Chapter 6

RESIDENCE OF F. W. PAINEAs school teaching and farming seemed to offer small opportunities in Maine, Mr. Paine resolved to go west and chose California as his objective point, arriving in that state in October, 1861, with a letter from the late Judge E. D. Sawyer of San Francisco to an old friend of his at Mokelumne Hill. He was soon on the ground of the "Jumping Frog of Calaveras county" and found the addressee of his letter to be the proprietor of a provision store and his affairs much run down at the heel. Early in the spring of 1862, therefore, Mr. Paine went to Dogtown, in Shasta county, to join two friends who were preparing to go to the newly discovered mines on Salmon river in Idaho. He became the third member of the party, whose route, as contemplated, lay over the Siskiyou mountains to southern Oregon, then to Portland and on by way of Walla Walla, but at Jacksonville they were advised to cross the Cascade mountains down the east side to Klamath lake and on to Walla Walla. After many days of weary walking they arrived in Walla Walla late in June 1862, and there met the returning tide of miners from Salmon river and Florence, which discouraged the three young men from going further in that direction.Under the stress of necessity Mr. Paine made haste to find employment and after two or three months by precarious work of different kinds he secured a situation in the Baker-Boyer store but was soon detailed to take charge of the Spray warehouse at Wallula under Dr. Baker's direction. In the spring of 1863 a mad rush for the Boise mines carried Mr. Paine along. As a measure of economy he engaged with a mule pack train owned by the firm of Johnson & Stratton, serving as off side packer and learning to "throw the diamond hitch." The wealth which Mr. Paine accumulated in that mining venture consisted mainly in experience. In the fall of 1864 he returned to Walla Walla and at once was reinstated in his former position with the Baker-Boyer firm, there remaining until the spring of 1866, when another attack of mining fever took him to Montana with a stock of clothing made for the California miners' trade, which stock of goods was readily sold at a good profit. After enjoying a few weeks of summer on the summit of the Rockies he returned to the land of his adoption, and to be safeguarded against another "call of the wild," on his return he accepted the proffer of a partnership made by William Stephens, a merchant conducting business at the corner of Main and First streets. The business prospered and at the end of a year Mr. Paine purchased the interest of his partner and admitted his brother John to a partnership, removing the stock to the corner of Second and Main streets, where they conducted a very substantial business.After about two year opportunity enabled Mr. Paine to succeed by purchase to the Baker-Boyer business, then located on the present site of the Baker-Boyer Bank. Miles C. Moore joined him as a partner under the style of Paine Brothers & Moore, which firm soon became widely known for its business enterprise and also for its local political influence. During the existence of the firm they established branches at Waitsburg and at Dayton and built a fine steamboat, The Northwest, to ply in wheat carrying on the Columbia and Snake rivers. The war department, however, leased the steamboat to transport troops and munitions during the war with the hostile Willowas, under the notable Chief Joseph, in 1878. Soon after the boat was taken over by the Oregon Railway & Navigation Company. After nearly ten years of pleasant and profitable partnership Mr. Moore withdrew from the firm. In the meantime they had concentrated their attention upon farm implements and machinery and this business was conducted under the style of Paine Brothers. In 1879 they built the three-story brick building, which was then the finest business block in the northwest outside of Portland. Upon its completion and upon the organization of the First National Bank it took up its home in this building, where it has since continued.While for many years Mr. Paine figured most prominently in commercial circles, he also became a leader in the public life of the community as well. His first public office was that of councilman, which he filled in 1878 and 1879. He afterward served as city treasurer in 1883 and 1884 and was mayor of Walla Walla through the two succeeding years. All of these offices came to him unsought. During his mayoralty term he signed the ordinance prohibiting stock from running at large in the streets and this executive act lost him his reelection. He recognized, however, the value of such a course to the city and followed the dictates of his judgment and his conscience notwithstanding the contrary advice of his friends who desired his reelection. In 1880 Mr. Paine was elected school director in District No. 34, the western part of the city. In 1882, by act of the legislature, Districts No. 34 and No. 1, the latter the eastern part of the city, were united in one and the two boards of directors acted as one until the next election, when Mr. Paine was elected one of the three directors for the combined district. He was reelected at each succeeding election until 1906 and during his incumbency, covering more than twenty-five years, he was chairman of the board, which from time to time had to meet increasing requirements by the erection of two frame and three brick schoolhouses. To do this the legal maximum levy of five per cent was not exceeded. The educational work done and the standing of the schools was equal to the best in the state.In 1887 Governor Watson C. Squire, at the request of many of Mr. Paine's friends, appointed him superintendent of the new state penitentiary which had been recently erected at Walla Walla, with orders to establish rules and regulations and to conduct the institution on a similar plan to that of the Oregon state penitentiary. After some hesitation he accepted the appointment, and as the legislature, after providing an appropriation to erect the buildings, had neglected to make any appropriation for its maintenance, it became necessary to secure a citizens' pledge of five thousand dollars on which to draw for incidentals for the ensuing year or until the next legislature should meet. This done, he took six good men as guards with him to Seatco, where the old contract prison built of logs was located and where the convicts divided their time between working ina sash and door factory, working their way out of prison and being worked back by a reward or a bloodhound. Governor Squire met Mr. Paine at that place and after getting a record of the convicts, as a measure of economy for the state, he pardoned sixteen whose terms were nearly completed, leaving ninety-seven to be transferred to Walla Walla, which was accomplished without loss of any member. The next problem was to produce work for the prisoners and Mr. Paine soon succeeded in establishing and operating successfully a brickyard, which proved greatly beneficial to the prisoners. At the close of his term and on the convening of the legislature he reported to the governor, then Governor Semple, giving account of the amount required to cover all indebtedness incurred. The legislature readily made the appropriation, supplemented by a complimentary resolution. Two years later, under a new legislative enactment, Mr. Paine was made chairman of a commission of three members appointed by Governor Elisha P. Ferry, consisting of P. A. Preston, F. M. Lowden and Mr. Paine. With the ready compliance of his colleagues, Mr. Paine proceeded at once to establish a jute mill, having at his personal expense visited and investigated the San Quentin and Oakland jute mills, where he learned of their methods and was advised of their profits, thus becoming convinced of the economy of the measure and of what was of much greater moment, the providing of employment for the inmates of the institution. The establishment of the mill was strenuously opposed by the labor element, as had been the brickyard, but the objection to convict labor has been largely overcome in view of the importance to the health and morals of the inmates of all such institutions. With the advanced views of the day Mr. Paine gladly sees the passing of another most degrading abuse from which this particular institution suffered at times in its earliest history—that of making it a base for political operations of a most scandalous character and its offices a reward for political jobbery.Another field of activity into which Mr. Paine entered was that of the Building Loan & Trust Association, which he was largely instrumental in organizing in February, 1890. It was called the International Building Loan & Trust Association of Walla Walla and soon built up a prosperous business. It has continuously paid its patrons a good rate of interest, has built many comfortable homes in and around the city and is today one of the leading institutions of the kind in the state. It is strictly mutual, makes money only for the stockholders and the only salary paid is that to its secretary, together with a small fee to its board members for each regular monthly meeting. The business methods are highly commended by the state examiner. Of this association Mr. Paine has been the president since its inception, covering a period of more than twenty-seven years. One of the most greatly appreciated honors that has come to Mr. Paine has been his appointment on the board of overseers of Whitman College and he is further honored in the position of chairman on the college loaning board.In the late '70s Mr. Paine assisted in organizing the first Board of Trade at Walla Walla. At that early date it was thought to be of questionable value to the business community, so that it was with difficulty that funds could be secured to pay a secretary. In fact the body's activities and even its existence was at times of an intermittent order. In time the Board of Trade became the Chamber of Commerce and eventually the Commercial Club, and it fell to the lot ofCaptain P. B. Johnson of the Walla Walla Union and to Mr. Paine to keep alive the last named organization, the former acting as secretary and the latter as president. They answered correspondence, mailed descriptive circulars and other literature and in this way induced at least some settlers to come to the valley. All this occurred long before the inception of the present very much alive commercial body.Mr. Paine not only figured in the business and public activities of the city but also in its social organizations. He became a member of the Inquiry Club on its organization twenty-six years ago, a club which is still in vigorous existence. Its membership has included many of the brightest minds in Walla Walla—men from various professions and callings in life. Whitman College has been largely represented on its roster. The workings of the club certainly have a great charm for its members, for its discussions cover the widest possible range of subjects and any member called upon expresses his views upon the subject under discussion with entire absence of restraint and accepts with good grace whatever he may get in return. Mr. Paine was also connected with an association of gentlemen of literary attainments which was organized in 1877. Among its members were Dr. George M. Sternberg, later surgeon general of the United States army, Judge J. K. Kennedy, Dr. J. E. Bingham, Colonel H. E. Holmes, Ex-Governor M. C. Moore, Colonel W. H. Miller, J. F. Boyer, Major R. R. Rees, F. W. Paine and a number of other prominent citizens. The objects of this association, as expressed in its articles of organization, were to maintain a scientific and useful library, to promote science and to cultivate and improve its members. Mr. Paine is also a member of the Archaeological Association of Walla Walla, which under Professor Anderson maintains a good degree of activity, bringing to the city many able lecturers on arts and sciences. On the list of the members of the Symphony Orchestra is also found the name of Frank W. Paine, who has been its honored president for many years, an association which has done much to cultivate and promote musical taste in Walla Walla.Most pleasantly situated in his home life, notwithstanding the extent and importance of his business and public and social activities, the interest of Frank W. Paine, yet has ever centered in his home. He married Ida B. Illsley, a daughter of Jonathan H. Illsley, a merchant of Harrison, Maine, the wedding being celebrated in the Presbyterian church on Capitol Hill in Washington, D. C., April 3, 1876. After a brief visit to their old homes in Maine they turned toward Walla Walla, visiting the Centennial at Philadelphia while en route and thence proceeding to San Francisco, to Portland and on to their destination, where they arrived on the 6th of July, being soon domiciled in the home which they yet occupy. Mrs. Paine comes of a family of superior musical and literary talent, finding its highest exponent perhaps in her eldest sister, the late Mrs. Caroline A. Tolman, who possessed unusual literary ability and devoted much time and talent to advocating the emancipation of women, contemporaneous with Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Susan B. Anthony and Abigail Scott Dunniway. They labored to make a place for woman side by side with man. Theirs was scant praise in their day but already the harvest of their labors is being garnered.To Mr. and Mrs. Paine were born four daughters. Elizabeth, the eldest, passed away at the age of twenty-four years. Josephine became the wife of Timothy A. Paul, a graduate of the University of Virginia and now a residentof Walla Walla, by whom she has three children, two sons and a daughter. Mary became the wife of Ben G. Stone, a real estate and insurance man and farmer of Walla Walla, and they have two sons. Frances is the wife of R. Douglas Ball, who is engaged in the wholesale paper business in Seattle, and they have three children, a daughter and two sons. Mr. and Mrs. Paine are happy in the possession of their three daughters, their generous, manly husbands and their promising children. They stand to them a full measure of reward for any and all sacrifices it may have been their duty and pleasure to make for them and an ample assurance of continued happiness in them, for all of which they duly return thanks to the "giver of every good and perfect gift."JOHN N. FALL.John N. Fall was one of the pioneers of Walla Walla county who reaped the reward of his labors, being at the time of his death the owner of large tracts of fine wheat land, the operation of which he supervised, although a resident of Walla Walla. He was born in Indiana, September 13, 1836, a son of Asa and Agnes (Davis) Fall, the former a native of North Carolina. Both parents passed their last years in Walla Walla county.John N. Fall received the education usually afforded boys in pioneer communities and remained with his parents until he reached mature years. In 1861 he decided to take advantage of the opportunities offered the ambitious young man in the Pacific northwest and crossed the plains with ox teams. He at once settled in Walla Walla county, buying a farm on Mill creek, on which he resided until 1867. He then removed to Walla Walla but continued to operate his farm and, although as the years passed his holdings increased rapidly, he never ceased to exercise direct personal supervision over his agricultural interests. He was at once practical and progressive, being ready to adopt any new method or implement whose value had been reasonably well proven. He gave careful study to the problems of increased production, the conservation of soil fertility and advantageous marketing, and it was recognized that he was an authority on everything pertaining to wheat raising.Mr. Fall was married in Missouri in 1858 to Miss Sarah E. Williams, a daughter of Benjamin and Mary Williams, both of whom were born in Kentucky, but for a number of years resided in Missouri, whence they finally removed to Iowa, where the father passed away. The mother then came to Walla Walla county, where she spent her last years. To Mr. and Mrs. Fall was born a son, Dr. E. E. Fall, who died in February, 1917, leaving a son, Edmond E.Mr. Fall supported the democratic party at the polls and manifested the interest of a good citizen in public affairs. Fraternally he belonged to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Ancient Order of United Workmen, and the spirit which characterized his life was that of fraternity and consideration for others. He passed away in 1900 and was laid to rest in Mountain View cemetery. He was a consistent member of the Presbyterian church, to the support of which he contributed generously, and his sterling worth gained him a warm place in the regard of those who were closely associated with him. Mrs. Fall wasalso a member of that denomination and was likewise keenly interested in its various activities. After the death of her husband she owned and personally managed the operation of two thousand and forty acres of wheat land and two hundred and forty acres on the mountain, a part of which was wheat land and a part pasture. In looking after her extensive interests she manifested an executive ability and keen insight into business that was far above the average and she was recognized as a factor in the development of the county along agricultural lines.ELMER L. WOODS.Elmer L. Woods, who resides on section 7, township 9 north, range 27 east, is one of the leading horticulturists of Walla Walla county, his apple orchard comprising almost four thousand trees of the finest varieties. He was born in that township, November 4, 1888, and is a son of Joel and Viola M. (Hull) Woods, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this work. He was reared at home and during his boyhood and youth attended the Waitsburg public schools, thus receiving a good education. On reaching man's estate he became associated with his father in the operation of the home farm, and this relation was continued until the father's death. In 1911 forty acres were planted to apple trees, ninety-six to an acre, by Walter & Morris, the administrators of the estate. This orchard of three thousand eight hundred and forty trees is now bearing, and is one of the finest fruit orchards in the county. At the time the estate was settled Mr. Woods of this review acquired title to the orchard, and it yielded about two thousand boxes of apples in 1917. He has given the orchard the most thorough and systematic care and is ever businesslike in solving problems of packing and marketing.Mr. Woods belongs to Delta Lodge, No. 70, K. P., of Waitsburg and is in hearty sympathy with the ideals of the fraternity upon which that organization is based. He possesses in marked measure the enterprise and self-reliance characteristic of the western man, and he has the utmost confidence in the future of his county and state.FRANK SINGLETON.There are few residents of Walla Walla who can claim connection with the city from 1857. The memory of Frank Singleton, however, harks back to the period when this was a frontier fort and the work of progress and civilization had scarcely been begun in all this section of the country. The Indians were more numerous than the white settlers and only here and there had some venturesome spirit penetrated into the western wilderness to plant the seeds of civilization. Frank Singleton, who is now extensively interested in mining and is engaged in the real estate business in Walla Walla, was but six years of age at the time of his arrival in Washington. He was born in San Antonio, Texas, November 7,1850, and after the removal of the family to the northwest pursued his education in the public and parochial schools of Walla Walla. On reaching manhood he engaged in the live stock business, with which he was prominently identified for many years. At one time he was a heavy holder of farm lands, but in 1916 he sold his farm north of Prescott, comprising six hundred acres, which was the last of his farm possessions. For the past twelve years he has been prominently identified with mining and has large holdings in mining property. For six years he has been engaged in the real estate business in Walla Walla and has negotiated many important realty transfers. In a word, he is a progressive business man, alert and energetic, his activities guided by sound judgment, while his laudable ambition has brought to him gratifying success.In July, 1907, Mr. Singleton was united in marriage to Mrs. Martha White, who in her maidenhood was Miss Kidwell, a daughter of James Kidwell, who in 1863 cast in his lot with the pioneer settlers of Walla Walla. By her former marriage Mrs. Singleton had two sons; Walter, who is engaged in farming in Walla Walla county; and Vivian, who is a farmer of Franklin county. Mr. and Mrs. Singleton are widely and favorably known in the city and surrounding country, having an extensive circle of friends, while the hospitality of the best homes is freely accorded them. With every phase of pioneer life and of the later development and progress of the county they are familiar, having been interested witnesses of the growth and upbuilding of this section of the state from early pioneer times.WILLIAM D. PAUL.William D. Paul was successful as a farmer and his personal qualities were such that he made and retained friends readily. He was recognized as a man of worth and there was much sincere regret when he passed away at his home in Walla Walla. His birth occurred in Walla Walla county, October 21, 1864, and his parents were Thomas and Susan F. (Ellis) Paul, both of whom were born in Iowa. In 1861 they crossed the plains with ox team to Washington, and the father took up a claim in Walla Walla county, on which they resided until called by death.William D. Paul was reared under the parental roof and in the acquirement of his education attended the pioneer schools. His entire life was devoted to farming and he became in time the owner of three hundred and twenty acres of fertile land, from which he received a gratifying income. He made many improvements upon his place and was careful and systematic in the conduct of the farm work. He also held title to valuable city property and for a number of years resided in Walla Walla.In 1895 Mr. Paul was married to Miss Kate Loney, a native of Canada and a daughter of Charles and Charlotte (Cole) Loney, who were born in Ireland but emigrated to Canada in young manhood and womanhood. In 1880 they came to Walla Walla, Washington, and here they passed their remaining days. To Mr. and Mrs. Paul were born four children: Thomas N., who is farmingin Walla Walla county; Winifred and Ruth, both high school students; and Geneva.Mr. Paul endorsed the principles of the republican party, and gave his loyal support to its candidates at the polls. His religious faith was the determining principle in his life and he gave freely of his time and means in furthering work of the Baptist church, in which he held the office of deacon and also that of treasurer. He passed away August 24, 1916, and was laid to rest in the Mountain View cemetery. His unswerving integrity and his consistent regard for the rights and feelings of others gave him a place in the warm regard of many, and those who were privileged to know him intimately still cherish his memory. Mrs. Paul owns the family residence in Walla Walla and there makes her home. She rents the farm and personally attends to the management of her affairs and displays in that connection unusual business qualities. She, too, is a faithful and active member of the Baptist church and is a woman of many admirable qualities.WILLIAM S. CLARK.William S. Clark, who is living retired in Walla Walla save for the management of his extensive farming interests, has passed his entire life in the northwest and is a son of pioneers who came to "Old Oregon" in 1843, when this region was wild and uninhabited save by Indians and fur traders and when it was still a mooted question whether it was British or American territory. The birth of William S. Clark occurred in Portland, Oregon, April 9, 1857, and his parents were Ransom and Lettice Jane (Millican) Clark. The father was born near St. Johnsbury, Vermont, July 22, 1810, and was descended from a long line of Puritan ancestors. The first one of the family to emigrate to America was Lieutenant William Clark, who became one of the first settlers of Dorchester and Northampton, Massachusetts. Smith College at Northampton is situated upon land that was a part of his homestead.RANSOM CLARKRansom Clark received his education in Vermont and remained there for a considerable period after reaching mature years. At length, however, he manifested the pioneer spirit that had characterized his ancestors and removed to the west, where he believed there were better opportunities. He first located in Wisconsin and then went to St. Louis and later to New Orleans. He was in St. Louis in 1843 at the time Lieutenant Fremont was fitting out his company for his trip to the Pacific coast and although the greater part of his men were French and Canadian frontiersmen, Mr. Clark and about a half dozen other Americans enlisted for the expedition. Mr. Clark remained with the Fremont party until The Dalles were reached and then, with two other Americans, left the command and joined the American emigrants just coming into the country. In the spring of 1844 he took up his residence upon a farm near Lafayette and was successful in adapting himself to the conditions of that frontier locality, growing good crops and also engaging in stock raising. The Oregon Spectator of July 4, 1846, contained the following advertisement: "Ransom Clark, at his home on Yamhill river, offers for sale wheat, oats, corn, white beans, peas and potatoes, also bacon, salt pork, hogs and breeding sows." At the time of the discovery of gold he went to the mines in California, where he spent two years, after which he conducted a hotel in Linn, Oregon, and still later became one of the proprietors of the Columbian Hotel in Portland. In 1855 he went to the Colville country, in which gold had been discovered, and returning by way of Walla Walla, took up a donation claim of six hundred and forty acres just south of the present site of Walla Walla. However, the country had not yet been formally opened for settlement and he was compelled to leave by Nathan Olney, Indian agent. In 1888, however, he learned that the country would soon be opened up and in that spring went to his claim with a full outfit of farming implements, fruit trees, nursery stock, etc. He took with him John Haley to fence and care for his place and, leaving him there, soon returned to Oregon. The following spring he again came to this region, and this time was accompanied by his son, Charles W., whom he left on the place. In May he returned to Portland to make final arrangements for removing to his land, but while there became ill and died on the 24th of May, 1859, at the early age of forty-nine years. He was a member of the famous Lyceum and Debating Society of Oregon City and, as he wrote to a friend, "always advocated those principles which are best calculated to promote the cause of education, to promote the greatest good to the greatest number." He was quite prominent in civic affairs, served as a member of one of the early legislatures and in 1844 was one of three commissioners to view out and survey a road from the Willamette falls to the falls of the Yamhill river. He realized that a great future was in store for this section and was among the men who laid broad and deep the foundation for its future development.Ransom Clark was married in 1845 to Miss Lettice Jane, the eldest daughter of Elijah and Lucinda (Crisp) Millican. She was born in Canehill, Arkansas, October 3, 1830. In 1843 the family joined the Whitman train and after a journey of weary months reached Oregon. The following year the Millican family settled near the town of Lafayette, Yamhill county, and there in 1845 Lattice J. Millican became the wife of Ransom Clark. Following the death of her husband in 1859, she made the journey to Walla Walla in order to make arrangements for subsequently locating upon the farm which Mr. Clark had taken up and which was known for many years as the Ransom Clark donation claim. She was given a place in the government ambulance from Wallula to Walla Walla and her first night in the latter place was spent in the fort. The following morning she was driven out to her claim and remained there for two weeks. She then returned to Portland, where the birth of her daughter occurred the following summer. In October, 1859, she again came to Walla Walla in company with her family. They were passengers on the first stage from The Dalles to Walla Walla, with John F. Abbott as driver. Later she received a letter from Judge E. D. Shattuck of Portland advising her to sell her claim for two hundred and seventy-five dollars and abandon the idea of developing it. However, she disregarded this advice and continued to reside upon the farm with her children. On the 23d of May, 1861, she married Almos H. Reynolds, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this work. She was one of the earliest pioneer women at the head of a ranch in Walla Walla county and the fact that she had been privileged to witness more of the growth of the northwestthan others seemed to give her an added interest in everything pertaining to public welfare. She contributed much to the upbuilding of the various institutions of the city and by reason of her force of character and her many liberal and well advised benefactions she was recognized as a most prominent citizen of Walla Walla. The erection of the Young Men's Christian Association building was made possible by a twenty thousand dollar donation from her and after its completion she was one of the chief contributors toward its upkeep. At the rally and jubilee held when the association had raised the forty-five thousand dollars necessary to pay off its debt the speech that she made expressing her great joy in the knowledge that the association was free of all debt will long be remembered by all who heard her. She was also a loyal friend and patron of Whitman College, contributing generously at various times to the support of the institution and paying off a debt of six thousand dollars on the girls' dormitory, which is named in her honor Reynolds Hall. She was a woman of the highest ideals and also had the keenness of intellect and strength of character to realize her ideals and the memory of Lettice J. Reynolds will long be held in honor in Walla Walla.William S. Clark received his education in the public schools and Whitman Academy, his parents realizing the value of liberal training and giving their children the best advantages possible. After leaving school he went to work in the drug store of Dr. J. H. Day of Walla Walla, and there studied pharmacy. Later he was for two years clerk in a drug store in Portland and then returned to Walla Walla and continued to engage in the drug business here until 1877. He was then employed for some time on the railroad from Walla Walla to Wallula, owned by Dr. Baker. The latter recognized that with the settling up of the country land would rapidly increase in value and advised Mr. Clark to invest his savings in land. Accordingly he began buying farm lands, to the operation of which he gave close personal supervision for many years. He now, however, leaves all the actual work of cultivation to others, confining his attention to the business management of his properties.On the 6th of June, 1900, Mr. Clark was united in marriage to Miss Ella H. Seelye, a teacher for seventeen years in the Walla Walla public schools. She was born in Minnesota and is a daughter of Stuart Seelye, who had the distinction of building the first lumber, shingle and flour mills in Little Falls, Minnesota. The Seelye family have been prominent in educational circles in the east, Julius Seelye being president of Amherst College and Clark Seelye president of Smith College. To Mr. and Mrs. Clark has been born a daughter, Evelyn.Mr. and Mrs. Clark are members of the Congregational church and its work profits greatly by their material and moral support. Mr. Clark is a republican in politics and has taken quite a prominent part in public affairs. He was assistant secretary of the constitutional convention of Washington territory which met in 1878 and has never ceased to be an earnest student of the questions and issues of the day. For two years he was president of the Farmers Union of Walla Walla and in 1873 he was a member of the party under the leadership of Major Truax which surveyed the land around Colfax. He also saw military service, serving in the Nez Percé Indian war in 1877 and in the Bannock war in 1878. His record proves that he is in all respects worthy of his ancestors.among whom were numbered soldiers of the Revolutionary war, and he has taken advantage of the privilege which his descent affords of joining the Sons of the American Revolution. The first member of the family in America, Lieutenant William Clark, who came to this country in 1630, also participated in Indian fighting, taking part in a war which occurred in the year of his arrival. Mr. Clark is a member of the different Masonic orders. He feels the greatest loyalty toward his city and state and nothing gives him more pleasure than to cooperate with movements for the public benefit.JOHN SINGLETON.John Singleton was one of the earliest of Walla Walla's pioneers, arriving here in 1857, and to the time of his death he was prominently, actively and helpfully associated with the work of development and progress in this section of the state. He was born in County Cork, Ireland, in 1824, and was educated under private tutors. On the 22d of April, 1847, he was married in Queens county, Ireland, to Miss Frances Jane Gowan and two years later they crossed the Atlantic to the United States, settling in New York, where he at once enlisted for service in the army. He was sent to Texas as quartermaster's clerk under Major Bilger and the command was stationed in the Alamo at San Antonio, Texas, his office being in the very room where Colonel Davy Crockett was killed. He remained in Texas in the service of the government for six years and was then honorably discharged, after which he returned to Washington, D. C. Subsequently he occupied a clerical position for six months in the old arsenal. He then went to Baltimore, Maryland. In 1856 Mr. Singleton again enlisted in the army for service on the Pacific coast, believing that the change of climate would benefit his failing health. He made his way westward by way of the Isthmus of Panama and thence northward to Vancouver, Washington, where he was stationed for ten months. His company afterward took part in the war with the Yakima Indians, having several sharp engagements with them in the Cascade mountains. His command was led by Captain Winder and the Indians by Chief Camiachan. After subduing the red men Captain Winder's command built a fort and remained in the Cascades for about a year, but later was transferred to The Dalles, Oregon, and in the spring of 1857 arrived at Fort Walla Walla, where Mr. Singleton remained in the service until 1861, when he was honorably discharged, his term having expired. While he was still engaged in military duty here the Indians from several tribes joined in hostilities to prevent Captain Mullen opening a military road across the Rocky and Coeur d'Alene mountains to the Columbia river. Mr. Singleton was in Colonel Steptoe's command, which met the allied tribes in the memorable engagement of Steptoe Butte, which was of several days' duration. The whites, being greatly outnumbered, suffered a disastrous defeat and were driven back to the Snake river in great disorder. In this engagement Mr. Singleton had a very narrow escape from death. He became separated from his comrades in the retreat and after wandering around nearly all night came upon a band of friendly Nez Percé Indians, who conducted him to the Clearwater river, ferried him across anddirected him to the camp of his company, who had reported to his wife that he had died. Colonel Wright soon came up from The Dalles with a thousand men, and being thus reenforced, the troops began an active campaign against the Indians. In a short time the American army had scattered, captured or killed the entire tribe. Some were hanged in the mountains but the most noted leaders were brought to Walla Walla, where seven of them were hanged in the public square in the rear of the garrison. During his service in Fort Walla Walla, Mr. Singleton did most of the work of keeping the records of the post, in the performance of which duty he was compelled to use an old-fashioned quill pen.Mrs. Singleton had purchased a squatter's right from Captain Pierce, and on Mr. Singleton's discharge he retired to the homestead, which has been the place of residence of the family continuously since. It is said that the money which Captain Pierce obtained for his squatter's right enabled him to open the Orofino mining district, of which he was the first prospector.Mr. Singleton died at the old home on December 28, 1893, and there his widow and two daughters still reside. Mrs. Singleton is now in her ninetieth year but for some time past has been an invalid. To Mr. and Mrs. Singleton were born six children: Catherine, who is the widow of Thomas Tierney and resides in San Francisco; Frank E.; William H., who is deceased; Elizabeth and Eudora M., who are at home; and Esther Belle, who gave her hand in marriage to J. W. Brooks, a prominent attorney of Walla Walla.Not only as one of the Indian fighters of the northwest but also as one of the progressive farmers of Walla Walla county did John Singleton leave the impress of his individuality upon the history of southeastern Washington. His worth as a man and as a citizen was widely acknowledged by all who knew him. There was no phase of pioneer life in this section of the country with which he was not familiar and he rejoiced in all that was accomplished in the way of introducing the evidences of modern civilization. His labors wrought good results and his name should be inscribed high upon the roll of those who have reclaimed this great region, making it a habitable and safe place in which civilization may be still further advanced.GARRIT ROMAINE.Garrit Romaine was for many years engaged in farming on a tract of three hundred and twenty acres of excellent land six miles north of Dayton, in Columbia county, and it was recognized that the county had lost a valued citizen when he was called to the home beyond. He was born in New York city, March 7, 1829, a son of Benjamin and Charity (Hopper) Romaine, also natives of the eastern metropolis. Subsequently the family removed to New Jersey, and thence to Fond du Lac county, Wisconsin, where both parents passed away. All their eight children are also now deceased.MR. AND MRS. GARRIT ROMAINEGarrit Romaine was reared at home and obtained his education in the public schools of New York city. When twenty years old he went west to Wisconsin, where he remained for many years, or until 1877, when he removed to California. After remaining there for a short time he took up his residence in Harrisburg, Oregon, but in 1881 removed to Old Walla Walla county, Washington, locating in what is now Columbia county, on a farm six miles from Dayton. He at once began the improvement and development of his place, which he continued to operate until called by death. It comprises three hundred and twenty acres of good wheat land, and his industry and good management were rewarded by large crops, from the sale of which he derived a good income.Mr. Romaine was married in Wisconsin in 1852, to Miss Martha L. Harbaugh, by whom he had seven children: William B., deceased; John H., a farmer; Jerome W., now a resident of Bellingham, Washington; Franz Sigel, a farmer; Charity, who is the wife of Newton James, and has three children, Louis Homer, on the old farm, Lois, now Mrs. H. L. Gritman of Columbia county, and Frida Ellen, now the wife of A. W. Munford of Ironwood, Michigan; Freeman C., deceased; and Rachel, the wife of Henry James, of Dayton.Mr. Romaine gave his political allegiance to the republican party, and while not an office seeker was always keenly interested in everything affecting the general welfare. No project looking toward the advancement of his community failed to receive his heartiest support and cooperation, and he was particularly interested in the upbuilding of the local schools. Fraternally he was connected with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and took an active part in the work of the lodge. He passed away October 23, 1900, and was laid to rest in the Dayton cemetery, leaving to mourn his loss, besides his family, many warm friends. Mrs. Romaine resides with her daughter, Mrs. Newton James, and holds title to the homestead. She belongs to the Christian church and has exemplified its teachings in her daily life.CHARLES F. KIBLER.Charles F. Kibler, one of the prominent farmers and stockmen of Walla Walla township, is with his brothers operating forty-four hundred acres of fine land. He is a native son of Walla Walla county and has resided here throughout his entire life. He was born September 24, 1874, of the marriage of Jacob and Louise (Buroker) Kibler, natives respectively of Virginia and Iowa. The father removed to Missouri when a young man and in the early '50s made the long journey overland to California, where he resided for five years. In 1858 he came to Walla Walla, Washington, and for some time worked as a farm hand. He then took up land on Mill creek but for several years gave the greater part of his time and attention to freighting by ox team. Subsequently, when the country became more thickly settled and there was not so much need for freighting supplies from a distant market town, he began the cultivation of his land. His farming operations yielded him a good profit and he acquired additional land, being at the time of his death the owner of fifteen hundred acres. He made excellent improvements upon his place and was one of the substantial men of the county. He passed away in 1908 and is survived by his wife, who has reached the age of sixty-six years. Five of the six children born to their union survive.Charles F. Kibler passed the days of his boyhood and youth in his native county and attended the district schools in the acquirement of his education. Through working for his father he received thorough training in the best methods of farming and stock raising and on attaining his majority he began farming on his own account. He and his brothers have added to their holdings from time to time and now own forty-four hundred acres of good land finely improved. They have systematized their work and conduct their ranch in the same careful manner that a business man manages his interests. Their progressiveness and good judgment are manifested in the excellent return which they receive from their land and they have never had occasion to regret their choice of an occupation.Charles F. Kibler was married in 1898 to Miss Marie Clodius, a native of Illinois and a daughter of H. F. and Catherine Clodius, who removed to Walla Walla county in 1881 and are now residents of Waitsburg. Mr. and Mrs. Kibler have a son, Albert F., who was born October 21, 1900, and is still at home.Mr. Kibler casts his ballot in support of the men and measures of the democratic party but has never sought office as a reward for his loyalty. He is thoroughly imbued with the characteristic western spirit of enterprise and optimism, and any project for the benefit of his county or state receives his heartiest approval and most energetic support.ALLEN H. REYNOLDS.Allen H. Reynolds occupies an enviable position in professional and financial circles as a leading lawyer of Walla Walla and as the president of the Farmers Savings Bank. He was born January 24, 1869, in the city where he still makes his home, his parents being Almos H. and Lettice J. (Clark) Reynolds, who are mentioned at length on another page of this work. He has spent his entire life in Walla Walla, acquiring his early education in a private school conducted by the Rev. P. B. Chamberlain. He afterward matriculated in Whitman College and thus laid broad and deep the foundation upon which to build the superstructure of professional learning. When his collegiate course was completed he decided upon the practice of law as a life work and then entered the law department of the Boston University, from which he was graduated with the class of 1893. Soon afterward he returned to his native city, where he opened an office and entered upon the practice of law, becoming associated with W. H. Kirkman. Some time later that partnership was dissolved and he joined his brother under the firm style of Reynolds Brothers, but in the spring of 1900 he entered into partnership with Andrew J. Gillis in a relationship that continued for some time. He is now a partner of Grant S. Bond, with offices at No. 6½ Main street. His success in a professional way affords the best evidence of his capabilities in this line. He is a strong advocate with the jury and concise in his appeals before the court. Much of the success which has attended him in his professional career is undoubtedly due to the fact that he prepares his cases with great thoroughness and must be convinced of the absolute justice of hisclient's cause. Aside from his activities in the profession of law, Mr. Reynolds is well known in banking circles, having served as vice president of the First National Bank of Walla Walla until November, 1913. At the present time he is president of the Farmers Savings Bank, having succeeded the late W. P. Winans, who had been president for twenty-eight years.On the 7th of November, 1894, Mr. Reynolds was married to Miss Fanny Kirkman, a daughter of William H. and Isabella Kirkman, well known residents of this city, where Mrs. Reynolds was born. They have become parents of three children: William Allen, born November 19, 1895; Almos, born May 19, 1898; and Ruth Sarah, born February 3, 1901.Mr. Reynolds is treasurer and one of the trustees of Whitman College and has been the president of the Young Men's Christian Association since its organization. There is no plan or movement for the benefit and upbuilding of the city in which he is not helpfully concerned, standing at all times for progress and improvement in municipal as well as in private affairs.HENRY OSTERMAN.Henry Osterman, a member of the firm of Osterman & Siebert, leading architects of Walla Walla, and one whose efforts along professional lines have found expression in the erection of some of the finest buildings not only in this city but elsewhere in the state, was born in Germany, about three miles from Essen, on the 20th of January, 1862, a son of William and Mary (Wusthoff) Osterman, both of whom spent their entire lives in Germany, where the father followed the occupations of farming and milling.Their son, Henry Osterman, was reared under the parental roof and acquired a college education in Essen, Germany. He served three years in the German army and after reaching his majority took up the study of architecture in Dusseldorf, Germany. In May, 1889, he decided to try his fortune in the new world, hoping here to find excellent professional opportunities. He accordingly came to the United States and on the 15th of June of that year he arrived in Walla Walla, Washington, where he has since made his home and practiced his profession. Having little knowledge of the English language and of building conditions in this country, which he found somewhat different from those in his native land, he did not immediately apply himself to architectural work but became associated with building operations and for a time worked as a carpenter. Shortly afterward, however, he took up contracting and building on his own account and was prominently identified with building operations for eight years. In 1899 he began the practice of his profession, opening an architect's office in the old Baker-Boyer building. He associated with him in this undertaking Victor E. Siebert, who was a former employe of Mr. Osterman and had later gone to the east, where he was graduated from the Boston School of Technology in 1912. The following year he was admitted to a partnership, forming the present firm of Osterman & Siebert. Among the many buildings for which Mr. Osterman has drawn the plans and also superintended the erection are the courthouse, the city hall, the Young Men's Christian Association building, the high school building,the Jefferson, the Green Park and the Sharpstein schools, the city library and practically all the important business and office buildings in the city, together with many of the finer residences. All these stand as monuments to the enterprise, the skill and the professional ability of Mr. Osterman, whose thorough preparatory training and subsequent study and experience have placed him in the front ranks among the architects of the northwest.In 1902 Mr. Osterman was united in marriage to Miss Geneva Cooney, of Coon Rapids, Iowa, and to this marriage have been born five children, Bernardina, Henrietta, Hugo, Ruth and Betty.Mr. Osterman gives his political endorsement to the republican party. Fraternally he is connected with Blue Mountain Lodge, No. 13, F. & A. M.; Walla Walla Chapter, No. 1, R. A. M.; Washington Commandery, No. 1, K. T.; the Consistory of Spokane; and El Katif Temple, A. A. O. N. M. S., also of Spokane, while both he and his wife are connected with the Order of the Eastern Star. He is also identified with Trinity Lodge, I. O. O. F., and both he and his wife are consistent members of the Congregational church, guiding their lives according to its teachings. Mr. Osterman has never had occasion to regret his determination to come to the new world, for here he has found the business opportunities which he sought and in their utilization has made steady progress. Not only does he rank with the leading architects of Washington, but is also a prominent figure in financial and commercial circles. He was one of the organizers of the Third National Bank, of which he is now a director, and he is also one of the organizers and a member of the board of directors of the Gardner Company, which owns and controls Walla Walla's largest mercantile establishment. His identification with these interests is the expression of his well directed energy and thrift, his close application and his persistency of purpose, ever guided by a laudable ambition. Step by step he has worked his way upward and his course should serve to inspire others who must start out in life empty-handed. The wise use which he has made of his time, his talents and his opportunities has placed him in the creditable position which he fills today in business and professional circles of Walla Walla.ALMOS H. REYNOLDS.LETTICE J. REYNOLDS.Almos H. Reynolds was for many years one of the prominent financiers of the northwest, becoming a factor in the establishment of the first banking business in Walla Walla and figuring for many years as one of the principal stockholders of the First National Bank. He was born in Madrid, St. Lawrence county, New York, October 21, 1808, and in early life learned the millwright's trade. In 1838, when a man of thirty years, he removed westward to Illinois and subsequently became a resident of Iowa, where he remained until 1850. He then crossed the plains to California, attracted by the gold discoveries on the Pacific coast, and in May, 1859, he came to Walla Walla, where he resided until his demise, which occurred thirty years later, or on the 21st of April, 1889. He was prominently identified with milling interests in this section, erecting many mills throughout the territory of Washington, two of them being in the immediate vicinity of Walla Walla. He also built and for several years owned a woolen mill at Dayton. He was associated with Dr. J. H. Day in establishing the first banking business in Walla Walla, opening a private banking institution, which they carried on under the firm style of Reynolds & Day. He was alert and energetic, constantly watchful of opportunities pointing to success. Eventually he became one of the principal stockholders in the First National Bank and was largely instrumental in its organization. Mr. Reynolds was a man of keen insight which enabled him to readily recognize a favorable business situation and his laudable ambition prompted its immediate use. Whatever he undertook he carried forward to successful completion and the integrity of his business methods was above question.

RESIDENCE OF F. W. PAINEAs school teaching and farming seemed to offer small opportunities in Maine, Mr. Paine resolved to go west and chose California as his objective point, arriving in that state in October, 1861, with a letter from the late Judge E. D. Sawyer of San Francisco to an old friend of his at Mokelumne Hill. He was soon on the ground of the "Jumping Frog of Calaveras county" and found the addressee of his letter to be the proprietor of a provision store and his affairs much run down at the heel. Early in the spring of 1862, therefore, Mr. Paine went to Dogtown, in Shasta county, to join two friends who were preparing to go to the newly discovered mines on Salmon river in Idaho. He became the third member of the party, whose route, as contemplated, lay over the Siskiyou mountains to southern Oregon, then to Portland and on by way of Walla Walla, but at Jacksonville they were advised to cross the Cascade mountains down the east side to Klamath lake and on to Walla Walla. After many days of weary walking they arrived in Walla Walla late in June 1862, and there met the returning tide of miners from Salmon river and Florence, which discouraged the three young men from going further in that direction.Under the stress of necessity Mr. Paine made haste to find employment and after two or three months by precarious work of different kinds he secured a situation in the Baker-Boyer store but was soon detailed to take charge of the Spray warehouse at Wallula under Dr. Baker's direction. In the spring of 1863 a mad rush for the Boise mines carried Mr. Paine along. As a measure of economy he engaged with a mule pack train owned by the firm of Johnson & Stratton, serving as off side packer and learning to "throw the diamond hitch." The wealth which Mr. Paine accumulated in that mining venture consisted mainly in experience. In the fall of 1864 he returned to Walla Walla and at once was reinstated in his former position with the Baker-Boyer firm, there remaining until the spring of 1866, when another attack of mining fever took him to Montana with a stock of clothing made for the California miners' trade, which stock of goods was readily sold at a good profit. After enjoying a few weeks of summer on the summit of the Rockies he returned to the land of his adoption, and to be safeguarded against another "call of the wild," on his return he accepted the proffer of a partnership made by William Stephens, a merchant conducting business at the corner of Main and First streets. The business prospered and at the end of a year Mr. Paine purchased the interest of his partner and admitted his brother John to a partnership, removing the stock to the corner of Second and Main streets, where they conducted a very substantial business.After about two year opportunity enabled Mr. Paine to succeed by purchase to the Baker-Boyer business, then located on the present site of the Baker-Boyer Bank. Miles C. Moore joined him as a partner under the style of Paine Brothers & Moore, which firm soon became widely known for its business enterprise and also for its local political influence. During the existence of the firm they established branches at Waitsburg and at Dayton and built a fine steamboat, The Northwest, to ply in wheat carrying on the Columbia and Snake rivers. The war department, however, leased the steamboat to transport troops and munitions during the war with the hostile Willowas, under the notable Chief Joseph, in 1878. Soon after the boat was taken over by the Oregon Railway & Navigation Company. After nearly ten years of pleasant and profitable partnership Mr. Moore withdrew from the firm. In the meantime they had concentrated their attention upon farm implements and machinery and this business was conducted under the style of Paine Brothers. In 1879 they built the three-story brick building, which was then the finest business block in the northwest outside of Portland. Upon its completion and upon the organization of the First National Bank it took up its home in this building, where it has since continued.While for many years Mr. Paine figured most prominently in commercial circles, he also became a leader in the public life of the community as well. His first public office was that of councilman, which he filled in 1878 and 1879. He afterward served as city treasurer in 1883 and 1884 and was mayor of Walla Walla through the two succeeding years. All of these offices came to him unsought. During his mayoralty term he signed the ordinance prohibiting stock from running at large in the streets and this executive act lost him his reelection. He recognized, however, the value of such a course to the city and followed the dictates of his judgment and his conscience notwithstanding the contrary advice of his friends who desired his reelection. In 1880 Mr. Paine was elected school director in District No. 34, the western part of the city. In 1882, by act of the legislature, Districts No. 34 and No. 1, the latter the eastern part of the city, were united in one and the two boards of directors acted as one until the next election, when Mr. Paine was elected one of the three directors for the combined district. He was reelected at each succeeding election until 1906 and during his incumbency, covering more than twenty-five years, he was chairman of the board, which from time to time had to meet increasing requirements by the erection of two frame and three brick schoolhouses. To do this the legal maximum levy of five per cent was not exceeded. The educational work done and the standing of the schools was equal to the best in the state.In 1887 Governor Watson C. Squire, at the request of many of Mr. Paine's friends, appointed him superintendent of the new state penitentiary which had been recently erected at Walla Walla, with orders to establish rules and regulations and to conduct the institution on a similar plan to that of the Oregon state penitentiary. After some hesitation he accepted the appointment, and as the legislature, after providing an appropriation to erect the buildings, had neglected to make any appropriation for its maintenance, it became necessary to secure a citizens' pledge of five thousand dollars on which to draw for incidentals for the ensuing year or until the next legislature should meet. This done, he took six good men as guards with him to Seatco, where the old contract prison built of logs was located and where the convicts divided their time between working ina sash and door factory, working their way out of prison and being worked back by a reward or a bloodhound. Governor Squire met Mr. Paine at that place and after getting a record of the convicts, as a measure of economy for the state, he pardoned sixteen whose terms were nearly completed, leaving ninety-seven to be transferred to Walla Walla, which was accomplished without loss of any member. The next problem was to produce work for the prisoners and Mr. Paine soon succeeded in establishing and operating successfully a brickyard, which proved greatly beneficial to the prisoners. At the close of his term and on the convening of the legislature he reported to the governor, then Governor Semple, giving account of the amount required to cover all indebtedness incurred. The legislature readily made the appropriation, supplemented by a complimentary resolution. Two years later, under a new legislative enactment, Mr. Paine was made chairman of a commission of three members appointed by Governor Elisha P. Ferry, consisting of P. A. Preston, F. M. Lowden and Mr. Paine. With the ready compliance of his colleagues, Mr. Paine proceeded at once to establish a jute mill, having at his personal expense visited and investigated the San Quentin and Oakland jute mills, where he learned of their methods and was advised of their profits, thus becoming convinced of the economy of the measure and of what was of much greater moment, the providing of employment for the inmates of the institution. The establishment of the mill was strenuously opposed by the labor element, as had been the brickyard, but the objection to convict labor has been largely overcome in view of the importance to the health and morals of the inmates of all such institutions. With the advanced views of the day Mr. Paine gladly sees the passing of another most degrading abuse from which this particular institution suffered at times in its earliest history—that of making it a base for political operations of a most scandalous character and its offices a reward for political jobbery.Another field of activity into which Mr. Paine entered was that of the Building Loan & Trust Association, which he was largely instrumental in organizing in February, 1890. It was called the International Building Loan & Trust Association of Walla Walla and soon built up a prosperous business. It has continuously paid its patrons a good rate of interest, has built many comfortable homes in and around the city and is today one of the leading institutions of the kind in the state. It is strictly mutual, makes money only for the stockholders and the only salary paid is that to its secretary, together with a small fee to its board members for each regular monthly meeting. The business methods are highly commended by the state examiner. Of this association Mr. Paine has been the president since its inception, covering a period of more than twenty-seven years. One of the most greatly appreciated honors that has come to Mr. Paine has been his appointment on the board of overseers of Whitman College and he is further honored in the position of chairman on the college loaning board.In the late '70s Mr. Paine assisted in organizing the first Board of Trade at Walla Walla. At that early date it was thought to be of questionable value to the business community, so that it was with difficulty that funds could be secured to pay a secretary. In fact the body's activities and even its existence was at times of an intermittent order. In time the Board of Trade became the Chamber of Commerce and eventually the Commercial Club, and it fell to the lot ofCaptain P. B. Johnson of the Walla Walla Union and to Mr. Paine to keep alive the last named organization, the former acting as secretary and the latter as president. They answered correspondence, mailed descriptive circulars and other literature and in this way induced at least some settlers to come to the valley. All this occurred long before the inception of the present very much alive commercial body.Mr. Paine not only figured in the business and public activities of the city but also in its social organizations. He became a member of the Inquiry Club on its organization twenty-six years ago, a club which is still in vigorous existence. Its membership has included many of the brightest minds in Walla Walla—men from various professions and callings in life. Whitman College has been largely represented on its roster. The workings of the club certainly have a great charm for its members, for its discussions cover the widest possible range of subjects and any member called upon expresses his views upon the subject under discussion with entire absence of restraint and accepts with good grace whatever he may get in return. Mr. Paine was also connected with an association of gentlemen of literary attainments which was organized in 1877. Among its members were Dr. George M. Sternberg, later surgeon general of the United States army, Judge J. K. Kennedy, Dr. J. E. Bingham, Colonel H. E. Holmes, Ex-Governor M. C. Moore, Colonel W. H. Miller, J. F. Boyer, Major R. R. Rees, F. W. Paine and a number of other prominent citizens. The objects of this association, as expressed in its articles of organization, were to maintain a scientific and useful library, to promote science and to cultivate and improve its members. Mr. Paine is also a member of the Archaeological Association of Walla Walla, which under Professor Anderson maintains a good degree of activity, bringing to the city many able lecturers on arts and sciences. On the list of the members of the Symphony Orchestra is also found the name of Frank W. Paine, who has been its honored president for many years, an association which has done much to cultivate and promote musical taste in Walla Walla.Most pleasantly situated in his home life, notwithstanding the extent and importance of his business and public and social activities, the interest of Frank W. Paine, yet has ever centered in his home. He married Ida B. Illsley, a daughter of Jonathan H. Illsley, a merchant of Harrison, Maine, the wedding being celebrated in the Presbyterian church on Capitol Hill in Washington, D. C., April 3, 1876. After a brief visit to their old homes in Maine they turned toward Walla Walla, visiting the Centennial at Philadelphia while en route and thence proceeding to San Francisco, to Portland and on to their destination, where they arrived on the 6th of July, being soon domiciled in the home which they yet occupy. Mrs. Paine comes of a family of superior musical and literary talent, finding its highest exponent perhaps in her eldest sister, the late Mrs. Caroline A. Tolman, who possessed unusual literary ability and devoted much time and talent to advocating the emancipation of women, contemporaneous with Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Susan B. Anthony and Abigail Scott Dunniway. They labored to make a place for woman side by side with man. Theirs was scant praise in their day but already the harvest of their labors is being garnered.To Mr. and Mrs. Paine were born four daughters. Elizabeth, the eldest, passed away at the age of twenty-four years. Josephine became the wife of Timothy A. Paul, a graduate of the University of Virginia and now a residentof Walla Walla, by whom she has three children, two sons and a daughter. Mary became the wife of Ben G. Stone, a real estate and insurance man and farmer of Walla Walla, and they have two sons. Frances is the wife of R. Douglas Ball, who is engaged in the wholesale paper business in Seattle, and they have three children, a daughter and two sons. Mr. and Mrs. Paine are happy in the possession of their three daughters, their generous, manly husbands and their promising children. They stand to them a full measure of reward for any and all sacrifices it may have been their duty and pleasure to make for them and an ample assurance of continued happiness in them, for all of which they duly return thanks to the "giver of every good and perfect gift."JOHN N. FALL.John N. Fall was one of the pioneers of Walla Walla county who reaped the reward of his labors, being at the time of his death the owner of large tracts of fine wheat land, the operation of which he supervised, although a resident of Walla Walla. He was born in Indiana, September 13, 1836, a son of Asa and Agnes (Davis) Fall, the former a native of North Carolina. Both parents passed their last years in Walla Walla county.John N. Fall received the education usually afforded boys in pioneer communities and remained with his parents until he reached mature years. In 1861 he decided to take advantage of the opportunities offered the ambitious young man in the Pacific northwest and crossed the plains with ox teams. He at once settled in Walla Walla county, buying a farm on Mill creek, on which he resided until 1867. He then removed to Walla Walla but continued to operate his farm and, although as the years passed his holdings increased rapidly, he never ceased to exercise direct personal supervision over his agricultural interests. He was at once practical and progressive, being ready to adopt any new method or implement whose value had been reasonably well proven. He gave careful study to the problems of increased production, the conservation of soil fertility and advantageous marketing, and it was recognized that he was an authority on everything pertaining to wheat raising.Mr. Fall was married in Missouri in 1858 to Miss Sarah E. Williams, a daughter of Benjamin and Mary Williams, both of whom were born in Kentucky, but for a number of years resided in Missouri, whence they finally removed to Iowa, where the father passed away. The mother then came to Walla Walla county, where she spent her last years. To Mr. and Mrs. Fall was born a son, Dr. E. E. Fall, who died in February, 1917, leaving a son, Edmond E.Mr. Fall supported the democratic party at the polls and manifested the interest of a good citizen in public affairs. Fraternally he belonged to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Ancient Order of United Workmen, and the spirit which characterized his life was that of fraternity and consideration for others. He passed away in 1900 and was laid to rest in Mountain View cemetery. He was a consistent member of the Presbyterian church, to the support of which he contributed generously, and his sterling worth gained him a warm place in the regard of those who were closely associated with him. Mrs. Fall wasalso a member of that denomination and was likewise keenly interested in its various activities. After the death of her husband she owned and personally managed the operation of two thousand and forty acres of wheat land and two hundred and forty acres on the mountain, a part of which was wheat land and a part pasture. In looking after her extensive interests she manifested an executive ability and keen insight into business that was far above the average and she was recognized as a factor in the development of the county along agricultural lines.ELMER L. WOODS.Elmer L. Woods, who resides on section 7, township 9 north, range 27 east, is one of the leading horticulturists of Walla Walla county, his apple orchard comprising almost four thousand trees of the finest varieties. He was born in that township, November 4, 1888, and is a son of Joel and Viola M. (Hull) Woods, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this work. He was reared at home and during his boyhood and youth attended the Waitsburg public schools, thus receiving a good education. On reaching man's estate he became associated with his father in the operation of the home farm, and this relation was continued until the father's death. In 1911 forty acres were planted to apple trees, ninety-six to an acre, by Walter & Morris, the administrators of the estate. This orchard of three thousand eight hundred and forty trees is now bearing, and is one of the finest fruit orchards in the county. At the time the estate was settled Mr. Woods of this review acquired title to the orchard, and it yielded about two thousand boxes of apples in 1917. He has given the orchard the most thorough and systematic care and is ever businesslike in solving problems of packing and marketing.Mr. Woods belongs to Delta Lodge, No. 70, K. P., of Waitsburg and is in hearty sympathy with the ideals of the fraternity upon which that organization is based. He possesses in marked measure the enterprise and self-reliance characteristic of the western man, and he has the utmost confidence in the future of his county and state.FRANK SINGLETON.There are few residents of Walla Walla who can claim connection with the city from 1857. The memory of Frank Singleton, however, harks back to the period when this was a frontier fort and the work of progress and civilization had scarcely been begun in all this section of the country. The Indians were more numerous than the white settlers and only here and there had some venturesome spirit penetrated into the western wilderness to plant the seeds of civilization. Frank Singleton, who is now extensively interested in mining and is engaged in the real estate business in Walla Walla, was but six years of age at the time of his arrival in Washington. He was born in San Antonio, Texas, November 7,1850, and after the removal of the family to the northwest pursued his education in the public and parochial schools of Walla Walla. On reaching manhood he engaged in the live stock business, with which he was prominently identified for many years. At one time he was a heavy holder of farm lands, but in 1916 he sold his farm north of Prescott, comprising six hundred acres, which was the last of his farm possessions. For the past twelve years he has been prominently identified with mining and has large holdings in mining property. For six years he has been engaged in the real estate business in Walla Walla and has negotiated many important realty transfers. In a word, he is a progressive business man, alert and energetic, his activities guided by sound judgment, while his laudable ambition has brought to him gratifying success.In July, 1907, Mr. Singleton was united in marriage to Mrs. Martha White, who in her maidenhood was Miss Kidwell, a daughter of James Kidwell, who in 1863 cast in his lot with the pioneer settlers of Walla Walla. By her former marriage Mrs. Singleton had two sons; Walter, who is engaged in farming in Walla Walla county; and Vivian, who is a farmer of Franklin county. Mr. and Mrs. Singleton are widely and favorably known in the city and surrounding country, having an extensive circle of friends, while the hospitality of the best homes is freely accorded them. With every phase of pioneer life and of the later development and progress of the county they are familiar, having been interested witnesses of the growth and upbuilding of this section of the state from early pioneer times.WILLIAM D. PAUL.William D. Paul was successful as a farmer and his personal qualities were such that he made and retained friends readily. He was recognized as a man of worth and there was much sincere regret when he passed away at his home in Walla Walla. His birth occurred in Walla Walla county, October 21, 1864, and his parents were Thomas and Susan F. (Ellis) Paul, both of whom were born in Iowa. In 1861 they crossed the plains with ox team to Washington, and the father took up a claim in Walla Walla county, on which they resided until called by death.William D. Paul was reared under the parental roof and in the acquirement of his education attended the pioneer schools. His entire life was devoted to farming and he became in time the owner of three hundred and twenty acres of fertile land, from which he received a gratifying income. He made many improvements upon his place and was careful and systematic in the conduct of the farm work. He also held title to valuable city property and for a number of years resided in Walla Walla.In 1895 Mr. Paul was married to Miss Kate Loney, a native of Canada and a daughter of Charles and Charlotte (Cole) Loney, who were born in Ireland but emigrated to Canada in young manhood and womanhood. In 1880 they came to Walla Walla, Washington, and here they passed their remaining days. To Mr. and Mrs. Paul were born four children: Thomas N., who is farmingin Walla Walla county; Winifred and Ruth, both high school students; and Geneva.Mr. Paul endorsed the principles of the republican party, and gave his loyal support to its candidates at the polls. His religious faith was the determining principle in his life and he gave freely of his time and means in furthering work of the Baptist church, in which he held the office of deacon and also that of treasurer. He passed away August 24, 1916, and was laid to rest in the Mountain View cemetery. His unswerving integrity and his consistent regard for the rights and feelings of others gave him a place in the warm regard of many, and those who were privileged to know him intimately still cherish his memory. Mrs. Paul owns the family residence in Walla Walla and there makes her home. She rents the farm and personally attends to the management of her affairs and displays in that connection unusual business qualities. She, too, is a faithful and active member of the Baptist church and is a woman of many admirable qualities.WILLIAM S. CLARK.William S. Clark, who is living retired in Walla Walla save for the management of his extensive farming interests, has passed his entire life in the northwest and is a son of pioneers who came to "Old Oregon" in 1843, when this region was wild and uninhabited save by Indians and fur traders and when it was still a mooted question whether it was British or American territory. The birth of William S. Clark occurred in Portland, Oregon, April 9, 1857, and his parents were Ransom and Lettice Jane (Millican) Clark. The father was born near St. Johnsbury, Vermont, July 22, 1810, and was descended from a long line of Puritan ancestors. The first one of the family to emigrate to America was Lieutenant William Clark, who became one of the first settlers of Dorchester and Northampton, Massachusetts. Smith College at Northampton is situated upon land that was a part of his homestead.RANSOM CLARKRansom Clark received his education in Vermont and remained there for a considerable period after reaching mature years. At length, however, he manifested the pioneer spirit that had characterized his ancestors and removed to the west, where he believed there were better opportunities. He first located in Wisconsin and then went to St. Louis and later to New Orleans. He was in St. Louis in 1843 at the time Lieutenant Fremont was fitting out his company for his trip to the Pacific coast and although the greater part of his men were French and Canadian frontiersmen, Mr. Clark and about a half dozen other Americans enlisted for the expedition. Mr. Clark remained with the Fremont party until The Dalles were reached and then, with two other Americans, left the command and joined the American emigrants just coming into the country. In the spring of 1844 he took up his residence upon a farm near Lafayette and was successful in adapting himself to the conditions of that frontier locality, growing good crops and also engaging in stock raising. The Oregon Spectator of July 4, 1846, contained the following advertisement: "Ransom Clark, at his home on Yamhill river, offers for sale wheat, oats, corn, white beans, peas and potatoes, also bacon, salt pork, hogs and breeding sows." At the time of the discovery of gold he went to the mines in California, where he spent two years, after which he conducted a hotel in Linn, Oregon, and still later became one of the proprietors of the Columbian Hotel in Portland. In 1855 he went to the Colville country, in which gold had been discovered, and returning by way of Walla Walla, took up a donation claim of six hundred and forty acres just south of the present site of Walla Walla. However, the country had not yet been formally opened for settlement and he was compelled to leave by Nathan Olney, Indian agent. In 1888, however, he learned that the country would soon be opened up and in that spring went to his claim with a full outfit of farming implements, fruit trees, nursery stock, etc. He took with him John Haley to fence and care for his place and, leaving him there, soon returned to Oregon. The following spring he again came to this region, and this time was accompanied by his son, Charles W., whom he left on the place. In May he returned to Portland to make final arrangements for removing to his land, but while there became ill and died on the 24th of May, 1859, at the early age of forty-nine years. He was a member of the famous Lyceum and Debating Society of Oregon City and, as he wrote to a friend, "always advocated those principles which are best calculated to promote the cause of education, to promote the greatest good to the greatest number." He was quite prominent in civic affairs, served as a member of one of the early legislatures and in 1844 was one of three commissioners to view out and survey a road from the Willamette falls to the falls of the Yamhill river. He realized that a great future was in store for this section and was among the men who laid broad and deep the foundation for its future development.Ransom Clark was married in 1845 to Miss Lettice Jane, the eldest daughter of Elijah and Lucinda (Crisp) Millican. She was born in Canehill, Arkansas, October 3, 1830. In 1843 the family joined the Whitman train and after a journey of weary months reached Oregon. The following year the Millican family settled near the town of Lafayette, Yamhill county, and there in 1845 Lattice J. Millican became the wife of Ransom Clark. Following the death of her husband in 1859, she made the journey to Walla Walla in order to make arrangements for subsequently locating upon the farm which Mr. Clark had taken up and which was known for many years as the Ransom Clark donation claim. She was given a place in the government ambulance from Wallula to Walla Walla and her first night in the latter place was spent in the fort. The following morning she was driven out to her claim and remained there for two weeks. She then returned to Portland, where the birth of her daughter occurred the following summer. In October, 1859, she again came to Walla Walla in company with her family. They were passengers on the first stage from The Dalles to Walla Walla, with John F. Abbott as driver. Later she received a letter from Judge E. D. Shattuck of Portland advising her to sell her claim for two hundred and seventy-five dollars and abandon the idea of developing it. However, she disregarded this advice and continued to reside upon the farm with her children. On the 23d of May, 1861, she married Almos H. Reynolds, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this work. She was one of the earliest pioneer women at the head of a ranch in Walla Walla county and the fact that she had been privileged to witness more of the growth of the northwestthan others seemed to give her an added interest in everything pertaining to public welfare. She contributed much to the upbuilding of the various institutions of the city and by reason of her force of character and her many liberal and well advised benefactions she was recognized as a most prominent citizen of Walla Walla. The erection of the Young Men's Christian Association building was made possible by a twenty thousand dollar donation from her and after its completion she was one of the chief contributors toward its upkeep. At the rally and jubilee held when the association had raised the forty-five thousand dollars necessary to pay off its debt the speech that she made expressing her great joy in the knowledge that the association was free of all debt will long be remembered by all who heard her. She was also a loyal friend and patron of Whitman College, contributing generously at various times to the support of the institution and paying off a debt of six thousand dollars on the girls' dormitory, which is named in her honor Reynolds Hall. She was a woman of the highest ideals and also had the keenness of intellect and strength of character to realize her ideals and the memory of Lettice J. Reynolds will long be held in honor in Walla Walla.William S. Clark received his education in the public schools and Whitman Academy, his parents realizing the value of liberal training and giving their children the best advantages possible. After leaving school he went to work in the drug store of Dr. J. H. Day of Walla Walla, and there studied pharmacy. Later he was for two years clerk in a drug store in Portland and then returned to Walla Walla and continued to engage in the drug business here until 1877. He was then employed for some time on the railroad from Walla Walla to Wallula, owned by Dr. Baker. The latter recognized that with the settling up of the country land would rapidly increase in value and advised Mr. Clark to invest his savings in land. Accordingly he began buying farm lands, to the operation of which he gave close personal supervision for many years. He now, however, leaves all the actual work of cultivation to others, confining his attention to the business management of his properties.On the 6th of June, 1900, Mr. Clark was united in marriage to Miss Ella H. Seelye, a teacher for seventeen years in the Walla Walla public schools. She was born in Minnesota and is a daughter of Stuart Seelye, who had the distinction of building the first lumber, shingle and flour mills in Little Falls, Minnesota. The Seelye family have been prominent in educational circles in the east, Julius Seelye being president of Amherst College and Clark Seelye president of Smith College. To Mr. and Mrs. Clark has been born a daughter, Evelyn.Mr. and Mrs. Clark are members of the Congregational church and its work profits greatly by their material and moral support. Mr. Clark is a republican in politics and has taken quite a prominent part in public affairs. He was assistant secretary of the constitutional convention of Washington territory which met in 1878 and has never ceased to be an earnest student of the questions and issues of the day. For two years he was president of the Farmers Union of Walla Walla and in 1873 he was a member of the party under the leadership of Major Truax which surveyed the land around Colfax. He also saw military service, serving in the Nez Percé Indian war in 1877 and in the Bannock war in 1878. His record proves that he is in all respects worthy of his ancestors.among whom were numbered soldiers of the Revolutionary war, and he has taken advantage of the privilege which his descent affords of joining the Sons of the American Revolution. The first member of the family in America, Lieutenant William Clark, who came to this country in 1630, also participated in Indian fighting, taking part in a war which occurred in the year of his arrival. Mr. Clark is a member of the different Masonic orders. He feels the greatest loyalty toward his city and state and nothing gives him more pleasure than to cooperate with movements for the public benefit.JOHN SINGLETON.John Singleton was one of the earliest of Walla Walla's pioneers, arriving here in 1857, and to the time of his death he was prominently, actively and helpfully associated with the work of development and progress in this section of the state. He was born in County Cork, Ireland, in 1824, and was educated under private tutors. On the 22d of April, 1847, he was married in Queens county, Ireland, to Miss Frances Jane Gowan and two years later they crossed the Atlantic to the United States, settling in New York, where he at once enlisted for service in the army. He was sent to Texas as quartermaster's clerk under Major Bilger and the command was stationed in the Alamo at San Antonio, Texas, his office being in the very room where Colonel Davy Crockett was killed. He remained in Texas in the service of the government for six years and was then honorably discharged, after which he returned to Washington, D. C. Subsequently he occupied a clerical position for six months in the old arsenal. He then went to Baltimore, Maryland. In 1856 Mr. Singleton again enlisted in the army for service on the Pacific coast, believing that the change of climate would benefit his failing health. He made his way westward by way of the Isthmus of Panama and thence northward to Vancouver, Washington, where he was stationed for ten months. His company afterward took part in the war with the Yakima Indians, having several sharp engagements with them in the Cascade mountains. His command was led by Captain Winder and the Indians by Chief Camiachan. After subduing the red men Captain Winder's command built a fort and remained in the Cascades for about a year, but later was transferred to The Dalles, Oregon, and in the spring of 1857 arrived at Fort Walla Walla, where Mr. Singleton remained in the service until 1861, when he was honorably discharged, his term having expired. While he was still engaged in military duty here the Indians from several tribes joined in hostilities to prevent Captain Mullen opening a military road across the Rocky and Coeur d'Alene mountains to the Columbia river. Mr. Singleton was in Colonel Steptoe's command, which met the allied tribes in the memorable engagement of Steptoe Butte, which was of several days' duration. The whites, being greatly outnumbered, suffered a disastrous defeat and were driven back to the Snake river in great disorder. In this engagement Mr. Singleton had a very narrow escape from death. He became separated from his comrades in the retreat and after wandering around nearly all night came upon a band of friendly Nez Percé Indians, who conducted him to the Clearwater river, ferried him across anddirected him to the camp of his company, who had reported to his wife that he had died. Colonel Wright soon came up from The Dalles with a thousand men, and being thus reenforced, the troops began an active campaign against the Indians. In a short time the American army had scattered, captured or killed the entire tribe. Some were hanged in the mountains but the most noted leaders were brought to Walla Walla, where seven of them were hanged in the public square in the rear of the garrison. During his service in Fort Walla Walla, Mr. Singleton did most of the work of keeping the records of the post, in the performance of which duty he was compelled to use an old-fashioned quill pen.Mrs. Singleton had purchased a squatter's right from Captain Pierce, and on Mr. Singleton's discharge he retired to the homestead, which has been the place of residence of the family continuously since. It is said that the money which Captain Pierce obtained for his squatter's right enabled him to open the Orofino mining district, of which he was the first prospector.Mr. Singleton died at the old home on December 28, 1893, and there his widow and two daughters still reside. Mrs. Singleton is now in her ninetieth year but for some time past has been an invalid. To Mr. and Mrs. Singleton were born six children: Catherine, who is the widow of Thomas Tierney and resides in San Francisco; Frank E.; William H., who is deceased; Elizabeth and Eudora M., who are at home; and Esther Belle, who gave her hand in marriage to J. W. Brooks, a prominent attorney of Walla Walla.Not only as one of the Indian fighters of the northwest but also as one of the progressive farmers of Walla Walla county did John Singleton leave the impress of his individuality upon the history of southeastern Washington. His worth as a man and as a citizen was widely acknowledged by all who knew him. There was no phase of pioneer life in this section of the country with which he was not familiar and he rejoiced in all that was accomplished in the way of introducing the evidences of modern civilization. His labors wrought good results and his name should be inscribed high upon the roll of those who have reclaimed this great region, making it a habitable and safe place in which civilization may be still further advanced.GARRIT ROMAINE.Garrit Romaine was for many years engaged in farming on a tract of three hundred and twenty acres of excellent land six miles north of Dayton, in Columbia county, and it was recognized that the county had lost a valued citizen when he was called to the home beyond. He was born in New York city, March 7, 1829, a son of Benjamin and Charity (Hopper) Romaine, also natives of the eastern metropolis. Subsequently the family removed to New Jersey, and thence to Fond du Lac county, Wisconsin, where both parents passed away. All their eight children are also now deceased.MR. AND MRS. GARRIT ROMAINEGarrit Romaine was reared at home and obtained his education in the public schools of New York city. When twenty years old he went west to Wisconsin, where he remained for many years, or until 1877, when he removed to California. After remaining there for a short time he took up his residence in Harrisburg, Oregon, but in 1881 removed to Old Walla Walla county, Washington, locating in what is now Columbia county, on a farm six miles from Dayton. He at once began the improvement and development of his place, which he continued to operate until called by death. It comprises three hundred and twenty acres of good wheat land, and his industry and good management were rewarded by large crops, from the sale of which he derived a good income.Mr. Romaine was married in Wisconsin in 1852, to Miss Martha L. Harbaugh, by whom he had seven children: William B., deceased; John H., a farmer; Jerome W., now a resident of Bellingham, Washington; Franz Sigel, a farmer; Charity, who is the wife of Newton James, and has three children, Louis Homer, on the old farm, Lois, now Mrs. H. L. Gritman of Columbia county, and Frida Ellen, now the wife of A. W. Munford of Ironwood, Michigan; Freeman C., deceased; and Rachel, the wife of Henry James, of Dayton.Mr. Romaine gave his political allegiance to the republican party, and while not an office seeker was always keenly interested in everything affecting the general welfare. No project looking toward the advancement of his community failed to receive his heartiest support and cooperation, and he was particularly interested in the upbuilding of the local schools. Fraternally he was connected with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and took an active part in the work of the lodge. He passed away October 23, 1900, and was laid to rest in the Dayton cemetery, leaving to mourn his loss, besides his family, many warm friends. Mrs. Romaine resides with her daughter, Mrs. Newton James, and holds title to the homestead. She belongs to the Christian church and has exemplified its teachings in her daily life.CHARLES F. KIBLER.Charles F. Kibler, one of the prominent farmers and stockmen of Walla Walla township, is with his brothers operating forty-four hundred acres of fine land. He is a native son of Walla Walla county and has resided here throughout his entire life. He was born September 24, 1874, of the marriage of Jacob and Louise (Buroker) Kibler, natives respectively of Virginia and Iowa. The father removed to Missouri when a young man and in the early '50s made the long journey overland to California, where he resided for five years. In 1858 he came to Walla Walla, Washington, and for some time worked as a farm hand. He then took up land on Mill creek but for several years gave the greater part of his time and attention to freighting by ox team. Subsequently, when the country became more thickly settled and there was not so much need for freighting supplies from a distant market town, he began the cultivation of his land. His farming operations yielded him a good profit and he acquired additional land, being at the time of his death the owner of fifteen hundred acres. He made excellent improvements upon his place and was one of the substantial men of the county. He passed away in 1908 and is survived by his wife, who has reached the age of sixty-six years. Five of the six children born to their union survive.Charles F. Kibler passed the days of his boyhood and youth in his native county and attended the district schools in the acquirement of his education. Through working for his father he received thorough training in the best methods of farming and stock raising and on attaining his majority he began farming on his own account. He and his brothers have added to their holdings from time to time and now own forty-four hundred acres of good land finely improved. They have systematized their work and conduct their ranch in the same careful manner that a business man manages his interests. Their progressiveness and good judgment are manifested in the excellent return which they receive from their land and they have never had occasion to regret their choice of an occupation.Charles F. Kibler was married in 1898 to Miss Marie Clodius, a native of Illinois and a daughter of H. F. and Catherine Clodius, who removed to Walla Walla county in 1881 and are now residents of Waitsburg. Mr. and Mrs. Kibler have a son, Albert F., who was born October 21, 1900, and is still at home.Mr. Kibler casts his ballot in support of the men and measures of the democratic party but has never sought office as a reward for his loyalty. He is thoroughly imbued with the characteristic western spirit of enterprise and optimism, and any project for the benefit of his county or state receives his heartiest approval and most energetic support.ALLEN H. REYNOLDS.Allen H. Reynolds occupies an enviable position in professional and financial circles as a leading lawyer of Walla Walla and as the president of the Farmers Savings Bank. He was born January 24, 1869, in the city where he still makes his home, his parents being Almos H. and Lettice J. (Clark) Reynolds, who are mentioned at length on another page of this work. He has spent his entire life in Walla Walla, acquiring his early education in a private school conducted by the Rev. P. B. Chamberlain. He afterward matriculated in Whitman College and thus laid broad and deep the foundation upon which to build the superstructure of professional learning. When his collegiate course was completed he decided upon the practice of law as a life work and then entered the law department of the Boston University, from which he was graduated with the class of 1893. Soon afterward he returned to his native city, where he opened an office and entered upon the practice of law, becoming associated with W. H. Kirkman. Some time later that partnership was dissolved and he joined his brother under the firm style of Reynolds Brothers, but in the spring of 1900 he entered into partnership with Andrew J. Gillis in a relationship that continued for some time. He is now a partner of Grant S. Bond, with offices at No. 6½ Main street. His success in a professional way affords the best evidence of his capabilities in this line. He is a strong advocate with the jury and concise in his appeals before the court. Much of the success which has attended him in his professional career is undoubtedly due to the fact that he prepares his cases with great thoroughness and must be convinced of the absolute justice of hisclient's cause. Aside from his activities in the profession of law, Mr. Reynolds is well known in banking circles, having served as vice president of the First National Bank of Walla Walla until November, 1913. At the present time he is president of the Farmers Savings Bank, having succeeded the late W. P. Winans, who had been president for twenty-eight years.On the 7th of November, 1894, Mr. Reynolds was married to Miss Fanny Kirkman, a daughter of William H. and Isabella Kirkman, well known residents of this city, where Mrs. Reynolds was born. They have become parents of three children: William Allen, born November 19, 1895; Almos, born May 19, 1898; and Ruth Sarah, born February 3, 1901.Mr. Reynolds is treasurer and one of the trustees of Whitman College and has been the president of the Young Men's Christian Association since its organization. There is no plan or movement for the benefit and upbuilding of the city in which he is not helpfully concerned, standing at all times for progress and improvement in municipal as well as in private affairs.HENRY OSTERMAN.Henry Osterman, a member of the firm of Osterman & Siebert, leading architects of Walla Walla, and one whose efforts along professional lines have found expression in the erection of some of the finest buildings not only in this city but elsewhere in the state, was born in Germany, about three miles from Essen, on the 20th of January, 1862, a son of William and Mary (Wusthoff) Osterman, both of whom spent their entire lives in Germany, where the father followed the occupations of farming and milling.Their son, Henry Osterman, was reared under the parental roof and acquired a college education in Essen, Germany. He served three years in the German army and after reaching his majority took up the study of architecture in Dusseldorf, Germany. In May, 1889, he decided to try his fortune in the new world, hoping here to find excellent professional opportunities. He accordingly came to the United States and on the 15th of June of that year he arrived in Walla Walla, Washington, where he has since made his home and practiced his profession. Having little knowledge of the English language and of building conditions in this country, which he found somewhat different from those in his native land, he did not immediately apply himself to architectural work but became associated with building operations and for a time worked as a carpenter. Shortly afterward, however, he took up contracting and building on his own account and was prominently identified with building operations for eight years. In 1899 he began the practice of his profession, opening an architect's office in the old Baker-Boyer building. He associated with him in this undertaking Victor E. Siebert, who was a former employe of Mr. Osterman and had later gone to the east, where he was graduated from the Boston School of Technology in 1912. The following year he was admitted to a partnership, forming the present firm of Osterman & Siebert. Among the many buildings for which Mr. Osterman has drawn the plans and also superintended the erection are the courthouse, the city hall, the Young Men's Christian Association building, the high school building,the Jefferson, the Green Park and the Sharpstein schools, the city library and practically all the important business and office buildings in the city, together with many of the finer residences. All these stand as monuments to the enterprise, the skill and the professional ability of Mr. Osterman, whose thorough preparatory training and subsequent study and experience have placed him in the front ranks among the architects of the northwest.In 1902 Mr. Osterman was united in marriage to Miss Geneva Cooney, of Coon Rapids, Iowa, and to this marriage have been born five children, Bernardina, Henrietta, Hugo, Ruth and Betty.Mr. Osterman gives his political endorsement to the republican party. Fraternally he is connected with Blue Mountain Lodge, No. 13, F. & A. M.; Walla Walla Chapter, No. 1, R. A. M.; Washington Commandery, No. 1, K. T.; the Consistory of Spokane; and El Katif Temple, A. A. O. N. M. S., also of Spokane, while both he and his wife are connected with the Order of the Eastern Star. He is also identified with Trinity Lodge, I. O. O. F., and both he and his wife are consistent members of the Congregational church, guiding their lives according to its teachings. Mr. Osterman has never had occasion to regret his determination to come to the new world, for here he has found the business opportunities which he sought and in their utilization has made steady progress. Not only does he rank with the leading architects of Washington, but is also a prominent figure in financial and commercial circles. He was one of the organizers of the Third National Bank, of which he is now a director, and he is also one of the organizers and a member of the board of directors of the Gardner Company, which owns and controls Walla Walla's largest mercantile establishment. His identification with these interests is the expression of his well directed energy and thrift, his close application and his persistency of purpose, ever guided by a laudable ambition. Step by step he has worked his way upward and his course should serve to inspire others who must start out in life empty-handed. The wise use which he has made of his time, his talents and his opportunities has placed him in the creditable position which he fills today in business and professional circles of Walla Walla.ALMOS H. REYNOLDS.LETTICE J. REYNOLDS.Almos H. Reynolds was for many years one of the prominent financiers of the northwest, becoming a factor in the establishment of the first banking business in Walla Walla and figuring for many years as one of the principal stockholders of the First National Bank. He was born in Madrid, St. Lawrence county, New York, October 21, 1808, and in early life learned the millwright's trade. In 1838, when a man of thirty years, he removed westward to Illinois and subsequently became a resident of Iowa, where he remained until 1850. He then crossed the plains to California, attracted by the gold discoveries on the Pacific coast, and in May, 1859, he came to Walla Walla, where he resided until his demise, which occurred thirty years later, or on the 21st of April, 1889. He was prominently identified with milling interests in this section, erecting many mills throughout the territory of Washington, two of them being in the immediate vicinity of Walla Walla. He also built and for several years owned a woolen mill at Dayton. He was associated with Dr. J. H. Day in establishing the first banking business in Walla Walla, opening a private banking institution, which they carried on under the firm style of Reynolds & Day. He was alert and energetic, constantly watchful of opportunities pointing to success. Eventually he became one of the principal stockholders in the First National Bank and was largely instrumental in its organization. Mr. Reynolds was a man of keen insight which enabled him to readily recognize a favorable business situation and his laudable ambition prompted its immediate use. Whatever he undertook he carried forward to successful completion and the integrity of his business methods was above question.

RESIDENCE OF F. W. PAINE

RESIDENCE OF F. W. PAINE

RESIDENCE OF F. W. PAINE

As school teaching and farming seemed to offer small opportunities in Maine, Mr. Paine resolved to go west and chose California as his objective point, arriving in that state in October, 1861, with a letter from the late Judge E. D. Sawyer of San Francisco to an old friend of his at Mokelumne Hill. He was soon on the ground of the "Jumping Frog of Calaveras county" and found the addressee of his letter to be the proprietor of a provision store and his affairs much run down at the heel. Early in the spring of 1862, therefore, Mr. Paine went to Dogtown, in Shasta county, to join two friends who were preparing to go to the newly discovered mines on Salmon river in Idaho. He became the third member of the party, whose route, as contemplated, lay over the Siskiyou mountains to southern Oregon, then to Portland and on by way of Walla Walla, but at Jacksonville they were advised to cross the Cascade mountains down the east side to Klamath lake and on to Walla Walla. After many days of weary walking they arrived in Walla Walla late in June 1862, and there met the returning tide of miners from Salmon river and Florence, which discouraged the three young men from going further in that direction.

Under the stress of necessity Mr. Paine made haste to find employment and after two or three months by precarious work of different kinds he secured a situation in the Baker-Boyer store but was soon detailed to take charge of the Spray warehouse at Wallula under Dr. Baker's direction. In the spring of 1863 a mad rush for the Boise mines carried Mr. Paine along. As a measure of economy he engaged with a mule pack train owned by the firm of Johnson & Stratton, serving as off side packer and learning to "throw the diamond hitch." The wealth which Mr. Paine accumulated in that mining venture consisted mainly in experience. In the fall of 1864 he returned to Walla Walla and at once was reinstated in his former position with the Baker-Boyer firm, there remaining until the spring of 1866, when another attack of mining fever took him to Montana with a stock of clothing made for the California miners' trade, which stock of goods was readily sold at a good profit. After enjoying a few weeks of summer on the summit of the Rockies he returned to the land of his adoption, and to be safeguarded against another "call of the wild," on his return he accepted the proffer of a partnership made by William Stephens, a merchant conducting business at the corner of Main and First streets. The business prospered and at the end of a year Mr. Paine purchased the interest of his partner and admitted his brother John to a partnership, removing the stock to the corner of Second and Main streets, where they conducted a very substantial business.After about two year opportunity enabled Mr. Paine to succeed by purchase to the Baker-Boyer business, then located on the present site of the Baker-Boyer Bank. Miles C. Moore joined him as a partner under the style of Paine Brothers & Moore, which firm soon became widely known for its business enterprise and also for its local political influence. During the existence of the firm they established branches at Waitsburg and at Dayton and built a fine steamboat, The Northwest, to ply in wheat carrying on the Columbia and Snake rivers. The war department, however, leased the steamboat to transport troops and munitions during the war with the hostile Willowas, under the notable Chief Joseph, in 1878. Soon after the boat was taken over by the Oregon Railway & Navigation Company. After nearly ten years of pleasant and profitable partnership Mr. Moore withdrew from the firm. In the meantime they had concentrated their attention upon farm implements and machinery and this business was conducted under the style of Paine Brothers. In 1879 they built the three-story brick building, which was then the finest business block in the northwest outside of Portland. Upon its completion and upon the organization of the First National Bank it took up its home in this building, where it has since continued.

While for many years Mr. Paine figured most prominently in commercial circles, he also became a leader in the public life of the community as well. His first public office was that of councilman, which he filled in 1878 and 1879. He afterward served as city treasurer in 1883 and 1884 and was mayor of Walla Walla through the two succeeding years. All of these offices came to him unsought. During his mayoralty term he signed the ordinance prohibiting stock from running at large in the streets and this executive act lost him his reelection. He recognized, however, the value of such a course to the city and followed the dictates of his judgment and his conscience notwithstanding the contrary advice of his friends who desired his reelection. In 1880 Mr. Paine was elected school director in District No. 34, the western part of the city. In 1882, by act of the legislature, Districts No. 34 and No. 1, the latter the eastern part of the city, were united in one and the two boards of directors acted as one until the next election, when Mr. Paine was elected one of the three directors for the combined district. He was reelected at each succeeding election until 1906 and during his incumbency, covering more than twenty-five years, he was chairman of the board, which from time to time had to meet increasing requirements by the erection of two frame and three brick schoolhouses. To do this the legal maximum levy of five per cent was not exceeded. The educational work done and the standing of the schools was equal to the best in the state.

In 1887 Governor Watson C. Squire, at the request of many of Mr. Paine's friends, appointed him superintendent of the new state penitentiary which had been recently erected at Walla Walla, with orders to establish rules and regulations and to conduct the institution on a similar plan to that of the Oregon state penitentiary. After some hesitation he accepted the appointment, and as the legislature, after providing an appropriation to erect the buildings, had neglected to make any appropriation for its maintenance, it became necessary to secure a citizens' pledge of five thousand dollars on which to draw for incidentals for the ensuing year or until the next legislature should meet. This done, he took six good men as guards with him to Seatco, where the old contract prison built of logs was located and where the convicts divided their time between working ina sash and door factory, working their way out of prison and being worked back by a reward or a bloodhound. Governor Squire met Mr. Paine at that place and after getting a record of the convicts, as a measure of economy for the state, he pardoned sixteen whose terms were nearly completed, leaving ninety-seven to be transferred to Walla Walla, which was accomplished without loss of any member. The next problem was to produce work for the prisoners and Mr. Paine soon succeeded in establishing and operating successfully a brickyard, which proved greatly beneficial to the prisoners. At the close of his term and on the convening of the legislature he reported to the governor, then Governor Semple, giving account of the amount required to cover all indebtedness incurred. The legislature readily made the appropriation, supplemented by a complimentary resolution. Two years later, under a new legislative enactment, Mr. Paine was made chairman of a commission of three members appointed by Governor Elisha P. Ferry, consisting of P. A. Preston, F. M. Lowden and Mr. Paine. With the ready compliance of his colleagues, Mr. Paine proceeded at once to establish a jute mill, having at his personal expense visited and investigated the San Quentin and Oakland jute mills, where he learned of their methods and was advised of their profits, thus becoming convinced of the economy of the measure and of what was of much greater moment, the providing of employment for the inmates of the institution. The establishment of the mill was strenuously opposed by the labor element, as had been the brickyard, but the objection to convict labor has been largely overcome in view of the importance to the health and morals of the inmates of all such institutions. With the advanced views of the day Mr. Paine gladly sees the passing of another most degrading abuse from which this particular institution suffered at times in its earliest history—that of making it a base for political operations of a most scandalous character and its offices a reward for political jobbery.

Another field of activity into which Mr. Paine entered was that of the Building Loan & Trust Association, which he was largely instrumental in organizing in February, 1890. It was called the International Building Loan & Trust Association of Walla Walla and soon built up a prosperous business. It has continuously paid its patrons a good rate of interest, has built many comfortable homes in and around the city and is today one of the leading institutions of the kind in the state. It is strictly mutual, makes money only for the stockholders and the only salary paid is that to its secretary, together with a small fee to its board members for each regular monthly meeting. The business methods are highly commended by the state examiner. Of this association Mr. Paine has been the president since its inception, covering a period of more than twenty-seven years. One of the most greatly appreciated honors that has come to Mr. Paine has been his appointment on the board of overseers of Whitman College and he is further honored in the position of chairman on the college loaning board.

In the late '70s Mr. Paine assisted in organizing the first Board of Trade at Walla Walla. At that early date it was thought to be of questionable value to the business community, so that it was with difficulty that funds could be secured to pay a secretary. In fact the body's activities and even its existence was at times of an intermittent order. In time the Board of Trade became the Chamber of Commerce and eventually the Commercial Club, and it fell to the lot ofCaptain P. B. Johnson of the Walla Walla Union and to Mr. Paine to keep alive the last named organization, the former acting as secretary and the latter as president. They answered correspondence, mailed descriptive circulars and other literature and in this way induced at least some settlers to come to the valley. All this occurred long before the inception of the present very much alive commercial body.

Mr. Paine not only figured in the business and public activities of the city but also in its social organizations. He became a member of the Inquiry Club on its organization twenty-six years ago, a club which is still in vigorous existence. Its membership has included many of the brightest minds in Walla Walla—men from various professions and callings in life. Whitman College has been largely represented on its roster. The workings of the club certainly have a great charm for its members, for its discussions cover the widest possible range of subjects and any member called upon expresses his views upon the subject under discussion with entire absence of restraint and accepts with good grace whatever he may get in return. Mr. Paine was also connected with an association of gentlemen of literary attainments which was organized in 1877. Among its members were Dr. George M. Sternberg, later surgeon general of the United States army, Judge J. K. Kennedy, Dr. J. E. Bingham, Colonel H. E. Holmes, Ex-Governor M. C. Moore, Colonel W. H. Miller, J. F. Boyer, Major R. R. Rees, F. W. Paine and a number of other prominent citizens. The objects of this association, as expressed in its articles of organization, were to maintain a scientific and useful library, to promote science and to cultivate and improve its members. Mr. Paine is also a member of the Archaeological Association of Walla Walla, which under Professor Anderson maintains a good degree of activity, bringing to the city many able lecturers on arts and sciences. On the list of the members of the Symphony Orchestra is also found the name of Frank W. Paine, who has been its honored president for many years, an association which has done much to cultivate and promote musical taste in Walla Walla.

Most pleasantly situated in his home life, notwithstanding the extent and importance of his business and public and social activities, the interest of Frank W. Paine, yet has ever centered in his home. He married Ida B. Illsley, a daughter of Jonathan H. Illsley, a merchant of Harrison, Maine, the wedding being celebrated in the Presbyterian church on Capitol Hill in Washington, D. C., April 3, 1876. After a brief visit to their old homes in Maine they turned toward Walla Walla, visiting the Centennial at Philadelphia while en route and thence proceeding to San Francisco, to Portland and on to their destination, where they arrived on the 6th of July, being soon domiciled in the home which they yet occupy. Mrs. Paine comes of a family of superior musical and literary talent, finding its highest exponent perhaps in her eldest sister, the late Mrs. Caroline A. Tolman, who possessed unusual literary ability and devoted much time and talent to advocating the emancipation of women, contemporaneous with Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Susan B. Anthony and Abigail Scott Dunniway. They labored to make a place for woman side by side with man. Theirs was scant praise in their day but already the harvest of their labors is being garnered.

To Mr. and Mrs. Paine were born four daughters. Elizabeth, the eldest, passed away at the age of twenty-four years. Josephine became the wife of Timothy A. Paul, a graduate of the University of Virginia and now a residentof Walla Walla, by whom she has three children, two sons and a daughter. Mary became the wife of Ben G. Stone, a real estate and insurance man and farmer of Walla Walla, and they have two sons. Frances is the wife of R. Douglas Ball, who is engaged in the wholesale paper business in Seattle, and they have three children, a daughter and two sons. Mr. and Mrs. Paine are happy in the possession of their three daughters, their generous, manly husbands and their promising children. They stand to them a full measure of reward for any and all sacrifices it may have been their duty and pleasure to make for them and an ample assurance of continued happiness in them, for all of which they duly return thanks to the "giver of every good and perfect gift."

JOHN N. FALL.

John N. Fall was one of the pioneers of Walla Walla county who reaped the reward of his labors, being at the time of his death the owner of large tracts of fine wheat land, the operation of which he supervised, although a resident of Walla Walla. He was born in Indiana, September 13, 1836, a son of Asa and Agnes (Davis) Fall, the former a native of North Carolina. Both parents passed their last years in Walla Walla county.

John N. Fall received the education usually afforded boys in pioneer communities and remained with his parents until he reached mature years. In 1861 he decided to take advantage of the opportunities offered the ambitious young man in the Pacific northwest and crossed the plains with ox teams. He at once settled in Walla Walla county, buying a farm on Mill creek, on which he resided until 1867. He then removed to Walla Walla but continued to operate his farm and, although as the years passed his holdings increased rapidly, he never ceased to exercise direct personal supervision over his agricultural interests. He was at once practical and progressive, being ready to adopt any new method or implement whose value had been reasonably well proven. He gave careful study to the problems of increased production, the conservation of soil fertility and advantageous marketing, and it was recognized that he was an authority on everything pertaining to wheat raising.

Mr. Fall was married in Missouri in 1858 to Miss Sarah E. Williams, a daughter of Benjamin and Mary Williams, both of whom were born in Kentucky, but for a number of years resided in Missouri, whence they finally removed to Iowa, where the father passed away. The mother then came to Walla Walla county, where she spent her last years. To Mr. and Mrs. Fall was born a son, Dr. E. E. Fall, who died in February, 1917, leaving a son, Edmond E.

Mr. Fall supported the democratic party at the polls and manifested the interest of a good citizen in public affairs. Fraternally he belonged to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Ancient Order of United Workmen, and the spirit which characterized his life was that of fraternity and consideration for others. He passed away in 1900 and was laid to rest in Mountain View cemetery. He was a consistent member of the Presbyterian church, to the support of which he contributed generously, and his sterling worth gained him a warm place in the regard of those who were closely associated with him. Mrs. Fall wasalso a member of that denomination and was likewise keenly interested in its various activities. After the death of her husband she owned and personally managed the operation of two thousand and forty acres of wheat land and two hundred and forty acres on the mountain, a part of which was wheat land and a part pasture. In looking after her extensive interests she manifested an executive ability and keen insight into business that was far above the average and she was recognized as a factor in the development of the county along agricultural lines.

ELMER L. WOODS.

Elmer L. Woods, who resides on section 7, township 9 north, range 27 east, is one of the leading horticulturists of Walla Walla county, his apple orchard comprising almost four thousand trees of the finest varieties. He was born in that township, November 4, 1888, and is a son of Joel and Viola M. (Hull) Woods, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this work. He was reared at home and during his boyhood and youth attended the Waitsburg public schools, thus receiving a good education. On reaching man's estate he became associated with his father in the operation of the home farm, and this relation was continued until the father's death. In 1911 forty acres were planted to apple trees, ninety-six to an acre, by Walter & Morris, the administrators of the estate. This orchard of three thousand eight hundred and forty trees is now bearing, and is one of the finest fruit orchards in the county. At the time the estate was settled Mr. Woods of this review acquired title to the orchard, and it yielded about two thousand boxes of apples in 1917. He has given the orchard the most thorough and systematic care and is ever businesslike in solving problems of packing and marketing.

Mr. Woods belongs to Delta Lodge, No. 70, K. P., of Waitsburg and is in hearty sympathy with the ideals of the fraternity upon which that organization is based. He possesses in marked measure the enterprise and self-reliance characteristic of the western man, and he has the utmost confidence in the future of his county and state.

FRANK SINGLETON.

There are few residents of Walla Walla who can claim connection with the city from 1857. The memory of Frank Singleton, however, harks back to the period when this was a frontier fort and the work of progress and civilization had scarcely been begun in all this section of the country. The Indians were more numerous than the white settlers and only here and there had some venturesome spirit penetrated into the western wilderness to plant the seeds of civilization. Frank Singleton, who is now extensively interested in mining and is engaged in the real estate business in Walla Walla, was but six years of age at the time of his arrival in Washington. He was born in San Antonio, Texas, November 7,1850, and after the removal of the family to the northwest pursued his education in the public and parochial schools of Walla Walla. On reaching manhood he engaged in the live stock business, with which he was prominently identified for many years. At one time he was a heavy holder of farm lands, but in 1916 he sold his farm north of Prescott, comprising six hundred acres, which was the last of his farm possessions. For the past twelve years he has been prominently identified with mining and has large holdings in mining property. For six years he has been engaged in the real estate business in Walla Walla and has negotiated many important realty transfers. In a word, he is a progressive business man, alert and energetic, his activities guided by sound judgment, while his laudable ambition has brought to him gratifying success.

In July, 1907, Mr. Singleton was united in marriage to Mrs. Martha White, who in her maidenhood was Miss Kidwell, a daughter of James Kidwell, who in 1863 cast in his lot with the pioneer settlers of Walla Walla. By her former marriage Mrs. Singleton had two sons; Walter, who is engaged in farming in Walla Walla county; and Vivian, who is a farmer of Franklin county. Mr. and Mrs. Singleton are widely and favorably known in the city and surrounding country, having an extensive circle of friends, while the hospitality of the best homes is freely accorded them. With every phase of pioneer life and of the later development and progress of the county they are familiar, having been interested witnesses of the growth and upbuilding of this section of the state from early pioneer times.

WILLIAM D. PAUL.

William D. Paul was successful as a farmer and his personal qualities were such that he made and retained friends readily. He was recognized as a man of worth and there was much sincere regret when he passed away at his home in Walla Walla. His birth occurred in Walla Walla county, October 21, 1864, and his parents were Thomas and Susan F. (Ellis) Paul, both of whom were born in Iowa. In 1861 they crossed the plains with ox team to Washington, and the father took up a claim in Walla Walla county, on which they resided until called by death.

William D. Paul was reared under the parental roof and in the acquirement of his education attended the pioneer schools. His entire life was devoted to farming and he became in time the owner of three hundred and twenty acres of fertile land, from which he received a gratifying income. He made many improvements upon his place and was careful and systematic in the conduct of the farm work. He also held title to valuable city property and for a number of years resided in Walla Walla.

In 1895 Mr. Paul was married to Miss Kate Loney, a native of Canada and a daughter of Charles and Charlotte (Cole) Loney, who were born in Ireland but emigrated to Canada in young manhood and womanhood. In 1880 they came to Walla Walla, Washington, and here they passed their remaining days. To Mr. and Mrs. Paul were born four children: Thomas N., who is farmingin Walla Walla county; Winifred and Ruth, both high school students; and Geneva.

Mr. Paul endorsed the principles of the republican party, and gave his loyal support to its candidates at the polls. His religious faith was the determining principle in his life and he gave freely of his time and means in furthering work of the Baptist church, in which he held the office of deacon and also that of treasurer. He passed away August 24, 1916, and was laid to rest in the Mountain View cemetery. His unswerving integrity and his consistent regard for the rights and feelings of others gave him a place in the warm regard of many, and those who were privileged to know him intimately still cherish his memory. Mrs. Paul owns the family residence in Walla Walla and there makes her home. She rents the farm and personally attends to the management of her affairs and displays in that connection unusual business qualities. She, too, is a faithful and active member of the Baptist church and is a woman of many admirable qualities.

WILLIAM S. CLARK.

William S. Clark, who is living retired in Walla Walla save for the management of his extensive farming interests, has passed his entire life in the northwest and is a son of pioneers who came to "Old Oregon" in 1843, when this region was wild and uninhabited save by Indians and fur traders and when it was still a mooted question whether it was British or American territory. The birth of William S. Clark occurred in Portland, Oregon, April 9, 1857, and his parents were Ransom and Lettice Jane (Millican) Clark. The father was born near St. Johnsbury, Vermont, July 22, 1810, and was descended from a long line of Puritan ancestors. The first one of the family to emigrate to America was Lieutenant William Clark, who became one of the first settlers of Dorchester and Northampton, Massachusetts. Smith College at Northampton is situated upon land that was a part of his homestead.

RANSOM CLARK

RANSOM CLARK

RANSOM CLARK

Ransom Clark received his education in Vermont and remained there for a considerable period after reaching mature years. At length, however, he manifested the pioneer spirit that had characterized his ancestors and removed to the west, where he believed there were better opportunities. He first located in Wisconsin and then went to St. Louis and later to New Orleans. He was in St. Louis in 1843 at the time Lieutenant Fremont was fitting out his company for his trip to the Pacific coast and although the greater part of his men were French and Canadian frontiersmen, Mr. Clark and about a half dozen other Americans enlisted for the expedition. Mr. Clark remained with the Fremont party until The Dalles were reached and then, with two other Americans, left the command and joined the American emigrants just coming into the country. In the spring of 1844 he took up his residence upon a farm near Lafayette and was successful in adapting himself to the conditions of that frontier locality, growing good crops and also engaging in stock raising. The Oregon Spectator of July 4, 1846, contained the following advertisement: "Ransom Clark, at his home on Yamhill river, offers for sale wheat, oats, corn, white beans, peas and potatoes, also bacon, salt pork, hogs and breeding sows." At the time of the discovery of gold he went to the mines in California, where he spent two years, after which he conducted a hotel in Linn, Oregon, and still later became one of the proprietors of the Columbian Hotel in Portland. In 1855 he went to the Colville country, in which gold had been discovered, and returning by way of Walla Walla, took up a donation claim of six hundred and forty acres just south of the present site of Walla Walla. However, the country had not yet been formally opened for settlement and he was compelled to leave by Nathan Olney, Indian agent. In 1888, however, he learned that the country would soon be opened up and in that spring went to his claim with a full outfit of farming implements, fruit trees, nursery stock, etc. He took with him John Haley to fence and care for his place and, leaving him there, soon returned to Oregon. The following spring he again came to this region, and this time was accompanied by his son, Charles W., whom he left on the place. In May he returned to Portland to make final arrangements for removing to his land, but while there became ill and died on the 24th of May, 1859, at the early age of forty-nine years. He was a member of the famous Lyceum and Debating Society of Oregon City and, as he wrote to a friend, "always advocated those principles which are best calculated to promote the cause of education, to promote the greatest good to the greatest number." He was quite prominent in civic affairs, served as a member of one of the early legislatures and in 1844 was one of three commissioners to view out and survey a road from the Willamette falls to the falls of the Yamhill river. He realized that a great future was in store for this section and was among the men who laid broad and deep the foundation for its future development.

Ransom Clark was married in 1845 to Miss Lettice Jane, the eldest daughter of Elijah and Lucinda (Crisp) Millican. She was born in Canehill, Arkansas, October 3, 1830. In 1843 the family joined the Whitman train and after a journey of weary months reached Oregon. The following year the Millican family settled near the town of Lafayette, Yamhill county, and there in 1845 Lattice J. Millican became the wife of Ransom Clark. Following the death of her husband in 1859, she made the journey to Walla Walla in order to make arrangements for subsequently locating upon the farm which Mr. Clark had taken up and which was known for many years as the Ransom Clark donation claim. She was given a place in the government ambulance from Wallula to Walla Walla and her first night in the latter place was spent in the fort. The following morning she was driven out to her claim and remained there for two weeks. She then returned to Portland, where the birth of her daughter occurred the following summer. In October, 1859, she again came to Walla Walla in company with her family. They were passengers on the first stage from The Dalles to Walla Walla, with John F. Abbott as driver. Later she received a letter from Judge E. D. Shattuck of Portland advising her to sell her claim for two hundred and seventy-five dollars and abandon the idea of developing it. However, she disregarded this advice and continued to reside upon the farm with her children. On the 23d of May, 1861, she married Almos H. Reynolds, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this work. She was one of the earliest pioneer women at the head of a ranch in Walla Walla county and the fact that she had been privileged to witness more of the growth of the northwestthan others seemed to give her an added interest in everything pertaining to public welfare. She contributed much to the upbuilding of the various institutions of the city and by reason of her force of character and her many liberal and well advised benefactions she was recognized as a most prominent citizen of Walla Walla. The erection of the Young Men's Christian Association building was made possible by a twenty thousand dollar donation from her and after its completion she was one of the chief contributors toward its upkeep. At the rally and jubilee held when the association had raised the forty-five thousand dollars necessary to pay off its debt the speech that she made expressing her great joy in the knowledge that the association was free of all debt will long be remembered by all who heard her. She was also a loyal friend and patron of Whitman College, contributing generously at various times to the support of the institution and paying off a debt of six thousand dollars on the girls' dormitory, which is named in her honor Reynolds Hall. She was a woman of the highest ideals and also had the keenness of intellect and strength of character to realize her ideals and the memory of Lettice J. Reynolds will long be held in honor in Walla Walla.

William S. Clark received his education in the public schools and Whitman Academy, his parents realizing the value of liberal training and giving their children the best advantages possible. After leaving school he went to work in the drug store of Dr. J. H. Day of Walla Walla, and there studied pharmacy. Later he was for two years clerk in a drug store in Portland and then returned to Walla Walla and continued to engage in the drug business here until 1877. He was then employed for some time on the railroad from Walla Walla to Wallula, owned by Dr. Baker. The latter recognized that with the settling up of the country land would rapidly increase in value and advised Mr. Clark to invest his savings in land. Accordingly he began buying farm lands, to the operation of which he gave close personal supervision for many years. He now, however, leaves all the actual work of cultivation to others, confining his attention to the business management of his properties.

On the 6th of June, 1900, Mr. Clark was united in marriage to Miss Ella H. Seelye, a teacher for seventeen years in the Walla Walla public schools. She was born in Minnesota and is a daughter of Stuart Seelye, who had the distinction of building the first lumber, shingle and flour mills in Little Falls, Minnesota. The Seelye family have been prominent in educational circles in the east, Julius Seelye being president of Amherst College and Clark Seelye president of Smith College. To Mr. and Mrs. Clark has been born a daughter, Evelyn.

Mr. and Mrs. Clark are members of the Congregational church and its work profits greatly by their material and moral support. Mr. Clark is a republican in politics and has taken quite a prominent part in public affairs. He was assistant secretary of the constitutional convention of Washington territory which met in 1878 and has never ceased to be an earnest student of the questions and issues of the day. For two years he was president of the Farmers Union of Walla Walla and in 1873 he was a member of the party under the leadership of Major Truax which surveyed the land around Colfax. He also saw military service, serving in the Nez Percé Indian war in 1877 and in the Bannock war in 1878. His record proves that he is in all respects worthy of his ancestors.among whom were numbered soldiers of the Revolutionary war, and he has taken advantage of the privilege which his descent affords of joining the Sons of the American Revolution. The first member of the family in America, Lieutenant William Clark, who came to this country in 1630, also participated in Indian fighting, taking part in a war which occurred in the year of his arrival. Mr. Clark is a member of the different Masonic orders. He feels the greatest loyalty toward his city and state and nothing gives him more pleasure than to cooperate with movements for the public benefit.

JOHN SINGLETON.

John Singleton was one of the earliest of Walla Walla's pioneers, arriving here in 1857, and to the time of his death he was prominently, actively and helpfully associated with the work of development and progress in this section of the state. He was born in County Cork, Ireland, in 1824, and was educated under private tutors. On the 22d of April, 1847, he was married in Queens county, Ireland, to Miss Frances Jane Gowan and two years later they crossed the Atlantic to the United States, settling in New York, where he at once enlisted for service in the army. He was sent to Texas as quartermaster's clerk under Major Bilger and the command was stationed in the Alamo at San Antonio, Texas, his office being in the very room where Colonel Davy Crockett was killed. He remained in Texas in the service of the government for six years and was then honorably discharged, after which he returned to Washington, D. C. Subsequently he occupied a clerical position for six months in the old arsenal. He then went to Baltimore, Maryland. In 1856 Mr. Singleton again enlisted in the army for service on the Pacific coast, believing that the change of climate would benefit his failing health. He made his way westward by way of the Isthmus of Panama and thence northward to Vancouver, Washington, where he was stationed for ten months. His company afterward took part in the war with the Yakima Indians, having several sharp engagements with them in the Cascade mountains. His command was led by Captain Winder and the Indians by Chief Camiachan. After subduing the red men Captain Winder's command built a fort and remained in the Cascades for about a year, but later was transferred to The Dalles, Oregon, and in the spring of 1857 arrived at Fort Walla Walla, where Mr. Singleton remained in the service until 1861, when he was honorably discharged, his term having expired. While he was still engaged in military duty here the Indians from several tribes joined in hostilities to prevent Captain Mullen opening a military road across the Rocky and Coeur d'Alene mountains to the Columbia river. Mr. Singleton was in Colonel Steptoe's command, which met the allied tribes in the memorable engagement of Steptoe Butte, which was of several days' duration. The whites, being greatly outnumbered, suffered a disastrous defeat and were driven back to the Snake river in great disorder. In this engagement Mr. Singleton had a very narrow escape from death. He became separated from his comrades in the retreat and after wandering around nearly all night came upon a band of friendly Nez Percé Indians, who conducted him to the Clearwater river, ferried him across anddirected him to the camp of his company, who had reported to his wife that he had died. Colonel Wright soon came up from The Dalles with a thousand men, and being thus reenforced, the troops began an active campaign against the Indians. In a short time the American army had scattered, captured or killed the entire tribe. Some were hanged in the mountains but the most noted leaders were brought to Walla Walla, where seven of them were hanged in the public square in the rear of the garrison. During his service in Fort Walla Walla, Mr. Singleton did most of the work of keeping the records of the post, in the performance of which duty he was compelled to use an old-fashioned quill pen.

Mrs. Singleton had purchased a squatter's right from Captain Pierce, and on Mr. Singleton's discharge he retired to the homestead, which has been the place of residence of the family continuously since. It is said that the money which Captain Pierce obtained for his squatter's right enabled him to open the Orofino mining district, of which he was the first prospector.

Mr. Singleton died at the old home on December 28, 1893, and there his widow and two daughters still reside. Mrs. Singleton is now in her ninetieth year but for some time past has been an invalid. To Mr. and Mrs. Singleton were born six children: Catherine, who is the widow of Thomas Tierney and resides in San Francisco; Frank E.; William H., who is deceased; Elizabeth and Eudora M., who are at home; and Esther Belle, who gave her hand in marriage to J. W. Brooks, a prominent attorney of Walla Walla.

Not only as one of the Indian fighters of the northwest but also as one of the progressive farmers of Walla Walla county did John Singleton leave the impress of his individuality upon the history of southeastern Washington. His worth as a man and as a citizen was widely acknowledged by all who knew him. There was no phase of pioneer life in this section of the country with which he was not familiar and he rejoiced in all that was accomplished in the way of introducing the evidences of modern civilization. His labors wrought good results and his name should be inscribed high upon the roll of those who have reclaimed this great region, making it a habitable and safe place in which civilization may be still further advanced.

GARRIT ROMAINE.

Garrit Romaine was for many years engaged in farming on a tract of three hundred and twenty acres of excellent land six miles north of Dayton, in Columbia county, and it was recognized that the county had lost a valued citizen when he was called to the home beyond. He was born in New York city, March 7, 1829, a son of Benjamin and Charity (Hopper) Romaine, also natives of the eastern metropolis. Subsequently the family removed to New Jersey, and thence to Fond du Lac county, Wisconsin, where both parents passed away. All their eight children are also now deceased.

MR. AND MRS. GARRIT ROMAINE

MR. AND MRS. GARRIT ROMAINE

MR. AND MRS. GARRIT ROMAINE

Garrit Romaine was reared at home and obtained his education in the public schools of New York city. When twenty years old he went west to Wisconsin, where he remained for many years, or until 1877, when he removed to California. After remaining there for a short time he took up his residence in Harrisburg, Oregon, but in 1881 removed to Old Walla Walla county, Washington, locating in what is now Columbia county, on a farm six miles from Dayton. He at once began the improvement and development of his place, which he continued to operate until called by death. It comprises three hundred and twenty acres of good wheat land, and his industry and good management were rewarded by large crops, from the sale of which he derived a good income.

Mr. Romaine was married in Wisconsin in 1852, to Miss Martha L. Harbaugh, by whom he had seven children: William B., deceased; John H., a farmer; Jerome W., now a resident of Bellingham, Washington; Franz Sigel, a farmer; Charity, who is the wife of Newton James, and has three children, Louis Homer, on the old farm, Lois, now Mrs. H. L. Gritman of Columbia county, and Frida Ellen, now the wife of A. W. Munford of Ironwood, Michigan; Freeman C., deceased; and Rachel, the wife of Henry James, of Dayton.

Mr. Romaine gave his political allegiance to the republican party, and while not an office seeker was always keenly interested in everything affecting the general welfare. No project looking toward the advancement of his community failed to receive his heartiest support and cooperation, and he was particularly interested in the upbuilding of the local schools. Fraternally he was connected with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and took an active part in the work of the lodge. He passed away October 23, 1900, and was laid to rest in the Dayton cemetery, leaving to mourn his loss, besides his family, many warm friends. Mrs. Romaine resides with her daughter, Mrs. Newton James, and holds title to the homestead. She belongs to the Christian church and has exemplified its teachings in her daily life.

CHARLES F. KIBLER.

Charles F. Kibler, one of the prominent farmers and stockmen of Walla Walla township, is with his brothers operating forty-four hundred acres of fine land. He is a native son of Walla Walla county and has resided here throughout his entire life. He was born September 24, 1874, of the marriage of Jacob and Louise (Buroker) Kibler, natives respectively of Virginia and Iowa. The father removed to Missouri when a young man and in the early '50s made the long journey overland to California, where he resided for five years. In 1858 he came to Walla Walla, Washington, and for some time worked as a farm hand. He then took up land on Mill creek but for several years gave the greater part of his time and attention to freighting by ox team. Subsequently, when the country became more thickly settled and there was not so much need for freighting supplies from a distant market town, he began the cultivation of his land. His farming operations yielded him a good profit and he acquired additional land, being at the time of his death the owner of fifteen hundred acres. He made excellent improvements upon his place and was one of the substantial men of the county. He passed away in 1908 and is survived by his wife, who has reached the age of sixty-six years. Five of the six children born to their union survive.

Charles F. Kibler passed the days of his boyhood and youth in his native county and attended the district schools in the acquirement of his education. Through working for his father he received thorough training in the best methods of farming and stock raising and on attaining his majority he began farming on his own account. He and his brothers have added to their holdings from time to time and now own forty-four hundred acres of good land finely improved. They have systematized their work and conduct their ranch in the same careful manner that a business man manages his interests. Their progressiveness and good judgment are manifested in the excellent return which they receive from their land and they have never had occasion to regret their choice of an occupation.

Charles F. Kibler was married in 1898 to Miss Marie Clodius, a native of Illinois and a daughter of H. F. and Catherine Clodius, who removed to Walla Walla county in 1881 and are now residents of Waitsburg. Mr. and Mrs. Kibler have a son, Albert F., who was born October 21, 1900, and is still at home.

Mr. Kibler casts his ballot in support of the men and measures of the democratic party but has never sought office as a reward for his loyalty. He is thoroughly imbued with the characteristic western spirit of enterprise and optimism, and any project for the benefit of his county or state receives his heartiest approval and most energetic support.

ALLEN H. REYNOLDS.

Allen H. Reynolds occupies an enviable position in professional and financial circles as a leading lawyer of Walla Walla and as the president of the Farmers Savings Bank. He was born January 24, 1869, in the city where he still makes his home, his parents being Almos H. and Lettice J. (Clark) Reynolds, who are mentioned at length on another page of this work. He has spent his entire life in Walla Walla, acquiring his early education in a private school conducted by the Rev. P. B. Chamberlain. He afterward matriculated in Whitman College and thus laid broad and deep the foundation upon which to build the superstructure of professional learning. When his collegiate course was completed he decided upon the practice of law as a life work and then entered the law department of the Boston University, from which he was graduated with the class of 1893. Soon afterward he returned to his native city, where he opened an office and entered upon the practice of law, becoming associated with W. H. Kirkman. Some time later that partnership was dissolved and he joined his brother under the firm style of Reynolds Brothers, but in the spring of 1900 he entered into partnership with Andrew J. Gillis in a relationship that continued for some time. He is now a partner of Grant S. Bond, with offices at No. 6½ Main street. His success in a professional way affords the best evidence of his capabilities in this line. He is a strong advocate with the jury and concise in his appeals before the court. Much of the success which has attended him in his professional career is undoubtedly due to the fact that he prepares his cases with great thoroughness and must be convinced of the absolute justice of hisclient's cause. Aside from his activities in the profession of law, Mr. Reynolds is well known in banking circles, having served as vice president of the First National Bank of Walla Walla until November, 1913. At the present time he is president of the Farmers Savings Bank, having succeeded the late W. P. Winans, who had been president for twenty-eight years.

On the 7th of November, 1894, Mr. Reynolds was married to Miss Fanny Kirkman, a daughter of William H. and Isabella Kirkman, well known residents of this city, where Mrs. Reynolds was born. They have become parents of three children: William Allen, born November 19, 1895; Almos, born May 19, 1898; and Ruth Sarah, born February 3, 1901.

Mr. Reynolds is treasurer and one of the trustees of Whitman College and has been the president of the Young Men's Christian Association since its organization. There is no plan or movement for the benefit and upbuilding of the city in which he is not helpfully concerned, standing at all times for progress and improvement in municipal as well as in private affairs.

HENRY OSTERMAN.

Henry Osterman, a member of the firm of Osterman & Siebert, leading architects of Walla Walla, and one whose efforts along professional lines have found expression in the erection of some of the finest buildings not only in this city but elsewhere in the state, was born in Germany, about three miles from Essen, on the 20th of January, 1862, a son of William and Mary (Wusthoff) Osterman, both of whom spent their entire lives in Germany, where the father followed the occupations of farming and milling.

Their son, Henry Osterman, was reared under the parental roof and acquired a college education in Essen, Germany. He served three years in the German army and after reaching his majority took up the study of architecture in Dusseldorf, Germany. In May, 1889, he decided to try his fortune in the new world, hoping here to find excellent professional opportunities. He accordingly came to the United States and on the 15th of June of that year he arrived in Walla Walla, Washington, where he has since made his home and practiced his profession. Having little knowledge of the English language and of building conditions in this country, which he found somewhat different from those in his native land, he did not immediately apply himself to architectural work but became associated with building operations and for a time worked as a carpenter. Shortly afterward, however, he took up contracting and building on his own account and was prominently identified with building operations for eight years. In 1899 he began the practice of his profession, opening an architect's office in the old Baker-Boyer building. He associated with him in this undertaking Victor E. Siebert, who was a former employe of Mr. Osterman and had later gone to the east, where he was graduated from the Boston School of Technology in 1912. The following year he was admitted to a partnership, forming the present firm of Osterman & Siebert. Among the many buildings for which Mr. Osterman has drawn the plans and also superintended the erection are the courthouse, the city hall, the Young Men's Christian Association building, the high school building,the Jefferson, the Green Park and the Sharpstein schools, the city library and practically all the important business and office buildings in the city, together with many of the finer residences. All these stand as monuments to the enterprise, the skill and the professional ability of Mr. Osterman, whose thorough preparatory training and subsequent study and experience have placed him in the front ranks among the architects of the northwest.

In 1902 Mr. Osterman was united in marriage to Miss Geneva Cooney, of Coon Rapids, Iowa, and to this marriage have been born five children, Bernardina, Henrietta, Hugo, Ruth and Betty.

Mr. Osterman gives his political endorsement to the republican party. Fraternally he is connected with Blue Mountain Lodge, No. 13, F. & A. M.; Walla Walla Chapter, No. 1, R. A. M.; Washington Commandery, No. 1, K. T.; the Consistory of Spokane; and El Katif Temple, A. A. O. N. M. S., also of Spokane, while both he and his wife are connected with the Order of the Eastern Star. He is also identified with Trinity Lodge, I. O. O. F., and both he and his wife are consistent members of the Congregational church, guiding their lives according to its teachings. Mr. Osterman has never had occasion to regret his determination to come to the new world, for here he has found the business opportunities which he sought and in their utilization has made steady progress. Not only does he rank with the leading architects of Washington, but is also a prominent figure in financial and commercial circles. He was one of the organizers of the Third National Bank, of which he is now a director, and he is also one of the organizers and a member of the board of directors of the Gardner Company, which owns and controls Walla Walla's largest mercantile establishment. His identification with these interests is the expression of his well directed energy and thrift, his close application and his persistency of purpose, ever guided by a laudable ambition. Step by step he has worked his way upward and his course should serve to inspire others who must start out in life empty-handed. The wise use which he has made of his time, his talents and his opportunities has placed him in the creditable position which he fills today in business and professional circles of Walla Walla.

ALMOS H. REYNOLDS.LETTICE J. REYNOLDS.

Almos H. Reynolds was for many years one of the prominent financiers of the northwest, becoming a factor in the establishment of the first banking business in Walla Walla and figuring for many years as one of the principal stockholders of the First National Bank. He was born in Madrid, St. Lawrence county, New York, October 21, 1808, and in early life learned the millwright's trade. In 1838, when a man of thirty years, he removed westward to Illinois and subsequently became a resident of Iowa, where he remained until 1850. He then crossed the plains to California, attracted by the gold discoveries on the Pacific coast, and in May, 1859, he came to Walla Walla, where he resided until his demise, which occurred thirty years later, or on the 21st of April, 1889. He was prominently identified with milling interests in this section, erecting many mills throughout the territory of Washington, two of them being in the immediate vicinity of Walla Walla. He also built and for several years owned a woolen mill at Dayton. He was associated with Dr. J. H. Day in establishing the first banking business in Walla Walla, opening a private banking institution, which they carried on under the firm style of Reynolds & Day. He was alert and energetic, constantly watchful of opportunities pointing to success. Eventually he became one of the principal stockholders in the First National Bank and was largely instrumental in its organization. Mr. Reynolds was a man of keen insight which enabled him to readily recognize a favorable business situation and his laudable ambition prompted its immediate use. Whatever he undertook he carried forward to successful completion and the integrity of his business methods was above question.


Back to IndexNext