MAIN STREET, ASOTINVIEW OF ASOTIN, LOOKING EASTAnother presidential year, of still more momentous issues and dramatic surprises comes in with 1916, the year in which the whole world was reeling with the most insane war ever recorded, and of which it is evident that the United States must be the ultimate arbiter. We find in Asotin County in that election 2,506 votes. We find also some changes in voting precincts. They appear thus: Alpowa, Anatone, Asotin, Bly, Clarkston, Cloverland, Grande Ronde, Grouse, Hanson, Pleasant, South Clarkston, Theon, West Asotin, West Clarkston. The total votes of the three Clarkston precincts was 1,237, with one voter reported absent. That of the two Asotin precincts was 519, with three absent. The prohibition question again came to the fore with several measures designed to impair the law passed in 1914. On Initiative No. 24, one of those measures, the vote was 314 for to 1,572 against. It may be added that the negative vote in the state on that measure (allowing manufacture and sale of beer), as well as the others of the same character, was so overwhelming, 100,000 or more, that it was hardly worth while to count it.The national results of the election were: For the Wilson electors, 1,136; for the Hughes electors, 1,004; for Poindexter, republican, as senator, 983 to 926 for Turner, democrat; for La Follette, republican for congressman, 1,142 to 819 for Masterson; McBride, republican for governor, 927 to 1,182 for Lister, democrat. E. V. Kuykendall, republican for joint senator, had 1,170 to 882 for Thomson, democrat. E. E. Halsey again went to the lower House of the Legislature, his fifth successive election. The local officers were: F. M. Halsey, sheriff; Homer L. Post, attorney; E. R. Downen, assessor; A. A. Alvord; superintendent of schools; P. P. Oehler, engineer; G. A. Fraser, treasurer; Lillie Ausman, auditor; J. W. Stephens, clerk; C. Shumaker, J. K. McIntosh, commissioners.MISCELLANEOUS HAPPENINGSTurning from the record of political events to what may be denominated the miscellaneous happenings of the county history, we may note that Asotin has had its full share. The beautiful creek that now furnishes the water for several thousand acres of the great Clarkston project, a stream of much picturesque beauty as it makes its way, swiftly indeed, but with apparent serenity and general decorum through the lower end of the town into Snake River, has taken the liberty on several occasions to gather up reinforcements from the plains through which its tributaries have worn their way, and has come sweeping down the steep declivities in torrents that threatened to tear out everything in its course. It is quite well under control now, due to the extensive impounding and distribution processes of the irrigation system, but formerly in case of sudden rain or Chinook winds, the vast amount of surface from which the water must drain through the single channel might transform it in a few hours from a bright pellucid mountain creek into a veritable river of turbid torrents. The most famous floods were those of 1887, 1894, and 1897. That of 1894 was the greatest in a general way in the Columbia and Snake and all their tributariesever known by white men, and according to Indians has not been equaled for many years, possibly several centuries. Nearly the whole of the lower part of Asotin was covered and the road between Asotin and Clarkston was under water in numerous places. So far as destruction from the creek was concerned, however, the flood of May 20, 1897, was the most disastrous of any. This was due to a cloud burst covering most of the upper sources of the creek. Since there was but a gentle rain at Asotin there was no conception of what was impending from above, until the roaring of the torrent heralded its approach. For a distance of fifteen miles the bed of the stream was swept clean. All the bridges were carried out and many of the houses, gardens, and other property destroyed.Mr. Baumeister points out in his beautiful yard, with its stone wall ten feet high on the creek margin, how the water rose high above the top of the wall. Considering the irresistible force of a column of water fifteen or eighteen feet high rushing down that steep descent and considering the destruction of property it seems strange indeed that there were no human lives lost. It seems to have been by a series of fortunate happenings that those in peril were in positions to save themselves. The schoolhouse in the Hopwood District was swept away, but the teacher, hearing the tumult, had led the children to the hillside just in time.The most notable fires in the history of Asotin Town were on February 3, 1886, in which the Pioneer Hotel belonging to Mrs. Lile was destroyed, and that of March 15, 1893, in which the City Hotel, belonging to Mrs. Myers, was burned. The feature of the second fire which gave it great notoriety was that a man named Frank Sherry perished in the flames. It appeared that Charles E. Myers, the husband of the woman who conducted the hotel, but who had been separated from her, had been found not guilty of killing a man some years before as result of difficulty about his first wife. The sentiment upon the discovery of the death of Sherry became intense in the town and it was reported to officers that there was a plan for lynching Myers, who had become charged with having fired the hotel in order to punish his wife and a man of whom he was jealous.The Sentinel, in speaking of the event in its issue of March 31st, declares that the reports of purposed lynching are exaggerated and that the people of the place have no other thought than a fair trial. As a matter of fact, Myers was conveyed to Dayton. He was subsequently tried for murder. The case was remarkable in that it was appealed twice to the Supreme Court and on the first appeal was retried. The verdict of guilty was affirmed in both cases. Petitions for pardon were sent to Gov. John H. McGraw, but he declined to stop the course of judicial decision, and Myers, without at any time having confessed the crime, was executed on September 30, 1895, two and a half years after the alleged crime. The execution took place at Pomeroy, and in accordance with the barbarous and horrible law then prevailing was public, and it is stated that hundreds of men, women and children were present.The annals of the county were marked in August, 1896, with the lynching of a half-breed, Viles, for a sexual outrage, and the same kind of punishment for a similar offense with murder was meted out to a boy named Hamilton in the same month of 1903. The old timers in discussing those events express the opinion that though lynch law is to be deplored, and though in the secondcase the criminal was a half-witted degenerate, yet the proof was clear in both cases (for both confessed), and the condign punishment well-merited.Turning from the miscellaneous events to the constructive industries of the county, we may say that there has been a steady and substantial, though not rapid increase in population, production, and property valuation, year by year from the date of county organization. The original stock industry gave way to grain farming, and in that Asotin County has been, for its area, one of the most productive in the state. It is asserted that Asotin warehouses and platforms along the Snake River from which the steamboats gather up the wheat, constitute the greatest initial grain shipping point or series of points on the O. W. R. and N. R. R. system.ORCHARDS AND GARDENSBut though the wheat and barley of the prairies constitute already a great production and will in the future constitute a still larger source of revenue, the most interesting and important industry is horticulture and fruit raising. In the area of land devoted to intensive farming under irrigation, Asotin has nearly as much as the other three counties of old Walla Walla put together. This very important productive area, which comprises the most distinctive feature of the county, centers at Clarkston. The history of this industry and this place constitutes a chapter by itself, unique in the history of the Northwest.The Clarkston project has been practically the work of one of the most noted historic families of the United States, that of the Adams family of Boston. Charles Francis Adams the second, when president of the Union Pacific R. R., formed the conception of an irrigated tract under ideal conditions upon land which he could see had superior advantages of location, soil, and climate, that is to say the broad flat, with successive benches, on the west side of the junction of the Snake and Clearwater. That location was first called Lewiston. Then in remembrance of the historic name of Concord, Mass., dear to the New Englanders who were founding the enterprise, the name Concord was used. Objections on the part of local residents arose, and on April 6, 1900, the name of the voting precinct was changed by the county commissioners to Clarkston, as the fitting mate to Lewiston, recalling the two leaders of the first expedition of discovery. By special petition to the Federal authorities the name of Clarkston was adapted for the name of the town.The enterprise at Clarkston was in reality, it should be observed, a second thought on the part of Mr. Adams, for his first plan was the development of what is now known as the Indian Cache Ranch, formerly known as the Adams Ranch, on the north side of the Clearwater, a short distance above Lewiston. That splendid property was the first undertaking of Mr. Adams.The first organization of the project at Clarkston was effected in 1896 under the name of the Lewiston Water and Power Co., of which Henry Adams the Second, son of Charles Francis Adams, became the head. This company ultimately had a capital of $2,000,000. In 1900 the company acquired the property of the Lewiston Light Company which had been formed in 1899 to provide electric light and power for the City of Lewiston. In 1904 the Asotin Land and Water Company's holdings were acquired and the projects were all blended in theLewiston-Clarkston Company, and that in turn was reorganized in 1910 as the Lewiston-Clarkston Improvement Company. Henry Adams, with members of his family, retained the majority of the stock. At the present time, the properties are segregated into two distinct divisions. The Lewiston-Clarkston Improvement Company conducts the land business, while the utility work, the light and power business, is conducted under the name of the Washington-Idaho Water, Light and Power Co. Such is a bare outline of the general plan and changes effected by reorganization of this remarkable enterprise. Entering a little more into detail, it is of interest to note that the initial incorporators of the Lewiston Water and Power Company were E. H. Libby, formerly of Yakima, C. C. Van Arsdil and Dr. J. B. Morris of Lewiston, and G. W. Bailey and Wm. Farrish of Asotin. This incorporation acquired 2,500 acres at low figures, ranging from ten to twenty-five dollars per acre, largely from the original entrymen, Edward Pearcy, E. J. Warner, Wm. Caldwell, S. Wildenthaler, Joseph Alexander, Chris Weisenberger, D. S. Dent, John Aubin, together with a tract that had been secured by the New England Mortgage Security Company. E. H. Libby became president of the company. Land secured, water was the next requisite. The Asotin Creek had already been filed on and in 1896, July 18th, water actually reached Vineland. Mr. Libby acted as manager, with intermissions, until April 7, 1911. Mr. Libby, with W. G. Clark, engineered the reorganization of the Lewiston-Clarkston Company, which in 1910 became the Lewiston-Clarkston Improvement Company. At that time Spencer Trask & Company of New York, took $600,000 bonds of the new company and acquired an interest in the common stock. H. L. Powers, now of Lewiston, became vice president and manager in 1911, with Henry Adams as president, and retained the position till 1912, when he removed to Lewiston. He continued to act as vice president of the Lewiston Land & Water Company. Robert A. Foster, who had come in 1910 as engineer, became in 1912 the vice president and general manager of the Improvement Company, and in 1914, its president.Land and water secured, the next necessity was a bridge across Snake River. Clarkston was so logically connected with Lewiston, though in another state, that a direct connection by a bridge was vital. The City of Lewiston granted to Mr. Libby a charter for the construction of a bridge in May, 1896. It was completed and opened for traffic June 24, 1899. This was a great bridge, 1,450 feet long, lifted so high above the river as to allow steamers to pass under. The first articles of incorporation of the bridge first known as the Lewiston-Concord Bridge, were dated November 26, 1897, and the incorporators were E. H. Libby and George W. Bailey. The incorporation was practically identical with the Lewiston Water and Power Company. Being across a navigable river the plans had to be approved by the secretary of war, and a permit granted by Congress. These necessities were duly accomplished in 1898. The contract for the construction called for $110,000. In 1914 the bridge became the joint property of the two states, for $80,000.Asotin Creek has a mean annual discharge of 39,410 acre feet. The system makes provision for a domestic and municipal consumption for 10,000 people, and irrigation supply for 6,000 acres. The main pipe line is eleven miles long, and is from thirty-two to forty-eight inches in diameter, made of wooden staves, except where it crosses Maguire Gulch, a very high pressure steel pipe, four feet in diameter is used.ONE VIEW OF THE PARTIALLY COMPLETED TWENTY MILLION GALLON POMEROY GULCH RESERVOIR. A LINK IN THE PRESSURE WATER SERVICE FOR THE IRRIGATION AND DOMESTIC SUPPLY OF CLARKSTON-VINELANDThe Pomeroy Reservoir has a capacity of 20,000,000 cubic feet or 460 acre feet.The major part of what has generally been known as Clarkston-Vineland has been sold by the company and is cultivated in small tracts, beautifully laid out and developed, trees, flowers, shrubbery, and lawns, a continuous village, thus fulfilling the noble ideal of the projectors as being a model irrigation project. The company has, however, retained possession of the larger part of the magnificent Clarkston Heights and is handling that property as a unit. It is a district hard to match among the irrigated tracts of the Northwest. It has every conceivable advantage of soil, climate, scenery, water supply, and when ultimately sold will be one of the rare home lands of the world. The company still owns about one-third of the townsite of Clarkston and about five thousand acres of land, of which 927.98 acres are in apple trees in a solid body. The apple trees are divided as follows in percentages: Winesap, 40 per cent; Yellow Newtowns, 15; Spitzenberg, 15; Jonathan, 10; Rome Beauty, 10; assorted varieties, 10. The average holding on the tract is only 3½ acres, making this the most densely populated irrigation district in the United States.The electric power and light properties of the company, under another organization, as stated, constitute a system by themselves. The power plant comprises the Asotin power station, the Pomeroy power station, the Clarkston auxiliary steam plant, and the Lewiston sub station; a total of 3,200 horse power. There is also a power development on the Grande Ronde River, 2½ miles above the mouth and 28½ miles from Clarkston, with a minimum of 6,900 horse power, and a peack load capacity of 10,000 horse power. Through these plants the company supplies with power and light the towns of Asotin, Clarkston, Lewiston and Lapwai, having a population of about fifteen thousand.One of the most important recent enterprises in the development of this section is the electric railway from Lewiston across the interstate bridge to Clarkston and Vineland, a total amount of four miles of street railway. This work was completed in the summer of 1916. It is owned by the Lewiston-Clarkston Transit Company. Contrary to the recent experience of some of the "Twin City" trolley enterprises, which have been seriously affected by jitney competition, this undertaking is said to be amply rewarded by financial results. There is so much transit during the fruit picking and packing season and there is so much general activity of movement to and from Lewiston, that the cars are almost constantly well filled. There was a total of 2,000,000 passenger crossings over the bridge during the year ended at this writing.The Clarkston-Vineland region has none of the first pioneer settlers left. There are, however, a number of what may be called the second wave of immigration, prior to the inauguration of the Improvement Company. Mr. and Mrs. F. G. Morrison are said to be the earliest comers now living in the town. They came in 1878, though not to the place where they are now living. At the time of their coming the ferry was maintained by Ed Pearcy. E. J. Warner had a claim in what is now the business part of Clarkston. "Johnnie" Greenfield, an old bachelor, was then living on the "flat." He was a landscape gardener of much ability, having been employed to lay out Woodward's Gardens in SanFrancisco. There was a family named Pearsall living a little west of the present home of Mr. Morrison, having four sons, Jerry, Jake, William, and Ed.We referred earlier in this chapter to O. F. Canfield. He is a man of unique interest, both by reason of keen intellect, many adventures in the wildest regions of the Pacific Coast, and his peculiarly marked pioneer traits. He came as a ten year old boy with his father, W. D. Canfield, and the family from Iowa across the plains in 1847. Being late in reaching Oregon, the father decided to accept the urgent invitation of Dr. Whitman that he remain at Waiilatpu (Mr. Canfield says that the Indians sounded that historic name more asWaiilatipsu) for the winter. They had been there but about a month when the dreadful Whitman massacre of November 29, 1847, occurred. The father of the family was shot by the Indians, but by reason of a glancing bullet was not seriously, though painfully wounded. In the general excitement he evaded observation and remaining in hiding till night managed to communicate with Mrs. Canfield and the children. Thinking from all the indications that the Indians were not going to murder the women and children, Mr. Canfield decided to try to reach Spalding's station at Lapwai where he hoped that he might find rescuers for the captives at Waiilatpu. Though bleeding from his wound, and having but scanty food or clothing in the freezing weather of winter he set out and with terrible suffering reached Lapwai. The son, now a white haired man of seventy-eight, tells us that his father would never have reached Lapwai, had not old Timothy, the Nez Percé chief of the Alpowa, succored him and carried him across the river. Being on the north side of the river he was comparatively safe and reached Lapwai. Years after, so Mr. Canfield tells us, he saw Timothy, then very old and destitute. Telling him that he was the son of the man whom he saved at that momentous time, he told the old Indian that he wanted to pay him for saving his father. But Timothy would not take anything. He said, striking his breast, that he had "hyas close tumtum." It was "halo chickamon." Finally Mr. Canfield induced the old man to accept some tobacco and an overcoat as presents, but not as pay.Mr. Canfield told another Indian story of very different character, worthy of preservation. When Howlish Wampoo, the famous Umatilla chief, was the ruler of his tribe he had many horses, some fine racing animals. There was a great horse racer at that time named Joe Crabbe, living in Portland. Crabbe had known of Howlish Wampoo's fast horses and was anxious to get up some races and incidentally clean up some big bets. Going to Umatilla he finally engineered a big meet with the Indians. The crowning event was to be between Crabbe's champion and anything that the Indian chief could bring on. Howlish Wampoo was very crafty. He might have been a Teuton diplomat of the present. He brought out and made a great parade of a spotted horse which he said he was going to run, and then innocently put the horse in a corral very handy to the white men. Crabbe's hustlers took the horse out in the night, no Indians being in sight, and tried him. They found that he was nothing extra fast, and so they made all their plans in the light of that discovery. The next day came the great race. Everything was excitement, and betting went to a great pitch. Crabbe finally put up $1,500 on his horse and at last even his silver mounted saddle and spurs. Howlish Wampoo accepted the bets with seeming reluctance and Indian stoicism. When the horses were brought out Crabbe saw with somesuspicion that the spotted Indian racer looked a little different and stepped a little different from what he did the day before. As he told Canfield in relating his experience he "felt a sort of cold chill go down his back." But it was too late to back out. Off they went, a four mile race, two miles to a stake, around it and back again. The Indian horse was evidently not the same horse. He went like a shot out of a gun and reached the goal post so much ahead that his rider turned back to run again with Crabbe's champion, and then beat him into camp. The Indians made an awful clean up on the white men's bets. Howlish Wampoo, with just a faint suspicion of an inward grin on his mahogany countenance, told Crabbe that he might have his saddle and spurs back again, and enough money to get home on.Afterwards Crabbe made great offers to the Indian for the spotted racer, wishing to take him East or even to Europe, for he was satisfied that he could beat the world in a four mile race. But Howlish Wampoo would never sell the pet racer.Mr. Canfield remembers the events of the Whitman massacre with intensity and narrates them with vividness. He considers the fundamental cause to have been the fear by the Indians that the whites were going to dispossess them of their lands, and that their fears in that respect were fostered by Tom Hill, a renegade Delaware Indian, who had drifted across the continent, having come considerable part of the way with the Canfields. Jo Lewis, a half-breed, who had been greatly befriended by the Whitmans, was another inciting cause. Both of them were bad men and grossly betrayed their benefactors. The fatal scourge of measles and the death of some of Whitman's patients was an occasion for the outbreak, but the fear of white occupation was, in Mr. Canfield's judgment, the real cause. He says that he knows that Tamsucky was the leader in the massacre and that it was he who buried his tomahawk in Whitman's head. There was reason to believe that Tamsucky afterwards greatly regretted his act. There were four Indian chiefs, Isticcas, Moolipool, Tinsinmitsal, and Beardy, who were steadfast friends of the whites. This assertion of Mr. Canfield is the more interesting by reason of the fact that Miles Cannon in his recent book, "Waiilatpu," asserts that Isticcas was a traitor and participated in the massacre. Mr. Canfield is confident that that is an error. Mrs. Jacobs (well known in Walla Walla, now living in Portland, an eight year old child at the time of the massacre, a member of the Osborne family, who were present at the tragedy), supports Mr. Canfield's statement, declaring that old timers asserted that if there were any Christians in the country, Isticcas was one. Mr. Cannon in his book also expresses the opinion that Mr. Rogers basely asserted to the Indians that Doctor Whitman was poisoning them, hoping thereby to save his own life. Mrs. Jacobs declares that this statement is absolutely false and that Mr. Rogers, like the rest of the victims, died like a hero and a Christian.Doctor Whitman, according to Mr. Canfield's recollection, while one of the noblest and bravest of men, was not a "fighting man," submitting rather tamely, as he thought, to insults by the Indians. Nor was he so large and powerful a man physically as some have described him. The most valuable testimony about Whitman is found in the statement by Mr. Canfield that he heard him several times discussing the future of this region with the elder Canfield. He urged him to remain in the Walla Walla Valley, pointing out that since it had becomeAmerican territory it offered greater inducements to settlement than any other part of Oregon. He thought it better than the Willamette Valley. He declared that it was the best sheep country in the world, that during the eleven winters since he came to Walla Walla there were only two in which sheep could not have grazed the year round. He proposed that Mr. Canfield locate near Waiilatpu, and the next year join with himself in an organized drive of a large band of sheep into the country and the inauguration of a permanent wool industry. He figured that they could work their wool down to The Dalles and there reach regular boat connections and from the Lower Columbia ship by sailing vessels to New York, Boston, and Europe. It was certainly a great conception and demonstrates anew the practical judgment and far vision of the martyr of Waiilatpu.THE TOWNS OF ASOTIN COUNTYAsotin and Clarkston are the only organized towns in Asotin County.As stated earlier there was a double location, Assotin City and Asotin, for what has now become one town under the latter name. The former place was laid out by Alexander Sumpter in May, 1878. On July 22, 1880, the dedication was made by Mr. and Mrs. Sumpter, and at the same time a postoffice was located there. The next year Mr. Sumpter erected a warehouse. The ferry across Snake River was established by J. J. Kanawyer in October, 1881.A flour mill was put up in 1883 by L. O. Stimson at a point about two-thirds of a mile up the creek from its mouth. That mill was run for a time by John Dill, then by Curtis and Braden, who bought out Stimson. A little later than Mr. Sumpter's location, Mr. Schank employed A. T. Beall to survey his land near the mouth of the creek for a town site. The plot of this location was filed November 10, 1881, by T. M. E. Schank, W. H. Reed, Louise D. Reed, and Alexander Reed. Various additions have been made to the original site. Mr. S. J. Sergeant tells us that when he came to Asotin in 1879, there was nothing except Schank's cabin. During the next year Mr. Schank and Mr. Reed set out in earnest to start their town. In the issue of theSentinelof April 24, 1885, we find an advertisement that would do credit to a Spokane real estate dealer setting forth the desirability of the location for business, loans or investment. Lots are announced at from thirty to one hundred and fifty dollars, and "sure to advance."In theAsotin Spirit, beginning October 19, 1883, succeeded by theSentinel, June 24, 1885, we find other interesting ads, of that day. In the first number of theSpiritPettyjohn and McAlpin advertise their general store. F. E. Scott of Theon announces that he will sell wines, whiskeys, oysters, candies, medicines, and toilet articles. The ferry of J. J. and P. Kanawyer appears and it is asserted that the road to Lewiston by that crossing is far better than any other. The Assotin Flour Mills of Curtis and Braden have good space, and they announce that they will give thirty-five pounds of flour and six pounds of bran for a bushel of wheat.MAIN STREET, LOOKING SOUTH, CLARKSTONPUBLIC LIBRARY, CLARKSTONIn theSentinelof various issues in 1885, we find the advantages of the Pearcy ferry displayed. The Lile House of J. D. Lile appears. In theSentinelof June 24, 1885, is a flaming prospectus of a "Grand Social Hop" to occur in Embree Hall on the eve of the Fourth. The floor managers were to be Wm. Critchfield, J. P. Fine, and Henry Thomason. The committee of arrangements was to consist of C. S. Morey, J. P. Fulton, Al Stiffel, and A. M. Morris. The Packwood Pearce and Warner String Band was to provide music. Tickets were to be $2.25. TheSentinelof October 9, 1885, contains the obituary of Mr. Schank who had died by suicide, hanging himself in his own house in what was supposed to be a moment of aberration through business worry. In the same number is a remarkably drawing ad., by Baumeister and Co. to the farmers. The cards of L. J. Dittmore and G. W. Bailey, lawyers, appear.It may be very suitable to give here the successive stages in the history of the one paper which has held the field substantially all the time. Coming to Asotin from Pataha and taking with it the name ofSpirit, it was published at first by J. H. Ginder and Co., to be succeeded, March 28, 1884, by D. B. Pettyjohn, editor and proprietor. October 9, 1885, the paper became theSentinel, published by the Sentinel Publishing Co. It continued under that name for over fourteen years, and on November 4, 1899, appeared as theAsotin County Sentinel, the editors and proprietors being Elmer Waldrip and Kay L. Thompson. Mr. Thompson has been sole proprietor since 1902, and has conducted the paper with conspicuous ability, making of it one of the best weeklies in the state. It can be truly affirmed that theSentinelhas been a great factor in the development of Asotin County.In 1887, the rival town sites had practically blended, or rather the most of Assotin City had slid down to Asotin. The time for incorporation seemed to have arrived. On May 28, 1888, a meeting of citizens was held in Baumeister's Hall, for preparing incorporation papers. These were approved by Judge W. G. Langford, territorial judge, on June 15th, and thus Asotin became an incorporation. The judge appointed D. Talbot, H. C. Fulton, W. J. Clemans, J. N. Rice, and Edward Baumeister a provisional board of trustees. The first election was held April 1, 1889, and the trustees elect were as follows: J. K. Rice, D. J. Wann, J. H. Bingham, M. B. Mitchell and James Michie.But like some other "plans of mice and men" this went "agley." The Supreme Court of the new state made a decision in February, 1890, which invalidated such towns as had been incorporated by order of district courts.This set aside all the proceedings of Asotin thus far. Feeling that the indications thus far were such as to justify incorporation, the citizens petitioned the county commissioners on May 29, 1890, to call an election for incorporation under the state law. An election having been set it was duly held on June 21st. Thus Asotin was duly reincorporated under state law, and the officers selected were these: Mayor, Charles Isecke; councilmen, H. E. Benedict, Edward Baumeister, N. Ausman, Richard Ruddy, and L. B. Howard; treasurer, J. O'Keefe.Different citizens of Asotin to hold the place of chief executive of the city have been Charles Isecke, who, as stated, was the first incumbent of the office in 1890, and who held it for three years, and was again chosen in 1906 to serve for two years. Edward Baumeister was elected mayor in 1905.J. B. Jones was the choice for mayor in 1908 and continued in 1909 and 1910.The first council chosen on June 21, 1890, consisted, as noted, of H. E. Benedict, Edward Baumeister, N. Ausman, R. Ruddy, and L. B. Howard.Without endeavoring to give the complete list of city officials we will passon to 1905, and in that year we find the council composed of Kay L. Thompson, J. B. Jones, M. B. Coon, G. A. Brown and H. Critchfield. In 1906 the personnel of the council was this: E. H. Dammarrell, S. J. Sargeant, F. B. Jones, M. B. Coon, Kay L. Thompson. In 1907, Messrs. Coon, Sargeant, and Dammarrell were re-elected, and R. Graham and Ben Ayers came in as new members. In 1908, Mr. Ayers was re-elected, but the other four were new men, A. Beckman, C. Brantner, M. J. Garrison, H. C. Fulton. In 1909, all held over with the exception of Mr. Garrison, the new member elect being E. G. MacFarlane. Beginning with 1910 the mayors and councilmen have been the following:1910—J. B. Jones, mayor. Councilmen: A. Beckman, M. J. Garrison, Ben Ayers, E. G. MacFarlane, and C. M. Brantner. Treasurer: I. N. Brazeau. Clerk: C. S. Florence.1911—Mayor: J. R. Glover. Councilmen: Kenneth McIntosh, Jay Swain, Ben Ayers, E. G. MacFarlane, and M. J. Garrison. Treasurer: Ed Bucholz. Clerk: E. Matthes.1912—Mayor: J. R. Glover. Councilmen: Ben Ayers, Chas. S. Florence, A. Beckman and K. McIntosh. Treasurer: Ed Bucholz. Clerk: E. Matthes.1913—Mayor: J. R. Glover. Councilmen: Ben Ayers, K. McIntosh, A. Beckman, Chas. S. Florence and Geo. W. Bailey. Treasurer: Ed Bucholz. Clerk: E. Matthes.1914—Mayor: J. R. Glover. Councilmen: Ben Ayers, Geo. W. Bailey, L. H. Jurgens, W. A. Forgey and A. Beckman. Treasurer: Ed Bucholz. Clerk: I. N. Brazeau.1915—Mayor: A. A. Wormell. Councilmen: E. R. Downen, K. McIntosh, W. A. Forgey, L. H. Jurgens and Ben Ayers. Treasurer: Ed Bucholz. Clerk: C. A. Laufer.1916—Mayor: A. A. Wormell. Councilmen: L. H. Jurgens, Ben Ayers, A. A. Alvord, K. McIntosh and E. R. Downen. Treasurer: Ed Bucholz. Clerk: Chas. S. Florence. On April 4, 1916, Wormell resigned, and on April 18, 1916, M. J. Garrison appointed mayor by council for unexpired term.1917—Mayor: M. J. Garrison. Councilmen: L. H. Jurgens, E. R. Downen, Ben Ayers, A. A. Alvord and K. McIntosh. Treasurer: Ed Bucholz. Clerk: Chas. S. Florence.CLARKSTON INCORPORATEDThe incorporation of Clarkston has its first mention in the minutes of the county commissioners on January 7, 1901, when a petition from 71 citizens was received asking for such action. The proposition was lost by vote of 15 to 37 on August 5th. The petitioners returned to the charge on May 5, 1902, to incorporate Clarkston and Vineland as a city of the third class. This was defeated May 24th by 70 to 110. At the meeting of the commissioners on July 8, 1902, there came still another petition, asking that Clarkston be incorporated as a city of the fourth class. An election on that issue was held on August 2d, and this time incorporation won, 45 to 31. At the next meeting the commissioners rearranged the precinct, making the limits of Clarkston coterminous with the incorporation and from the remainder creating Vineland Precinct.HIGH SCHOOL BUILDING, CLARKSTONFollowing this election Clarkston was duly incorporated, and the first city government had its meeting for formal organization on August 26th. Alexander Robinson was the first mayor. L. S. Lehm was the first treasurer. The council consisted of George S. Bailey, C. S. Whitford, A. S. Burnett, V. Anderson, and S. J. Roberts. Wm. Porter was appointed clerk, Robert F. Klein marshal, and E. E. Halsey city attorney. The first regular election occurred in December, 1902. The former officers were re-elected, with the exception of Burnett and Roberts, who were succeeded by S. T. Ramsey and Mr. Halligus. Mayor Robinson died in 1903. The election of December 8, 1903, resulted in the election of F. C. Brown as mayor. The councilmen consisted of S. T. Ramsey, C. S. Whitford, A. S. Burnett, V. Anderson, and A. J. Wood. Mr. Lehm was re-elected treasurer. The appointive officers were continued.Mr. Frank N. Brown continued to be rechosen to the position of mayor from 1903 to 1907. The mayors following were these: R. M. Yount, 1907 to 1908; D. B. Parks, 1909 to 1910; R. M. Yount, 1910 to 1913; Dr. Paul W. Johnson, 1913 to 1914; E. J. Bailey, 1914 to 1916; J. E. Hoobler, 1916 to 1917. During the period from 1903 to 1917, we find the councilmen to have been: from 1903 to 1908, J. E. Hoobler, E. R. Stevens, S. T. Smiley, C. W. Hunton, and E. J. Bailey; 1909, F. M. Hartley, J. E. Heritage, S. L. Fowler, I. W. Rucker, H. S. Jones; 1910 and 1911, J. E. Hoobler, D. H. Stephens, S. L. Fowler, I. W. Rucker, D. H. Ransom; 1912, T. W. Hartley, J. E. Hoobler, I. W. Rucker, Herman Frank; 1913, J. E. Heritage, Mr. Daege, E. J. Dewar, J. P. Goetchius, H. G. Jones, F. M. Hartley, Herman Frank; 1914, Robert Meyer, J. H. Maynard, Herman Frank, H. S. Jones, F. M. Hartley, Mr. Bundy, J. E. Heritage; 1915, F. M. Hartley, W. E. Potter, John Whistler, P. T. Lomax, F. M. Talbot, L. M. Faulkenbury, P. F. Stillings; 1916, J. H. Maynard, E. J. Price, H. S. Jones, F. M. Hartley, Mr. Bundy, P. T. Lomax, Mr. Hill—by resignation of Mr. Hartley, Lee Morris was appointed; 1917, John Getty, J. H. Clear, L. E. Morrison, I. W. Knight, M. W. Isle, W. O. Bond, C. B. Thomson. For several years past G. L. Ackley has been clerk.Both Asotin and Clarkston have maintained commercial clubs since their early days. In Asotin the officers of the present are Edward Baumeister, president; and Charles S. Florence, secretary-treasurer.The club at Clarkston was organized on September 11, 1899, and was first known as the Business Men's Association. Its first special aim was the gravelling of the very dusty streets. The officers of the first organization were: H. C. Whetstone, president; C. M. Evans, vice president; T. W. Enos, secretary; Alexander Robinson, treasurer. In 1908 it was reorganized, named Commercial Club, and the officers chosen were: E. H. Libby, president; R. B. Hooper, vice president; J. E. Hoobler, secretary-treasurer.An attractive, though not large building was erected, with the expectation of using it as a library, but when the Carnegie Library was built, the former building became the property of the city, and is now used as a council room, as well as a Commercial Club meeting place. The present officers of the club are: E. J. Bailey, president; Lee Morris, vice president; Lester Hoobler, secretary-treasurer. By reason of the departure of Mr. Hoobler to join the army, the duties of secretary are now in the hands of G. L. Ackley.The educational system of Asotin County, like that of other units of old Walla Walla, has been typically American, one of the bed rock institutions inthe upbuilding of the new land. From the first the people of the county have taken pride in their schools and while not absolutely true at all times and in all places to the highest interest of their children—as none are even in the State of Washington—they have results which make a demonstration of high ideals. There has been steady advancement from the log schoolhouse day to date.The first school in what is now Asotin County was at Anatone, then the most flourishing community in what was then the eastern part of Columbia County. It is worthy of special note that the building was erected and the school maintained by the settlers themselves without any county appropriation. Miss Angie Bean, now Mrs. Tuttle and now living on Anatone Prairie, was the teacher of that pioneer school. We are informed by Mr. John Romaine, who came to Anatone in 1878, that the school was at its best during the first dozen or so years of its existence. As has not infrequently occurred in exclusively grain regions, the large farmers have absorbed the small ones and after a certain stage has been reached population tends to decline. As a result school districts diminish. Thus it has proved at Anatone.The first school in Asotin City dates to 1881. The first teacher was Miss Blanche Marsilliott. There seems to have been much tribulation at Asotin about building an adequate schoolhouse. Not until 1904 was there sufficient space for the steadily increasing numbers in the town. Even with the handicap of insufficient space and equipment a high standard seems to have been maintained, insomuch that the report of the State College at Pullman indicated that the graduates of the Asotin High School stand at the head in preparation for advanced work.As giving a clear and effective general view of the present status of the schools of Asotin County, we incorporate here a few paragraphs for which we are indebted to Prof. W. J. Jerome, formerly county superintendent and now city superintendent of Asotin.PRESENT STATUS ASOTIN COUNTY SCHOOLSBy W. J. JeromeThe county being strictly an agricultural district, except for a small portion devoted to the fruit industry, the school population is comparatively small. Nevertheless the interest in education has always been great and is steadily increasing.The number of school census children in the county in May, 1917, was 1,777 but the number actually enrolled in the schools of the county for the year was 1,884. The fact that the number enrolled is greater than the number of census children is largely due to the fact that a large number of children come into the schools of Asotin and Clarkston from other places to take advantage of the good schools and the mild winter climate.The county contains two fully accredited high schools, Asotin and Clarkston. Clarkston had a total enrollment during the past year of 1,005, Asotin, 317. The interest in education in each of these places is very great and each maintains a fully equipped high school not only carrying the regular old line courses but offering courses in industrial arts as well. The Asotin School was the pioneer in the county in the newer branches and is at present the best equipped schoolin the county for work in manual training, home economics, agriculture and science work. However Clarkston is now beginning a program of industrial education that will soon place that district in the forefront in this line of work.There are also two other centers, Anatone and Cloverland, which have introduced these new subjects and are rapidly building up splendid little high school centers.Perhaps the greatest change in the county has come to the one room rural schoolhouse. In many cases the simple log building has been replaced by a neat modern building, heated and ventilated by some of the new heating and ventilating systems and provided with all modern equipment.Many of the remote rural schools employ normal graduates at good wages, provide hot lunches during the cold weather, have a library, do some work with tools and are as much abreast of the times as the schools of the towns.In the matter of expense for public education, the question never has been how little but how much can we afford to give or how much can we give. The configuration of the county has made necessary many remote and small communities and it is astonishing how much the people in these remote communities have been willing to sacrifice to educate their children and when it has been impossible to maintain a local school on account of the small valuation or small number of pupils many families have annually moved to town for the winter months to give their children the opportunities of the schools.The amount spent last year, 1917, for the entire county was $65,793. When it is remembered that we have not a mile of railroad in the county and no manufacturing industries whatever and that our total valuation is but little over $4,000,000, it will be plain that Asotin County shows its interests in education in a most practical way.Every year a considerable number of young people enter higher institutions of learning, and an increasing number are coming back into the county as teachers, ranchers, etc.Perhaps the most striking thing about the schools of the county is the great variety of physical conditions found. At Asotin and Clarkston and other points on the Snake River the climate is mild, in fact a veritable winter resort for this entire section, while up on the high flats one could imagine himself on the prairies of Iowa or the Dakotas in the winter. Some of the schools are situated on steep hillsides, some in the great pine woods, some beside the beautiful Asotin Creek. Some of the pupils ride to school on horseback, some come in autos, some in sleds through the deep snow, some cross the wide Snake River every day in row boats, some are brought in by school wagons. Some live next door and some come in from the ranch seven miles away, but the great majority walk in the good old-fashioned way.Among the teachers responsible for the present condition of Asotin County schools should be mentioned the following: J. B. Jones, for many years superintendent of schools of Asotin, when Asotin maintained the only high school in the county. Mr. Jones served a term as county superintendent and is now a leading banker of the county. Another teacher whose work will never be forgotten is Miss Lillian Clemans, now Mrs. Lillian Clemans Merchant. Mrs. Merchant was a leading teacher in the county for many years and took a leading part in educational matters for four years as county superintendent. J. W.Graham, now superintendent of the Pullman, Wash., schools, but for several years a leading educator of the county as superintendent of the Clarkston schools. W. J. Jerome, at present superintendent of the Asotin city schools, who has been associated with these schools and with the educational interests of the county for eight years. Gus Lybecker has had charge of the Anatone schools for four years and is now beginning a fifth year as the head of a new consolidated district at that place. C. B. Thornton has been associated with the Cloverland schools as principal for several years and is now the county superintendent of schools.No resume of the schools of the county would be complete that failed to mention the three men who for many years worked together for the Clarkston schools: Dr. P. W. Johnson, W. E. Howard, and Elmer E. Halsey. Dr. H. C. Fulton, G. W. Bailey, William Farrish, W. G. Woodruff, and Kay L. Thompson served Asotin in a similar fashion for many years, indeed some of these men put in as much as twenty years as school board members. In every district there is one or more but usually one central figure, who takes a vital interest in the welfare of the children and gives unstintedly of time and talent for the schools of the district. The author wishes that all these splendid men could be mentioned here, for to them as much as to teachers we owe our schools.In treating of the other counties, we have devoted considerable space to the churches. These indispensable agencies of the higher motives and higher life have had the same general place in Asotin as in the other counties. To some extent the same men whose names we noted in Walla Walla went on into the newer fields. Early in the history of Asotin City the Baptists effected an organization and erected a church. Soon the Presbyterian, Methodist, United Brethren, and Christian denominations became also established and maintain their church work to the present day.Clarkston also has a full quota of well sustained churches: Methodist, Christian, Presbyterian, United Brethren, Church of God, Lutheran (Norwegian), St. John's Evangelical (German), Catholic, Adventists, Baptist, and Episcopal.The fraternal orders are also well represented in both cities. The first lodge in the county was Hope Lodge, I. O. O. F., at Anatone. The Good Templars seem to have been pioneers in lodge organization in Asotin City, dating to 1885. The first Odd Fellow lodge was known as Riverside Lodge No. 41, and was organized in 1886. Other lodges followed, and at the present date we find the following represented: I. O. O. F.; Woodmen of the World; Women of Woodcraft; Grand Army of the Republic; Sons of Veterans; Women's Relief Corps; Modern Woodmen; Rebekahs; United Artisans; Stootki Tribe of Red Men; Masonic.In Clarkston the orders are the Knights of Pythias, Masons, Odd Fellows, Yeomen, Woodmen of the World, and Modern Woodmen.
MAIN STREET, ASOTINVIEW OF ASOTIN, LOOKING EASTAnother presidential year, of still more momentous issues and dramatic surprises comes in with 1916, the year in which the whole world was reeling with the most insane war ever recorded, and of which it is evident that the United States must be the ultimate arbiter. We find in Asotin County in that election 2,506 votes. We find also some changes in voting precincts. They appear thus: Alpowa, Anatone, Asotin, Bly, Clarkston, Cloverland, Grande Ronde, Grouse, Hanson, Pleasant, South Clarkston, Theon, West Asotin, West Clarkston. The total votes of the three Clarkston precincts was 1,237, with one voter reported absent. That of the two Asotin precincts was 519, with three absent. The prohibition question again came to the fore with several measures designed to impair the law passed in 1914. On Initiative No. 24, one of those measures, the vote was 314 for to 1,572 against. It may be added that the negative vote in the state on that measure (allowing manufacture and sale of beer), as well as the others of the same character, was so overwhelming, 100,000 or more, that it was hardly worth while to count it.The national results of the election were: For the Wilson electors, 1,136; for the Hughes electors, 1,004; for Poindexter, republican, as senator, 983 to 926 for Turner, democrat; for La Follette, republican for congressman, 1,142 to 819 for Masterson; McBride, republican for governor, 927 to 1,182 for Lister, democrat. E. V. Kuykendall, republican for joint senator, had 1,170 to 882 for Thomson, democrat. E. E. Halsey again went to the lower House of the Legislature, his fifth successive election. The local officers were: F. M. Halsey, sheriff; Homer L. Post, attorney; E. R. Downen, assessor; A. A. Alvord; superintendent of schools; P. P. Oehler, engineer; G. A. Fraser, treasurer; Lillie Ausman, auditor; J. W. Stephens, clerk; C. Shumaker, J. K. McIntosh, commissioners.MISCELLANEOUS HAPPENINGSTurning from the record of political events to what may be denominated the miscellaneous happenings of the county history, we may note that Asotin has had its full share. The beautiful creek that now furnishes the water for several thousand acres of the great Clarkston project, a stream of much picturesque beauty as it makes its way, swiftly indeed, but with apparent serenity and general decorum through the lower end of the town into Snake River, has taken the liberty on several occasions to gather up reinforcements from the plains through which its tributaries have worn their way, and has come sweeping down the steep declivities in torrents that threatened to tear out everything in its course. It is quite well under control now, due to the extensive impounding and distribution processes of the irrigation system, but formerly in case of sudden rain or Chinook winds, the vast amount of surface from which the water must drain through the single channel might transform it in a few hours from a bright pellucid mountain creek into a veritable river of turbid torrents. The most famous floods were those of 1887, 1894, and 1897. That of 1894 was the greatest in a general way in the Columbia and Snake and all their tributariesever known by white men, and according to Indians has not been equaled for many years, possibly several centuries. Nearly the whole of the lower part of Asotin was covered and the road between Asotin and Clarkston was under water in numerous places. So far as destruction from the creek was concerned, however, the flood of May 20, 1897, was the most disastrous of any. This was due to a cloud burst covering most of the upper sources of the creek. Since there was but a gentle rain at Asotin there was no conception of what was impending from above, until the roaring of the torrent heralded its approach. For a distance of fifteen miles the bed of the stream was swept clean. All the bridges were carried out and many of the houses, gardens, and other property destroyed.Mr. Baumeister points out in his beautiful yard, with its stone wall ten feet high on the creek margin, how the water rose high above the top of the wall. Considering the irresistible force of a column of water fifteen or eighteen feet high rushing down that steep descent and considering the destruction of property it seems strange indeed that there were no human lives lost. It seems to have been by a series of fortunate happenings that those in peril were in positions to save themselves. The schoolhouse in the Hopwood District was swept away, but the teacher, hearing the tumult, had led the children to the hillside just in time.The most notable fires in the history of Asotin Town were on February 3, 1886, in which the Pioneer Hotel belonging to Mrs. Lile was destroyed, and that of March 15, 1893, in which the City Hotel, belonging to Mrs. Myers, was burned. The feature of the second fire which gave it great notoriety was that a man named Frank Sherry perished in the flames. It appeared that Charles E. Myers, the husband of the woman who conducted the hotel, but who had been separated from her, had been found not guilty of killing a man some years before as result of difficulty about his first wife. The sentiment upon the discovery of the death of Sherry became intense in the town and it was reported to officers that there was a plan for lynching Myers, who had become charged with having fired the hotel in order to punish his wife and a man of whom he was jealous.The Sentinel, in speaking of the event in its issue of March 31st, declares that the reports of purposed lynching are exaggerated and that the people of the place have no other thought than a fair trial. As a matter of fact, Myers was conveyed to Dayton. He was subsequently tried for murder. The case was remarkable in that it was appealed twice to the Supreme Court and on the first appeal was retried. The verdict of guilty was affirmed in both cases. Petitions for pardon were sent to Gov. John H. McGraw, but he declined to stop the course of judicial decision, and Myers, without at any time having confessed the crime, was executed on September 30, 1895, two and a half years after the alleged crime. The execution took place at Pomeroy, and in accordance with the barbarous and horrible law then prevailing was public, and it is stated that hundreds of men, women and children were present.The annals of the county were marked in August, 1896, with the lynching of a half-breed, Viles, for a sexual outrage, and the same kind of punishment for a similar offense with murder was meted out to a boy named Hamilton in the same month of 1903. The old timers in discussing those events express the opinion that though lynch law is to be deplored, and though in the secondcase the criminal was a half-witted degenerate, yet the proof was clear in both cases (for both confessed), and the condign punishment well-merited.Turning from the miscellaneous events to the constructive industries of the county, we may say that there has been a steady and substantial, though not rapid increase in population, production, and property valuation, year by year from the date of county organization. The original stock industry gave way to grain farming, and in that Asotin County has been, for its area, one of the most productive in the state. It is asserted that Asotin warehouses and platforms along the Snake River from which the steamboats gather up the wheat, constitute the greatest initial grain shipping point or series of points on the O. W. R. and N. R. R. system.ORCHARDS AND GARDENSBut though the wheat and barley of the prairies constitute already a great production and will in the future constitute a still larger source of revenue, the most interesting and important industry is horticulture and fruit raising. In the area of land devoted to intensive farming under irrigation, Asotin has nearly as much as the other three counties of old Walla Walla put together. This very important productive area, which comprises the most distinctive feature of the county, centers at Clarkston. The history of this industry and this place constitutes a chapter by itself, unique in the history of the Northwest.The Clarkston project has been practically the work of one of the most noted historic families of the United States, that of the Adams family of Boston. Charles Francis Adams the second, when president of the Union Pacific R. R., formed the conception of an irrigated tract under ideal conditions upon land which he could see had superior advantages of location, soil, and climate, that is to say the broad flat, with successive benches, on the west side of the junction of the Snake and Clearwater. That location was first called Lewiston. Then in remembrance of the historic name of Concord, Mass., dear to the New Englanders who were founding the enterprise, the name Concord was used. Objections on the part of local residents arose, and on April 6, 1900, the name of the voting precinct was changed by the county commissioners to Clarkston, as the fitting mate to Lewiston, recalling the two leaders of the first expedition of discovery. By special petition to the Federal authorities the name of Clarkston was adapted for the name of the town.The enterprise at Clarkston was in reality, it should be observed, a second thought on the part of Mr. Adams, for his first plan was the development of what is now known as the Indian Cache Ranch, formerly known as the Adams Ranch, on the north side of the Clearwater, a short distance above Lewiston. That splendid property was the first undertaking of Mr. Adams.The first organization of the project at Clarkston was effected in 1896 under the name of the Lewiston Water and Power Co., of which Henry Adams the Second, son of Charles Francis Adams, became the head. This company ultimately had a capital of $2,000,000. In 1900 the company acquired the property of the Lewiston Light Company which had been formed in 1899 to provide electric light and power for the City of Lewiston. In 1904 the Asotin Land and Water Company's holdings were acquired and the projects were all blended in theLewiston-Clarkston Company, and that in turn was reorganized in 1910 as the Lewiston-Clarkston Improvement Company. Henry Adams, with members of his family, retained the majority of the stock. At the present time, the properties are segregated into two distinct divisions. The Lewiston-Clarkston Improvement Company conducts the land business, while the utility work, the light and power business, is conducted under the name of the Washington-Idaho Water, Light and Power Co. Such is a bare outline of the general plan and changes effected by reorganization of this remarkable enterprise. Entering a little more into detail, it is of interest to note that the initial incorporators of the Lewiston Water and Power Company were E. H. Libby, formerly of Yakima, C. C. Van Arsdil and Dr. J. B. Morris of Lewiston, and G. W. Bailey and Wm. Farrish of Asotin. This incorporation acquired 2,500 acres at low figures, ranging from ten to twenty-five dollars per acre, largely from the original entrymen, Edward Pearcy, E. J. Warner, Wm. Caldwell, S. Wildenthaler, Joseph Alexander, Chris Weisenberger, D. S. Dent, John Aubin, together with a tract that had been secured by the New England Mortgage Security Company. E. H. Libby became president of the company. Land secured, water was the next requisite. The Asotin Creek had already been filed on and in 1896, July 18th, water actually reached Vineland. Mr. Libby acted as manager, with intermissions, until April 7, 1911. Mr. Libby, with W. G. Clark, engineered the reorganization of the Lewiston-Clarkston Company, which in 1910 became the Lewiston-Clarkston Improvement Company. At that time Spencer Trask & Company of New York, took $600,000 bonds of the new company and acquired an interest in the common stock. H. L. Powers, now of Lewiston, became vice president and manager in 1911, with Henry Adams as president, and retained the position till 1912, when he removed to Lewiston. He continued to act as vice president of the Lewiston Land & Water Company. Robert A. Foster, who had come in 1910 as engineer, became in 1912 the vice president and general manager of the Improvement Company, and in 1914, its president.Land and water secured, the next necessity was a bridge across Snake River. Clarkston was so logically connected with Lewiston, though in another state, that a direct connection by a bridge was vital. The City of Lewiston granted to Mr. Libby a charter for the construction of a bridge in May, 1896. It was completed and opened for traffic June 24, 1899. This was a great bridge, 1,450 feet long, lifted so high above the river as to allow steamers to pass under. The first articles of incorporation of the bridge first known as the Lewiston-Concord Bridge, were dated November 26, 1897, and the incorporators were E. H. Libby and George W. Bailey. The incorporation was practically identical with the Lewiston Water and Power Company. Being across a navigable river the plans had to be approved by the secretary of war, and a permit granted by Congress. These necessities were duly accomplished in 1898. The contract for the construction called for $110,000. In 1914 the bridge became the joint property of the two states, for $80,000.Asotin Creek has a mean annual discharge of 39,410 acre feet. The system makes provision for a domestic and municipal consumption for 10,000 people, and irrigation supply for 6,000 acres. The main pipe line is eleven miles long, and is from thirty-two to forty-eight inches in diameter, made of wooden staves, except where it crosses Maguire Gulch, a very high pressure steel pipe, four feet in diameter is used.ONE VIEW OF THE PARTIALLY COMPLETED TWENTY MILLION GALLON POMEROY GULCH RESERVOIR. A LINK IN THE PRESSURE WATER SERVICE FOR THE IRRIGATION AND DOMESTIC SUPPLY OF CLARKSTON-VINELANDThe Pomeroy Reservoir has a capacity of 20,000,000 cubic feet or 460 acre feet.The major part of what has generally been known as Clarkston-Vineland has been sold by the company and is cultivated in small tracts, beautifully laid out and developed, trees, flowers, shrubbery, and lawns, a continuous village, thus fulfilling the noble ideal of the projectors as being a model irrigation project. The company has, however, retained possession of the larger part of the magnificent Clarkston Heights and is handling that property as a unit. It is a district hard to match among the irrigated tracts of the Northwest. It has every conceivable advantage of soil, climate, scenery, water supply, and when ultimately sold will be one of the rare home lands of the world. The company still owns about one-third of the townsite of Clarkston and about five thousand acres of land, of which 927.98 acres are in apple trees in a solid body. The apple trees are divided as follows in percentages: Winesap, 40 per cent; Yellow Newtowns, 15; Spitzenberg, 15; Jonathan, 10; Rome Beauty, 10; assorted varieties, 10. The average holding on the tract is only 3½ acres, making this the most densely populated irrigation district in the United States.The electric power and light properties of the company, under another organization, as stated, constitute a system by themselves. The power plant comprises the Asotin power station, the Pomeroy power station, the Clarkston auxiliary steam plant, and the Lewiston sub station; a total of 3,200 horse power. There is also a power development on the Grande Ronde River, 2½ miles above the mouth and 28½ miles from Clarkston, with a minimum of 6,900 horse power, and a peack load capacity of 10,000 horse power. Through these plants the company supplies with power and light the towns of Asotin, Clarkston, Lewiston and Lapwai, having a population of about fifteen thousand.One of the most important recent enterprises in the development of this section is the electric railway from Lewiston across the interstate bridge to Clarkston and Vineland, a total amount of four miles of street railway. This work was completed in the summer of 1916. It is owned by the Lewiston-Clarkston Transit Company. Contrary to the recent experience of some of the "Twin City" trolley enterprises, which have been seriously affected by jitney competition, this undertaking is said to be amply rewarded by financial results. There is so much transit during the fruit picking and packing season and there is so much general activity of movement to and from Lewiston, that the cars are almost constantly well filled. There was a total of 2,000,000 passenger crossings over the bridge during the year ended at this writing.The Clarkston-Vineland region has none of the first pioneer settlers left. There are, however, a number of what may be called the second wave of immigration, prior to the inauguration of the Improvement Company. Mr. and Mrs. F. G. Morrison are said to be the earliest comers now living in the town. They came in 1878, though not to the place where they are now living. At the time of their coming the ferry was maintained by Ed Pearcy. E. J. Warner had a claim in what is now the business part of Clarkston. "Johnnie" Greenfield, an old bachelor, was then living on the "flat." He was a landscape gardener of much ability, having been employed to lay out Woodward's Gardens in SanFrancisco. There was a family named Pearsall living a little west of the present home of Mr. Morrison, having four sons, Jerry, Jake, William, and Ed.We referred earlier in this chapter to O. F. Canfield. He is a man of unique interest, both by reason of keen intellect, many adventures in the wildest regions of the Pacific Coast, and his peculiarly marked pioneer traits. He came as a ten year old boy with his father, W. D. Canfield, and the family from Iowa across the plains in 1847. Being late in reaching Oregon, the father decided to accept the urgent invitation of Dr. Whitman that he remain at Waiilatpu (Mr. Canfield says that the Indians sounded that historic name more asWaiilatipsu) for the winter. They had been there but about a month when the dreadful Whitman massacre of November 29, 1847, occurred. The father of the family was shot by the Indians, but by reason of a glancing bullet was not seriously, though painfully wounded. In the general excitement he evaded observation and remaining in hiding till night managed to communicate with Mrs. Canfield and the children. Thinking from all the indications that the Indians were not going to murder the women and children, Mr. Canfield decided to try to reach Spalding's station at Lapwai where he hoped that he might find rescuers for the captives at Waiilatpu. Though bleeding from his wound, and having but scanty food or clothing in the freezing weather of winter he set out and with terrible suffering reached Lapwai. The son, now a white haired man of seventy-eight, tells us that his father would never have reached Lapwai, had not old Timothy, the Nez Percé chief of the Alpowa, succored him and carried him across the river. Being on the north side of the river he was comparatively safe and reached Lapwai. Years after, so Mr. Canfield tells us, he saw Timothy, then very old and destitute. Telling him that he was the son of the man whom he saved at that momentous time, he told the old Indian that he wanted to pay him for saving his father. But Timothy would not take anything. He said, striking his breast, that he had "hyas close tumtum." It was "halo chickamon." Finally Mr. Canfield induced the old man to accept some tobacco and an overcoat as presents, but not as pay.Mr. Canfield told another Indian story of very different character, worthy of preservation. When Howlish Wampoo, the famous Umatilla chief, was the ruler of his tribe he had many horses, some fine racing animals. There was a great horse racer at that time named Joe Crabbe, living in Portland. Crabbe had known of Howlish Wampoo's fast horses and was anxious to get up some races and incidentally clean up some big bets. Going to Umatilla he finally engineered a big meet with the Indians. The crowning event was to be between Crabbe's champion and anything that the Indian chief could bring on. Howlish Wampoo was very crafty. He might have been a Teuton diplomat of the present. He brought out and made a great parade of a spotted horse which he said he was going to run, and then innocently put the horse in a corral very handy to the white men. Crabbe's hustlers took the horse out in the night, no Indians being in sight, and tried him. They found that he was nothing extra fast, and so they made all their plans in the light of that discovery. The next day came the great race. Everything was excitement, and betting went to a great pitch. Crabbe finally put up $1,500 on his horse and at last even his silver mounted saddle and spurs. Howlish Wampoo accepted the bets with seeming reluctance and Indian stoicism. When the horses were brought out Crabbe saw with somesuspicion that the spotted Indian racer looked a little different and stepped a little different from what he did the day before. As he told Canfield in relating his experience he "felt a sort of cold chill go down his back." But it was too late to back out. Off they went, a four mile race, two miles to a stake, around it and back again. The Indian horse was evidently not the same horse. He went like a shot out of a gun and reached the goal post so much ahead that his rider turned back to run again with Crabbe's champion, and then beat him into camp. The Indians made an awful clean up on the white men's bets. Howlish Wampoo, with just a faint suspicion of an inward grin on his mahogany countenance, told Crabbe that he might have his saddle and spurs back again, and enough money to get home on.Afterwards Crabbe made great offers to the Indian for the spotted racer, wishing to take him East or even to Europe, for he was satisfied that he could beat the world in a four mile race. But Howlish Wampoo would never sell the pet racer.Mr. Canfield remembers the events of the Whitman massacre with intensity and narrates them with vividness. He considers the fundamental cause to have been the fear by the Indians that the whites were going to dispossess them of their lands, and that their fears in that respect were fostered by Tom Hill, a renegade Delaware Indian, who had drifted across the continent, having come considerable part of the way with the Canfields. Jo Lewis, a half-breed, who had been greatly befriended by the Whitmans, was another inciting cause. Both of them were bad men and grossly betrayed their benefactors. The fatal scourge of measles and the death of some of Whitman's patients was an occasion for the outbreak, but the fear of white occupation was, in Mr. Canfield's judgment, the real cause. He says that he knows that Tamsucky was the leader in the massacre and that it was he who buried his tomahawk in Whitman's head. There was reason to believe that Tamsucky afterwards greatly regretted his act. There were four Indian chiefs, Isticcas, Moolipool, Tinsinmitsal, and Beardy, who were steadfast friends of the whites. This assertion of Mr. Canfield is the more interesting by reason of the fact that Miles Cannon in his recent book, "Waiilatpu," asserts that Isticcas was a traitor and participated in the massacre. Mr. Canfield is confident that that is an error. Mrs. Jacobs (well known in Walla Walla, now living in Portland, an eight year old child at the time of the massacre, a member of the Osborne family, who were present at the tragedy), supports Mr. Canfield's statement, declaring that old timers asserted that if there were any Christians in the country, Isticcas was one. Mr. Cannon in his book also expresses the opinion that Mr. Rogers basely asserted to the Indians that Doctor Whitman was poisoning them, hoping thereby to save his own life. Mrs. Jacobs declares that this statement is absolutely false and that Mr. Rogers, like the rest of the victims, died like a hero and a Christian.Doctor Whitman, according to Mr. Canfield's recollection, while one of the noblest and bravest of men, was not a "fighting man," submitting rather tamely, as he thought, to insults by the Indians. Nor was he so large and powerful a man physically as some have described him. The most valuable testimony about Whitman is found in the statement by Mr. Canfield that he heard him several times discussing the future of this region with the elder Canfield. He urged him to remain in the Walla Walla Valley, pointing out that since it had becomeAmerican territory it offered greater inducements to settlement than any other part of Oregon. He thought it better than the Willamette Valley. He declared that it was the best sheep country in the world, that during the eleven winters since he came to Walla Walla there were only two in which sheep could not have grazed the year round. He proposed that Mr. Canfield locate near Waiilatpu, and the next year join with himself in an organized drive of a large band of sheep into the country and the inauguration of a permanent wool industry. He figured that they could work their wool down to The Dalles and there reach regular boat connections and from the Lower Columbia ship by sailing vessels to New York, Boston, and Europe. It was certainly a great conception and demonstrates anew the practical judgment and far vision of the martyr of Waiilatpu.THE TOWNS OF ASOTIN COUNTYAsotin and Clarkston are the only organized towns in Asotin County.As stated earlier there was a double location, Assotin City and Asotin, for what has now become one town under the latter name. The former place was laid out by Alexander Sumpter in May, 1878. On July 22, 1880, the dedication was made by Mr. and Mrs. Sumpter, and at the same time a postoffice was located there. The next year Mr. Sumpter erected a warehouse. The ferry across Snake River was established by J. J. Kanawyer in October, 1881.A flour mill was put up in 1883 by L. O. Stimson at a point about two-thirds of a mile up the creek from its mouth. That mill was run for a time by John Dill, then by Curtis and Braden, who bought out Stimson. A little later than Mr. Sumpter's location, Mr. Schank employed A. T. Beall to survey his land near the mouth of the creek for a town site. The plot of this location was filed November 10, 1881, by T. M. E. Schank, W. H. Reed, Louise D. Reed, and Alexander Reed. Various additions have been made to the original site. Mr. S. J. Sergeant tells us that when he came to Asotin in 1879, there was nothing except Schank's cabin. During the next year Mr. Schank and Mr. Reed set out in earnest to start their town. In the issue of theSentinelof April 24, 1885, we find an advertisement that would do credit to a Spokane real estate dealer setting forth the desirability of the location for business, loans or investment. Lots are announced at from thirty to one hundred and fifty dollars, and "sure to advance."In theAsotin Spirit, beginning October 19, 1883, succeeded by theSentinel, June 24, 1885, we find other interesting ads, of that day. In the first number of theSpiritPettyjohn and McAlpin advertise their general store. F. E. Scott of Theon announces that he will sell wines, whiskeys, oysters, candies, medicines, and toilet articles. The ferry of J. J. and P. Kanawyer appears and it is asserted that the road to Lewiston by that crossing is far better than any other. The Assotin Flour Mills of Curtis and Braden have good space, and they announce that they will give thirty-five pounds of flour and six pounds of bran for a bushel of wheat.MAIN STREET, LOOKING SOUTH, CLARKSTONPUBLIC LIBRARY, CLARKSTONIn theSentinelof various issues in 1885, we find the advantages of the Pearcy ferry displayed. The Lile House of J. D. Lile appears. In theSentinelof June 24, 1885, is a flaming prospectus of a "Grand Social Hop" to occur in Embree Hall on the eve of the Fourth. The floor managers were to be Wm. Critchfield, J. P. Fine, and Henry Thomason. The committee of arrangements was to consist of C. S. Morey, J. P. Fulton, Al Stiffel, and A. M. Morris. The Packwood Pearce and Warner String Band was to provide music. Tickets were to be $2.25. TheSentinelof October 9, 1885, contains the obituary of Mr. Schank who had died by suicide, hanging himself in his own house in what was supposed to be a moment of aberration through business worry. In the same number is a remarkably drawing ad., by Baumeister and Co. to the farmers. The cards of L. J. Dittmore and G. W. Bailey, lawyers, appear.It may be very suitable to give here the successive stages in the history of the one paper which has held the field substantially all the time. Coming to Asotin from Pataha and taking with it the name ofSpirit, it was published at first by J. H. Ginder and Co., to be succeeded, March 28, 1884, by D. B. Pettyjohn, editor and proprietor. October 9, 1885, the paper became theSentinel, published by the Sentinel Publishing Co. It continued under that name for over fourteen years, and on November 4, 1899, appeared as theAsotin County Sentinel, the editors and proprietors being Elmer Waldrip and Kay L. Thompson. Mr. Thompson has been sole proprietor since 1902, and has conducted the paper with conspicuous ability, making of it one of the best weeklies in the state. It can be truly affirmed that theSentinelhas been a great factor in the development of Asotin County.In 1887, the rival town sites had practically blended, or rather the most of Assotin City had slid down to Asotin. The time for incorporation seemed to have arrived. On May 28, 1888, a meeting of citizens was held in Baumeister's Hall, for preparing incorporation papers. These were approved by Judge W. G. Langford, territorial judge, on June 15th, and thus Asotin became an incorporation. The judge appointed D. Talbot, H. C. Fulton, W. J. Clemans, J. N. Rice, and Edward Baumeister a provisional board of trustees. The first election was held April 1, 1889, and the trustees elect were as follows: J. K. Rice, D. J. Wann, J. H. Bingham, M. B. Mitchell and James Michie.But like some other "plans of mice and men" this went "agley." The Supreme Court of the new state made a decision in February, 1890, which invalidated such towns as had been incorporated by order of district courts.This set aside all the proceedings of Asotin thus far. Feeling that the indications thus far were such as to justify incorporation, the citizens petitioned the county commissioners on May 29, 1890, to call an election for incorporation under the state law. An election having been set it was duly held on June 21st. Thus Asotin was duly reincorporated under state law, and the officers selected were these: Mayor, Charles Isecke; councilmen, H. E. Benedict, Edward Baumeister, N. Ausman, Richard Ruddy, and L. B. Howard; treasurer, J. O'Keefe.Different citizens of Asotin to hold the place of chief executive of the city have been Charles Isecke, who, as stated, was the first incumbent of the office in 1890, and who held it for three years, and was again chosen in 1906 to serve for two years. Edward Baumeister was elected mayor in 1905.J. B. Jones was the choice for mayor in 1908 and continued in 1909 and 1910.The first council chosen on June 21, 1890, consisted, as noted, of H. E. Benedict, Edward Baumeister, N. Ausman, R. Ruddy, and L. B. Howard.Without endeavoring to give the complete list of city officials we will passon to 1905, and in that year we find the council composed of Kay L. Thompson, J. B. Jones, M. B. Coon, G. A. Brown and H. Critchfield. In 1906 the personnel of the council was this: E. H. Dammarrell, S. J. Sargeant, F. B. Jones, M. B. Coon, Kay L. Thompson. In 1907, Messrs. Coon, Sargeant, and Dammarrell were re-elected, and R. Graham and Ben Ayers came in as new members. In 1908, Mr. Ayers was re-elected, but the other four were new men, A. Beckman, C. Brantner, M. J. Garrison, H. C. Fulton. In 1909, all held over with the exception of Mr. Garrison, the new member elect being E. G. MacFarlane. Beginning with 1910 the mayors and councilmen have been the following:1910—J. B. Jones, mayor. Councilmen: A. Beckman, M. J. Garrison, Ben Ayers, E. G. MacFarlane, and C. M. Brantner. Treasurer: I. N. Brazeau. Clerk: C. S. Florence.1911—Mayor: J. R. Glover. Councilmen: Kenneth McIntosh, Jay Swain, Ben Ayers, E. G. MacFarlane, and M. J. Garrison. Treasurer: Ed Bucholz. Clerk: E. Matthes.1912—Mayor: J. R. Glover. Councilmen: Ben Ayers, Chas. S. Florence, A. Beckman and K. McIntosh. Treasurer: Ed Bucholz. Clerk: E. Matthes.1913—Mayor: J. R. Glover. Councilmen: Ben Ayers, K. McIntosh, A. Beckman, Chas. S. Florence and Geo. W. Bailey. Treasurer: Ed Bucholz. Clerk: E. Matthes.1914—Mayor: J. R. Glover. Councilmen: Ben Ayers, Geo. W. Bailey, L. H. Jurgens, W. A. Forgey and A. Beckman. Treasurer: Ed Bucholz. Clerk: I. N. Brazeau.1915—Mayor: A. A. Wormell. Councilmen: E. R. Downen, K. McIntosh, W. A. Forgey, L. H. Jurgens and Ben Ayers. Treasurer: Ed Bucholz. Clerk: C. A. Laufer.1916—Mayor: A. A. Wormell. Councilmen: L. H. Jurgens, Ben Ayers, A. A. Alvord, K. McIntosh and E. R. Downen. Treasurer: Ed Bucholz. Clerk: Chas. S. Florence. On April 4, 1916, Wormell resigned, and on April 18, 1916, M. J. Garrison appointed mayor by council for unexpired term.1917—Mayor: M. J. Garrison. Councilmen: L. H. Jurgens, E. R. Downen, Ben Ayers, A. A. Alvord and K. McIntosh. Treasurer: Ed Bucholz. Clerk: Chas. S. Florence.CLARKSTON INCORPORATEDThe incorporation of Clarkston has its first mention in the minutes of the county commissioners on January 7, 1901, when a petition from 71 citizens was received asking for such action. The proposition was lost by vote of 15 to 37 on August 5th. The petitioners returned to the charge on May 5, 1902, to incorporate Clarkston and Vineland as a city of the third class. This was defeated May 24th by 70 to 110. At the meeting of the commissioners on July 8, 1902, there came still another petition, asking that Clarkston be incorporated as a city of the fourth class. An election on that issue was held on August 2d, and this time incorporation won, 45 to 31. At the next meeting the commissioners rearranged the precinct, making the limits of Clarkston coterminous with the incorporation and from the remainder creating Vineland Precinct.HIGH SCHOOL BUILDING, CLARKSTONFollowing this election Clarkston was duly incorporated, and the first city government had its meeting for formal organization on August 26th. Alexander Robinson was the first mayor. L. S. Lehm was the first treasurer. The council consisted of George S. Bailey, C. S. Whitford, A. S. Burnett, V. Anderson, and S. J. Roberts. Wm. Porter was appointed clerk, Robert F. Klein marshal, and E. E. Halsey city attorney. The first regular election occurred in December, 1902. The former officers were re-elected, with the exception of Burnett and Roberts, who were succeeded by S. T. Ramsey and Mr. Halligus. Mayor Robinson died in 1903. The election of December 8, 1903, resulted in the election of F. C. Brown as mayor. The councilmen consisted of S. T. Ramsey, C. S. Whitford, A. S. Burnett, V. Anderson, and A. J. Wood. Mr. Lehm was re-elected treasurer. The appointive officers were continued.Mr. Frank N. Brown continued to be rechosen to the position of mayor from 1903 to 1907. The mayors following were these: R. M. Yount, 1907 to 1908; D. B. Parks, 1909 to 1910; R. M. Yount, 1910 to 1913; Dr. Paul W. Johnson, 1913 to 1914; E. J. Bailey, 1914 to 1916; J. E. Hoobler, 1916 to 1917. During the period from 1903 to 1917, we find the councilmen to have been: from 1903 to 1908, J. E. Hoobler, E. R. Stevens, S. T. Smiley, C. W. Hunton, and E. J. Bailey; 1909, F. M. Hartley, J. E. Heritage, S. L. Fowler, I. W. Rucker, H. S. Jones; 1910 and 1911, J. E. Hoobler, D. H. Stephens, S. L. Fowler, I. W. Rucker, D. H. Ransom; 1912, T. W. Hartley, J. E. Hoobler, I. W. Rucker, Herman Frank; 1913, J. E. Heritage, Mr. Daege, E. J. Dewar, J. P. Goetchius, H. G. Jones, F. M. Hartley, Herman Frank; 1914, Robert Meyer, J. H. Maynard, Herman Frank, H. S. Jones, F. M. Hartley, Mr. Bundy, J. E. Heritage; 1915, F. M. Hartley, W. E. Potter, John Whistler, P. T. Lomax, F. M. Talbot, L. M. Faulkenbury, P. F. Stillings; 1916, J. H. Maynard, E. J. Price, H. S. Jones, F. M. Hartley, Mr. Bundy, P. T. Lomax, Mr. Hill—by resignation of Mr. Hartley, Lee Morris was appointed; 1917, John Getty, J. H. Clear, L. E. Morrison, I. W. Knight, M. W. Isle, W. O. Bond, C. B. Thomson. For several years past G. L. Ackley has been clerk.Both Asotin and Clarkston have maintained commercial clubs since their early days. In Asotin the officers of the present are Edward Baumeister, president; and Charles S. Florence, secretary-treasurer.The club at Clarkston was organized on September 11, 1899, and was first known as the Business Men's Association. Its first special aim was the gravelling of the very dusty streets. The officers of the first organization were: H. C. Whetstone, president; C. M. Evans, vice president; T. W. Enos, secretary; Alexander Robinson, treasurer. In 1908 it was reorganized, named Commercial Club, and the officers chosen were: E. H. Libby, president; R. B. Hooper, vice president; J. E. Hoobler, secretary-treasurer.An attractive, though not large building was erected, with the expectation of using it as a library, but when the Carnegie Library was built, the former building became the property of the city, and is now used as a council room, as well as a Commercial Club meeting place. The present officers of the club are: E. J. Bailey, president; Lee Morris, vice president; Lester Hoobler, secretary-treasurer. By reason of the departure of Mr. Hoobler to join the army, the duties of secretary are now in the hands of G. L. Ackley.The educational system of Asotin County, like that of other units of old Walla Walla, has been typically American, one of the bed rock institutions inthe upbuilding of the new land. From the first the people of the county have taken pride in their schools and while not absolutely true at all times and in all places to the highest interest of their children—as none are even in the State of Washington—they have results which make a demonstration of high ideals. There has been steady advancement from the log schoolhouse day to date.The first school in what is now Asotin County was at Anatone, then the most flourishing community in what was then the eastern part of Columbia County. It is worthy of special note that the building was erected and the school maintained by the settlers themselves without any county appropriation. Miss Angie Bean, now Mrs. Tuttle and now living on Anatone Prairie, was the teacher of that pioneer school. We are informed by Mr. John Romaine, who came to Anatone in 1878, that the school was at its best during the first dozen or so years of its existence. As has not infrequently occurred in exclusively grain regions, the large farmers have absorbed the small ones and after a certain stage has been reached population tends to decline. As a result school districts diminish. Thus it has proved at Anatone.The first school in Asotin City dates to 1881. The first teacher was Miss Blanche Marsilliott. There seems to have been much tribulation at Asotin about building an adequate schoolhouse. Not until 1904 was there sufficient space for the steadily increasing numbers in the town. Even with the handicap of insufficient space and equipment a high standard seems to have been maintained, insomuch that the report of the State College at Pullman indicated that the graduates of the Asotin High School stand at the head in preparation for advanced work.As giving a clear and effective general view of the present status of the schools of Asotin County, we incorporate here a few paragraphs for which we are indebted to Prof. W. J. Jerome, formerly county superintendent and now city superintendent of Asotin.PRESENT STATUS ASOTIN COUNTY SCHOOLSBy W. J. JeromeThe county being strictly an agricultural district, except for a small portion devoted to the fruit industry, the school population is comparatively small. Nevertheless the interest in education has always been great and is steadily increasing.The number of school census children in the county in May, 1917, was 1,777 but the number actually enrolled in the schools of the county for the year was 1,884. The fact that the number enrolled is greater than the number of census children is largely due to the fact that a large number of children come into the schools of Asotin and Clarkston from other places to take advantage of the good schools and the mild winter climate.The county contains two fully accredited high schools, Asotin and Clarkston. Clarkston had a total enrollment during the past year of 1,005, Asotin, 317. The interest in education in each of these places is very great and each maintains a fully equipped high school not only carrying the regular old line courses but offering courses in industrial arts as well. The Asotin School was the pioneer in the county in the newer branches and is at present the best equipped schoolin the county for work in manual training, home economics, agriculture and science work. However Clarkston is now beginning a program of industrial education that will soon place that district in the forefront in this line of work.There are also two other centers, Anatone and Cloverland, which have introduced these new subjects and are rapidly building up splendid little high school centers.Perhaps the greatest change in the county has come to the one room rural schoolhouse. In many cases the simple log building has been replaced by a neat modern building, heated and ventilated by some of the new heating and ventilating systems and provided with all modern equipment.Many of the remote rural schools employ normal graduates at good wages, provide hot lunches during the cold weather, have a library, do some work with tools and are as much abreast of the times as the schools of the towns.In the matter of expense for public education, the question never has been how little but how much can we afford to give or how much can we give. The configuration of the county has made necessary many remote and small communities and it is astonishing how much the people in these remote communities have been willing to sacrifice to educate their children and when it has been impossible to maintain a local school on account of the small valuation or small number of pupils many families have annually moved to town for the winter months to give their children the opportunities of the schools.The amount spent last year, 1917, for the entire county was $65,793. When it is remembered that we have not a mile of railroad in the county and no manufacturing industries whatever and that our total valuation is but little over $4,000,000, it will be plain that Asotin County shows its interests in education in a most practical way.Every year a considerable number of young people enter higher institutions of learning, and an increasing number are coming back into the county as teachers, ranchers, etc.Perhaps the most striking thing about the schools of the county is the great variety of physical conditions found. At Asotin and Clarkston and other points on the Snake River the climate is mild, in fact a veritable winter resort for this entire section, while up on the high flats one could imagine himself on the prairies of Iowa or the Dakotas in the winter. Some of the schools are situated on steep hillsides, some in the great pine woods, some beside the beautiful Asotin Creek. Some of the pupils ride to school on horseback, some come in autos, some in sleds through the deep snow, some cross the wide Snake River every day in row boats, some are brought in by school wagons. Some live next door and some come in from the ranch seven miles away, but the great majority walk in the good old-fashioned way.Among the teachers responsible for the present condition of Asotin County schools should be mentioned the following: J. B. Jones, for many years superintendent of schools of Asotin, when Asotin maintained the only high school in the county. Mr. Jones served a term as county superintendent and is now a leading banker of the county. Another teacher whose work will never be forgotten is Miss Lillian Clemans, now Mrs. Lillian Clemans Merchant. Mrs. Merchant was a leading teacher in the county for many years and took a leading part in educational matters for four years as county superintendent. J. W.Graham, now superintendent of the Pullman, Wash., schools, but for several years a leading educator of the county as superintendent of the Clarkston schools. W. J. Jerome, at present superintendent of the Asotin city schools, who has been associated with these schools and with the educational interests of the county for eight years. Gus Lybecker has had charge of the Anatone schools for four years and is now beginning a fifth year as the head of a new consolidated district at that place. C. B. Thornton has been associated with the Cloverland schools as principal for several years and is now the county superintendent of schools.No resume of the schools of the county would be complete that failed to mention the three men who for many years worked together for the Clarkston schools: Dr. P. W. Johnson, W. E. Howard, and Elmer E. Halsey. Dr. H. C. Fulton, G. W. Bailey, William Farrish, W. G. Woodruff, and Kay L. Thompson served Asotin in a similar fashion for many years, indeed some of these men put in as much as twenty years as school board members. In every district there is one or more but usually one central figure, who takes a vital interest in the welfare of the children and gives unstintedly of time and talent for the schools of the district. The author wishes that all these splendid men could be mentioned here, for to them as much as to teachers we owe our schools.In treating of the other counties, we have devoted considerable space to the churches. These indispensable agencies of the higher motives and higher life have had the same general place in Asotin as in the other counties. To some extent the same men whose names we noted in Walla Walla went on into the newer fields. Early in the history of Asotin City the Baptists effected an organization and erected a church. Soon the Presbyterian, Methodist, United Brethren, and Christian denominations became also established and maintain their church work to the present day.Clarkston also has a full quota of well sustained churches: Methodist, Christian, Presbyterian, United Brethren, Church of God, Lutheran (Norwegian), St. John's Evangelical (German), Catholic, Adventists, Baptist, and Episcopal.The fraternal orders are also well represented in both cities. The first lodge in the county was Hope Lodge, I. O. O. F., at Anatone. The Good Templars seem to have been pioneers in lodge organization in Asotin City, dating to 1885. The first Odd Fellow lodge was known as Riverside Lodge No. 41, and was organized in 1886. Other lodges followed, and at the present date we find the following represented: I. O. O. F.; Woodmen of the World; Women of Woodcraft; Grand Army of the Republic; Sons of Veterans; Women's Relief Corps; Modern Woodmen; Rebekahs; United Artisans; Stootki Tribe of Red Men; Masonic.In Clarkston the orders are the Knights of Pythias, Masons, Odd Fellows, Yeomen, Woodmen of the World, and Modern Woodmen.
MAIN STREET, ASOTIN
MAIN STREET, ASOTIN
MAIN STREET, ASOTIN
VIEW OF ASOTIN, LOOKING EAST
VIEW OF ASOTIN, LOOKING EAST
VIEW OF ASOTIN, LOOKING EAST
Another presidential year, of still more momentous issues and dramatic surprises comes in with 1916, the year in which the whole world was reeling with the most insane war ever recorded, and of which it is evident that the United States must be the ultimate arbiter. We find in Asotin County in that election 2,506 votes. We find also some changes in voting precincts. They appear thus: Alpowa, Anatone, Asotin, Bly, Clarkston, Cloverland, Grande Ronde, Grouse, Hanson, Pleasant, South Clarkston, Theon, West Asotin, West Clarkston. The total votes of the three Clarkston precincts was 1,237, with one voter reported absent. That of the two Asotin precincts was 519, with three absent. The prohibition question again came to the fore with several measures designed to impair the law passed in 1914. On Initiative No. 24, one of those measures, the vote was 314 for to 1,572 against. It may be added that the negative vote in the state on that measure (allowing manufacture and sale of beer), as well as the others of the same character, was so overwhelming, 100,000 or more, that it was hardly worth while to count it.
The national results of the election were: For the Wilson electors, 1,136; for the Hughes electors, 1,004; for Poindexter, republican, as senator, 983 to 926 for Turner, democrat; for La Follette, republican for congressman, 1,142 to 819 for Masterson; McBride, republican for governor, 927 to 1,182 for Lister, democrat. E. V. Kuykendall, republican for joint senator, had 1,170 to 882 for Thomson, democrat. E. E. Halsey again went to the lower House of the Legislature, his fifth successive election. The local officers were: F. M. Halsey, sheriff; Homer L. Post, attorney; E. R. Downen, assessor; A. A. Alvord; superintendent of schools; P. P. Oehler, engineer; G. A. Fraser, treasurer; Lillie Ausman, auditor; J. W. Stephens, clerk; C. Shumaker, J. K. McIntosh, commissioners.
MISCELLANEOUS HAPPENINGS
Turning from the record of political events to what may be denominated the miscellaneous happenings of the county history, we may note that Asotin has had its full share. The beautiful creek that now furnishes the water for several thousand acres of the great Clarkston project, a stream of much picturesque beauty as it makes its way, swiftly indeed, but with apparent serenity and general decorum through the lower end of the town into Snake River, has taken the liberty on several occasions to gather up reinforcements from the plains through which its tributaries have worn their way, and has come sweeping down the steep declivities in torrents that threatened to tear out everything in its course. It is quite well under control now, due to the extensive impounding and distribution processes of the irrigation system, but formerly in case of sudden rain or Chinook winds, the vast amount of surface from which the water must drain through the single channel might transform it in a few hours from a bright pellucid mountain creek into a veritable river of turbid torrents. The most famous floods were those of 1887, 1894, and 1897. That of 1894 was the greatest in a general way in the Columbia and Snake and all their tributariesever known by white men, and according to Indians has not been equaled for many years, possibly several centuries. Nearly the whole of the lower part of Asotin was covered and the road between Asotin and Clarkston was under water in numerous places. So far as destruction from the creek was concerned, however, the flood of May 20, 1897, was the most disastrous of any. This was due to a cloud burst covering most of the upper sources of the creek. Since there was but a gentle rain at Asotin there was no conception of what was impending from above, until the roaring of the torrent heralded its approach. For a distance of fifteen miles the bed of the stream was swept clean. All the bridges were carried out and many of the houses, gardens, and other property destroyed.
Mr. Baumeister points out in his beautiful yard, with its stone wall ten feet high on the creek margin, how the water rose high above the top of the wall. Considering the irresistible force of a column of water fifteen or eighteen feet high rushing down that steep descent and considering the destruction of property it seems strange indeed that there were no human lives lost. It seems to have been by a series of fortunate happenings that those in peril were in positions to save themselves. The schoolhouse in the Hopwood District was swept away, but the teacher, hearing the tumult, had led the children to the hillside just in time.
The most notable fires in the history of Asotin Town were on February 3, 1886, in which the Pioneer Hotel belonging to Mrs. Lile was destroyed, and that of March 15, 1893, in which the City Hotel, belonging to Mrs. Myers, was burned. The feature of the second fire which gave it great notoriety was that a man named Frank Sherry perished in the flames. It appeared that Charles E. Myers, the husband of the woman who conducted the hotel, but who had been separated from her, had been found not guilty of killing a man some years before as result of difficulty about his first wife. The sentiment upon the discovery of the death of Sherry became intense in the town and it was reported to officers that there was a plan for lynching Myers, who had become charged with having fired the hotel in order to punish his wife and a man of whom he was jealous.The Sentinel, in speaking of the event in its issue of March 31st, declares that the reports of purposed lynching are exaggerated and that the people of the place have no other thought than a fair trial. As a matter of fact, Myers was conveyed to Dayton. He was subsequently tried for murder. The case was remarkable in that it was appealed twice to the Supreme Court and on the first appeal was retried. The verdict of guilty was affirmed in both cases. Petitions for pardon were sent to Gov. John H. McGraw, but he declined to stop the course of judicial decision, and Myers, without at any time having confessed the crime, was executed on September 30, 1895, two and a half years after the alleged crime. The execution took place at Pomeroy, and in accordance with the barbarous and horrible law then prevailing was public, and it is stated that hundreds of men, women and children were present.
The annals of the county were marked in August, 1896, with the lynching of a half-breed, Viles, for a sexual outrage, and the same kind of punishment for a similar offense with murder was meted out to a boy named Hamilton in the same month of 1903. The old timers in discussing those events express the opinion that though lynch law is to be deplored, and though in the secondcase the criminal was a half-witted degenerate, yet the proof was clear in both cases (for both confessed), and the condign punishment well-merited.
Turning from the miscellaneous events to the constructive industries of the county, we may say that there has been a steady and substantial, though not rapid increase in population, production, and property valuation, year by year from the date of county organization. The original stock industry gave way to grain farming, and in that Asotin County has been, for its area, one of the most productive in the state. It is asserted that Asotin warehouses and platforms along the Snake River from which the steamboats gather up the wheat, constitute the greatest initial grain shipping point or series of points on the O. W. R. and N. R. R. system.
ORCHARDS AND GARDENS
But though the wheat and barley of the prairies constitute already a great production and will in the future constitute a still larger source of revenue, the most interesting and important industry is horticulture and fruit raising. In the area of land devoted to intensive farming under irrigation, Asotin has nearly as much as the other three counties of old Walla Walla put together. This very important productive area, which comprises the most distinctive feature of the county, centers at Clarkston. The history of this industry and this place constitutes a chapter by itself, unique in the history of the Northwest.
The Clarkston project has been practically the work of one of the most noted historic families of the United States, that of the Adams family of Boston. Charles Francis Adams the second, when president of the Union Pacific R. R., formed the conception of an irrigated tract under ideal conditions upon land which he could see had superior advantages of location, soil, and climate, that is to say the broad flat, with successive benches, on the west side of the junction of the Snake and Clearwater. That location was first called Lewiston. Then in remembrance of the historic name of Concord, Mass., dear to the New Englanders who were founding the enterprise, the name Concord was used. Objections on the part of local residents arose, and on April 6, 1900, the name of the voting precinct was changed by the county commissioners to Clarkston, as the fitting mate to Lewiston, recalling the two leaders of the first expedition of discovery. By special petition to the Federal authorities the name of Clarkston was adapted for the name of the town.
The enterprise at Clarkston was in reality, it should be observed, a second thought on the part of Mr. Adams, for his first plan was the development of what is now known as the Indian Cache Ranch, formerly known as the Adams Ranch, on the north side of the Clearwater, a short distance above Lewiston. That splendid property was the first undertaking of Mr. Adams.
The first organization of the project at Clarkston was effected in 1896 under the name of the Lewiston Water and Power Co., of which Henry Adams the Second, son of Charles Francis Adams, became the head. This company ultimately had a capital of $2,000,000. In 1900 the company acquired the property of the Lewiston Light Company which had been formed in 1899 to provide electric light and power for the City of Lewiston. In 1904 the Asotin Land and Water Company's holdings were acquired and the projects were all blended in theLewiston-Clarkston Company, and that in turn was reorganized in 1910 as the Lewiston-Clarkston Improvement Company. Henry Adams, with members of his family, retained the majority of the stock. At the present time, the properties are segregated into two distinct divisions. The Lewiston-Clarkston Improvement Company conducts the land business, while the utility work, the light and power business, is conducted under the name of the Washington-Idaho Water, Light and Power Co. Such is a bare outline of the general plan and changes effected by reorganization of this remarkable enterprise. Entering a little more into detail, it is of interest to note that the initial incorporators of the Lewiston Water and Power Company were E. H. Libby, formerly of Yakima, C. C. Van Arsdil and Dr. J. B. Morris of Lewiston, and G. W. Bailey and Wm. Farrish of Asotin. This incorporation acquired 2,500 acres at low figures, ranging from ten to twenty-five dollars per acre, largely from the original entrymen, Edward Pearcy, E. J. Warner, Wm. Caldwell, S. Wildenthaler, Joseph Alexander, Chris Weisenberger, D. S. Dent, John Aubin, together with a tract that had been secured by the New England Mortgage Security Company. E. H. Libby became president of the company. Land secured, water was the next requisite. The Asotin Creek had already been filed on and in 1896, July 18th, water actually reached Vineland. Mr. Libby acted as manager, with intermissions, until April 7, 1911. Mr. Libby, with W. G. Clark, engineered the reorganization of the Lewiston-Clarkston Company, which in 1910 became the Lewiston-Clarkston Improvement Company. At that time Spencer Trask & Company of New York, took $600,000 bonds of the new company and acquired an interest in the common stock. H. L. Powers, now of Lewiston, became vice president and manager in 1911, with Henry Adams as president, and retained the position till 1912, when he removed to Lewiston. He continued to act as vice president of the Lewiston Land & Water Company. Robert A. Foster, who had come in 1910 as engineer, became in 1912 the vice president and general manager of the Improvement Company, and in 1914, its president.
Land and water secured, the next necessity was a bridge across Snake River. Clarkston was so logically connected with Lewiston, though in another state, that a direct connection by a bridge was vital. The City of Lewiston granted to Mr. Libby a charter for the construction of a bridge in May, 1896. It was completed and opened for traffic June 24, 1899. This was a great bridge, 1,450 feet long, lifted so high above the river as to allow steamers to pass under. The first articles of incorporation of the bridge first known as the Lewiston-Concord Bridge, were dated November 26, 1897, and the incorporators were E. H. Libby and George W. Bailey. The incorporation was practically identical with the Lewiston Water and Power Company. Being across a navigable river the plans had to be approved by the secretary of war, and a permit granted by Congress. These necessities were duly accomplished in 1898. The contract for the construction called for $110,000. In 1914 the bridge became the joint property of the two states, for $80,000.
Asotin Creek has a mean annual discharge of 39,410 acre feet. The system makes provision for a domestic and municipal consumption for 10,000 people, and irrigation supply for 6,000 acres. The main pipe line is eleven miles long, and is from thirty-two to forty-eight inches in diameter, made of wooden staves, except where it crosses Maguire Gulch, a very high pressure steel pipe, four feet in diameter is used.
ONE VIEW OF THE PARTIALLY COMPLETED TWENTY MILLION GALLON POMEROY GULCH RESERVOIR. A LINK IN THE PRESSURE WATER SERVICE FOR THE IRRIGATION AND DOMESTIC SUPPLY OF CLARKSTON-VINELAND
ONE VIEW OF THE PARTIALLY COMPLETED TWENTY MILLION GALLON POMEROY GULCH RESERVOIR. A LINK IN THE PRESSURE WATER SERVICE FOR THE IRRIGATION AND DOMESTIC SUPPLY OF CLARKSTON-VINELAND
ONE VIEW OF THE PARTIALLY COMPLETED TWENTY MILLION GALLON POMEROY GULCH RESERVOIR. A LINK IN THE PRESSURE WATER SERVICE FOR THE IRRIGATION AND DOMESTIC SUPPLY OF CLARKSTON-VINELAND
The Pomeroy Reservoir has a capacity of 20,000,000 cubic feet or 460 acre feet.
The major part of what has generally been known as Clarkston-Vineland has been sold by the company and is cultivated in small tracts, beautifully laid out and developed, trees, flowers, shrubbery, and lawns, a continuous village, thus fulfilling the noble ideal of the projectors as being a model irrigation project. The company has, however, retained possession of the larger part of the magnificent Clarkston Heights and is handling that property as a unit. It is a district hard to match among the irrigated tracts of the Northwest. It has every conceivable advantage of soil, climate, scenery, water supply, and when ultimately sold will be one of the rare home lands of the world. The company still owns about one-third of the townsite of Clarkston and about five thousand acres of land, of which 927.98 acres are in apple trees in a solid body. The apple trees are divided as follows in percentages: Winesap, 40 per cent; Yellow Newtowns, 15; Spitzenberg, 15; Jonathan, 10; Rome Beauty, 10; assorted varieties, 10. The average holding on the tract is only 3½ acres, making this the most densely populated irrigation district in the United States.
The electric power and light properties of the company, under another organization, as stated, constitute a system by themselves. The power plant comprises the Asotin power station, the Pomeroy power station, the Clarkston auxiliary steam plant, and the Lewiston sub station; a total of 3,200 horse power. There is also a power development on the Grande Ronde River, 2½ miles above the mouth and 28½ miles from Clarkston, with a minimum of 6,900 horse power, and a peack load capacity of 10,000 horse power. Through these plants the company supplies with power and light the towns of Asotin, Clarkston, Lewiston and Lapwai, having a population of about fifteen thousand.
One of the most important recent enterprises in the development of this section is the electric railway from Lewiston across the interstate bridge to Clarkston and Vineland, a total amount of four miles of street railway. This work was completed in the summer of 1916. It is owned by the Lewiston-Clarkston Transit Company. Contrary to the recent experience of some of the "Twin City" trolley enterprises, which have been seriously affected by jitney competition, this undertaking is said to be amply rewarded by financial results. There is so much transit during the fruit picking and packing season and there is so much general activity of movement to and from Lewiston, that the cars are almost constantly well filled. There was a total of 2,000,000 passenger crossings over the bridge during the year ended at this writing.
The Clarkston-Vineland region has none of the first pioneer settlers left. There are, however, a number of what may be called the second wave of immigration, prior to the inauguration of the Improvement Company. Mr. and Mrs. F. G. Morrison are said to be the earliest comers now living in the town. They came in 1878, though not to the place where they are now living. At the time of their coming the ferry was maintained by Ed Pearcy. E. J. Warner had a claim in what is now the business part of Clarkston. "Johnnie" Greenfield, an old bachelor, was then living on the "flat." He was a landscape gardener of much ability, having been employed to lay out Woodward's Gardens in SanFrancisco. There was a family named Pearsall living a little west of the present home of Mr. Morrison, having four sons, Jerry, Jake, William, and Ed.
We referred earlier in this chapter to O. F. Canfield. He is a man of unique interest, both by reason of keen intellect, many adventures in the wildest regions of the Pacific Coast, and his peculiarly marked pioneer traits. He came as a ten year old boy with his father, W. D. Canfield, and the family from Iowa across the plains in 1847. Being late in reaching Oregon, the father decided to accept the urgent invitation of Dr. Whitman that he remain at Waiilatpu (Mr. Canfield says that the Indians sounded that historic name more asWaiilatipsu) for the winter. They had been there but about a month when the dreadful Whitman massacre of November 29, 1847, occurred. The father of the family was shot by the Indians, but by reason of a glancing bullet was not seriously, though painfully wounded. In the general excitement he evaded observation and remaining in hiding till night managed to communicate with Mrs. Canfield and the children. Thinking from all the indications that the Indians were not going to murder the women and children, Mr. Canfield decided to try to reach Spalding's station at Lapwai where he hoped that he might find rescuers for the captives at Waiilatpu. Though bleeding from his wound, and having but scanty food or clothing in the freezing weather of winter he set out and with terrible suffering reached Lapwai. The son, now a white haired man of seventy-eight, tells us that his father would never have reached Lapwai, had not old Timothy, the Nez Percé chief of the Alpowa, succored him and carried him across the river. Being on the north side of the river he was comparatively safe and reached Lapwai. Years after, so Mr. Canfield tells us, he saw Timothy, then very old and destitute. Telling him that he was the son of the man whom he saved at that momentous time, he told the old Indian that he wanted to pay him for saving his father. But Timothy would not take anything. He said, striking his breast, that he had "hyas close tumtum." It was "halo chickamon." Finally Mr. Canfield induced the old man to accept some tobacco and an overcoat as presents, but not as pay.
Mr. Canfield told another Indian story of very different character, worthy of preservation. When Howlish Wampoo, the famous Umatilla chief, was the ruler of his tribe he had many horses, some fine racing animals. There was a great horse racer at that time named Joe Crabbe, living in Portland. Crabbe had known of Howlish Wampoo's fast horses and was anxious to get up some races and incidentally clean up some big bets. Going to Umatilla he finally engineered a big meet with the Indians. The crowning event was to be between Crabbe's champion and anything that the Indian chief could bring on. Howlish Wampoo was very crafty. He might have been a Teuton diplomat of the present. He brought out and made a great parade of a spotted horse which he said he was going to run, and then innocently put the horse in a corral very handy to the white men. Crabbe's hustlers took the horse out in the night, no Indians being in sight, and tried him. They found that he was nothing extra fast, and so they made all their plans in the light of that discovery. The next day came the great race. Everything was excitement, and betting went to a great pitch. Crabbe finally put up $1,500 on his horse and at last even his silver mounted saddle and spurs. Howlish Wampoo accepted the bets with seeming reluctance and Indian stoicism. When the horses were brought out Crabbe saw with somesuspicion that the spotted Indian racer looked a little different and stepped a little different from what he did the day before. As he told Canfield in relating his experience he "felt a sort of cold chill go down his back." But it was too late to back out. Off they went, a four mile race, two miles to a stake, around it and back again. The Indian horse was evidently not the same horse. He went like a shot out of a gun and reached the goal post so much ahead that his rider turned back to run again with Crabbe's champion, and then beat him into camp. The Indians made an awful clean up on the white men's bets. Howlish Wampoo, with just a faint suspicion of an inward grin on his mahogany countenance, told Crabbe that he might have his saddle and spurs back again, and enough money to get home on.
Afterwards Crabbe made great offers to the Indian for the spotted racer, wishing to take him East or even to Europe, for he was satisfied that he could beat the world in a four mile race. But Howlish Wampoo would never sell the pet racer.
Mr. Canfield remembers the events of the Whitman massacre with intensity and narrates them with vividness. He considers the fundamental cause to have been the fear by the Indians that the whites were going to dispossess them of their lands, and that their fears in that respect were fostered by Tom Hill, a renegade Delaware Indian, who had drifted across the continent, having come considerable part of the way with the Canfields. Jo Lewis, a half-breed, who had been greatly befriended by the Whitmans, was another inciting cause. Both of them were bad men and grossly betrayed their benefactors. The fatal scourge of measles and the death of some of Whitman's patients was an occasion for the outbreak, but the fear of white occupation was, in Mr. Canfield's judgment, the real cause. He says that he knows that Tamsucky was the leader in the massacre and that it was he who buried his tomahawk in Whitman's head. There was reason to believe that Tamsucky afterwards greatly regretted his act. There were four Indian chiefs, Isticcas, Moolipool, Tinsinmitsal, and Beardy, who were steadfast friends of the whites. This assertion of Mr. Canfield is the more interesting by reason of the fact that Miles Cannon in his recent book, "Waiilatpu," asserts that Isticcas was a traitor and participated in the massacre. Mr. Canfield is confident that that is an error. Mrs. Jacobs (well known in Walla Walla, now living in Portland, an eight year old child at the time of the massacre, a member of the Osborne family, who were present at the tragedy), supports Mr. Canfield's statement, declaring that old timers asserted that if there were any Christians in the country, Isticcas was one. Mr. Cannon in his book also expresses the opinion that Mr. Rogers basely asserted to the Indians that Doctor Whitman was poisoning them, hoping thereby to save his own life. Mrs. Jacobs declares that this statement is absolutely false and that Mr. Rogers, like the rest of the victims, died like a hero and a Christian.
Doctor Whitman, according to Mr. Canfield's recollection, while one of the noblest and bravest of men, was not a "fighting man," submitting rather tamely, as he thought, to insults by the Indians. Nor was he so large and powerful a man physically as some have described him. The most valuable testimony about Whitman is found in the statement by Mr. Canfield that he heard him several times discussing the future of this region with the elder Canfield. He urged him to remain in the Walla Walla Valley, pointing out that since it had becomeAmerican territory it offered greater inducements to settlement than any other part of Oregon. He thought it better than the Willamette Valley. He declared that it was the best sheep country in the world, that during the eleven winters since he came to Walla Walla there were only two in which sheep could not have grazed the year round. He proposed that Mr. Canfield locate near Waiilatpu, and the next year join with himself in an organized drive of a large band of sheep into the country and the inauguration of a permanent wool industry. He figured that they could work their wool down to The Dalles and there reach regular boat connections and from the Lower Columbia ship by sailing vessels to New York, Boston, and Europe. It was certainly a great conception and demonstrates anew the practical judgment and far vision of the martyr of Waiilatpu.
THE TOWNS OF ASOTIN COUNTY
Asotin and Clarkston are the only organized towns in Asotin County.
As stated earlier there was a double location, Assotin City and Asotin, for what has now become one town under the latter name. The former place was laid out by Alexander Sumpter in May, 1878. On July 22, 1880, the dedication was made by Mr. and Mrs. Sumpter, and at the same time a postoffice was located there. The next year Mr. Sumpter erected a warehouse. The ferry across Snake River was established by J. J. Kanawyer in October, 1881.
A flour mill was put up in 1883 by L. O. Stimson at a point about two-thirds of a mile up the creek from its mouth. That mill was run for a time by John Dill, then by Curtis and Braden, who bought out Stimson. A little later than Mr. Sumpter's location, Mr. Schank employed A. T. Beall to survey his land near the mouth of the creek for a town site. The plot of this location was filed November 10, 1881, by T. M. E. Schank, W. H. Reed, Louise D. Reed, and Alexander Reed. Various additions have been made to the original site. Mr. S. J. Sergeant tells us that when he came to Asotin in 1879, there was nothing except Schank's cabin. During the next year Mr. Schank and Mr. Reed set out in earnest to start their town. In the issue of theSentinelof April 24, 1885, we find an advertisement that would do credit to a Spokane real estate dealer setting forth the desirability of the location for business, loans or investment. Lots are announced at from thirty to one hundred and fifty dollars, and "sure to advance."
In theAsotin Spirit, beginning October 19, 1883, succeeded by theSentinel, June 24, 1885, we find other interesting ads, of that day. In the first number of theSpiritPettyjohn and McAlpin advertise their general store. F. E. Scott of Theon announces that he will sell wines, whiskeys, oysters, candies, medicines, and toilet articles. The ferry of J. J. and P. Kanawyer appears and it is asserted that the road to Lewiston by that crossing is far better than any other. The Assotin Flour Mills of Curtis and Braden have good space, and they announce that they will give thirty-five pounds of flour and six pounds of bran for a bushel of wheat.
MAIN STREET, LOOKING SOUTH, CLARKSTON
MAIN STREET, LOOKING SOUTH, CLARKSTON
MAIN STREET, LOOKING SOUTH, CLARKSTON
PUBLIC LIBRARY, CLARKSTON
PUBLIC LIBRARY, CLARKSTON
PUBLIC LIBRARY, CLARKSTON
In theSentinelof various issues in 1885, we find the advantages of the Pearcy ferry displayed. The Lile House of J. D. Lile appears. In theSentinelof June 24, 1885, is a flaming prospectus of a "Grand Social Hop" to occur in Embree Hall on the eve of the Fourth. The floor managers were to be Wm. Critchfield, J. P. Fine, and Henry Thomason. The committee of arrangements was to consist of C. S. Morey, J. P. Fulton, Al Stiffel, and A. M. Morris. The Packwood Pearce and Warner String Band was to provide music. Tickets were to be $2.25. TheSentinelof October 9, 1885, contains the obituary of Mr. Schank who had died by suicide, hanging himself in his own house in what was supposed to be a moment of aberration through business worry. In the same number is a remarkably drawing ad., by Baumeister and Co. to the farmers. The cards of L. J. Dittmore and G. W. Bailey, lawyers, appear.
It may be very suitable to give here the successive stages in the history of the one paper which has held the field substantially all the time. Coming to Asotin from Pataha and taking with it the name ofSpirit, it was published at first by J. H. Ginder and Co., to be succeeded, March 28, 1884, by D. B. Pettyjohn, editor and proprietor. October 9, 1885, the paper became theSentinel, published by the Sentinel Publishing Co. It continued under that name for over fourteen years, and on November 4, 1899, appeared as theAsotin County Sentinel, the editors and proprietors being Elmer Waldrip and Kay L. Thompson. Mr. Thompson has been sole proprietor since 1902, and has conducted the paper with conspicuous ability, making of it one of the best weeklies in the state. It can be truly affirmed that theSentinelhas been a great factor in the development of Asotin County.
In 1887, the rival town sites had practically blended, or rather the most of Assotin City had slid down to Asotin. The time for incorporation seemed to have arrived. On May 28, 1888, a meeting of citizens was held in Baumeister's Hall, for preparing incorporation papers. These were approved by Judge W. G. Langford, territorial judge, on June 15th, and thus Asotin became an incorporation. The judge appointed D. Talbot, H. C. Fulton, W. J. Clemans, J. N. Rice, and Edward Baumeister a provisional board of trustees. The first election was held April 1, 1889, and the trustees elect were as follows: J. K. Rice, D. J. Wann, J. H. Bingham, M. B. Mitchell and James Michie.
But like some other "plans of mice and men" this went "agley." The Supreme Court of the new state made a decision in February, 1890, which invalidated such towns as had been incorporated by order of district courts.
This set aside all the proceedings of Asotin thus far. Feeling that the indications thus far were such as to justify incorporation, the citizens petitioned the county commissioners on May 29, 1890, to call an election for incorporation under the state law. An election having been set it was duly held on June 21st. Thus Asotin was duly reincorporated under state law, and the officers selected were these: Mayor, Charles Isecke; councilmen, H. E. Benedict, Edward Baumeister, N. Ausman, Richard Ruddy, and L. B. Howard; treasurer, J. O'Keefe.
Different citizens of Asotin to hold the place of chief executive of the city have been Charles Isecke, who, as stated, was the first incumbent of the office in 1890, and who held it for three years, and was again chosen in 1906 to serve for two years. Edward Baumeister was elected mayor in 1905.
J. B. Jones was the choice for mayor in 1908 and continued in 1909 and 1910.
The first council chosen on June 21, 1890, consisted, as noted, of H. E. Benedict, Edward Baumeister, N. Ausman, R. Ruddy, and L. B. Howard.
Without endeavoring to give the complete list of city officials we will passon to 1905, and in that year we find the council composed of Kay L. Thompson, J. B. Jones, M. B. Coon, G. A. Brown and H. Critchfield. In 1906 the personnel of the council was this: E. H. Dammarrell, S. J. Sargeant, F. B. Jones, M. B. Coon, Kay L. Thompson. In 1907, Messrs. Coon, Sargeant, and Dammarrell were re-elected, and R. Graham and Ben Ayers came in as new members. In 1908, Mr. Ayers was re-elected, but the other four were new men, A. Beckman, C. Brantner, M. J. Garrison, H. C. Fulton. In 1909, all held over with the exception of Mr. Garrison, the new member elect being E. G. MacFarlane. Beginning with 1910 the mayors and councilmen have been the following:
1910—J. B. Jones, mayor. Councilmen: A. Beckman, M. J. Garrison, Ben Ayers, E. G. MacFarlane, and C. M. Brantner. Treasurer: I. N. Brazeau. Clerk: C. S. Florence.
1911—Mayor: J. R. Glover. Councilmen: Kenneth McIntosh, Jay Swain, Ben Ayers, E. G. MacFarlane, and M. J. Garrison. Treasurer: Ed Bucholz. Clerk: E. Matthes.
1912—Mayor: J. R. Glover. Councilmen: Ben Ayers, Chas. S. Florence, A. Beckman and K. McIntosh. Treasurer: Ed Bucholz. Clerk: E. Matthes.
1913—Mayor: J. R. Glover. Councilmen: Ben Ayers, K. McIntosh, A. Beckman, Chas. S. Florence and Geo. W. Bailey. Treasurer: Ed Bucholz. Clerk: E. Matthes.
1914—Mayor: J. R. Glover. Councilmen: Ben Ayers, Geo. W. Bailey, L. H. Jurgens, W. A. Forgey and A. Beckman. Treasurer: Ed Bucholz. Clerk: I. N. Brazeau.
1915—Mayor: A. A. Wormell. Councilmen: E. R. Downen, K. McIntosh, W. A. Forgey, L. H. Jurgens and Ben Ayers. Treasurer: Ed Bucholz. Clerk: C. A. Laufer.
1916—Mayor: A. A. Wormell. Councilmen: L. H. Jurgens, Ben Ayers, A. A. Alvord, K. McIntosh and E. R. Downen. Treasurer: Ed Bucholz. Clerk: Chas. S. Florence. On April 4, 1916, Wormell resigned, and on April 18, 1916, M. J. Garrison appointed mayor by council for unexpired term.
1917—Mayor: M. J. Garrison. Councilmen: L. H. Jurgens, E. R. Downen, Ben Ayers, A. A. Alvord and K. McIntosh. Treasurer: Ed Bucholz. Clerk: Chas. S. Florence.
CLARKSTON INCORPORATED
The incorporation of Clarkston has its first mention in the minutes of the county commissioners on January 7, 1901, when a petition from 71 citizens was received asking for such action. The proposition was lost by vote of 15 to 37 on August 5th. The petitioners returned to the charge on May 5, 1902, to incorporate Clarkston and Vineland as a city of the third class. This was defeated May 24th by 70 to 110. At the meeting of the commissioners on July 8, 1902, there came still another petition, asking that Clarkston be incorporated as a city of the fourth class. An election on that issue was held on August 2d, and this time incorporation won, 45 to 31. At the next meeting the commissioners rearranged the precinct, making the limits of Clarkston coterminous with the incorporation and from the remainder creating Vineland Precinct.
HIGH SCHOOL BUILDING, CLARKSTON
HIGH SCHOOL BUILDING, CLARKSTON
HIGH SCHOOL BUILDING, CLARKSTON
Following this election Clarkston was duly incorporated, and the first city government had its meeting for formal organization on August 26th. Alexander Robinson was the first mayor. L. S. Lehm was the first treasurer. The council consisted of George S. Bailey, C. S. Whitford, A. S. Burnett, V. Anderson, and S. J. Roberts. Wm. Porter was appointed clerk, Robert F. Klein marshal, and E. E. Halsey city attorney. The first regular election occurred in December, 1902. The former officers were re-elected, with the exception of Burnett and Roberts, who were succeeded by S. T. Ramsey and Mr. Halligus. Mayor Robinson died in 1903. The election of December 8, 1903, resulted in the election of F. C. Brown as mayor. The councilmen consisted of S. T. Ramsey, C. S. Whitford, A. S. Burnett, V. Anderson, and A. J. Wood. Mr. Lehm was re-elected treasurer. The appointive officers were continued.
Mr. Frank N. Brown continued to be rechosen to the position of mayor from 1903 to 1907. The mayors following were these: R. M. Yount, 1907 to 1908; D. B. Parks, 1909 to 1910; R. M. Yount, 1910 to 1913; Dr. Paul W. Johnson, 1913 to 1914; E. J. Bailey, 1914 to 1916; J. E. Hoobler, 1916 to 1917. During the period from 1903 to 1917, we find the councilmen to have been: from 1903 to 1908, J. E. Hoobler, E. R. Stevens, S. T. Smiley, C. W. Hunton, and E. J. Bailey; 1909, F. M. Hartley, J. E. Heritage, S. L. Fowler, I. W. Rucker, H. S. Jones; 1910 and 1911, J. E. Hoobler, D. H. Stephens, S. L. Fowler, I. W. Rucker, D. H. Ransom; 1912, T. W. Hartley, J. E. Hoobler, I. W. Rucker, Herman Frank; 1913, J. E. Heritage, Mr. Daege, E. J. Dewar, J. P. Goetchius, H. G. Jones, F. M. Hartley, Herman Frank; 1914, Robert Meyer, J. H. Maynard, Herman Frank, H. S. Jones, F. M. Hartley, Mr. Bundy, J. E. Heritage; 1915, F. M. Hartley, W. E. Potter, John Whistler, P. T. Lomax, F. M. Talbot, L. M. Faulkenbury, P. F. Stillings; 1916, J. H. Maynard, E. J. Price, H. S. Jones, F. M. Hartley, Mr. Bundy, P. T. Lomax, Mr. Hill—by resignation of Mr. Hartley, Lee Morris was appointed; 1917, John Getty, J. H. Clear, L. E. Morrison, I. W. Knight, M. W. Isle, W. O. Bond, C. B. Thomson. For several years past G. L. Ackley has been clerk.
Both Asotin and Clarkston have maintained commercial clubs since their early days. In Asotin the officers of the present are Edward Baumeister, president; and Charles S. Florence, secretary-treasurer.
The club at Clarkston was organized on September 11, 1899, and was first known as the Business Men's Association. Its first special aim was the gravelling of the very dusty streets. The officers of the first organization were: H. C. Whetstone, president; C. M. Evans, vice president; T. W. Enos, secretary; Alexander Robinson, treasurer. In 1908 it was reorganized, named Commercial Club, and the officers chosen were: E. H. Libby, president; R. B. Hooper, vice president; J. E. Hoobler, secretary-treasurer.
An attractive, though not large building was erected, with the expectation of using it as a library, but when the Carnegie Library was built, the former building became the property of the city, and is now used as a council room, as well as a Commercial Club meeting place. The present officers of the club are: E. J. Bailey, president; Lee Morris, vice president; Lester Hoobler, secretary-treasurer. By reason of the departure of Mr. Hoobler to join the army, the duties of secretary are now in the hands of G. L. Ackley.
The educational system of Asotin County, like that of other units of old Walla Walla, has been typically American, one of the bed rock institutions inthe upbuilding of the new land. From the first the people of the county have taken pride in their schools and while not absolutely true at all times and in all places to the highest interest of their children—as none are even in the State of Washington—they have results which make a demonstration of high ideals. There has been steady advancement from the log schoolhouse day to date.
The first school in what is now Asotin County was at Anatone, then the most flourishing community in what was then the eastern part of Columbia County. It is worthy of special note that the building was erected and the school maintained by the settlers themselves without any county appropriation. Miss Angie Bean, now Mrs. Tuttle and now living on Anatone Prairie, was the teacher of that pioneer school. We are informed by Mr. John Romaine, who came to Anatone in 1878, that the school was at its best during the first dozen or so years of its existence. As has not infrequently occurred in exclusively grain regions, the large farmers have absorbed the small ones and after a certain stage has been reached population tends to decline. As a result school districts diminish. Thus it has proved at Anatone.
The first school in Asotin City dates to 1881. The first teacher was Miss Blanche Marsilliott. There seems to have been much tribulation at Asotin about building an adequate schoolhouse. Not until 1904 was there sufficient space for the steadily increasing numbers in the town. Even with the handicap of insufficient space and equipment a high standard seems to have been maintained, insomuch that the report of the State College at Pullman indicated that the graduates of the Asotin High School stand at the head in preparation for advanced work.
As giving a clear and effective general view of the present status of the schools of Asotin County, we incorporate here a few paragraphs for which we are indebted to Prof. W. J. Jerome, formerly county superintendent and now city superintendent of Asotin.
PRESENT STATUS ASOTIN COUNTY SCHOOLS
By W. J. Jerome
The county being strictly an agricultural district, except for a small portion devoted to the fruit industry, the school population is comparatively small. Nevertheless the interest in education has always been great and is steadily increasing.
The number of school census children in the county in May, 1917, was 1,777 but the number actually enrolled in the schools of the county for the year was 1,884. The fact that the number enrolled is greater than the number of census children is largely due to the fact that a large number of children come into the schools of Asotin and Clarkston from other places to take advantage of the good schools and the mild winter climate.
The county contains two fully accredited high schools, Asotin and Clarkston. Clarkston had a total enrollment during the past year of 1,005, Asotin, 317. The interest in education in each of these places is very great and each maintains a fully equipped high school not only carrying the regular old line courses but offering courses in industrial arts as well. The Asotin School was the pioneer in the county in the newer branches and is at present the best equipped schoolin the county for work in manual training, home economics, agriculture and science work. However Clarkston is now beginning a program of industrial education that will soon place that district in the forefront in this line of work.
There are also two other centers, Anatone and Cloverland, which have introduced these new subjects and are rapidly building up splendid little high school centers.
Perhaps the greatest change in the county has come to the one room rural schoolhouse. In many cases the simple log building has been replaced by a neat modern building, heated and ventilated by some of the new heating and ventilating systems and provided with all modern equipment.
Many of the remote rural schools employ normal graduates at good wages, provide hot lunches during the cold weather, have a library, do some work with tools and are as much abreast of the times as the schools of the towns.
In the matter of expense for public education, the question never has been how little but how much can we afford to give or how much can we give. The configuration of the county has made necessary many remote and small communities and it is astonishing how much the people in these remote communities have been willing to sacrifice to educate their children and when it has been impossible to maintain a local school on account of the small valuation or small number of pupils many families have annually moved to town for the winter months to give their children the opportunities of the schools.
The amount spent last year, 1917, for the entire county was $65,793. When it is remembered that we have not a mile of railroad in the county and no manufacturing industries whatever and that our total valuation is but little over $4,000,000, it will be plain that Asotin County shows its interests in education in a most practical way.
Every year a considerable number of young people enter higher institutions of learning, and an increasing number are coming back into the county as teachers, ranchers, etc.
Perhaps the most striking thing about the schools of the county is the great variety of physical conditions found. At Asotin and Clarkston and other points on the Snake River the climate is mild, in fact a veritable winter resort for this entire section, while up on the high flats one could imagine himself on the prairies of Iowa or the Dakotas in the winter. Some of the schools are situated on steep hillsides, some in the great pine woods, some beside the beautiful Asotin Creek. Some of the pupils ride to school on horseback, some come in autos, some in sleds through the deep snow, some cross the wide Snake River every day in row boats, some are brought in by school wagons. Some live next door and some come in from the ranch seven miles away, but the great majority walk in the good old-fashioned way.
Among the teachers responsible for the present condition of Asotin County schools should be mentioned the following: J. B. Jones, for many years superintendent of schools of Asotin, when Asotin maintained the only high school in the county. Mr. Jones served a term as county superintendent and is now a leading banker of the county. Another teacher whose work will never be forgotten is Miss Lillian Clemans, now Mrs. Lillian Clemans Merchant. Mrs. Merchant was a leading teacher in the county for many years and took a leading part in educational matters for four years as county superintendent. J. W.Graham, now superintendent of the Pullman, Wash., schools, but for several years a leading educator of the county as superintendent of the Clarkston schools. W. J. Jerome, at present superintendent of the Asotin city schools, who has been associated with these schools and with the educational interests of the county for eight years. Gus Lybecker has had charge of the Anatone schools for four years and is now beginning a fifth year as the head of a new consolidated district at that place. C. B. Thornton has been associated with the Cloverland schools as principal for several years and is now the county superintendent of schools.
No resume of the schools of the county would be complete that failed to mention the three men who for many years worked together for the Clarkston schools: Dr. P. W. Johnson, W. E. Howard, and Elmer E. Halsey. Dr. H. C. Fulton, G. W. Bailey, William Farrish, W. G. Woodruff, and Kay L. Thompson served Asotin in a similar fashion for many years, indeed some of these men put in as much as twenty years as school board members. In every district there is one or more but usually one central figure, who takes a vital interest in the welfare of the children and gives unstintedly of time and talent for the schools of the district. The author wishes that all these splendid men could be mentioned here, for to them as much as to teachers we owe our schools.
In treating of the other counties, we have devoted considerable space to the churches. These indispensable agencies of the higher motives and higher life have had the same general place in Asotin as in the other counties. To some extent the same men whose names we noted in Walla Walla went on into the newer fields. Early in the history of Asotin City the Baptists effected an organization and erected a church. Soon the Presbyterian, Methodist, United Brethren, and Christian denominations became also established and maintain their church work to the present day.
Clarkston also has a full quota of well sustained churches: Methodist, Christian, Presbyterian, United Brethren, Church of God, Lutheran (Norwegian), St. John's Evangelical (German), Catholic, Adventists, Baptist, and Episcopal.
The fraternal orders are also well represented in both cities. The first lodge in the county was Hope Lodge, I. O. O. F., at Anatone. The Good Templars seem to have been pioneers in lodge organization in Asotin City, dating to 1885. The first Odd Fellow lodge was known as Riverside Lodge No. 41, and was organized in 1886. Other lodges followed, and at the present date we find the following represented: I. O. O. F.; Woodmen of the World; Women of Woodcraft; Grand Army of the Republic; Sons of Veterans; Women's Relief Corps; Modern Woodmen; Rebekahs; United Artisans; Stootki Tribe of Red Men; Masonic.
In Clarkston the orders are the Knights of Pythias, Masons, Odd Fellows, Yeomen, Woodmen of the World, and Modern Woodmen.