B. Whitman, Rev. Francis L. Palmer, B. L. Sharpstein, W. H. Upton, and J. H. Marshall, Rev. F. L. Palmer being chosen its first president.

In 1899 a new site was purchased on Catherine Street, and a new three story building erected named "Appleton Hall." The trustees at that time were Bishop Wells, The Rev. Andreas Bard, B. L. Sharpstein, Levi Ankeny, R. F. Smitten and W. H. Upton. Miss Imogen Boyer was principal, and so continued until her resignation in 1903. Under Miss Boyer's administration the school increased substantially in prestige and in the number of pupils in attendance.

In 1903 Miss Caroline F. Buck was elected principal, and by formal agreement between Bishop Wells and the board of trustees the school was thenceforth to be conducted as a diocesan school of the Protestant Episcopal Church.

In 1904 Miss Buck was succeeded by Rev. Andreas Bard, as principal.

In 1906 funds were secured by Bishop Wells for the erection of a new three story brick dormitory named "Ewing Hall" which greatly increased the accommodations for boarders and materially assisted in the growth of the school.

In 1907 Rev. Andreas Bard resigned and was succeeded by Miss Anna E. Plympton, who remained until 1910. Miss Nettie M. Galbraith was then elected principal, and under her able administration, assisted by Miss Mary E. Atkinson, as vice principal, the school has grown rapidly year by year until it is now the largest, as well as the oldest school for girls in the State of Washington, and probably in the entire Northwest.

In 1911 Bishop Wells secured additional funds for the purchase of the Sharpstein property adjoining the school grounds to allow for expansion in the near future. The acquisition of this fine property 200 feet by 200 feet gave the school a frontage of 543 feet on Catherine Street, one of the finest pieces of property in the city.

In 1916, Bishop Herman Page, of Spokane, succeeded Bishop Wells as president of the board of trustees; the other members of the board at that time being Rev. C. E. Tuke, George A. Evans, W. A. Ritz, Dr. F. W. Rees, H. G. Thompson, Dr. H. R. Keylor, J. W. Langdon and W. L. Stirling.

The need of increased accommodation for boarders being imperative, Bishop Page undertook to raise the sum of $10,000 to $12,000 for a new building provided $5,000 additional should be subscribed by the people of Walla Walla. This was done and a new fire proof brick building was erected in 1917, containing assembly hall, gymnasium and dormitories, and named "Wells Hall" in honor of Bishop Wells, who had founded the school in 1872 and had ever since been its most constant and devoted supporter. Even with its new equipment the schoolat once became crowded to its capacity, there being fifty boarders, as well as a large number of day scholars, and plans are being considered for another new building.

Although the school now has an annual budget of nearly twenty thousand dollars, it has never been entirely self-supporting, being without endowment, and always having given the greatest possible service at a very moderate charge. The raising of an adequate endowment fund is contemplated as soon as circumstances will permit.

The school offers a systematic and liberal course of study, maintaining kindergarten, primary, intermediate, grammar, grade, academic and music departments, also special post graduate, business, and finishing courses. The course includes eight years in the elementary school, completed in six or seven years when possible, and four years in the academic department. There is also an advanced course offered for irregular students and for those graduated from the high schools and academies.

The instructors are Christian women, and it is the aim of the school to administer to the individual needs of girls; to aid in their moral, intellectual and physical development by offering them the advantages of a well ordered school and the wholesome influence of a refined home. The scholarship of Saint Paul's is attested by the fact that Eastern and Western examiners of leading educational institutions have expressed their willingness to accept its graduates without examination. Saint Paul's covers a wide field, having had among its boarders in recent years scholars from Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, Panama and Alaska.

The location of the school is exceptionally fine, the grounds extensive, well laid out and shaded, and the buildings, four in number, are spacious, well constructed and conveniently arranged and equipped.

THE CATHOLIC ACADEMIES

The Catholic Church has maintained two academies, one for boys and one for girls, for a number of years. These were founded early in the history of Walla Walla. In 1864 the Sisters of Providence opened the doors of a school for girls on the location where St. Mary's Hospital now stands. Rev. J. B. A. Brouillet was at that time at the head of the local church and the school was officially under his oversight. In 1865 St. Patrick's Academy for boys was opened. This was on the site of the present Catholic Church, and the first teacher was H. H. Lamarche. He acted as principal for fifteen years. In 1899 notable changes occurred in the academy. In that year fine and noteworthy exercises in its dedication occurred under charge of Rev. Father M. Flohr. The presence of Bishop E. J. O'Dea added to the interest of the occasion. In August following three brothers from San Francisco arrived to take charge of the academy. In honor of St. J. B. De La Salle, founder of the congregation to which those brothers belonged, the name of the academy was changed to De La Salle Institute. It opened in September, 1899, with 100 pupils. The numbers and influence of this institute have steadily increased. The teachers at the present are: BrotherLuke, director; Brothers Damien and Daniel, teachers. The number of boys enrolled is eighty.

The school for girls, founded in 1864, as stated, developed into St. Vincent Academy, and as such it has occupied a position of great influence and usefulness ever since its foundation. Every facility for academic study, with special attention to the varied accomplishments of music, drawing, painting, and decorative work, as well as the practical branches in needle work, in stenography, and in typewriting, is afforded by St. Vincent's Academy. Extracts from the current reports indicate the present conditions.

The Sister Superior in charge of the academy is Sister Mary Mount Carmel. There are six teachers employed at the present time. The enrollment consists of 164 girls and fourteen small boys.

WALLA WALLA COLLEGE

Walla Walla has become known as an educational center, and in addition to the public schools, and private institutions within the city, there is still another outside the city limits entitled to interest. This is Walla Walla College at College Place, a flourishing suburb of the city. The college is under the direction of the Seventh Day Adventists. It was founded by that denomination in 1892 upon land donated by Dr. N. G. Blalock and has been maintained by contributions from the membership of the church and tuitions from the students. In connection with it there is a well conducted hospital. There is a beautiful and commodious main building, besides the other buildings needful to provide for the large number of students who come from elsewhere and make their home at the college. From the current catalog we derive the following exhibit of the managers and faculty.

PRESIDENTS OF WALLA WALLA COLLEGE

William W. Prescott, 1892-94; Edward A. Sutherland, 1894-97; Emmett J. Hibbard,1897-98; Walter B. Sutherland, 1898-1900; E. L. Stewart 1900-02; Charles C. Lewis, 1902-04; Joseph L. Kay, 1904-05; M. E. Cady, 1905-11; Ernest C. Kellogg, 1911-17; Walter I. Smith, 1917-.

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

C. W. Flaiz, College Place, Wash.; H. W. Decker, College Place, Wash.; F. S. Bunch, College Place, Wash.; H. W. Cottrell, Portland, Ore.; J. J. Nethery, College Place, Wash.; J. F. Piper, Seattle, Wash.; G. F. Watson, Bozeman Mont.; F. W. Peterson, College Place, Wash.; E. C. Kellogg, College Place, Wash.

OFFICERS OF THE BOARD

C. W. Flaiz, chairman; E. C. Kellogg, secretary; F. W. Peterson, treasurer.


Back to IndexNext