NAUTICAL SCHOOLIRoyal order approving the new regulations for pilots in ManilaMinistry of the navy, commerce, and government of the colonies:Your Excellency:Her Majesty, the queen governess, in accordance with the opinion of the admiralty board, and with that of the General Division of Studies of the kingdom, has considered it fitting to approve, in all its parts, the new regulations for the academy for pilots in Manila, which your Excellency’s predecessor sent to this ministry for the fitting resolution in his letter of July 20, 1837, number 157. By royal order, I communicate this to your Excellency for your knowledge and for the corresponding results. May God preserve your Excellency many years. Madrid, May nine, one thousand eight hundred and thirty-nine.ChaconII[Concerning the professional nautical school,Archipiélago Filipinosays:]This school, which was created at the instance ofthe consulate of commerce, by command of his Majesty, dated January 1, 1820, was ruled by the regulations of 1837, which were modified by the royal order of October 19, 1860. In this school was studied the profession of pilot of merchant marine. The theoretical teaching was given in it in four years’ time;1while the practical teaching was given in vessels on the high sea, after the pupils had received, by virtue of examinations, certificates as deserving persons.The total number of pupils was usually fifty or sixty. They were mostly Indians, who, as they did not master the Spanish language, did not derive all the profit which would have been reported under other circumstances, and many of them after the knowledge acquired in the first two courses, chose a more lucrative profession.At first it was supported with its own funds and under the direction of the Board and Tribunal of Commerce, but later, upon the suppression of the Board and Tribunal, the school and its funds passed under the control of the state, which furnished its expenses, and gave the administrative direction to the commandant-general of the naval station and its immediate director.2[Regarding the same school,Census of Philippines, iii, p. 613 says:]As a consequence of the abolition of the tribunal of commerce existing in the city of Manila, which had charge of the school, the government undertook the supervision of it, by superior order, which provided that the personnel thereof should be considered as public officials, and that the funds on which it depended for its support should be turned into the treasury....The nautical school3was not very well attendedby the young Filipinos, the cause for which is not understood in view of the fact that this is a country in which navigation is one of the most powerful mercantile resources, and whose inhabitants have special and exceptional qualifications therefor. The lack of interest shown in studies of this character can be attributed only to the little protection, lack of means and of opportunities, afforded upon the conclusion of the course.1See the program of these theoretical studies, inCensus of Philippines, iii, p. 613.↑2There was also at Manila, for many years, a military academy for the education of the sons of military men residing in the colony, as well as for soldiers and non-commissioned officers who desired to fit themselves for promotion. The son of a native needed great influence to enable him to enter, and such had generally to enlist as a soldier, more especially since the age-limit was lowered. Formerly, when the scale of ages was different in the colonies from the scale in Spain, officers graduated from this academy, but later when the scales were made uniform, this academy was closed, and opened again afterward under different conditions. Its candidates were eligible candidates for admission to the general military academy of Spain at Toledo, which annually gave notice to the academy of the number of scholars which it could accommodate. Many Filipinos took advantage of this and became efficient military men. The instruction given in the academy seems to have been superior to that afforded in many of the other institutions, and examinations were comparatively strict. Annual attendance was generally about 100. Since American occupation a military academy has been suggested for the Filipinos. SeeReport of Philippine Commission, 1900, i, p. 40, 1900–1903, p. 128; andReport of Commissioner of Education, 1899–1900, ii, pp. 1627, 1628.↑3This is the oldest educational institution of the Philippines under the supervision of the Bureau of Education. The building of the school was destroyed by the earthquake of 1863. A nautical school was opened by the American government in Manila, December 15, 1899, with an enrolment of 22 pupils, and under the superintendency of Lieut. Commander V. S. Cottman, U.S.N., who was assisted by three instructors. He was relieved by Lieut. George F. Cooper, December 25, 1899. The course of instruction was at first for three years. At the beginning of the new term in June, 1900, four more instructors were appointed. There were five instructors at the opening of the first term in 1901. The instruction was first in Spanish, but for the sake of greater efficiency English was substituted. In July, 1901, the school opened with 83 pupils. In October, 1901, the course was extended to four years. The studies include English, mathematics, history, drawing, mechanics, and practical seamanship. The method of instruction and discipline are based upon those of the United States Naval Academy. The building, although well equipped in many ways, is not itself adequate for the purpose for which it is used. The school has not attained the excellence desired, due in part to the irregular attendance and lack of discipline, although attendance continues to increase. SeeReport of the Commissioner of Education(Department of the Interior), 1901, ii, pp. 1421–1423, and 1902, ii, pp. 2244–2246;Report of the Philippine Commission, 1900, i, p. 39, ii, p. 473, 1900–1903, p. 271, 1904, iii, pp. 826, 827, and 888, 889; andCensus of Philippines, iii, pp. 663, 664.The Philippine budget for 1880–81 included 4,397.33 pesos for the staff of the nautical academy, and those of painting and designing, history and bookkeeping, and the botanical garden; and 7,786.32 pesos for equipment. See Sanciano y Goson’sProgreso de Filipinas(Madrid, 1881), pp. 23, 24.↑BOYS’ SINGING SCHOOLThis school, whose chief end was to furnish good soprano voices for the singing in the holy cathedral church of Manila, was founded in 1742 by the right reverend Señor Rodriguez, archbishop of these islands, and it has subsisted and still subsists with the same property from the pious bequest of its foundation.It consists of a director and a teacher of primary instruction, both priests; one teacher of singing, chanting, and vocalization; another of the piano, organ, and composition; and another of stringed instruments. The children sopranos number eighteen, though at times there have been more, and all have been supported, clothed, and, as well, frequently assisted in the career which they have desired to adopt.The musical instruction given to those boys is according to the methods pursued in the conservatory of Madrid; for singing and harmony, Eslava; for the piano, Aranguren; for the organ, Gimeno; for the violin, its method and studies, Alard; and for vocalization, Romero.Because of the tender age of these boys, since they enter at the age of six or eight years, and remain until that of fourteen, they are not permitted, exceptin rare exceptions, to play wind instruments. The gain due to this institution is public and well known to all who have heard the harmony produced by those sopranos in the churches of Manila, and the skill demonstrated by the same in instrumental music for almost three centuries past. Not few of them have been justly praised and rewarded in musical contests where they were presented, for example, in theLiceo Artístico[i.e., Artistic Lyceum] later theSociedad Musical Filipina de Santa Cecilia[i.e., Filipino musical society of St. Cecilia].1This institution has contributed not a little to the propagation of musical art and good taste.1This society was founded in Manila in 1876 under the name ofLiceo Artístico, which it changed in 1889 as above. Its purpose was to protect the moral and material interests of the Filipino musicians resident in the Philippines, and advance the musical progress and education of the natives. It gave with some irregularity a private monthly concert and three public concerts per year. It began to decline in 1891 and perished amid the political upheaval. SeeArchipiélago Filipino, i, p. 354.↑PUBLIC INSTRUCTIONPrimary instruction cannot be considered in a backward state, and, indeed, I believe that, in proportion, there are more persons who can read and write in these islands than in España, and in some [other] civilized countries.1In each village thereis a suitable building for the use of a school, to which all the children must go except during the months of sowing and of harvest. The master, and other expenses, are paid from the communal fund. In view of this I have wondered at seeing in many foreigners the strange belief that the government does not permit the learning of reading and writing; for I can assert that, in the archives of Manila I have found many old and recently-dictated decrees, with a spirit diametrically the contrary, which repeatedly enjoin the teaching of the Castilian language. Women also share in this benefit, and I have found girls who lived not only far from the capital, but in an isolated house distant from the village, and, notwithstanding, they had learned to read and write. One must confess, however, that they scarcely know other books than those of devotion, especially a poem entitled thePasion de Cristo[i.e., Passion of Christ]. Besides the said schools, which are equal in number to the villages and the schools of some private masters,2both in the chief cities of theprovinces and in the capital where their number is very considerable (there being among them not a few of music and drawing), there are found in Manila various public institutions of education for men and women. In regard to them one can form a correct judgment by the following explanation.UNIVERSITY OF SANTO TOMÁSThis college was founded at the beginning of the seventeenth century; their Excellencies, Benavides and Soria, the one archbishop of Manila, and the other bishop of Nueva Segovia, giving their libraries for that purpose, and, in addition, the former giving 1,000 pesos and the latter 1,800. Already finished in 1619, it was admitted as a house of the province of Preachers in the islands, as appears from the records of the intermediary chapter celebrated in Santo Domingo, April 20, with the suitable license of the superior government and of the ordinary. In 1620 it already had lecturers and masters for public teaching, and November 27, 1623, his Majesty admitted it under his royal protection. It was erected into a university at the instance of the said monarch Felipe IV, by a bull of Innocent X, November 20, 1645, which was passed by the supreme Council of Indias July 28, 1646. By a decree of May 17, 1680, the university was received under the royal protection, his Majesty declaring himself its patron. In consequence of another decree of December 7, 1781, the rules were made, which, approved by the superior government October 20, 1786 as they were prepared are those which are in force at present. Their cloister is composed of various doctors, licentiates, and masters, although in reality only twenty-one of the first and second kinds form it. The number of collegiates is ruled by circumstances, and the college supports them, for they have to dress and provide shoes for many. Their funds are ministered by lay-brother religious. This college and royal university is incharge of the Dominican religious, who teach Latin, logic, physics, metaphysics, moral and canon law, and theology. In addition there is a chair of institute, and another of native law. In this university 581 students are studying, who are classified thus:Collegiates61Capistas315Day Pupils505Total581COLLEGE OF SAN JOSEBy a decree of June 8, 1585, his Majesty ordered the establishment of a college to be attempted in Manila, in which the sons of the Spanish inhabitants might be instructed in virtue and letters under the direction of the Jesuit fathers. But, although the governor Dasmariñas enacted an edict for that purpose, it was not fulfilled until the year 1601 when the college of San José was instituted in some houses next to the house of the Jesuits. There were thirteen collegiates when it was first opened, but in a short time their number reached twenty. Among the first was a nephew of Governor Tello, a son of Dr. Morga, senior auditor, and other sons of influential citizens. At the beginning the collegiates contributed a certain sum for their own support, but soon there were greater means. One of the most considerable was the endowment left in his will by the illustrious gentleman, Don Esteban Rodriguez de Figueroa, governor of Mindanao, who was recognized as patron of the college. In 1605, Father Pedro Montes became rector, he founded the chairof scholastic theology, and promoted those of philosophy and Latin, selecting to take charge of them the most pronounced men of talent of his Society. During the reign of Felipe IV, the latter obtained from his Holiness, Gregory XV, authority to concede solemn degrees in philosophy and theology. The latter’s bull and the royal decree of concession were celebrated in Manila by a public procession, and when they were presented to the most illustrious Serrano, then archbishop, he offered obedience and observance on his part. February 18, 1707, his Majesty continued for six years the assignment that had been made to the college of 400 pesos, and 400 fanegas of rice. May 3, 1722, the title of “Royal” was conceded to the college. November 15, 1747, the enjoyment of an encomienda in the villages of Sulát and Tavig, in the province of Samar, was also continued for ten years. February 3, 1748, his Majesty confirmed in favor of this college the lands of the estates of Mariquina and San Pedro Yunasán. At present it possesses that estate and the estate of San Juan de Lian, which are administered by the rector. With their products the college takes care of the support of twenty-two collegiates, the house and food of the vice-rector and masters, and the annual pay given to them and to the rector. They also admit capistas who pay fifty pesos per year, and receive public teaching therein in philosophy, rhetoric, and Latin. From the expulsion of the Jesuits until the year 1777 this institution was closed.COLLEGE OF SAN JUAN DE LETRANIt owed its foundation to the charitable zeal of Juan Gerónimo Guerrero, who in the year 1630 dedicated himself to gathering orphan boys, towhom he taught reading and writing and the Christian doctrine, paying for their support and clothing from the abundant alms with “which the citizens of Manila aided him.”This institution was recommended to the supreme Council of the Indias by the government of these islands, and later his Majesty recommended it to Governors Fajardo and Corcuera. Before dying, the aged Guerrero took the habit as lay-brother in [the convent of] Santo Domingo, and made that order a formal bequest of his advanced charitable work. Later it was erected into a college and received under the royal protection, his Majesty conceding it some encomiendas, or annuities for its support. At present it maintains at its own cost twenty-one Spanish orphan lads, with the 600 pesos to which amounts the product of the annuities which are collected from the alcalde-mayor of Pangasinan by a Dominican religious. It also receives Indian and mestizo collegiates who pay fifty pesos per year apiece for their support. Their number is not fixed. Under the title of sacristan, porters, librarians, and other mechanical trades, there are various people who pay nothing. Their studies are carried on in the university of Santo Tomás, except that of grammar. At the present time this college has 239 students, counting orphans, capistas and others.CHARITY SCHOOL [ESCUELA PIA] OF MANILA4Don Pedro Vivanco having begun to promote its establishment in 1803, it was installed in 1817 under the direction of a special assembly composed of distinguished citizens, among whom was a member of the ecclesiastical cabildo, and another of the tribunalof the consulado. The citizens gave the funds which were to maintain so useful an institution, but being drawn upon, as was the general rule, those funds had the same fate as other large sums of the commerce and charitable funds of this capital, and were lost through the political happenings of the kingdom of Mexico. The assembly having been extinguished for lack of funds, the city took under its charge the charity school. Reading, writing, Christian doctrine, Spanish grammar, and slate-work arithmetic are taught there. The pupils must be Spanish; the children of rich people pay two pesos per month; those of the second class one; and the poor nothing. For admission, a ticket from the president of the dissolved assembly was sufficient. Now it is given by the regidor, who is serving his turn in governing the institution. In that school, there are at present 50 pupils, of whom 26 receive their teaching gratuitously.NAVAL ACADEMYThrough the repeated instances of the consulado, this school was established in Manila by royal permission in the year 1820. Arithmetic, elementary geometry, plain and spherical trigonometry, cosmography, and piloting are taught by their respective professors; and in addition practical geometry applied to the construction of hydrographical maps and plans, with the method of drawing them. Everything is according to the course of study of the navy, written by royal order for the teaching of said schools by the chief of squadron of the royal fleet Don Gabriel Ciscar. It is directed by special rules. The expenses of that institution have been methitherto from the funds of avería. Its conservation was committed to the consulado, but since the extinction of that tribunal, it has been givenad interimto the present tribunal of commerce by the ruling of the management, inspection in the scientific or teaching portion being reserved for the chief of the military marine. At present it has 51 students in its halls.COMMERCIAL SCHOOLThe establishment of this school was discussed by the assembly of its name October 1, 1839, approved by the superior government, January 15, 1840. Its inauguration took place, July 15 of the same year. Bookkeeping, and commercial correspondence, the French language, and also the English, when a suitable professor is to be had, are taught in that school.5SCHOOL OF SANTA POTENCIANAIt was erected by Governor Dasmariñas, by virtue of an express royal mandate contained in the instructions which were delivered to them August 9, 1589,6in which section 27 reads: “Upon your arrival at the Filipinas Islands, you shall ascertain how and where, and with what endowment, a convent for the shelter of girls may be founded, so that both those who should come from here and those, born there, maylive in it, so that they may live modestly and after being well instructed may go out therefrom to be married and bear children.” That zealous governor, with the efficacy and activity which distinguished his government, did what his Majesty ordered him; for, in a royal order of January 27, 1593, the measures which had been taken with the city are approved and ordered to be continued, namely, that the said convent should be founded in the church of San Andres. Shortly afterward that pious institution must have been completed, as is inferred from another royal order of June 11, 1594: “The rules and regulations,” says his Majesty to the governor, “which you have made for the girls’ school have been examined and are approved, and thus you shall have them observed.” It was further provided how they were to act at the wheel, or in the parlor. The chaplain was also to be the manager and he was to be an approved person of forty years old or upward. The clothing of the collegiates, of the mother superior, and the teacher, was to be modest and cheap, and was sent by his Majesty. The governor was authorized to name the sum which was to be paid annually by any other woman who wished of her own accord to enter the institution, in order to take shelter therein, provided that such sum should be moderate.7There is no copy of the first rules of this school in existence, for they probably perished with its archives, and ten or twelve inmates in the awful earthquake of 1645, which overthrew the edifice and destroyed the greater part of the city. In fulfilmentof a royal order of November 27, 1686, and superior rulings of March 15, 1691, Doctor Silva, then chaplain of said school, published, in the following April, the ordinances of Santa Potentiana, which merited royal approbation November 14, 1825, in which year the newly printed rules were ordered to be observed.In 1736 the free inmates were the daughters of Spaniards who had served his Majesty in the islands. They were aided with what was necessary for their support and clothing, and the physician and the medicine for the sick were paid for them, besides a suitable funeral for the dead. The funds of the college did not permit, in case one married, to give her a suitable dowry, but such a one received two hundred pesos from the charitable fund which was established for that purpose in 1686 by Don Cristóbal Romero, castellan of the fort of Santiago, and in the time of Governor Tamon, fifty pesos more, which he gave from his own purse, to each one of the inmates when she was married. In 1729, Auditor Don José Antonio Pabon founded for the same purpose another charitable fund by giving 2,823 pesos, which the royal treasury owed him on account of pay, but that foundation had no effect until 1749. The funds were in charge of the managers, who very commonly were the royal officials, and were increased by investing them suitably, until the time when they entered the royal treasury with the other incomes of the school. At present that school occupies a house which was bought at the royal account, for its ancient site has been destined for the building of a fortification. From the same treasury, the expenses of a small chapel, a physician, apothecary shop, infirmary, clothing for the pupils, and sixservant girls are met, which are estimated at 700 pesos annually; and those of a sacristan, fourfaginantes[i.e., fagot-gatherers], and one purchaser. By a provision of the Superior Board of the royal treasury of September 22, 1808, money was subscribed for the maintenance of a rectress, a portress, and twenty-four inmates at the rate of one and one-half reals per day to each one, and monthly from the royal magazines, 46 baskets ofpinagua8rice of 15 gantas, 25 quintals of wood, and 17 gantas of cocoanut oil for their light.SCHOOL OF SANTA ISABELSince the foundation of the confraternity of the Santa Misericordia, their financial board maintained the management of many poor Spanish orphan girls who were reared in Santa Potenciana, and in private houses; but having bought an edifice in which to gather them, the foundation of this school was accomplished at the end of the year 1632. It is in the immediate charge and care of the purveyor. The first rules for its government were made in 1650, and they were retained with some slight alterations until 1813. In that year they were entirely revised, and these latter are the ones which are observed at present. It has a chapel which is kept very neat and clean, which is dedicated to the Lord of the treasury.The girl pensioners contribute sixty pesos per year for their fees. In addition, there are some poor young women who are known under the name of supernumeraries [agregadas], who are maintained through charity.The rectress is the superior of the school, and issubordinate to the purveyor. In grave cases which arise, she consults the financial board, and if that board is not created with power to take action, she convokes the brotherhood and in general council the advisable action is agreed upon with the assistance of theologues and jurists. This school contains:Scholars with beca51Free orphan girls18Idemboarders14Abandoned7Supernumeraries12Total102There are also at present for the interior service of the house one chaplain, one physician, twelve maid servants, and eight man servants; these last do not live in the school.BEATERIO OF SANTA CATALINA DE SENAIt was founded in 1696 by Mother Francisca del Espíritu Santo, a Spanish woman born in Manila, and by the very reverend father, Fray Juan de Santo Domingo, provincial of the Dominicans. Its object is to teach Spanish girls how to read, write, reckon, the Christian doctrine, to sew, etc. In that duty the necessary beatas are occupied. They obey a superior whom they appoint from their own number, and such person takes the title of prioress. At present this school has 26 Spanish girls and 60 supernumeraries and servants.9BEATERIO OF SAN SEBASTIAN DE CALUMPANGIt was begun in 1719 by four Filipino girls, who gave themselves exclusively to the service of God, and that of the Virgin of Carmel. In 1735 the beaterio was given form at the petition of the Recollect provincial, Fray Andres de San Fulgencio. The beatas were permitted to take the habit as manteletas of the discalced Augustinians. Their number was not to exceed twelve, and the institution was to remain subject to the vice-patron. In 1754, a measure was started as to whether the beatas ought to pay tribute or not, and the custom which favors the negative was ordered to be followed. They live in community without any vow. Each year they nominate one prioress. They are sustained by alms and by their own work. The priorate of San Sebastian contributes 100 cavans of palay, and 300 pesos annually, because the beatas sew the scapularies of Carmel, wash the clothes of the Church, and of the religious resident therein; and the convent of Manila 200 cavans and 300 pesos more for the washing of the clothes of the sacristy and of the religious. Orphan girls are received and are taught reading, writing, the Christian doctrine, sewing, etc. For the very little girls the beaterio receives what their relatives care to give. Those who can work pay nothing if they work; but if they do not work they pay three or four pesos per month according to their circumstances. Some Spanish women also enter for the [religious] exercises. At present this beaterio has 12 beatas, 24 larger girls who are being educated, 16 smaller ones, and one little girl boarder, with someother widows and married women who also live in this retreat.BEATERIO OF SAN IGNACIOIt was founded in 1699 under the direction of the Jesuit fathers. Its benefactress and first beata was Mother Ignacia del Espíritu Santo, a native of Binongo, who died in 1748, at the age of eighty. It has 25 beatas, 59 servants, and 55 wards, [some of] whom pay four pesos monthly for their support, and some two or three pesos, but these latter assist in the kitchen and washing once a week. This institution is supported by the alms and by the products of some sewing and by the washing of clothes. Every year there are exercises held there which begin in October; those who attend it are Filipino women. They are divided into three shifts, and about 300 of them assemble, each of whom pays two pesos. From that sum they meet the expenses of preachers, confessors, and their support. Since the expulsion of the Jesuits, this beaterio has been under the direction of the provisor of the archbishopric, and for lack of a shelter-house, it supplies its place. The object of the foundation was that Filipino girls might be reared in it and taught embroidery, sewing, reading, and writing.BEATERIO OF SANTA ROSAMother Paula de la Santísima Trinidad, native of Cataluña, had scarcely arrived at Manila in 1750, when she dedicated herself to the education of girls and was the origin of this foundation. By a royal decree of September 22, 1774, his Majesty ordered that the house or beaterio founded by this goodwoman should take care of the education of every class of girls. It is maintained by alms, by the work of their hands, and by the few small fees which some girls pay for their support therein, where they are taught reading, sewing, etc. Neither their number nor that of the servants is fixed. His Majesty has taken it under his protection, and entrusted it in his name to the regent of the Audiencia, with the fitting powers.BEATERIO OF PASIGIn this village there is a house of teaching, or a beaterio entitled Santa Rita, which was founded in 1740 with the necessary licenses by the calced Augustinian, Fray Felix de Trillo, then parish priest of Pasig. Its primary object is to provide shelter for Filipino orphan girls, and to teach them reading, writing, Christian doctrine, sewing, embroidery, and other employments fitting for their sex. They dress when they go to the parish church in the habit of mantelates of St. Augustine, but they take no vow or obligation. Those educated and sheltered dress as in their own homes. This beaterio is sustained by the work of their hands and by alms, under the care and solicitous management of the parish priests. The latter are not those who give the least alms for its useful preservation, and that from the product of some estates which they have rented out, and which they acquired by their economy. Furthermore, the young women who enter as wards pay when their relatives are able, according to their wealth, up to the sum of two pesos per month. That is the greatest fee, but it is more usual for each one who is educated to contribute a few cavans of palay per year—generallyabout ten or twelve. But those who are quite poor and orphans pay nothing. This retreat has at the present time sixteen beatas.1Semper, writing in 1869, says of education among the natives. “The Christian Spaniard has not been able to exert much more influence of a spiritual than of a political nature upon the character of the natives. Popular education was formerly, and is now, entirely in the hands of the priests. Excepting the professors of common and Roman law all the chairs of the University of Santo Tomás of Manila are in the hands of the priests, who naturally arrange not only the theological lectures, but those upon metaphysics, physics, and logic, as well, according to the principles of the Catholic Church. In the provinces every village has its public schools in which instruction is obligatory; but, besides reading and writing, only Christian doctrine and church music are taught. This instruction, moreover, is by no means generally given in Spanish; at least, the general introduction of Spanish is still so recent that it will be long before the Spanish officials will be able to converse, even with their subordinates, in Spanish. On the east coast of Mindanao, one of the oldest and most settled provinces, the native dialect was exclusively used until forty or fifty years ago, and the priests used the old Malay alphabet until the beginning of the century, even in their official business. The number of natives—the Spaniards call them ‘Indians’—who can read and write is tolerably large, but owing to the total unreliability of all statistics on the subject, nothing accurate can be stated. In 1863 the Government attempted to make an enumeration of the population, and, incidentally, to note the number of those who could read and write. The fact that the result was never published seems to confirm the opinion that an unsatisfactory condition of things was found.” SeeCensus of Philippines, iii, p. 577.↑2Under late Spanish domination, there were 67 private Latin schools in the archipelago, of which 23 were in the province of Manila, and nearly all the others in Luzón. In the term of 1886–87, there were 41 private schools, of secondary instruction, twelve of which were in the suburbs of Manila, two in the walled city, and the rest in the provinces of Luzón and the Visayas. Of the 41 professors in charge thereof, only one had the degree of doctor, eight were licentiates, and the rest held the degree of bachelor of arts. The course of study in these schools included Latin and Spanish grammar, Christian doctrine and sacred history, general geography and geography of Spain and the Philippines, Latin translation and analysis, elementary Greek, general history and history of Spain and the Philippines, arithmetic and algebra, rhetoric and poetry, geometry and plane trigonometry, and French. The attendance in 1895–96 was 1,915. They were under the charge of licentiates, in philosophy or science, or bachelors of arts who must have passed a teacher’s examination, and were under inspectors, one of whom was appointed by the rector of the university, who was ex-officio head of all the schools of the islands. Some of the schools had a one-year course, others two, and others three. The teachers were Filipinos. The supervisors of public instruction had the power to visit the schools, and recommend their establishment or removal. The pupils were required to enrol and be examined in the university, except those in distant provinces, who could be examined by a board composed of the alcalde-mayor, the parish priest, and the respective professor. The result of the examination was sent to the secretary of the university. The Dominicans had one private school at Dagupan (Pangasinán), founded 1890–91; the Franciscans, that of Guinobatan (Albay), founded 1894–95; and the Recollects that of Bacólod (Negros Occidental), founded 1895. There are still a number of private schools in the archipelago. During recent years many have sprung up in Manila and the provinces which give primary and secondary education, although the instruction is generally poor. Some of them have been started in answer to the complaint of some Filipino parents that the American schools are godless; some have been started by Roman Catholic priests for the purpose of combating purely secular instruction; and some are the expression of Filipino nationality and independence. Within ten months, since June, 1901, 29 new private schools were opened in Manila alone. They are generally patterned after the old method, and are either teaching in Spanish or the vernacular. The popular demand for English has compelled many of them to make a show of teaching it, but it is generally being attempted without adequate teachers. It was suggested that the curriculum in such schools, except in matters of religious instruction, conform to the course of the public schools, and that they be under the official inspection, such a course making it possible to have a real compulsory school law. The Liceo de Manila is a school organized and run by Filipinos. The late C. J. Zulueta was professor of history in this school and read an address at its opening, June 19, 1902. See LeRoy’sPhilippine Life, pp. 223, 224;Census of Philippines, iii, pp. 599, 600;Report of Commissioner of Education, 1899–1900, ii, p. 1622, 1901, ii, pp. 1437, 1438; andArchipiélago Filipino, i, pp. 344, 345.↑3i.e., Those wearing the cape or cloak.↑4Later transformed into the Ateneo Municipal,q.v.,post.↑5This school was located in the same building as the nautical school, and was established July 15, 1839 at the request of the board of trade, which had presented its petition to this effect, October 1, 1838. The report of 1883 shows a total enrolment of 562 pupils in double entry bookkeeping for the years 1866–72, with a graduation of 91; and an enrolment of 228 for the study of English, with a graduation of 57. SeeCensus of Philippines, iii, p. 614; and Montero y Vidal,Historia, iii, p. 30.↑6See these instructions, inVOL. VII, pp. 141–172.↑7SeeVOL. XVIII, pp. 282–288 for documents of 1610–19 regarding the grant of an encomienda made to this school or seminary.↑8Perhaps forpinaua, which signifies “half-pounded rice,” or “rice without the husk, but not bleached.”↑9Its foundation was approved in 1816, and endowed with the fitting rules and vocations, it had for some time only the character of a beaterio. In 1865 it was elevated to the rank of a school of higher grade. SeeArchipiélago Filipino, i, pp. 352, 353.↑
NAUTICAL SCHOOLIRoyal order approving the new regulations for pilots in ManilaMinistry of the navy, commerce, and government of the colonies:Your Excellency:Her Majesty, the queen governess, in accordance with the opinion of the admiralty board, and with that of the General Division of Studies of the kingdom, has considered it fitting to approve, in all its parts, the new regulations for the academy for pilots in Manila, which your Excellency’s predecessor sent to this ministry for the fitting resolution in his letter of July 20, 1837, number 157. By royal order, I communicate this to your Excellency for your knowledge and for the corresponding results. May God preserve your Excellency many years. Madrid, May nine, one thousand eight hundred and thirty-nine.ChaconII[Concerning the professional nautical school,Archipiélago Filipinosays:]This school, which was created at the instance ofthe consulate of commerce, by command of his Majesty, dated January 1, 1820, was ruled by the regulations of 1837, which were modified by the royal order of October 19, 1860. In this school was studied the profession of pilot of merchant marine. The theoretical teaching was given in it in four years’ time;1while the practical teaching was given in vessels on the high sea, after the pupils had received, by virtue of examinations, certificates as deserving persons.The total number of pupils was usually fifty or sixty. They were mostly Indians, who, as they did not master the Spanish language, did not derive all the profit which would have been reported under other circumstances, and many of them after the knowledge acquired in the first two courses, chose a more lucrative profession.At first it was supported with its own funds and under the direction of the Board and Tribunal of Commerce, but later, upon the suppression of the Board and Tribunal, the school and its funds passed under the control of the state, which furnished its expenses, and gave the administrative direction to the commandant-general of the naval station and its immediate director.2[Regarding the same school,Census of Philippines, iii, p. 613 says:]As a consequence of the abolition of the tribunal of commerce existing in the city of Manila, which had charge of the school, the government undertook the supervision of it, by superior order, which provided that the personnel thereof should be considered as public officials, and that the funds on which it depended for its support should be turned into the treasury....The nautical school3was not very well attendedby the young Filipinos, the cause for which is not understood in view of the fact that this is a country in which navigation is one of the most powerful mercantile resources, and whose inhabitants have special and exceptional qualifications therefor. The lack of interest shown in studies of this character can be attributed only to the little protection, lack of means and of opportunities, afforded upon the conclusion of the course.1See the program of these theoretical studies, inCensus of Philippines, iii, p. 613.↑2There was also at Manila, for many years, a military academy for the education of the sons of military men residing in the colony, as well as for soldiers and non-commissioned officers who desired to fit themselves for promotion. The son of a native needed great influence to enable him to enter, and such had generally to enlist as a soldier, more especially since the age-limit was lowered. Formerly, when the scale of ages was different in the colonies from the scale in Spain, officers graduated from this academy, but later when the scales were made uniform, this academy was closed, and opened again afterward under different conditions. Its candidates were eligible candidates for admission to the general military academy of Spain at Toledo, which annually gave notice to the academy of the number of scholars which it could accommodate. Many Filipinos took advantage of this and became efficient military men. The instruction given in the academy seems to have been superior to that afforded in many of the other institutions, and examinations were comparatively strict. Annual attendance was generally about 100. Since American occupation a military academy has been suggested for the Filipinos. SeeReport of Philippine Commission, 1900, i, p. 40, 1900–1903, p. 128; andReport of Commissioner of Education, 1899–1900, ii, pp. 1627, 1628.↑3This is the oldest educational institution of the Philippines under the supervision of the Bureau of Education. The building of the school was destroyed by the earthquake of 1863. A nautical school was opened by the American government in Manila, December 15, 1899, with an enrolment of 22 pupils, and under the superintendency of Lieut. Commander V. S. Cottman, U.S.N., who was assisted by three instructors. He was relieved by Lieut. George F. Cooper, December 25, 1899. The course of instruction was at first for three years. At the beginning of the new term in June, 1900, four more instructors were appointed. There were five instructors at the opening of the first term in 1901. The instruction was first in Spanish, but for the sake of greater efficiency English was substituted. In July, 1901, the school opened with 83 pupils. In October, 1901, the course was extended to four years. The studies include English, mathematics, history, drawing, mechanics, and practical seamanship. The method of instruction and discipline are based upon those of the United States Naval Academy. The building, although well equipped in many ways, is not itself adequate for the purpose for which it is used. The school has not attained the excellence desired, due in part to the irregular attendance and lack of discipline, although attendance continues to increase. SeeReport of the Commissioner of Education(Department of the Interior), 1901, ii, pp. 1421–1423, and 1902, ii, pp. 2244–2246;Report of the Philippine Commission, 1900, i, p. 39, ii, p. 473, 1900–1903, p. 271, 1904, iii, pp. 826, 827, and 888, 889; andCensus of Philippines, iii, pp. 663, 664.The Philippine budget for 1880–81 included 4,397.33 pesos for the staff of the nautical academy, and those of painting and designing, history and bookkeeping, and the botanical garden; and 7,786.32 pesos for equipment. See Sanciano y Goson’sProgreso de Filipinas(Madrid, 1881), pp. 23, 24.↑
NAUTICAL SCHOOLIRoyal order approving the new regulations for pilots in ManilaMinistry of the navy, commerce, and government of the colonies:Your Excellency:Her Majesty, the queen governess, in accordance with the opinion of the admiralty board, and with that of the General Division of Studies of the kingdom, has considered it fitting to approve, in all its parts, the new regulations for the academy for pilots in Manila, which your Excellency’s predecessor sent to this ministry for the fitting resolution in his letter of July 20, 1837, number 157. By royal order, I communicate this to your Excellency for your knowledge and for the corresponding results. May God preserve your Excellency many years. Madrid, May nine, one thousand eight hundred and thirty-nine.ChaconII[Concerning the professional nautical school,Archipiélago Filipinosays:]This school, which was created at the instance ofthe consulate of commerce, by command of his Majesty, dated January 1, 1820, was ruled by the regulations of 1837, which were modified by the royal order of October 19, 1860. In this school was studied the profession of pilot of merchant marine. The theoretical teaching was given in it in four years’ time;1while the practical teaching was given in vessels on the high sea, after the pupils had received, by virtue of examinations, certificates as deserving persons.The total number of pupils was usually fifty or sixty. They were mostly Indians, who, as they did not master the Spanish language, did not derive all the profit which would have been reported under other circumstances, and many of them after the knowledge acquired in the first two courses, chose a more lucrative profession.At first it was supported with its own funds and under the direction of the Board and Tribunal of Commerce, but later, upon the suppression of the Board and Tribunal, the school and its funds passed under the control of the state, which furnished its expenses, and gave the administrative direction to the commandant-general of the naval station and its immediate director.2[Regarding the same school,Census of Philippines, iii, p. 613 says:]As a consequence of the abolition of the tribunal of commerce existing in the city of Manila, which had charge of the school, the government undertook the supervision of it, by superior order, which provided that the personnel thereof should be considered as public officials, and that the funds on which it depended for its support should be turned into the treasury....The nautical school3was not very well attendedby the young Filipinos, the cause for which is not understood in view of the fact that this is a country in which navigation is one of the most powerful mercantile resources, and whose inhabitants have special and exceptional qualifications therefor. The lack of interest shown in studies of this character can be attributed only to the little protection, lack of means and of opportunities, afforded upon the conclusion of the course.
IRoyal order approving the new regulations for pilots in ManilaMinistry of the navy, commerce, and government of the colonies:Your Excellency:Her Majesty, the queen governess, in accordance with the opinion of the admiralty board, and with that of the General Division of Studies of the kingdom, has considered it fitting to approve, in all its parts, the new regulations for the academy for pilots in Manila, which your Excellency’s predecessor sent to this ministry for the fitting resolution in his letter of July 20, 1837, number 157. By royal order, I communicate this to your Excellency for your knowledge and for the corresponding results. May God preserve your Excellency many years. Madrid, May nine, one thousand eight hundred and thirty-nine.Chacon
IRoyal order approving the new regulations for pilots in Manila
Royal order approving the new regulations for pilots in Manila
Royal order approving the new regulations for pilots in Manila
Ministry of the navy, commerce, and government of the colonies:Your Excellency:Her Majesty, the queen governess, in accordance with the opinion of the admiralty board, and with that of the General Division of Studies of the kingdom, has considered it fitting to approve, in all its parts, the new regulations for the academy for pilots in Manila, which your Excellency’s predecessor sent to this ministry for the fitting resolution in his letter of July 20, 1837, number 157. By royal order, I communicate this to your Excellency for your knowledge and for the corresponding results. May God preserve your Excellency many years. Madrid, May nine, one thousand eight hundred and thirty-nine.Chacon
Ministry of the navy, commerce, and government of the colonies:
Your Excellency:
Her Majesty, the queen governess, in accordance with the opinion of the admiralty board, and with that of the General Division of Studies of the kingdom, has considered it fitting to approve, in all its parts, the new regulations for the academy for pilots in Manila, which your Excellency’s predecessor sent to this ministry for the fitting resolution in his letter of July 20, 1837, number 157. By royal order, I communicate this to your Excellency for your knowledge and for the corresponding results. May God preserve your Excellency many years. Madrid, May nine, one thousand eight hundred and thirty-nine.
Chacon
II[Concerning the professional nautical school,Archipiélago Filipinosays:]This school, which was created at the instance ofthe consulate of commerce, by command of his Majesty, dated January 1, 1820, was ruled by the regulations of 1837, which were modified by the royal order of October 19, 1860. In this school was studied the profession of pilot of merchant marine. The theoretical teaching was given in it in four years’ time;1while the practical teaching was given in vessels on the high sea, after the pupils had received, by virtue of examinations, certificates as deserving persons.The total number of pupils was usually fifty or sixty. They were mostly Indians, who, as they did not master the Spanish language, did not derive all the profit which would have been reported under other circumstances, and many of them after the knowledge acquired in the first two courses, chose a more lucrative profession.At first it was supported with its own funds and under the direction of the Board and Tribunal of Commerce, but later, upon the suppression of the Board and Tribunal, the school and its funds passed under the control of the state, which furnished its expenses, and gave the administrative direction to the commandant-general of the naval station and its immediate director.2[Regarding the same school,Census of Philippines, iii, p. 613 says:]As a consequence of the abolition of the tribunal of commerce existing in the city of Manila, which had charge of the school, the government undertook the supervision of it, by superior order, which provided that the personnel thereof should be considered as public officials, and that the funds on which it depended for its support should be turned into the treasury....The nautical school3was not very well attendedby the young Filipinos, the cause for which is not understood in view of the fact that this is a country in which navigation is one of the most powerful mercantile resources, and whose inhabitants have special and exceptional qualifications therefor. The lack of interest shown in studies of this character can be attributed only to the little protection, lack of means and of opportunities, afforded upon the conclusion of the course.
II
[Concerning the professional nautical school,Archipiélago Filipinosays:]This school, which was created at the instance ofthe consulate of commerce, by command of his Majesty, dated January 1, 1820, was ruled by the regulations of 1837, which were modified by the royal order of October 19, 1860. In this school was studied the profession of pilot of merchant marine. The theoretical teaching was given in it in four years’ time;1while the practical teaching was given in vessels on the high sea, after the pupils had received, by virtue of examinations, certificates as deserving persons.The total number of pupils was usually fifty or sixty. They were mostly Indians, who, as they did not master the Spanish language, did not derive all the profit which would have been reported under other circumstances, and many of them after the knowledge acquired in the first two courses, chose a more lucrative profession.At first it was supported with its own funds and under the direction of the Board and Tribunal of Commerce, but later, upon the suppression of the Board and Tribunal, the school and its funds passed under the control of the state, which furnished its expenses, and gave the administrative direction to the commandant-general of the naval station and its immediate director.2[Regarding the same school,Census of Philippines, iii, p. 613 says:]As a consequence of the abolition of the tribunal of commerce existing in the city of Manila, which had charge of the school, the government undertook the supervision of it, by superior order, which provided that the personnel thereof should be considered as public officials, and that the funds on which it depended for its support should be turned into the treasury....The nautical school3was not very well attendedby the young Filipinos, the cause for which is not understood in view of the fact that this is a country in which navigation is one of the most powerful mercantile resources, and whose inhabitants have special and exceptional qualifications therefor. The lack of interest shown in studies of this character can be attributed only to the little protection, lack of means and of opportunities, afforded upon the conclusion of the course.
[Concerning the professional nautical school,Archipiélago Filipinosays:]
This school, which was created at the instance ofthe consulate of commerce, by command of his Majesty, dated January 1, 1820, was ruled by the regulations of 1837, which were modified by the royal order of October 19, 1860. In this school was studied the profession of pilot of merchant marine. The theoretical teaching was given in it in four years’ time;1while the practical teaching was given in vessels on the high sea, after the pupils had received, by virtue of examinations, certificates as deserving persons.
The total number of pupils was usually fifty or sixty. They were mostly Indians, who, as they did not master the Spanish language, did not derive all the profit which would have been reported under other circumstances, and many of them after the knowledge acquired in the first two courses, chose a more lucrative profession.
At first it was supported with its own funds and under the direction of the Board and Tribunal of Commerce, but later, upon the suppression of the Board and Tribunal, the school and its funds passed under the control of the state, which furnished its expenses, and gave the administrative direction to the commandant-general of the naval station and its immediate director.2
[Regarding the same school,Census of Philippines, iii, p. 613 says:]
As a consequence of the abolition of the tribunal of commerce existing in the city of Manila, which had charge of the school, the government undertook the supervision of it, by superior order, which provided that the personnel thereof should be considered as public officials, and that the funds on which it depended for its support should be turned into the treasury....
The nautical school3was not very well attendedby the young Filipinos, the cause for which is not understood in view of the fact that this is a country in which navigation is one of the most powerful mercantile resources, and whose inhabitants have special and exceptional qualifications therefor. The lack of interest shown in studies of this character can be attributed only to the little protection, lack of means and of opportunities, afforded upon the conclusion of the course.
1See the program of these theoretical studies, inCensus of Philippines, iii, p. 613.↑2There was also at Manila, for many years, a military academy for the education of the sons of military men residing in the colony, as well as for soldiers and non-commissioned officers who desired to fit themselves for promotion. The son of a native needed great influence to enable him to enter, and such had generally to enlist as a soldier, more especially since the age-limit was lowered. Formerly, when the scale of ages was different in the colonies from the scale in Spain, officers graduated from this academy, but later when the scales were made uniform, this academy was closed, and opened again afterward under different conditions. Its candidates were eligible candidates for admission to the general military academy of Spain at Toledo, which annually gave notice to the academy of the number of scholars which it could accommodate. Many Filipinos took advantage of this and became efficient military men. The instruction given in the academy seems to have been superior to that afforded in many of the other institutions, and examinations were comparatively strict. Annual attendance was generally about 100. Since American occupation a military academy has been suggested for the Filipinos. SeeReport of Philippine Commission, 1900, i, p. 40, 1900–1903, p. 128; andReport of Commissioner of Education, 1899–1900, ii, pp. 1627, 1628.↑3This is the oldest educational institution of the Philippines under the supervision of the Bureau of Education. The building of the school was destroyed by the earthquake of 1863. A nautical school was opened by the American government in Manila, December 15, 1899, with an enrolment of 22 pupils, and under the superintendency of Lieut. Commander V. S. Cottman, U.S.N., who was assisted by three instructors. He was relieved by Lieut. George F. Cooper, December 25, 1899. The course of instruction was at first for three years. At the beginning of the new term in June, 1900, four more instructors were appointed. There were five instructors at the opening of the first term in 1901. The instruction was first in Spanish, but for the sake of greater efficiency English was substituted. In July, 1901, the school opened with 83 pupils. In October, 1901, the course was extended to four years. The studies include English, mathematics, history, drawing, mechanics, and practical seamanship. The method of instruction and discipline are based upon those of the United States Naval Academy. The building, although well equipped in many ways, is not itself adequate for the purpose for which it is used. The school has not attained the excellence desired, due in part to the irregular attendance and lack of discipline, although attendance continues to increase. SeeReport of the Commissioner of Education(Department of the Interior), 1901, ii, pp. 1421–1423, and 1902, ii, pp. 2244–2246;Report of the Philippine Commission, 1900, i, p. 39, ii, p. 473, 1900–1903, p. 271, 1904, iii, pp. 826, 827, and 888, 889; andCensus of Philippines, iii, pp. 663, 664.The Philippine budget for 1880–81 included 4,397.33 pesos for the staff of the nautical academy, and those of painting and designing, history and bookkeeping, and the botanical garden; and 7,786.32 pesos for equipment. See Sanciano y Goson’sProgreso de Filipinas(Madrid, 1881), pp. 23, 24.↑
1See the program of these theoretical studies, inCensus of Philippines, iii, p. 613.↑
2There was also at Manila, for many years, a military academy for the education of the sons of military men residing in the colony, as well as for soldiers and non-commissioned officers who desired to fit themselves for promotion. The son of a native needed great influence to enable him to enter, and such had generally to enlist as a soldier, more especially since the age-limit was lowered. Formerly, when the scale of ages was different in the colonies from the scale in Spain, officers graduated from this academy, but later when the scales were made uniform, this academy was closed, and opened again afterward under different conditions. Its candidates were eligible candidates for admission to the general military academy of Spain at Toledo, which annually gave notice to the academy of the number of scholars which it could accommodate. Many Filipinos took advantage of this and became efficient military men. The instruction given in the academy seems to have been superior to that afforded in many of the other institutions, and examinations were comparatively strict. Annual attendance was generally about 100. Since American occupation a military academy has been suggested for the Filipinos. SeeReport of Philippine Commission, 1900, i, p. 40, 1900–1903, p. 128; andReport of Commissioner of Education, 1899–1900, ii, pp. 1627, 1628.↑
3This is the oldest educational institution of the Philippines under the supervision of the Bureau of Education. The building of the school was destroyed by the earthquake of 1863. A nautical school was opened by the American government in Manila, December 15, 1899, with an enrolment of 22 pupils, and under the superintendency of Lieut. Commander V. S. Cottman, U.S.N., who was assisted by three instructors. He was relieved by Lieut. George F. Cooper, December 25, 1899. The course of instruction was at first for three years. At the beginning of the new term in June, 1900, four more instructors were appointed. There were five instructors at the opening of the first term in 1901. The instruction was first in Spanish, but for the sake of greater efficiency English was substituted. In July, 1901, the school opened with 83 pupils. In October, 1901, the course was extended to four years. The studies include English, mathematics, history, drawing, mechanics, and practical seamanship. The method of instruction and discipline are based upon those of the United States Naval Academy. The building, although well equipped in many ways, is not itself adequate for the purpose for which it is used. The school has not attained the excellence desired, due in part to the irregular attendance and lack of discipline, although attendance continues to increase. SeeReport of the Commissioner of Education(Department of the Interior), 1901, ii, pp. 1421–1423, and 1902, ii, pp. 2244–2246;Report of the Philippine Commission, 1900, i, p. 39, ii, p. 473, 1900–1903, p. 271, 1904, iii, pp. 826, 827, and 888, 889; andCensus of Philippines, iii, pp. 663, 664.
The Philippine budget for 1880–81 included 4,397.33 pesos for the staff of the nautical academy, and those of painting and designing, history and bookkeeping, and the botanical garden; and 7,786.32 pesos for equipment. See Sanciano y Goson’sProgreso de Filipinas(Madrid, 1881), pp. 23, 24.↑
BOYS’ SINGING SCHOOLThis school, whose chief end was to furnish good soprano voices for the singing in the holy cathedral church of Manila, was founded in 1742 by the right reverend Señor Rodriguez, archbishop of these islands, and it has subsisted and still subsists with the same property from the pious bequest of its foundation.It consists of a director and a teacher of primary instruction, both priests; one teacher of singing, chanting, and vocalization; another of the piano, organ, and composition; and another of stringed instruments. The children sopranos number eighteen, though at times there have been more, and all have been supported, clothed, and, as well, frequently assisted in the career which they have desired to adopt.The musical instruction given to those boys is according to the methods pursued in the conservatory of Madrid; for singing and harmony, Eslava; for the piano, Aranguren; for the organ, Gimeno; for the violin, its method and studies, Alard; and for vocalization, Romero.Because of the tender age of these boys, since they enter at the age of six or eight years, and remain until that of fourteen, they are not permitted, exceptin rare exceptions, to play wind instruments. The gain due to this institution is public and well known to all who have heard the harmony produced by those sopranos in the churches of Manila, and the skill demonstrated by the same in instrumental music for almost three centuries past. Not few of them have been justly praised and rewarded in musical contests where they were presented, for example, in theLiceo Artístico[i.e., Artistic Lyceum] later theSociedad Musical Filipina de Santa Cecilia[i.e., Filipino musical society of St. Cecilia].1This institution has contributed not a little to the propagation of musical art and good taste.1This society was founded in Manila in 1876 under the name ofLiceo Artístico, which it changed in 1889 as above. Its purpose was to protect the moral and material interests of the Filipino musicians resident in the Philippines, and advance the musical progress and education of the natives. It gave with some irregularity a private monthly concert and three public concerts per year. It began to decline in 1891 and perished amid the political upheaval. SeeArchipiélago Filipino, i, p. 354.↑
BOYS’ SINGING SCHOOL
This school, whose chief end was to furnish good soprano voices for the singing in the holy cathedral church of Manila, was founded in 1742 by the right reverend Señor Rodriguez, archbishop of these islands, and it has subsisted and still subsists with the same property from the pious bequest of its foundation.It consists of a director and a teacher of primary instruction, both priests; one teacher of singing, chanting, and vocalization; another of the piano, organ, and composition; and another of stringed instruments. The children sopranos number eighteen, though at times there have been more, and all have been supported, clothed, and, as well, frequently assisted in the career which they have desired to adopt.The musical instruction given to those boys is according to the methods pursued in the conservatory of Madrid; for singing and harmony, Eslava; for the piano, Aranguren; for the organ, Gimeno; for the violin, its method and studies, Alard; and for vocalization, Romero.Because of the tender age of these boys, since they enter at the age of six or eight years, and remain until that of fourteen, they are not permitted, exceptin rare exceptions, to play wind instruments. The gain due to this institution is public and well known to all who have heard the harmony produced by those sopranos in the churches of Manila, and the skill demonstrated by the same in instrumental music for almost three centuries past. Not few of them have been justly praised and rewarded in musical contests where they were presented, for example, in theLiceo Artístico[i.e., Artistic Lyceum] later theSociedad Musical Filipina de Santa Cecilia[i.e., Filipino musical society of St. Cecilia].1This institution has contributed not a little to the propagation of musical art and good taste.
This school, whose chief end was to furnish good soprano voices for the singing in the holy cathedral church of Manila, was founded in 1742 by the right reverend Señor Rodriguez, archbishop of these islands, and it has subsisted and still subsists with the same property from the pious bequest of its foundation.
It consists of a director and a teacher of primary instruction, both priests; one teacher of singing, chanting, and vocalization; another of the piano, organ, and composition; and another of stringed instruments. The children sopranos number eighteen, though at times there have been more, and all have been supported, clothed, and, as well, frequently assisted in the career which they have desired to adopt.
The musical instruction given to those boys is according to the methods pursued in the conservatory of Madrid; for singing and harmony, Eslava; for the piano, Aranguren; for the organ, Gimeno; for the violin, its method and studies, Alard; and for vocalization, Romero.
Because of the tender age of these boys, since they enter at the age of six or eight years, and remain until that of fourteen, they are not permitted, exceptin rare exceptions, to play wind instruments. The gain due to this institution is public and well known to all who have heard the harmony produced by those sopranos in the churches of Manila, and the skill demonstrated by the same in instrumental music for almost three centuries past. Not few of them have been justly praised and rewarded in musical contests where they were presented, for example, in theLiceo Artístico[i.e., Artistic Lyceum] later theSociedad Musical Filipina de Santa Cecilia[i.e., Filipino musical society of St. Cecilia].1This institution has contributed not a little to the propagation of musical art and good taste.
1This society was founded in Manila in 1876 under the name ofLiceo Artístico, which it changed in 1889 as above. Its purpose was to protect the moral and material interests of the Filipino musicians resident in the Philippines, and advance the musical progress and education of the natives. It gave with some irregularity a private monthly concert and three public concerts per year. It began to decline in 1891 and perished amid the political upheaval. SeeArchipiélago Filipino, i, p. 354.↑
1This society was founded in Manila in 1876 under the name ofLiceo Artístico, which it changed in 1889 as above. Its purpose was to protect the moral and material interests of the Filipino musicians resident in the Philippines, and advance the musical progress and education of the natives. It gave with some irregularity a private monthly concert and three public concerts per year. It began to decline in 1891 and perished amid the political upheaval. SeeArchipiélago Filipino, i, p. 354.↑
PUBLIC INSTRUCTIONPrimary instruction cannot be considered in a backward state, and, indeed, I believe that, in proportion, there are more persons who can read and write in these islands than in España, and in some [other] civilized countries.1In each village thereis a suitable building for the use of a school, to which all the children must go except during the months of sowing and of harvest. The master, and other expenses, are paid from the communal fund. In view of this I have wondered at seeing in many foreigners the strange belief that the government does not permit the learning of reading and writing; for I can assert that, in the archives of Manila I have found many old and recently-dictated decrees, with a spirit diametrically the contrary, which repeatedly enjoin the teaching of the Castilian language. Women also share in this benefit, and I have found girls who lived not only far from the capital, but in an isolated house distant from the village, and, notwithstanding, they had learned to read and write. One must confess, however, that they scarcely know other books than those of devotion, especially a poem entitled thePasion de Cristo[i.e., Passion of Christ]. Besides the said schools, which are equal in number to the villages and the schools of some private masters,2both in the chief cities of theprovinces and in the capital where their number is very considerable (there being among them not a few of music and drawing), there are found in Manila various public institutions of education for men and women. In regard to them one can form a correct judgment by the following explanation.UNIVERSITY OF SANTO TOMÁSThis college was founded at the beginning of the seventeenth century; their Excellencies, Benavides and Soria, the one archbishop of Manila, and the other bishop of Nueva Segovia, giving their libraries for that purpose, and, in addition, the former giving 1,000 pesos and the latter 1,800. Already finished in 1619, it was admitted as a house of the province of Preachers in the islands, as appears from the records of the intermediary chapter celebrated in Santo Domingo, April 20, with the suitable license of the superior government and of the ordinary. In 1620 it already had lecturers and masters for public teaching, and November 27, 1623, his Majesty admitted it under his royal protection. It was erected into a university at the instance of the said monarch Felipe IV, by a bull of Innocent X, November 20, 1645, which was passed by the supreme Council of Indias July 28, 1646. By a decree of May 17, 1680, the university was received under the royal protection, his Majesty declaring himself its patron. In consequence of another decree of December 7, 1781, the rules were made, which, approved by the superior government October 20, 1786 as they were prepared are those which are in force at present. Their cloister is composed of various doctors, licentiates, and masters, although in reality only twenty-one of the first and second kinds form it. The number of collegiates is ruled by circumstances, and the college supports them, for they have to dress and provide shoes for many. Their funds are ministered by lay-brother religious. This college and royal university is incharge of the Dominican religious, who teach Latin, logic, physics, metaphysics, moral and canon law, and theology. In addition there is a chair of institute, and another of native law. In this university 581 students are studying, who are classified thus:Collegiates61Capistas315Day Pupils505Total581COLLEGE OF SAN JOSEBy a decree of June 8, 1585, his Majesty ordered the establishment of a college to be attempted in Manila, in which the sons of the Spanish inhabitants might be instructed in virtue and letters under the direction of the Jesuit fathers. But, although the governor Dasmariñas enacted an edict for that purpose, it was not fulfilled until the year 1601 when the college of San José was instituted in some houses next to the house of the Jesuits. There were thirteen collegiates when it was first opened, but in a short time their number reached twenty. Among the first was a nephew of Governor Tello, a son of Dr. Morga, senior auditor, and other sons of influential citizens. At the beginning the collegiates contributed a certain sum for their own support, but soon there were greater means. One of the most considerable was the endowment left in his will by the illustrious gentleman, Don Esteban Rodriguez de Figueroa, governor of Mindanao, who was recognized as patron of the college. In 1605, Father Pedro Montes became rector, he founded the chairof scholastic theology, and promoted those of philosophy and Latin, selecting to take charge of them the most pronounced men of talent of his Society. During the reign of Felipe IV, the latter obtained from his Holiness, Gregory XV, authority to concede solemn degrees in philosophy and theology. The latter’s bull and the royal decree of concession were celebrated in Manila by a public procession, and when they were presented to the most illustrious Serrano, then archbishop, he offered obedience and observance on his part. February 18, 1707, his Majesty continued for six years the assignment that had been made to the college of 400 pesos, and 400 fanegas of rice. May 3, 1722, the title of “Royal” was conceded to the college. November 15, 1747, the enjoyment of an encomienda in the villages of Sulát and Tavig, in the province of Samar, was also continued for ten years. February 3, 1748, his Majesty confirmed in favor of this college the lands of the estates of Mariquina and San Pedro Yunasán. At present it possesses that estate and the estate of San Juan de Lian, which are administered by the rector. With their products the college takes care of the support of twenty-two collegiates, the house and food of the vice-rector and masters, and the annual pay given to them and to the rector. They also admit capistas who pay fifty pesos per year, and receive public teaching therein in philosophy, rhetoric, and Latin. From the expulsion of the Jesuits until the year 1777 this institution was closed.COLLEGE OF SAN JUAN DE LETRANIt owed its foundation to the charitable zeal of Juan Gerónimo Guerrero, who in the year 1630 dedicated himself to gathering orphan boys, towhom he taught reading and writing and the Christian doctrine, paying for their support and clothing from the abundant alms with “which the citizens of Manila aided him.”This institution was recommended to the supreme Council of the Indias by the government of these islands, and later his Majesty recommended it to Governors Fajardo and Corcuera. Before dying, the aged Guerrero took the habit as lay-brother in [the convent of] Santo Domingo, and made that order a formal bequest of his advanced charitable work. Later it was erected into a college and received under the royal protection, his Majesty conceding it some encomiendas, or annuities for its support. At present it maintains at its own cost twenty-one Spanish orphan lads, with the 600 pesos to which amounts the product of the annuities which are collected from the alcalde-mayor of Pangasinan by a Dominican religious. It also receives Indian and mestizo collegiates who pay fifty pesos per year apiece for their support. Their number is not fixed. Under the title of sacristan, porters, librarians, and other mechanical trades, there are various people who pay nothing. Their studies are carried on in the university of Santo Tomás, except that of grammar. At the present time this college has 239 students, counting orphans, capistas and others.CHARITY SCHOOL [ESCUELA PIA] OF MANILA4Don Pedro Vivanco having begun to promote its establishment in 1803, it was installed in 1817 under the direction of a special assembly composed of distinguished citizens, among whom was a member of the ecclesiastical cabildo, and another of the tribunalof the consulado. The citizens gave the funds which were to maintain so useful an institution, but being drawn upon, as was the general rule, those funds had the same fate as other large sums of the commerce and charitable funds of this capital, and were lost through the political happenings of the kingdom of Mexico. The assembly having been extinguished for lack of funds, the city took under its charge the charity school. Reading, writing, Christian doctrine, Spanish grammar, and slate-work arithmetic are taught there. The pupils must be Spanish; the children of rich people pay two pesos per month; those of the second class one; and the poor nothing. For admission, a ticket from the president of the dissolved assembly was sufficient. Now it is given by the regidor, who is serving his turn in governing the institution. In that school, there are at present 50 pupils, of whom 26 receive their teaching gratuitously.NAVAL ACADEMYThrough the repeated instances of the consulado, this school was established in Manila by royal permission in the year 1820. Arithmetic, elementary geometry, plain and spherical trigonometry, cosmography, and piloting are taught by their respective professors; and in addition practical geometry applied to the construction of hydrographical maps and plans, with the method of drawing them. Everything is according to the course of study of the navy, written by royal order for the teaching of said schools by the chief of squadron of the royal fleet Don Gabriel Ciscar. It is directed by special rules. The expenses of that institution have been methitherto from the funds of avería. Its conservation was committed to the consulado, but since the extinction of that tribunal, it has been givenad interimto the present tribunal of commerce by the ruling of the management, inspection in the scientific or teaching portion being reserved for the chief of the military marine. At present it has 51 students in its halls.COMMERCIAL SCHOOLThe establishment of this school was discussed by the assembly of its name October 1, 1839, approved by the superior government, January 15, 1840. Its inauguration took place, July 15 of the same year. Bookkeeping, and commercial correspondence, the French language, and also the English, when a suitable professor is to be had, are taught in that school.5SCHOOL OF SANTA POTENCIANAIt was erected by Governor Dasmariñas, by virtue of an express royal mandate contained in the instructions which were delivered to them August 9, 1589,6in which section 27 reads: “Upon your arrival at the Filipinas Islands, you shall ascertain how and where, and with what endowment, a convent for the shelter of girls may be founded, so that both those who should come from here and those, born there, maylive in it, so that they may live modestly and after being well instructed may go out therefrom to be married and bear children.” That zealous governor, with the efficacy and activity which distinguished his government, did what his Majesty ordered him; for, in a royal order of January 27, 1593, the measures which had been taken with the city are approved and ordered to be continued, namely, that the said convent should be founded in the church of San Andres. Shortly afterward that pious institution must have been completed, as is inferred from another royal order of June 11, 1594: “The rules and regulations,” says his Majesty to the governor, “which you have made for the girls’ school have been examined and are approved, and thus you shall have them observed.” It was further provided how they were to act at the wheel, or in the parlor. The chaplain was also to be the manager and he was to be an approved person of forty years old or upward. The clothing of the collegiates, of the mother superior, and the teacher, was to be modest and cheap, and was sent by his Majesty. The governor was authorized to name the sum which was to be paid annually by any other woman who wished of her own accord to enter the institution, in order to take shelter therein, provided that such sum should be moderate.7There is no copy of the first rules of this school in existence, for they probably perished with its archives, and ten or twelve inmates in the awful earthquake of 1645, which overthrew the edifice and destroyed the greater part of the city. In fulfilmentof a royal order of November 27, 1686, and superior rulings of March 15, 1691, Doctor Silva, then chaplain of said school, published, in the following April, the ordinances of Santa Potentiana, which merited royal approbation November 14, 1825, in which year the newly printed rules were ordered to be observed.In 1736 the free inmates were the daughters of Spaniards who had served his Majesty in the islands. They were aided with what was necessary for their support and clothing, and the physician and the medicine for the sick were paid for them, besides a suitable funeral for the dead. The funds of the college did not permit, in case one married, to give her a suitable dowry, but such a one received two hundred pesos from the charitable fund which was established for that purpose in 1686 by Don Cristóbal Romero, castellan of the fort of Santiago, and in the time of Governor Tamon, fifty pesos more, which he gave from his own purse, to each one of the inmates when she was married. In 1729, Auditor Don José Antonio Pabon founded for the same purpose another charitable fund by giving 2,823 pesos, which the royal treasury owed him on account of pay, but that foundation had no effect until 1749. The funds were in charge of the managers, who very commonly were the royal officials, and were increased by investing them suitably, until the time when they entered the royal treasury with the other incomes of the school. At present that school occupies a house which was bought at the royal account, for its ancient site has been destined for the building of a fortification. From the same treasury, the expenses of a small chapel, a physician, apothecary shop, infirmary, clothing for the pupils, and sixservant girls are met, which are estimated at 700 pesos annually; and those of a sacristan, fourfaginantes[i.e., fagot-gatherers], and one purchaser. By a provision of the Superior Board of the royal treasury of September 22, 1808, money was subscribed for the maintenance of a rectress, a portress, and twenty-four inmates at the rate of one and one-half reals per day to each one, and monthly from the royal magazines, 46 baskets ofpinagua8rice of 15 gantas, 25 quintals of wood, and 17 gantas of cocoanut oil for their light.SCHOOL OF SANTA ISABELSince the foundation of the confraternity of the Santa Misericordia, their financial board maintained the management of many poor Spanish orphan girls who were reared in Santa Potenciana, and in private houses; but having bought an edifice in which to gather them, the foundation of this school was accomplished at the end of the year 1632. It is in the immediate charge and care of the purveyor. The first rules for its government were made in 1650, and they were retained with some slight alterations until 1813. In that year they were entirely revised, and these latter are the ones which are observed at present. It has a chapel which is kept very neat and clean, which is dedicated to the Lord of the treasury.The girl pensioners contribute sixty pesos per year for their fees. In addition, there are some poor young women who are known under the name of supernumeraries [agregadas], who are maintained through charity.The rectress is the superior of the school, and issubordinate to the purveyor. In grave cases which arise, she consults the financial board, and if that board is not created with power to take action, she convokes the brotherhood and in general council the advisable action is agreed upon with the assistance of theologues and jurists. This school contains:Scholars with beca51Free orphan girls18Idemboarders14Abandoned7Supernumeraries12Total102There are also at present for the interior service of the house one chaplain, one physician, twelve maid servants, and eight man servants; these last do not live in the school.BEATERIO OF SANTA CATALINA DE SENAIt was founded in 1696 by Mother Francisca del Espíritu Santo, a Spanish woman born in Manila, and by the very reverend father, Fray Juan de Santo Domingo, provincial of the Dominicans. Its object is to teach Spanish girls how to read, write, reckon, the Christian doctrine, to sew, etc. In that duty the necessary beatas are occupied. They obey a superior whom they appoint from their own number, and such person takes the title of prioress. At present this school has 26 Spanish girls and 60 supernumeraries and servants.9BEATERIO OF SAN SEBASTIAN DE CALUMPANGIt was begun in 1719 by four Filipino girls, who gave themselves exclusively to the service of God, and that of the Virgin of Carmel. In 1735 the beaterio was given form at the petition of the Recollect provincial, Fray Andres de San Fulgencio. The beatas were permitted to take the habit as manteletas of the discalced Augustinians. Their number was not to exceed twelve, and the institution was to remain subject to the vice-patron. In 1754, a measure was started as to whether the beatas ought to pay tribute or not, and the custom which favors the negative was ordered to be followed. They live in community without any vow. Each year they nominate one prioress. They are sustained by alms and by their own work. The priorate of San Sebastian contributes 100 cavans of palay, and 300 pesos annually, because the beatas sew the scapularies of Carmel, wash the clothes of the Church, and of the religious resident therein; and the convent of Manila 200 cavans and 300 pesos more for the washing of the clothes of the sacristy and of the religious. Orphan girls are received and are taught reading, writing, the Christian doctrine, sewing, etc. For the very little girls the beaterio receives what their relatives care to give. Those who can work pay nothing if they work; but if they do not work they pay three or four pesos per month according to their circumstances. Some Spanish women also enter for the [religious] exercises. At present this beaterio has 12 beatas, 24 larger girls who are being educated, 16 smaller ones, and one little girl boarder, with someother widows and married women who also live in this retreat.BEATERIO OF SAN IGNACIOIt was founded in 1699 under the direction of the Jesuit fathers. Its benefactress and first beata was Mother Ignacia del Espíritu Santo, a native of Binongo, who died in 1748, at the age of eighty. It has 25 beatas, 59 servants, and 55 wards, [some of] whom pay four pesos monthly for their support, and some two or three pesos, but these latter assist in the kitchen and washing once a week. This institution is supported by the alms and by the products of some sewing and by the washing of clothes. Every year there are exercises held there which begin in October; those who attend it are Filipino women. They are divided into three shifts, and about 300 of them assemble, each of whom pays two pesos. From that sum they meet the expenses of preachers, confessors, and their support. Since the expulsion of the Jesuits, this beaterio has been under the direction of the provisor of the archbishopric, and for lack of a shelter-house, it supplies its place. The object of the foundation was that Filipino girls might be reared in it and taught embroidery, sewing, reading, and writing.BEATERIO OF SANTA ROSAMother Paula de la Santísima Trinidad, native of Cataluña, had scarcely arrived at Manila in 1750, when she dedicated herself to the education of girls and was the origin of this foundation. By a royal decree of September 22, 1774, his Majesty ordered that the house or beaterio founded by this goodwoman should take care of the education of every class of girls. It is maintained by alms, by the work of their hands, and by the few small fees which some girls pay for their support therein, where they are taught reading, sewing, etc. Neither their number nor that of the servants is fixed. His Majesty has taken it under his protection, and entrusted it in his name to the regent of the Audiencia, with the fitting powers.BEATERIO OF PASIGIn this village there is a house of teaching, or a beaterio entitled Santa Rita, which was founded in 1740 with the necessary licenses by the calced Augustinian, Fray Felix de Trillo, then parish priest of Pasig. Its primary object is to provide shelter for Filipino orphan girls, and to teach them reading, writing, Christian doctrine, sewing, embroidery, and other employments fitting for their sex. They dress when they go to the parish church in the habit of mantelates of St. Augustine, but they take no vow or obligation. Those educated and sheltered dress as in their own homes. This beaterio is sustained by the work of their hands and by alms, under the care and solicitous management of the parish priests. The latter are not those who give the least alms for its useful preservation, and that from the product of some estates which they have rented out, and which they acquired by their economy. Furthermore, the young women who enter as wards pay when their relatives are able, according to their wealth, up to the sum of two pesos per month. That is the greatest fee, but it is more usual for each one who is educated to contribute a few cavans of palay per year—generallyabout ten or twelve. But those who are quite poor and orphans pay nothing. This retreat has at the present time sixteen beatas.1Semper, writing in 1869, says of education among the natives. “The Christian Spaniard has not been able to exert much more influence of a spiritual than of a political nature upon the character of the natives. Popular education was formerly, and is now, entirely in the hands of the priests. Excepting the professors of common and Roman law all the chairs of the University of Santo Tomás of Manila are in the hands of the priests, who naturally arrange not only the theological lectures, but those upon metaphysics, physics, and logic, as well, according to the principles of the Catholic Church. In the provinces every village has its public schools in which instruction is obligatory; but, besides reading and writing, only Christian doctrine and church music are taught. This instruction, moreover, is by no means generally given in Spanish; at least, the general introduction of Spanish is still so recent that it will be long before the Spanish officials will be able to converse, even with their subordinates, in Spanish. On the east coast of Mindanao, one of the oldest and most settled provinces, the native dialect was exclusively used until forty or fifty years ago, and the priests used the old Malay alphabet until the beginning of the century, even in their official business. The number of natives—the Spaniards call them ‘Indians’—who can read and write is tolerably large, but owing to the total unreliability of all statistics on the subject, nothing accurate can be stated. In 1863 the Government attempted to make an enumeration of the population, and, incidentally, to note the number of those who could read and write. The fact that the result was never published seems to confirm the opinion that an unsatisfactory condition of things was found.” SeeCensus of Philippines, iii, p. 577.↑2Under late Spanish domination, there were 67 private Latin schools in the archipelago, of which 23 were in the province of Manila, and nearly all the others in Luzón. In the term of 1886–87, there were 41 private schools, of secondary instruction, twelve of which were in the suburbs of Manila, two in the walled city, and the rest in the provinces of Luzón and the Visayas. Of the 41 professors in charge thereof, only one had the degree of doctor, eight were licentiates, and the rest held the degree of bachelor of arts. The course of study in these schools included Latin and Spanish grammar, Christian doctrine and sacred history, general geography and geography of Spain and the Philippines, Latin translation and analysis, elementary Greek, general history and history of Spain and the Philippines, arithmetic and algebra, rhetoric and poetry, geometry and plane trigonometry, and French. The attendance in 1895–96 was 1,915. They were under the charge of licentiates, in philosophy or science, or bachelors of arts who must have passed a teacher’s examination, and were under inspectors, one of whom was appointed by the rector of the university, who was ex-officio head of all the schools of the islands. Some of the schools had a one-year course, others two, and others three. The teachers were Filipinos. The supervisors of public instruction had the power to visit the schools, and recommend their establishment or removal. The pupils were required to enrol and be examined in the university, except those in distant provinces, who could be examined by a board composed of the alcalde-mayor, the parish priest, and the respective professor. The result of the examination was sent to the secretary of the university. The Dominicans had one private school at Dagupan (Pangasinán), founded 1890–91; the Franciscans, that of Guinobatan (Albay), founded 1894–95; and the Recollects that of Bacólod (Negros Occidental), founded 1895. There are still a number of private schools in the archipelago. During recent years many have sprung up in Manila and the provinces which give primary and secondary education, although the instruction is generally poor. Some of them have been started in answer to the complaint of some Filipino parents that the American schools are godless; some have been started by Roman Catholic priests for the purpose of combating purely secular instruction; and some are the expression of Filipino nationality and independence. Within ten months, since June, 1901, 29 new private schools were opened in Manila alone. They are generally patterned after the old method, and are either teaching in Spanish or the vernacular. The popular demand for English has compelled many of them to make a show of teaching it, but it is generally being attempted without adequate teachers. It was suggested that the curriculum in such schools, except in matters of religious instruction, conform to the course of the public schools, and that they be under the official inspection, such a course making it possible to have a real compulsory school law. The Liceo de Manila is a school organized and run by Filipinos. The late C. J. Zulueta was professor of history in this school and read an address at its opening, June 19, 1902. See LeRoy’sPhilippine Life, pp. 223, 224;Census of Philippines, iii, pp. 599, 600;Report of Commissioner of Education, 1899–1900, ii, p. 1622, 1901, ii, pp. 1437, 1438; andArchipiélago Filipino, i, pp. 344, 345.↑3i.e., Those wearing the cape or cloak.↑4Later transformed into the Ateneo Municipal,q.v.,post.↑5This school was located in the same building as the nautical school, and was established July 15, 1839 at the request of the board of trade, which had presented its petition to this effect, October 1, 1838. The report of 1883 shows a total enrolment of 562 pupils in double entry bookkeeping for the years 1866–72, with a graduation of 91; and an enrolment of 228 for the study of English, with a graduation of 57. SeeCensus of Philippines, iii, p. 614; and Montero y Vidal,Historia, iii, p. 30.↑6See these instructions, inVOL. VII, pp. 141–172.↑7SeeVOL. XVIII, pp. 282–288 for documents of 1610–19 regarding the grant of an encomienda made to this school or seminary.↑8Perhaps forpinaua, which signifies “half-pounded rice,” or “rice without the husk, but not bleached.”↑9Its foundation was approved in 1816, and endowed with the fitting rules and vocations, it had for some time only the character of a beaterio. In 1865 it was elevated to the rank of a school of higher grade. SeeArchipiélago Filipino, i, pp. 352, 353.↑
PUBLIC INSTRUCTION
Primary instruction cannot be considered in a backward state, and, indeed, I believe that, in proportion, there are more persons who can read and write in these islands than in España, and in some [other] civilized countries.1In each village thereis a suitable building for the use of a school, to which all the children must go except during the months of sowing and of harvest. The master, and other expenses, are paid from the communal fund. In view of this I have wondered at seeing in many foreigners the strange belief that the government does not permit the learning of reading and writing; for I can assert that, in the archives of Manila I have found many old and recently-dictated decrees, with a spirit diametrically the contrary, which repeatedly enjoin the teaching of the Castilian language. Women also share in this benefit, and I have found girls who lived not only far from the capital, but in an isolated house distant from the village, and, notwithstanding, they had learned to read and write. One must confess, however, that they scarcely know other books than those of devotion, especially a poem entitled thePasion de Cristo[i.e., Passion of Christ]. Besides the said schools, which are equal in number to the villages and the schools of some private masters,2both in the chief cities of theprovinces and in the capital where their number is very considerable (there being among them not a few of music and drawing), there are found in Manila various public institutions of education for men and women. In regard to them one can form a correct judgment by the following explanation.UNIVERSITY OF SANTO TOMÁSThis college was founded at the beginning of the seventeenth century; their Excellencies, Benavides and Soria, the one archbishop of Manila, and the other bishop of Nueva Segovia, giving their libraries for that purpose, and, in addition, the former giving 1,000 pesos and the latter 1,800. Already finished in 1619, it was admitted as a house of the province of Preachers in the islands, as appears from the records of the intermediary chapter celebrated in Santo Domingo, April 20, with the suitable license of the superior government and of the ordinary. In 1620 it already had lecturers and masters for public teaching, and November 27, 1623, his Majesty admitted it under his royal protection. It was erected into a university at the instance of the said monarch Felipe IV, by a bull of Innocent X, November 20, 1645, which was passed by the supreme Council of Indias July 28, 1646. By a decree of May 17, 1680, the university was received under the royal protection, his Majesty declaring himself its patron. In consequence of another decree of December 7, 1781, the rules were made, which, approved by the superior government October 20, 1786 as they were prepared are those which are in force at present. Their cloister is composed of various doctors, licentiates, and masters, although in reality only twenty-one of the first and second kinds form it. The number of collegiates is ruled by circumstances, and the college supports them, for they have to dress and provide shoes for many. Their funds are ministered by lay-brother religious. This college and royal university is incharge of the Dominican religious, who teach Latin, logic, physics, metaphysics, moral and canon law, and theology. In addition there is a chair of institute, and another of native law. In this university 581 students are studying, who are classified thus:Collegiates61Capistas315Day Pupils505Total581COLLEGE OF SAN JOSEBy a decree of June 8, 1585, his Majesty ordered the establishment of a college to be attempted in Manila, in which the sons of the Spanish inhabitants might be instructed in virtue and letters under the direction of the Jesuit fathers. But, although the governor Dasmariñas enacted an edict for that purpose, it was not fulfilled until the year 1601 when the college of San José was instituted in some houses next to the house of the Jesuits. There were thirteen collegiates when it was first opened, but in a short time their number reached twenty. Among the first was a nephew of Governor Tello, a son of Dr. Morga, senior auditor, and other sons of influential citizens. At the beginning the collegiates contributed a certain sum for their own support, but soon there were greater means. One of the most considerable was the endowment left in his will by the illustrious gentleman, Don Esteban Rodriguez de Figueroa, governor of Mindanao, who was recognized as patron of the college. In 1605, Father Pedro Montes became rector, he founded the chairof scholastic theology, and promoted those of philosophy and Latin, selecting to take charge of them the most pronounced men of talent of his Society. During the reign of Felipe IV, the latter obtained from his Holiness, Gregory XV, authority to concede solemn degrees in philosophy and theology. The latter’s bull and the royal decree of concession were celebrated in Manila by a public procession, and when they were presented to the most illustrious Serrano, then archbishop, he offered obedience and observance on his part. February 18, 1707, his Majesty continued for six years the assignment that had been made to the college of 400 pesos, and 400 fanegas of rice. May 3, 1722, the title of “Royal” was conceded to the college. November 15, 1747, the enjoyment of an encomienda in the villages of Sulát and Tavig, in the province of Samar, was also continued for ten years. February 3, 1748, his Majesty confirmed in favor of this college the lands of the estates of Mariquina and San Pedro Yunasán. At present it possesses that estate and the estate of San Juan de Lian, which are administered by the rector. With their products the college takes care of the support of twenty-two collegiates, the house and food of the vice-rector and masters, and the annual pay given to them and to the rector. They also admit capistas who pay fifty pesos per year, and receive public teaching therein in philosophy, rhetoric, and Latin. From the expulsion of the Jesuits until the year 1777 this institution was closed.COLLEGE OF SAN JUAN DE LETRANIt owed its foundation to the charitable zeal of Juan Gerónimo Guerrero, who in the year 1630 dedicated himself to gathering orphan boys, towhom he taught reading and writing and the Christian doctrine, paying for their support and clothing from the abundant alms with “which the citizens of Manila aided him.”This institution was recommended to the supreme Council of the Indias by the government of these islands, and later his Majesty recommended it to Governors Fajardo and Corcuera. Before dying, the aged Guerrero took the habit as lay-brother in [the convent of] Santo Domingo, and made that order a formal bequest of his advanced charitable work. Later it was erected into a college and received under the royal protection, his Majesty conceding it some encomiendas, or annuities for its support. At present it maintains at its own cost twenty-one Spanish orphan lads, with the 600 pesos to which amounts the product of the annuities which are collected from the alcalde-mayor of Pangasinan by a Dominican religious. It also receives Indian and mestizo collegiates who pay fifty pesos per year apiece for their support. Their number is not fixed. Under the title of sacristan, porters, librarians, and other mechanical trades, there are various people who pay nothing. Their studies are carried on in the university of Santo Tomás, except that of grammar. At the present time this college has 239 students, counting orphans, capistas and others.CHARITY SCHOOL [ESCUELA PIA] OF MANILA4Don Pedro Vivanco having begun to promote its establishment in 1803, it was installed in 1817 under the direction of a special assembly composed of distinguished citizens, among whom was a member of the ecclesiastical cabildo, and another of the tribunalof the consulado. The citizens gave the funds which were to maintain so useful an institution, but being drawn upon, as was the general rule, those funds had the same fate as other large sums of the commerce and charitable funds of this capital, and were lost through the political happenings of the kingdom of Mexico. The assembly having been extinguished for lack of funds, the city took under its charge the charity school. Reading, writing, Christian doctrine, Spanish grammar, and slate-work arithmetic are taught there. The pupils must be Spanish; the children of rich people pay two pesos per month; those of the second class one; and the poor nothing. For admission, a ticket from the president of the dissolved assembly was sufficient. Now it is given by the regidor, who is serving his turn in governing the institution. In that school, there are at present 50 pupils, of whom 26 receive their teaching gratuitously.NAVAL ACADEMYThrough the repeated instances of the consulado, this school was established in Manila by royal permission in the year 1820. Arithmetic, elementary geometry, plain and spherical trigonometry, cosmography, and piloting are taught by their respective professors; and in addition practical geometry applied to the construction of hydrographical maps and plans, with the method of drawing them. Everything is according to the course of study of the navy, written by royal order for the teaching of said schools by the chief of squadron of the royal fleet Don Gabriel Ciscar. It is directed by special rules. The expenses of that institution have been methitherto from the funds of avería. Its conservation was committed to the consulado, but since the extinction of that tribunal, it has been givenad interimto the present tribunal of commerce by the ruling of the management, inspection in the scientific or teaching portion being reserved for the chief of the military marine. At present it has 51 students in its halls.COMMERCIAL SCHOOLThe establishment of this school was discussed by the assembly of its name October 1, 1839, approved by the superior government, January 15, 1840. Its inauguration took place, July 15 of the same year. Bookkeeping, and commercial correspondence, the French language, and also the English, when a suitable professor is to be had, are taught in that school.5SCHOOL OF SANTA POTENCIANAIt was erected by Governor Dasmariñas, by virtue of an express royal mandate contained in the instructions which were delivered to them August 9, 1589,6in which section 27 reads: “Upon your arrival at the Filipinas Islands, you shall ascertain how and where, and with what endowment, a convent for the shelter of girls may be founded, so that both those who should come from here and those, born there, maylive in it, so that they may live modestly and after being well instructed may go out therefrom to be married and bear children.” That zealous governor, with the efficacy and activity which distinguished his government, did what his Majesty ordered him; for, in a royal order of January 27, 1593, the measures which had been taken with the city are approved and ordered to be continued, namely, that the said convent should be founded in the church of San Andres. Shortly afterward that pious institution must have been completed, as is inferred from another royal order of June 11, 1594: “The rules and regulations,” says his Majesty to the governor, “which you have made for the girls’ school have been examined and are approved, and thus you shall have them observed.” It was further provided how they were to act at the wheel, or in the parlor. The chaplain was also to be the manager and he was to be an approved person of forty years old or upward. The clothing of the collegiates, of the mother superior, and the teacher, was to be modest and cheap, and was sent by his Majesty. The governor was authorized to name the sum which was to be paid annually by any other woman who wished of her own accord to enter the institution, in order to take shelter therein, provided that such sum should be moderate.7There is no copy of the first rules of this school in existence, for they probably perished with its archives, and ten or twelve inmates in the awful earthquake of 1645, which overthrew the edifice and destroyed the greater part of the city. In fulfilmentof a royal order of November 27, 1686, and superior rulings of March 15, 1691, Doctor Silva, then chaplain of said school, published, in the following April, the ordinances of Santa Potentiana, which merited royal approbation November 14, 1825, in which year the newly printed rules were ordered to be observed.In 1736 the free inmates were the daughters of Spaniards who had served his Majesty in the islands. They were aided with what was necessary for their support and clothing, and the physician and the medicine for the sick were paid for them, besides a suitable funeral for the dead. The funds of the college did not permit, in case one married, to give her a suitable dowry, but such a one received two hundred pesos from the charitable fund which was established for that purpose in 1686 by Don Cristóbal Romero, castellan of the fort of Santiago, and in the time of Governor Tamon, fifty pesos more, which he gave from his own purse, to each one of the inmates when she was married. In 1729, Auditor Don José Antonio Pabon founded for the same purpose another charitable fund by giving 2,823 pesos, which the royal treasury owed him on account of pay, but that foundation had no effect until 1749. The funds were in charge of the managers, who very commonly were the royal officials, and were increased by investing them suitably, until the time when they entered the royal treasury with the other incomes of the school. At present that school occupies a house which was bought at the royal account, for its ancient site has been destined for the building of a fortification. From the same treasury, the expenses of a small chapel, a physician, apothecary shop, infirmary, clothing for the pupils, and sixservant girls are met, which are estimated at 700 pesos annually; and those of a sacristan, fourfaginantes[i.e., fagot-gatherers], and one purchaser. By a provision of the Superior Board of the royal treasury of September 22, 1808, money was subscribed for the maintenance of a rectress, a portress, and twenty-four inmates at the rate of one and one-half reals per day to each one, and monthly from the royal magazines, 46 baskets ofpinagua8rice of 15 gantas, 25 quintals of wood, and 17 gantas of cocoanut oil for their light.SCHOOL OF SANTA ISABELSince the foundation of the confraternity of the Santa Misericordia, their financial board maintained the management of many poor Spanish orphan girls who were reared in Santa Potenciana, and in private houses; but having bought an edifice in which to gather them, the foundation of this school was accomplished at the end of the year 1632. It is in the immediate charge and care of the purveyor. The first rules for its government were made in 1650, and they were retained with some slight alterations until 1813. In that year they were entirely revised, and these latter are the ones which are observed at present. It has a chapel which is kept very neat and clean, which is dedicated to the Lord of the treasury.The girl pensioners contribute sixty pesos per year for their fees. In addition, there are some poor young women who are known under the name of supernumeraries [agregadas], who are maintained through charity.The rectress is the superior of the school, and issubordinate to the purveyor. In grave cases which arise, she consults the financial board, and if that board is not created with power to take action, she convokes the brotherhood and in general council the advisable action is agreed upon with the assistance of theologues and jurists. This school contains:Scholars with beca51Free orphan girls18Idemboarders14Abandoned7Supernumeraries12Total102There are also at present for the interior service of the house one chaplain, one physician, twelve maid servants, and eight man servants; these last do not live in the school.BEATERIO OF SANTA CATALINA DE SENAIt was founded in 1696 by Mother Francisca del Espíritu Santo, a Spanish woman born in Manila, and by the very reverend father, Fray Juan de Santo Domingo, provincial of the Dominicans. Its object is to teach Spanish girls how to read, write, reckon, the Christian doctrine, to sew, etc. In that duty the necessary beatas are occupied. They obey a superior whom they appoint from their own number, and such person takes the title of prioress. At present this school has 26 Spanish girls and 60 supernumeraries and servants.9BEATERIO OF SAN SEBASTIAN DE CALUMPANGIt was begun in 1719 by four Filipino girls, who gave themselves exclusively to the service of God, and that of the Virgin of Carmel. In 1735 the beaterio was given form at the petition of the Recollect provincial, Fray Andres de San Fulgencio. The beatas were permitted to take the habit as manteletas of the discalced Augustinians. Their number was not to exceed twelve, and the institution was to remain subject to the vice-patron. In 1754, a measure was started as to whether the beatas ought to pay tribute or not, and the custom which favors the negative was ordered to be followed. They live in community without any vow. Each year they nominate one prioress. They are sustained by alms and by their own work. The priorate of San Sebastian contributes 100 cavans of palay, and 300 pesos annually, because the beatas sew the scapularies of Carmel, wash the clothes of the Church, and of the religious resident therein; and the convent of Manila 200 cavans and 300 pesos more for the washing of the clothes of the sacristy and of the religious. Orphan girls are received and are taught reading, writing, the Christian doctrine, sewing, etc. For the very little girls the beaterio receives what their relatives care to give. Those who can work pay nothing if they work; but if they do not work they pay three or four pesos per month according to their circumstances. Some Spanish women also enter for the [religious] exercises. At present this beaterio has 12 beatas, 24 larger girls who are being educated, 16 smaller ones, and one little girl boarder, with someother widows and married women who also live in this retreat.BEATERIO OF SAN IGNACIOIt was founded in 1699 under the direction of the Jesuit fathers. Its benefactress and first beata was Mother Ignacia del Espíritu Santo, a native of Binongo, who died in 1748, at the age of eighty. It has 25 beatas, 59 servants, and 55 wards, [some of] whom pay four pesos monthly for their support, and some two or three pesos, but these latter assist in the kitchen and washing once a week. This institution is supported by the alms and by the products of some sewing and by the washing of clothes. Every year there are exercises held there which begin in October; those who attend it are Filipino women. They are divided into three shifts, and about 300 of them assemble, each of whom pays two pesos. From that sum they meet the expenses of preachers, confessors, and their support. Since the expulsion of the Jesuits, this beaterio has been under the direction of the provisor of the archbishopric, and for lack of a shelter-house, it supplies its place. The object of the foundation was that Filipino girls might be reared in it and taught embroidery, sewing, reading, and writing.BEATERIO OF SANTA ROSAMother Paula de la Santísima Trinidad, native of Cataluña, had scarcely arrived at Manila in 1750, when she dedicated herself to the education of girls and was the origin of this foundation. By a royal decree of September 22, 1774, his Majesty ordered that the house or beaterio founded by this goodwoman should take care of the education of every class of girls. It is maintained by alms, by the work of their hands, and by the few small fees which some girls pay for their support therein, where they are taught reading, sewing, etc. Neither their number nor that of the servants is fixed. His Majesty has taken it under his protection, and entrusted it in his name to the regent of the Audiencia, with the fitting powers.BEATERIO OF PASIGIn this village there is a house of teaching, or a beaterio entitled Santa Rita, which was founded in 1740 with the necessary licenses by the calced Augustinian, Fray Felix de Trillo, then parish priest of Pasig. Its primary object is to provide shelter for Filipino orphan girls, and to teach them reading, writing, Christian doctrine, sewing, embroidery, and other employments fitting for their sex. They dress when they go to the parish church in the habit of mantelates of St. Augustine, but they take no vow or obligation. Those educated and sheltered dress as in their own homes. This beaterio is sustained by the work of their hands and by alms, under the care and solicitous management of the parish priests. The latter are not those who give the least alms for its useful preservation, and that from the product of some estates which they have rented out, and which they acquired by their economy. Furthermore, the young women who enter as wards pay when their relatives are able, according to their wealth, up to the sum of two pesos per month. That is the greatest fee, but it is more usual for each one who is educated to contribute a few cavans of palay per year—generallyabout ten or twelve. But those who are quite poor and orphans pay nothing. This retreat has at the present time sixteen beatas.
Primary instruction cannot be considered in a backward state, and, indeed, I believe that, in proportion, there are more persons who can read and write in these islands than in España, and in some [other] civilized countries.1In each village thereis a suitable building for the use of a school, to which all the children must go except during the months of sowing and of harvest. The master, and other expenses, are paid from the communal fund. In view of this I have wondered at seeing in many foreigners the strange belief that the government does not permit the learning of reading and writing; for I can assert that, in the archives of Manila I have found many old and recently-dictated decrees, with a spirit diametrically the contrary, which repeatedly enjoin the teaching of the Castilian language. Women also share in this benefit, and I have found girls who lived not only far from the capital, but in an isolated house distant from the village, and, notwithstanding, they had learned to read and write. One must confess, however, that they scarcely know other books than those of devotion, especially a poem entitled thePasion de Cristo[i.e., Passion of Christ]. Besides the said schools, which are equal in number to the villages and the schools of some private masters,2both in the chief cities of theprovinces and in the capital where their number is very considerable (there being among them not a few of music and drawing), there are found in Manila various public institutions of education for men and women. In regard to them one can form a correct judgment by the following explanation.
UNIVERSITY OF SANTO TOMÁSThis college was founded at the beginning of the seventeenth century; their Excellencies, Benavides and Soria, the one archbishop of Manila, and the other bishop of Nueva Segovia, giving their libraries for that purpose, and, in addition, the former giving 1,000 pesos and the latter 1,800. Already finished in 1619, it was admitted as a house of the province of Preachers in the islands, as appears from the records of the intermediary chapter celebrated in Santo Domingo, April 20, with the suitable license of the superior government and of the ordinary. In 1620 it already had lecturers and masters for public teaching, and November 27, 1623, his Majesty admitted it under his royal protection. It was erected into a university at the instance of the said monarch Felipe IV, by a bull of Innocent X, November 20, 1645, which was passed by the supreme Council of Indias July 28, 1646. By a decree of May 17, 1680, the university was received under the royal protection, his Majesty declaring himself its patron. In consequence of another decree of December 7, 1781, the rules were made, which, approved by the superior government October 20, 1786 as they were prepared are those which are in force at present. Their cloister is composed of various doctors, licentiates, and masters, although in reality only twenty-one of the first and second kinds form it. The number of collegiates is ruled by circumstances, and the college supports them, for they have to dress and provide shoes for many. Their funds are ministered by lay-brother religious. This college and royal university is incharge of the Dominican religious, who teach Latin, logic, physics, metaphysics, moral and canon law, and theology. In addition there is a chair of institute, and another of native law. In this university 581 students are studying, who are classified thus:Collegiates61Capistas315Day Pupils505Total581
UNIVERSITY OF SANTO TOMÁS
This college was founded at the beginning of the seventeenth century; their Excellencies, Benavides and Soria, the one archbishop of Manila, and the other bishop of Nueva Segovia, giving their libraries for that purpose, and, in addition, the former giving 1,000 pesos and the latter 1,800. Already finished in 1619, it was admitted as a house of the province of Preachers in the islands, as appears from the records of the intermediary chapter celebrated in Santo Domingo, April 20, with the suitable license of the superior government and of the ordinary. In 1620 it already had lecturers and masters for public teaching, and November 27, 1623, his Majesty admitted it under his royal protection. It was erected into a university at the instance of the said monarch Felipe IV, by a bull of Innocent X, November 20, 1645, which was passed by the supreme Council of Indias July 28, 1646. By a decree of May 17, 1680, the university was received under the royal protection, his Majesty declaring himself its patron. In consequence of another decree of December 7, 1781, the rules were made, which, approved by the superior government October 20, 1786 as they were prepared are those which are in force at present. Their cloister is composed of various doctors, licentiates, and masters, although in reality only twenty-one of the first and second kinds form it. The number of collegiates is ruled by circumstances, and the college supports them, for they have to dress and provide shoes for many. Their funds are ministered by lay-brother religious. This college and royal university is incharge of the Dominican religious, who teach Latin, logic, physics, metaphysics, moral and canon law, and theology. In addition there is a chair of institute, and another of native law. In this university 581 students are studying, who are classified thus:Collegiates61Capistas315Day Pupils505Total581
This college was founded at the beginning of the seventeenth century; their Excellencies, Benavides and Soria, the one archbishop of Manila, and the other bishop of Nueva Segovia, giving their libraries for that purpose, and, in addition, the former giving 1,000 pesos and the latter 1,800. Already finished in 1619, it was admitted as a house of the province of Preachers in the islands, as appears from the records of the intermediary chapter celebrated in Santo Domingo, April 20, with the suitable license of the superior government and of the ordinary. In 1620 it already had lecturers and masters for public teaching, and November 27, 1623, his Majesty admitted it under his royal protection. It was erected into a university at the instance of the said monarch Felipe IV, by a bull of Innocent X, November 20, 1645, which was passed by the supreme Council of Indias July 28, 1646. By a decree of May 17, 1680, the university was received under the royal protection, his Majesty declaring himself its patron. In consequence of another decree of December 7, 1781, the rules were made, which, approved by the superior government October 20, 1786 as they were prepared are those which are in force at present. Their cloister is composed of various doctors, licentiates, and masters, although in reality only twenty-one of the first and second kinds form it. The number of collegiates is ruled by circumstances, and the college supports them, for they have to dress and provide shoes for many. Their funds are ministered by lay-brother religious. This college and royal university is incharge of the Dominican religious, who teach Latin, logic, physics, metaphysics, moral and canon law, and theology. In addition there is a chair of institute, and another of native law. In this university 581 students are studying, who are classified thus:
Collegiates61Capistas315Day Pupils505Total581
COLLEGE OF SAN JOSEBy a decree of June 8, 1585, his Majesty ordered the establishment of a college to be attempted in Manila, in which the sons of the Spanish inhabitants might be instructed in virtue and letters under the direction of the Jesuit fathers. But, although the governor Dasmariñas enacted an edict for that purpose, it was not fulfilled until the year 1601 when the college of San José was instituted in some houses next to the house of the Jesuits. There were thirteen collegiates when it was first opened, but in a short time their number reached twenty. Among the first was a nephew of Governor Tello, a son of Dr. Morga, senior auditor, and other sons of influential citizens. At the beginning the collegiates contributed a certain sum for their own support, but soon there were greater means. One of the most considerable was the endowment left in his will by the illustrious gentleman, Don Esteban Rodriguez de Figueroa, governor of Mindanao, who was recognized as patron of the college. In 1605, Father Pedro Montes became rector, he founded the chairof scholastic theology, and promoted those of philosophy and Latin, selecting to take charge of them the most pronounced men of talent of his Society. During the reign of Felipe IV, the latter obtained from his Holiness, Gregory XV, authority to concede solemn degrees in philosophy and theology. The latter’s bull and the royal decree of concession were celebrated in Manila by a public procession, and when they were presented to the most illustrious Serrano, then archbishop, he offered obedience and observance on his part. February 18, 1707, his Majesty continued for six years the assignment that had been made to the college of 400 pesos, and 400 fanegas of rice. May 3, 1722, the title of “Royal” was conceded to the college. November 15, 1747, the enjoyment of an encomienda in the villages of Sulát and Tavig, in the province of Samar, was also continued for ten years. February 3, 1748, his Majesty confirmed in favor of this college the lands of the estates of Mariquina and San Pedro Yunasán. At present it possesses that estate and the estate of San Juan de Lian, which are administered by the rector. With their products the college takes care of the support of twenty-two collegiates, the house and food of the vice-rector and masters, and the annual pay given to them and to the rector. They also admit capistas who pay fifty pesos per year, and receive public teaching therein in philosophy, rhetoric, and Latin. From the expulsion of the Jesuits until the year 1777 this institution was closed.
COLLEGE OF SAN JOSE
By a decree of June 8, 1585, his Majesty ordered the establishment of a college to be attempted in Manila, in which the sons of the Spanish inhabitants might be instructed in virtue and letters under the direction of the Jesuit fathers. But, although the governor Dasmariñas enacted an edict for that purpose, it was not fulfilled until the year 1601 when the college of San José was instituted in some houses next to the house of the Jesuits. There were thirteen collegiates when it was first opened, but in a short time their number reached twenty. Among the first was a nephew of Governor Tello, a son of Dr. Morga, senior auditor, and other sons of influential citizens. At the beginning the collegiates contributed a certain sum for their own support, but soon there were greater means. One of the most considerable was the endowment left in his will by the illustrious gentleman, Don Esteban Rodriguez de Figueroa, governor of Mindanao, who was recognized as patron of the college. In 1605, Father Pedro Montes became rector, he founded the chairof scholastic theology, and promoted those of philosophy and Latin, selecting to take charge of them the most pronounced men of talent of his Society. During the reign of Felipe IV, the latter obtained from his Holiness, Gregory XV, authority to concede solemn degrees in philosophy and theology. The latter’s bull and the royal decree of concession were celebrated in Manila by a public procession, and when they were presented to the most illustrious Serrano, then archbishop, he offered obedience and observance on his part. February 18, 1707, his Majesty continued for six years the assignment that had been made to the college of 400 pesos, and 400 fanegas of rice. May 3, 1722, the title of “Royal” was conceded to the college. November 15, 1747, the enjoyment of an encomienda in the villages of Sulát and Tavig, in the province of Samar, was also continued for ten years. February 3, 1748, his Majesty confirmed in favor of this college the lands of the estates of Mariquina and San Pedro Yunasán. At present it possesses that estate and the estate of San Juan de Lian, which are administered by the rector. With their products the college takes care of the support of twenty-two collegiates, the house and food of the vice-rector and masters, and the annual pay given to them and to the rector. They also admit capistas who pay fifty pesos per year, and receive public teaching therein in philosophy, rhetoric, and Latin. From the expulsion of the Jesuits until the year 1777 this institution was closed.
By a decree of June 8, 1585, his Majesty ordered the establishment of a college to be attempted in Manila, in which the sons of the Spanish inhabitants might be instructed in virtue and letters under the direction of the Jesuit fathers. But, although the governor Dasmariñas enacted an edict for that purpose, it was not fulfilled until the year 1601 when the college of San José was instituted in some houses next to the house of the Jesuits. There were thirteen collegiates when it was first opened, but in a short time their number reached twenty. Among the first was a nephew of Governor Tello, a son of Dr. Morga, senior auditor, and other sons of influential citizens. At the beginning the collegiates contributed a certain sum for their own support, but soon there were greater means. One of the most considerable was the endowment left in his will by the illustrious gentleman, Don Esteban Rodriguez de Figueroa, governor of Mindanao, who was recognized as patron of the college. In 1605, Father Pedro Montes became rector, he founded the chairof scholastic theology, and promoted those of philosophy and Latin, selecting to take charge of them the most pronounced men of talent of his Society. During the reign of Felipe IV, the latter obtained from his Holiness, Gregory XV, authority to concede solemn degrees in philosophy and theology. The latter’s bull and the royal decree of concession were celebrated in Manila by a public procession, and when they were presented to the most illustrious Serrano, then archbishop, he offered obedience and observance on his part. February 18, 1707, his Majesty continued for six years the assignment that had been made to the college of 400 pesos, and 400 fanegas of rice. May 3, 1722, the title of “Royal” was conceded to the college. November 15, 1747, the enjoyment of an encomienda in the villages of Sulát and Tavig, in the province of Samar, was also continued for ten years. February 3, 1748, his Majesty confirmed in favor of this college the lands of the estates of Mariquina and San Pedro Yunasán. At present it possesses that estate and the estate of San Juan de Lian, which are administered by the rector. With their products the college takes care of the support of twenty-two collegiates, the house and food of the vice-rector and masters, and the annual pay given to them and to the rector. They also admit capistas who pay fifty pesos per year, and receive public teaching therein in philosophy, rhetoric, and Latin. From the expulsion of the Jesuits until the year 1777 this institution was closed.
COLLEGE OF SAN JUAN DE LETRANIt owed its foundation to the charitable zeal of Juan Gerónimo Guerrero, who in the year 1630 dedicated himself to gathering orphan boys, towhom he taught reading and writing and the Christian doctrine, paying for their support and clothing from the abundant alms with “which the citizens of Manila aided him.”This institution was recommended to the supreme Council of the Indias by the government of these islands, and later his Majesty recommended it to Governors Fajardo and Corcuera. Before dying, the aged Guerrero took the habit as lay-brother in [the convent of] Santo Domingo, and made that order a formal bequest of his advanced charitable work. Later it was erected into a college and received under the royal protection, his Majesty conceding it some encomiendas, or annuities for its support. At present it maintains at its own cost twenty-one Spanish orphan lads, with the 600 pesos to which amounts the product of the annuities which are collected from the alcalde-mayor of Pangasinan by a Dominican religious. It also receives Indian and mestizo collegiates who pay fifty pesos per year apiece for their support. Their number is not fixed. Under the title of sacristan, porters, librarians, and other mechanical trades, there are various people who pay nothing. Their studies are carried on in the university of Santo Tomás, except that of grammar. At the present time this college has 239 students, counting orphans, capistas and others.
COLLEGE OF SAN JUAN DE LETRAN
It owed its foundation to the charitable zeal of Juan Gerónimo Guerrero, who in the year 1630 dedicated himself to gathering orphan boys, towhom he taught reading and writing and the Christian doctrine, paying for their support and clothing from the abundant alms with “which the citizens of Manila aided him.”This institution was recommended to the supreme Council of the Indias by the government of these islands, and later his Majesty recommended it to Governors Fajardo and Corcuera. Before dying, the aged Guerrero took the habit as lay-brother in [the convent of] Santo Domingo, and made that order a formal bequest of his advanced charitable work. Later it was erected into a college and received under the royal protection, his Majesty conceding it some encomiendas, or annuities for its support. At present it maintains at its own cost twenty-one Spanish orphan lads, with the 600 pesos to which amounts the product of the annuities which are collected from the alcalde-mayor of Pangasinan by a Dominican religious. It also receives Indian and mestizo collegiates who pay fifty pesos per year apiece for their support. Their number is not fixed. Under the title of sacristan, porters, librarians, and other mechanical trades, there are various people who pay nothing. Their studies are carried on in the university of Santo Tomás, except that of grammar. At the present time this college has 239 students, counting orphans, capistas and others.
It owed its foundation to the charitable zeal of Juan Gerónimo Guerrero, who in the year 1630 dedicated himself to gathering orphan boys, towhom he taught reading and writing and the Christian doctrine, paying for their support and clothing from the abundant alms with “which the citizens of Manila aided him.”This institution was recommended to the supreme Council of the Indias by the government of these islands, and later his Majesty recommended it to Governors Fajardo and Corcuera. Before dying, the aged Guerrero took the habit as lay-brother in [the convent of] Santo Domingo, and made that order a formal bequest of his advanced charitable work. Later it was erected into a college and received under the royal protection, his Majesty conceding it some encomiendas, or annuities for its support. At present it maintains at its own cost twenty-one Spanish orphan lads, with the 600 pesos to which amounts the product of the annuities which are collected from the alcalde-mayor of Pangasinan by a Dominican religious. It also receives Indian and mestizo collegiates who pay fifty pesos per year apiece for their support. Their number is not fixed. Under the title of sacristan, porters, librarians, and other mechanical trades, there are various people who pay nothing. Their studies are carried on in the university of Santo Tomás, except that of grammar. At the present time this college has 239 students, counting orphans, capistas and others.
CHARITY SCHOOL [ESCUELA PIA] OF MANILA4Don Pedro Vivanco having begun to promote its establishment in 1803, it was installed in 1817 under the direction of a special assembly composed of distinguished citizens, among whom was a member of the ecclesiastical cabildo, and another of the tribunalof the consulado. The citizens gave the funds which were to maintain so useful an institution, but being drawn upon, as was the general rule, those funds had the same fate as other large sums of the commerce and charitable funds of this capital, and were lost through the political happenings of the kingdom of Mexico. The assembly having been extinguished for lack of funds, the city took under its charge the charity school. Reading, writing, Christian doctrine, Spanish grammar, and slate-work arithmetic are taught there. The pupils must be Spanish; the children of rich people pay two pesos per month; those of the second class one; and the poor nothing. For admission, a ticket from the president of the dissolved assembly was sufficient. Now it is given by the regidor, who is serving his turn in governing the institution. In that school, there are at present 50 pupils, of whom 26 receive their teaching gratuitously.
CHARITY SCHOOL [ESCUELA PIA] OF MANILA4
Don Pedro Vivanco having begun to promote its establishment in 1803, it was installed in 1817 under the direction of a special assembly composed of distinguished citizens, among whom was a member of the ecclesiastical cabildo, and another of the tribunalof the consulado. The citizens gave the funds which were to maintain so useful an institution, but being drawn upon, as was the general rule, those funds had the same fate as other large sums of the commerce and charitable funds of this capital, and were lost through the political happenings of the kingdom of Mexico. The assembly having been extinguished for lack of funds, the city took under its charge the charity school. Reading, writing, Christian doctrine, Spanish grammar, and slate-work arithmetic are taught there. The pupils must be Spanish; the children of rich people pay two pesos per month; those of the second class one; and the poor nothing. For admission, a ticket from the president of the dissolved assembly was sufficient. Now it is given by the regidor, who is serving his turn in governing the institution. In that school, there are at present 50 pupils, of whom 26 receive their teaching gratuitously.
Don Pedro Vivanco having begun to promote its establishment in 1803, it was installed in 1817 under the direction of a special assembly composed of distinguished citizens, among whom was a member of the ecclesiastical cabildo, and another of the tribunalof the consulado. The citizens gave the funds which were to maintain so useful an institution, but being drawn upon, as was the general rule, those funds had the same fate as other large sums of the commerce and charitable funds of this capital, and were lost through the political happenings of the kingdom of Mexico. The assembly having been extinguished for lack of funds, the city took under its charge the charity school. Reading, writing, Christian doctrine, Spanish grammar, and slate-work arithmetic are taught there. The pupils must be Spanish; the children of rich people pay two pesos per month; those of the second class one; and the poor nothing. For admission, a ticket from the president of the dissolved assembly was sufficient. Now it is given by the regidor, who is serving his turn in governing the institution. In that school, there are at present 50 pupils, of whom 26 receive their teaching gratuitously.
NAVAL ACADEMYThrough the repeated instances of the consulado, this school was established in Manila by royal permission in the year 1820. Arithmetic, elementary geometry, plain and spherical trigonometry, cosmography, and piloting are taught by their respective professors; and in addition practical geometry applied to the construction of hydrographical maps and plans, with the method of drawing them. Everything is according to the course of study of the navy, written by royal order for the teaching of said schools by the chief of squadron of the royal fleet Don Gabriel Ciscar. It is directed by special rules. The expenses of that institution have been methitherto from the funds of avería. Its conservation was committed to the consulado, but since the extinction of that tribunal, it has been givenad interimto the present tribunal of commerce by the ruling of the management, inspection in the scientific or teaching portion being reserved for the chief of the military marine. At present it has 51 students in its halls.
NAVAL ACADEMY
Through the repeated instances of the consulado, this school was established in Manila by royal permission in the year 1820. Arithmetic, elementary geometry, plain and spherical trigonometry, cosmography, and piloting are taught by their respective professors; and in addition practical geometry applied to the construction of hydrographical maps and plans, with the method of drawing them. Everything is according to the course of study of the navy, written by royal order for the teaching of said schools by the chief of squadron of the royal fleet Don Gabriel Ciscar. It is directed by special rules. The expenses of that institution have been methitherto from the funds of avería. Its conservation was committed to the consulado, but since the extinction of that tribunal, it has been givenad interimto the present tribunal of commerce by the ruling of the management, inspection in the scientific or teaching portion being reserved for the chief of the military marine. At present it has 51 students in its halls.
Through the repeated instances of the consulado, this school was established in Manila by royal permission in the year 1820. Arithmetic, elementary geometry, plain and spherical trigonometry, cosmography, and piloting are taught by their respective professors; and in addition practical geometry applied to the construction of hydrographical maps and plans, with the method of drawing them. Everything is according to the course of study of the navy, written by royal order for the teaching of said schools by the chief of squadron of the royal fleet Don Gabriel Ciscar. It is directed by special rules. The expenses of that institution have been methitherto from the funds of avería. Its conservation was committed to the consulado, but since the extinction of that tribunal, it has been givenad interimto the present tribunal of commerce by the ruling of the management, inspection in the scientific or teaching portion being reserved for the chief of the military marine. At present it has 51 students in its halls.
COMMERCIAL SCHOOLThe establishment of this school was discussed by the assembly of its name October 1, 1839, approved by the superior government, January 15, 1840. Its inauguration took place, July 15 of the same year. Bookkeeping, and commercial correspondence, the French language, and also the English, when a suitable professor is to be had, are taught in that school.5
COMMERCIAL SCHOOL
The establishment of this school was discussed by the assembly of its name October 1, 1839, approved by the superior government, January 15, 1840. Its inauguration took place, July 15 of the same year. Bookkeeping, and commercial correspondence, the French language, and also the English, when a suitable professor is to be had, are taught in that school.5
The establishment of this school was discussed by the assembly of its name October 1, 1839, approved by the superior government, January 15, 1840. Its inauguration took place, July 15 of the same year. Bookkeeping, and commercial correspondence, the French language, and also the English, when a suitable professor is to be had, are taught in that school.5
SCHOOL OF SANTA POTENCIANAIt was erected by Governor Dasmariñas, by virtue of an express royal mandate contained in the instructions which were delivered to them August 9, 1589,6in which section 27 reads: “Upon your arrival at the Filipinas Islands, you shall ascertain how and where, and with what endowment, a convent for the shelter of girls may be founded, so that both those who should come from here and those, born there, maylive in it, so that they may live modestly and after being well instructed may go out therefrom to be married and bear children.” That zealous governor, with the efficacy and activity which distinguished his government, did what his Majesty ordered him; for, in a royal order of January 27, 1593, the measures which had been taken with the city are approved and ordered to be continued, namely, that the said convent should be founded in the church of San Andres. Shortly afterward that pious institution must have been completed, as is inferred from another royal order of June 11, 1594: “The rules and regulations,” says his Majesty to the governor, “which you have made for the girls’ school have been examined and are approved, and thus you shall have them observed.” It was further provided how they were to act at the wheel, or in the parlor. The chaplain was also to be the manager and he was to be an approved person of forty years old or upward. The clothing of the collegiates, of the mother superior, and the teacher, was to be modest and cheap, and was sent by his Majesty. The governor was authorized to name the sum which was to be paid annually by any other woman who wished of her own accord to enter the institution, in order to take shelter therein, provided that such sum should be moderate.7There is no copy of the first rules of this school in existence, for they probably perished with its archives, and ten or twelve inmates in the awful earthquake of 1645, which overthrew the edifice and destroyed the greater part of the city. In fulfilmentof a royal order of November 27, 1686, and superior rulings of March 15, 1691, Doctor Silva, then chaplain of said school, published, in the following April, the ordinances of Santa Potentiana, which merited royal approbation November 14, 1825, in which year the newly printed rules were ordered to be observed.In 1736 the free inmates were the daughters of Spaniards who had served his Majesty in the islands. They were aided with what was necessary for their support and clothing, and the physician and the medicine for the sick were paid for them, besides a suitable funeral for the dead. The funds of the college did not permit, in case one married, to give her a suitable dowry, but such a one received two hundred pesos from the charitable fund which was established for that purpose in 1686 by Don Cristóbal Romero, castellan of the fort of Santiago, and in the time of Governor Tamon, fifty pesos more, which he gave from his own purse, to each one of the inmates when she was married. In 1729, Auditor Don José Antonio Pabon founded for the same purpose another charitable fund by giving 2,823 pesos, which the royal treasury owed him on account of pay, but that foundation had no effect until 1749. The funds were in charge of the managers, who very commonly were the royal officials, and were increased by investing them suitably, until the time when they entered the royal treasury with the other incomes of the school. At present that school occupies a house which was bought at the royal account, for its ancient site has been destined for the building of a fortification. From the same treasury, the expenses of a small chapel, a physician, apothecary shop, infirmary, clothing for the pupils, and sixservant girls are met, which are estimated at 700 pesos annually; and those of a sacristan, fourfaginantes[i.e., fagot-gatherers], and one purchaser. By a provision of the Superior Board of the royal treasury of September 22, 1808, money was subscribed for the maintenance of a rectress, a portress, and twenty-four inmates at the rate of one and one-half reals per day to each one, and monthly from the royal magazines, 46 baskets ofpinagua8rice of 15 gantas, 25 quintals of wood, and 17 gantas of cocoanut oil for their light.
SCHOOL OF SANTA POTENCIANA
It was erected by Governor Dasmariñas, by virtue of an express royal mandate contained in the instructions which were delivered to them August 9, 1589,6in which section 27 reads: “Upon your arrival at the Filipinas Islands, you shall ascertain how and where, and with what endowment, a convent for the shelter of girls may be founded, so that both those who should come from here and those, born there, maylive in it, so that they may live modestly and after being well instructed may go out therefrom to be married and bear children.” That zealous governor, with the efficacy and activity which distinguished his government, did what his Majesty ordered him; for, in a royal order of January 27, 1593, the measures which had been taken with the city are approved and ordered to be continued, namely, that the said convent should be founded in the church of San Andres. Shortly afterward that pious institution must have been completed, as is inferred from another royal order of June 11, 1594: “The rules and regulations,” says his Majesty to the governor, “which you have made for the girls’ school have been examined and are approved, and thus you shall have them observed.” It was further provided how they were to act at the wheel, or in the parlor. The chaplain was also to be the manager and he was to be an approved person of forty years old or upward. The clothing of the collegiates, of the mother superior, and the teacher, was to be modest and cheap, and was sent by his Majesty. The governor was authorized to name the sum which was to be paid annually by any other woman who wished of her own accord to enter the institution, in order to take shelter therein, provided that such sum should be moderate.7There is no copy of the first rules of this school in existence, for they probably perished with its archives, and ten or twelve inmates in the awful earthquake of 1645, which overthrew the edifice and destroyed the greater part of the city. In fulfilmentof a royal order of November 27, 1686, and superior rulings of March 15, 1691, Doctor Silva, then chaplain of said school, published, in the following April, the ordinances of Santa Potentiana, which merited royal approbation November 14, 1825, in which year the newly printed rules were ordered to be observed.In 1736 the free inmates were the daughters of Spaniards who had served his Majesty in the islands. They were aided with what was necessary for their support and clothing, and the physician and the medicine for the sick were paid for them, besides a suitable funeral for the dead. The funds of the college did not permit, in case one married, to give her a suitable dowry, but such a one received two hundred pesos from the charitable fund which was established for that purpose in 1686 by Don Cristóbal Romero, castellan of the fort of Santiago, and in the time of Governor Tamon, fifty pesos more, which he gave from his own purse, to each one of the inmates when she was married. In 1729, Auditor Don José Antonio Pabon founded for the same purpose another charitable fund by giving 2,823 pesos, which the royal treasury owed him on account of pay, but that foundation had no effect until 1749. The funds were in charge of the managers, who very commonly were the royal officials, and were increased by investing them suitably, until the time when they entered the royal treasury with the other incomes of the school. At present that school occupies a house which was bought at the royal account, for its ancient site has been destined for the building of a fortification. From the same treasury, the expenses of a small chapel, a physician, apothecary shop, infirmary, clothing for the pupils, and sixservant girls are met, which are estimated at 700 pesos annually; and those of a sacristan, fourfaginantes[i.e., fagot-gatherers], and one purchaser. By a provision of the Superior Board of the royal treasury of September 22, 1808, money was subscribed for the maintenance of a rectress, a portress, and twenty-four inmates at the rate of one and one-half reals per day to each one, and monthly from the royal magazines, 46 baskets ofpinagua8rice of 15 gantas, 25 quintals of wood, and 17 gantas of cocoanut oil for their light.
It was erected by Governor Dasmariñas, by virtue of an express royal mandate contained in the instructions which were delivered to them August 9, 1589,6in which section 27 reads: “Upon your arrival at the Filipinas Islands, you shall ascertain how and where, and with what endowment, a convent for the shelter of girls may be founded, so that both those who should come from here and those, born there, maylive in it, so that they may live modestly and after being well instructed may go out therefrom to be married and bear children.” That zealous governor, with the efficacy and activity which distinguished his government, did what his Majesty ordered him; for, in a royal order of January 27, 1593, the measures which had been taken with the city are approved and ordered to be continued, namely, that the said convent should be founded in the church of San Andres. Shortly afterward that pious institution must have been completed, as is inferred from another royal order of June 11, 1594: “The rules and regulations,” says his Majesty to the governor, “which you have made for the girls’ school have been examined and are approved, and thus you shall have them observed.” It was further provided how they were to act at the wheel, or in the parlor. The chaplain was also to be the manager and he was to be an approved person of forty years old or upward. The clothing of the collegiates, of the mother superior, and the teacher, was to be modest and cheap, and was sent by his Majesty. The governor was authorized to name the sum which was to be paid annually by any other woman who wished of her own accord to enter the institution, in order to take shelter therein, provided that such sum should be moderate.7
There is no copy of the first rules of this school in existence, for they probably perished with its archives, and ten or twelve inmates in the awful earthquake of 1645, which overthrew the edifice and destroyed the greater part of the city. In fulfilmentof a royal order of November 27, 1686, and superior rulings of March 15, 1691, Doctor Silva, then chaplain of said school, published, in the following April, the ordinances of Santa Potentiana, which merited royal approbation November 14, 1825, in which year the newly printed rules were ordered to be observed.
In 1736 the free inmates were the daughters of Spaniards who had served his Majesty in the islands. They were aided with what was necessary for their support and clothing, and the physician and the medicine for the sick were paid for them, besides a suitable funeral for the dead. The funds of the college did not permit, in case one married, to give her a suitable dowry, but such a one received two hundred pesos from the charitable fund which was established for that purpose in 1686 by Don Cristóbal Romero, castellan of the fort of Santiago, and in the time of Governor Tamon, fifty pesos more, which he gave from his own purse, to each one of the inmates when she was married. In 1729, Auditor Don José Antonio Pabon founded for the same purpose another charitable fund by giving 2,823 pesos, which the royal treasury owed him on account of pay, but that foundation had no effect until 1749. The funds were in charge of the managers, who very commonly were the royal officials, and were increased by investing them suitably, until the time when they entered the royal treasury with the other incomes of the school. At present that school occupies a house which was bought at the royal account, for its ancient site has been destined for the building of a fortification. From the same treasury, the expenses of a small chapel, a physician, apothecary shop, infirmary, clothing for the pupils, and sixservant girls are met, which are estimated at 700 pesos annually; and those of a sacristan, fourfaginantes[i.e., fagot-gatherers], and one purchaser. By a provision of the Superior Board of the royal treasury of September 22, 1808, money was subscribed for the maintenance of a rectress, a portress, and twenty-four inmates at the rate of one and one-half reals per day to each one, and monthly from the royal magazines, 46 baskets ofpinagua8rice of 15 gantas, 25 quintals of wood, and 17 gantas of cocoanut oil for their light.
SCHOOL OF SANTA ISABELSince the foundation of the confraternity of the Santa Misericordia, their financial board maintained the management of many poor Spanish orphan girls who were reared in Santa Potenciana, and in private houses; but having bought an edifice in which to gather them, the foundation of this school was accomplished at the end of the year 1632. It is in the immediate charge and care of the purveyor. The first rules for its government were made in 1650, and they were retained with some slight alterations until 1813. In that year they were entirely revised, and these latter are the ones which are observed at present. It has a chapel which is kept very neat and clean, which is dedicated to the Lord of the treasury.The girl pensioners contribute sixty pesos per year for their fees. In addition, there are some poor young women who are known under the name of supernumeraries [agregadas], who are maintained through charity.The rectress is the superior of the school, and issubordinate to the purveyor. In grave cases which arise, she consults the financial board, and if that board is not created with power to take action, she convokes the brotherhood and in general council the advisable action is agreed upon with the assistance of theologues and jurists. This school contains:Scholars with beca51Free orphan girls18Idemboarders14Abandoned7Supernumeraries12Total102There are also at present for the interior service of the house one chaplain, one physician, twelve maid servants, and eight man servants; these last do not live in the school.
SCHOOL OF SANTA ISABEL
Since the foundation of the confraternity of the Santa Misericordia, their financial board maintained the management of many poor Spanish orphan girls who were reared in Santa Potenciana, and in private houses; but having bought an edifice in which to gather them, the foundation of this school was accomplished at the end of the year 1632. It is in the immediate charge and care of the purveyor. The first rules for its government were made in 1650, and they were retained with some slight alterations until 1813. In that year they were entirely revised, and these latter are the ones which are observed at present. It has a chapel which is kept very neat and clean, which is dedicated to the Lord of the treasury.The girl pensioners contribute sixty pesos per year for their fees. In addition, there are some poor young women who are known under the name of supernumeraries [agregadas], who are maintained through charity.The rectress is the superior of the school, and issubordinate to the purveyor. In grave cases which arise, she consults the financial board, and if that board is not created with power to take action, she convokes the brotherhood and in general council the advisable action is agreed upon with the assistance of theologues and jurists. This school contains:Scholars with beca51Free orphan girls18Idemboarders14Abandoned7Supernumeraries12Total102There are also at present for the interior service of the house one chaplain, one physician, twelve maid servants, and eight man servants; these last do not live in the school.
Since the foundation of the confraternity of the Santa Misericordia, their financial board maintained the management of many poor Spanish orphan girls who were reared in Santa Potenciana, and in private houses; but having bought an edifice in which to gather them, the foundation of this school was accomplished at the end of the year 1632. It is in the immediate charge and care of the purveyor. The first rules for its government were made in 1650, and they were retained with some slight alterations until 1813. In that year they were entirely revised, and these latter are the ones which are observed at present. It has a chapel which is kept very neat and clean, which is dedicated to the Lord of the treasury.
The girl pensioners contribute sixty pesos per year for their fees. In addition, there are some poor young women who are known under the name of supernumeraries [agregadas], who are maintained through charity.
The rectress is the superior of the school, and issubordinate to the purveyor. In grave cases which arise, she consults the financial board, and if that board is not created with power to take action, she convokes the brotherhood and in general council the advisable action is agreed upon with the assistance of theologues and jurists. This school contains:
Scholars with beca51Free orphan girls18Idemboarders14Abandoned7Supernumeraries12Total102
There are also at present for the interior service of the house one chaplain, one physician, twelve maid servants, and eight man servants; these last do not live in the school.
BEATERIO OF SANTA CATALINA DE SENAIt was founded in 1696 by Mother Francisca del Espíritu Santo, a Spanish woman born in Manila, and by the very reverend father, Fray Juan de Santo Domingo, provincial of the Dominicans. Its object is to teach Spanish girls how to read, write, reckon, the Christian doctrine, to sew, etc. In that duty the necessary beatas are occupied. They obey a superior whom they appoint from their own number, and such person takes the title of prioress. At present this school has 26 Spanish girls and 60 supernumeraries and servants.9
BEATERIO OF SANTA CATALINA DE SENA
It was founded in 1696 by Mother Francisca del Espíritu Santo, a Spanish woman born in Manila, and by the very reverend father, Fray Juan de Santo Domingo, provincial of the Dominicans. Its object is to teach Spanish girls how to read, write, reckon, the Christian doctrine, to sew, etc. In that duty the necessary beatas are occupied. They obey a superior whom they appoint from their own number, and such person takes the title of prioress. At present this school has 26 Spanish girls and 60 supernumeraries and servants.9
It was founded in 1696 by Mother Francisca del Espíritu Santo, a Spanish woman born in Manila, and by the very reverend father, Fray Juan de Santo Domingo, provincial of the Dominicans. Its object is to teach Spanish girls how to read, write, reckon, the Christian doctrine, to sew, etc. In that duty the necessary beatas are occupied. They obey a superior whom they appoint from their own number, and such person takes the title of prioress. At present this school has 26 Spanish girls and 60 supernumeraries and servants.9
BEATERIO OF SAN SEBASTIAN DE CALUMPANGIt was begun in 1719 by four Filipino girls, who gave themselves exclusively to the service of God, and that of the Virgin of Carmel. In 1735 the beaterio was given form at the petition of the Recollect provincial, Fray Andres de San Fulgencio. The beatas were permitted to take the habit as manteletas of the discalced Augustinians. Their number was not to exceed twelve, and the institution was to remain subject to the vice-patron. In 1754, a measure was started as to whether the beatas ought to pay tribute or not, and the custom which favors the negative was ordered to be followed. They live in community without any vow. Each year they nominate one prioress. They are sustained by alms and by their own work. The priorate of San Sebastian contributes 100 cavans of palay, and 300 pesos annually, because the beatas sew the scapularies of Carmel, wash the clothes of the Church, and of the religious resident therein; and the convent of Manila 200 cavans and 300 pesos more for the washing of the clothes of the sacristy and of the religious. Orphan girls are received and are taught reading, writing, the Christian doctrine, sewing, etc. For the very little girls the beaterio receives what their relatives care to give. Those who can work pay nothing if they work; but if they do not work they pay three or four pesos per month according to their circumstances. Some Spanish women also enter for the [religious] exercises. At present this beaterio has 12 beatas, 24 larger girls who are being educated, 16 smaller ones, and one little girl boarder, with someother widows and married women who also live in this retreat.
BEATERIO OF SAN SEBASTIAN DE CALUMPANG
It was begun in 1719 by four Filipino girls, who gave themselves exclusively to the service of God, and that of the Virgin of Carmel. In 1735 the beaterio was given form at the petition of the Recollect provincial, Fray Andres de San Fulgencio. The beatas were permitted to take the habit as manteletas of the discalced Augustinians. Their number was not to exceed twelve, and the institution was to remain subject to the vice-patron. In 1754, a measure was started as to whether the beatas ought to pay tribute or not, and the custom which favors the negative was ordered to be followed. They live in community without any vow. Each year they nominate one prioress. They are sustained by alms and by their own work. The priorate of San Sebastian contributes 100 cavans of palay, and 300 pesos annually, because the beatas sew the scapularies of Carmel, wash the clothes of the Church, and of the religious resident therein; and the convent of Manila 200 cavans and 300 pesos more for the washing of the clothes of the sacristy and of the religious. Orphan girls are received and are taught reading, writing, the Christian doctrine, sewing, etc. For the very little girls the beaterio receives what their relatives care to give. Those who can work pay nothing if they work; but if they do not work they pay three or four pesos per month according to their circumstances. Some Spanish women also enter for the [religious] exercises. At present this beaterio has 12 beatas, 24 larger girls who are being educated, 16 smaller ones, and one little girl boarder, with someother widows and married women who also live in this retreat.
It was begun in 1719 by four Filipino girls, who gave themselves exclusively to the service of God, and that of the Virgin of Carmel. In 1735 the beaterio was given form at the petition of the Recollect provincial, Fray Andres de San Fulgencio. The beatas were permitted to take the habit as manteletas of the discalced Augustinians. Their number was not to exceed twelve, and the institution was to remain subject to the vice-patron. In 1754, a measure was started as to whether the beatas ought to pay tribute or not, and the custom which favors the negative was ordered to be followed. They live in community without any vow. Each year they nominate one prioress. They are sustained by alms and by their own work. The priorate of San Sebastian contributes 100 cavans of palay, and 300 pesos annually, because the beatas sew the scapularies of Carmel, wash the clothes of the Church, and of the religious resident therein; and the convent of Manila 200 cavans and 300 pesos more for the washing of the clothes of the sacristy and of the religious. Orphan girls are received and are taught reading, writing, the Christian doctrine, sewing, etc. For the very little girls the beaterio receives what their relatives care to give. Those who can work pay nothing if they work; but if they do not work they pay three or four pesos per month according to their circumstances. Some Spanish women also enter for the [religious] exercises. At present this beaterio has 12 beatas, 24 larger girls who are being educated, 16 smaller ones, and one little girl boarder, with someother widows and married women who also live in this retreat.
BEATERIO OF SAN IGNACIOIt was founded in 1699 under the direction of the Jesuit fathers. Its benefactress and first beata was Mother Ignacia del Espíritu Santo, a native of Binongo, who died in 1748, at the age of eighty. It has 25 beatas, 59 servants, and 55 wards, [some of] whom pay four pesos monthly for their support, and some two or three pesos, but these latter assist in the kitchen and washing once a week. This institution is supported by the alms and by the products of some sewing and by the washing of clothes. Every year there are exercises held there which begin in October; those who attend it are Filipino women. They are divided into three shifts, and about 300 of them assemble, each of whom pays two pesos. From that sum they meet the expenses of preachers, confessors, and their support. Since the expulsion of the Jesuits, this beaterio has been under the direction of the provisor of the archbishopric, and for lack of a shelter-house, it supplies its place. The object of the foundation was that Filipino girls might be reared in it and taught embroidery, sewing, reading, and writing.
BEATERIO OF SAN IGNACIO
It was founded in 1699 under the direction of the Jesuit fathers. Its benefactress and first beata was Mother Ignacia del Espíritu Santo, a native of Binongo, who died in 1748, at the age of eighty. It has 25 beatas, 59 servants, and 55 wards, [some of] whom pay four pesos monthly for their support, and some two or three pesos, but these latter assist in the kitchen and washing once a week. This institution is supported by the alms and by the products of some sewing and by the washing of clothes. Every year there are exercises held there which begin in October; those who attend it are Filipino women. They are divided into three shifts, and about 300 of them assemble, each of whom pays two pesos. From that sum they meet the expenses of preachers, confessors, and their support. Since the expulsion of the Jesuits, this beaterio has been under the direction of the provisor of the archbishopric, and for lack of a shelter-house, it supplies its place. The object of the foundation was that Filipino girls might be reared in it and taught embroidery, sewing, reading, and writing.
It was founded in 1699 under the direction of the Jesuit fathers. Its benefactress and first beata was Mother Ignacia del Espíritu Santo, a native of Binongo, who died in 1748, at the age of eighty. It has 25 beatas, 59 servants, and 55 wards, [some of] whom pay four pesos monthly for their support, and some two or three pesos, but these latter assist in the kitchen and washing once a week. This institution is supported by the alms and by the products of some sewing and by the washing of clothes. Every year there are exercises held there which begin in October; those who attend it are Filipino women. They are divided into three shifts, and about 300 of them assemble, each of whom pays two pesos. From that sum they meet the expenses of preachers, confessors, and their support. Since the expulsion of the Jesuits, this beaterio has been under the direction of the provisor of the archbishopric, and for lack of a shelter-house, it supplies its place. The object of the foundation was that Filipino girls might be reared in it and taught embroidery, sewing, reading, and writing.
BEATERIO OF SANTA ROSAMother Paula de la Santísima Trinidad, native of Cataluña, had scarcely arrived at Manila in 1750, when she dedicated herself to the education of girls and was the origin of this foundation. By a royal decree of September 22, 1774, his Majesty ordered that the house or beaterio founded by this goodwoman should take care of the education of every class of girls. It is maintained by alms, by the work of their hands, and by the few small fees which some girls pay for their support therein, where they are taught reading, sewing, etc. Neither their number nor that of the servants is fixed. His Majesty has taken it under his protection, and entrusted it in his name to the regent of the Audiencia, with the fitting powers.
BEATERIO OF SANTA ROSA
Mother Paula de la Santísima Trinidad, native of Cataluña, had scarcely arrived at Manila in 1750, when she dedicated herself to the education of girls and was the origin of this foundation. By a royal decree of September 22, 1774, his Majesty ordered that the house or beaterio founded by this goodwoman should take care of the education of every class of girls. It is maintained by alms, by the work of their hands, and by the few small fees which some girls pay for their support therein, where they are taught reading, sewing, etc. Neither their number nor that of the servants is fixed. His Majesty has taken it under his protection, and entrusted it in his name to the regent of the Audiencia, with the fitting powers.
Mother Paula de la Santísima Trinidad, native of Cataluña, had scarcely arrived at Manila in 1750, when she dedicated herself to the education of girls and was the origin of this foundation. By a royal decree of September 22, 1774, his Majesty ordered that the house or beaterio founded by this goodwoman should take care of the education of every class of girls. It is maintained by alms, by the work of their hands, and by the few small fees which some girls pay for their support therein, where they are taught reading, sewing, etc. Neither their number nor that of the servants is fixed. His Majesty has taken it under his protection, and entrusted it in his name to the regent of the Audiencia, with the fitting powers.
BEATERIO OF PASIGIn this village there is a house of teaching, or a beaterio entitled Santa Rita, which was founded in 1740 with the necessary licenses by the calced Augustinian, Fray Felix de Trillo, then parish priest of Pasig. Its primary object is to provide shelter for Filipino orphan girls, and to teach them reading, writing, Christian doctrine, sewing, embroidery, and other employments fitting for their sex. They dress when they go to the parish church in the habit of mantelates of St. Augustine, but they take no vow or obligation. Those educated and sheltered dress as in their own homes. This beaterio is sustained by the work of their hands and by alms, under the care and solicitous management of the parish priests. The latter are not those who give the least alms for its useful preservation, and that from the product of some estates which they have rented out, and which they acquired by their economy. Furthermore, the young women who enter as wards pay when their relatives are able, according to their wealth, up to the sum of two pesos per month. That is the greatest fee, but it is more usual for each one who is educated to contribute a few cavans of palay per year—generallyabout ten or twelve. But those who are quite poor and orphans pay nothing. This retreat has at the present time sixteen beatas.
BEATERIO OF PASIG
In this village there is a house of teaching, or a beaterio entitled Santa Rita, which was founded in 1740 with the necessary licenses by the calced Augustinian, Fray Felix de Trillo, then parish priest of Pasig. Its primary object is to provide shelter for Filipino orphan girls, and to teach them reading, writing, Christian doctrine, sewing, embroidery, and other employments fitting for their sex. They dress when they go to the parish church in the habit of mantelates of St. Augustine, but they take no vow or obligation. Those educated and sheltered dress as in their own homes. This beaterio is sustained by the work of their hands and by alms, under the care and solicitous management of the parish priests. The latter are not those who give the least alms for its useful preservation, and that from the product of some estates which they have rented out, and which they acquired by their economy. Furthermore, the young women who enter as wards pay when their relatives are able, according to their wealth, up to the sum of two pesos per month. That is the greatest fee, but it is more usual for each one who is educated to contribute a few cavans of palay per year—generallyabout ten or twelve. But those who are quite poor and orphans pay nothing. This retreat has at the present time sixteen beatas.
In this village there is a house of teaching, or a beaterio entitled Santa Rita, which was founded in 1740 with the necessary licenses by the calced Augustinian, Fray Felix de Trillo, then parish priest of Pasig. Its primary object is to provide shelter for Filipino orphan girls, and to teach them reading, writing, Christian doctrine, sewing, embroidery, and other employments fitting for their sex. They dress when they go to the parish church in the habit of mantelates of St. Augustine, but they take no vow or obligation. Those educated and sheltered dress as in their own homes. This beaterio is sustained by the work of their hands and by alms, under the care and solicitous management of the parish priests. The latter are not those who give the least alms for its useful preservation, and that from the product of some estates which they have rented out, and which they acquired by their economy. Furthermore, the young women who enter as wards pay when their relatives are able, according to their wealth, up to the sum of two pesos per month. That is the greatest fee, but it is more usual for each one who is educated to contribute a few cavans of palay per year—generallyabout ten or twelve. But those who are quite poor and orphans pay nothing. This retreat has at the present time sixteen beatas.
1Semper, writing in 1869, says of education among the natives. “The Christian Spaniard has not been able to exert much more influence of a spiritual than of a political nature upon the character of the natives. Popular education was formerly, and is now, entirely in the hands of the priests. Excepting the professors of common and Roman law all the chairs of the University of Santo Tomás of Manila are in the hands of the priests, who naturally arrange not only the theological lectures, but those upon metaphysics, physics, and logic, as well, according to the principles of the Catholic Church. In the provinces every village has its public schools in which instruction is obligatory; but, besides reading and writing, only Christian doctrine and church music are taught. This instruction, moreover, is by no means generally given in Spanish; at least, the general introduction of Spanish is still so recent that it will be long before the Spanish officials will be able to converse, even with their subordinates, in Spanish. On the east coast of Mindanao, one of the oldest and most settled provinces, the native dialect was exclusively used until forty or fifty years ago, and the priests used the old Malay alphabet until the beginning of the century, even in their official business. The number of natives—the Spaniards call them ‘Indians’—who can read and write is tolerably large, but owing to the total unreliability of all statistics on the subject, nothing accurate can be stated. In 1863 the Government attempted to make an enumeration of the population, and, incidentally, to note the number of those who could read and write. The fact that the result was never published seems to confirm the opinion that an unsatisfactory condition of things was found.” SeeCensus of Philippines, iii, p. 577.↑2Under late Spanish domination, there were 67 private Latin schools in the archipelago, of which 23 were in the province of Manila, and nearly all the others in Luzón. In the term of 1886–87, there were 41 private schools, of secondary instruction, twelve of which were in the suburbs of Manila, two in the walled city, and the rest in the provinces of Luzón and the Visayas. Of the 41 professors in charge thereof, only one had the degree of doctor, eight were licentiates, and the rest held the degree of bachelor of arts. The course of study in these schools included Latin and Spanish grammar, Christian doctrine and sacred history, general geography and geography of Spain and the Philippines, Latin translation and analysis, elementary Greek, general history and history of Spain and the Philippines, arithmetic and algebra, rhetoric and poetry, geometry and plane trigonometry, and French. The attendance in 1895–96 was 1,915. They were under the charge of licentiates, in philosophy or science, or bachelors of arts who must have passed a teacher’s examination, and were under inspectors, one of whom was appointed by the rector of the university, who was ex-officio head of all the schools of the islands. Some of the schools had a one-year course, others two, and others three. The teachers were Filipinos. The supervisors of public instruction had the power to visit the schools, and recommend their establishment or removal. The pupils were required to enrol and be examined in the university, except those in distant provinces, who could be examined by a board composed of the alcalde-mayor, the parish priest, and the respective professor. The result of the examination was sent to the secretary of the university. The Dominicans had one private school at Dagupan (Pangasinán), founded 1890–91; the Franciscans, that of Guinobatan (Albay), founded 1894–95; and the Recollects that of Bacólod (Negros Occidental), founded 1895. There are still a number of private schools in the archipelago. During recent years many have sprung up in Manila and the provinces which give primary and secondary education, although the instruction is generally poor. Some of them have been started in answer to the complaint of some Filipino parents that the American schools are godless; some have been started by Roman Catholic priests for the purpose of combating purely secular instruction; and some are the expression of Filipino nationality and independence. Within ten months, since June, 1901, 29 new private schools were opened in Manila alone. They are generally patterned after the old method, and are either teaching in Spanish or the vernacular. The popular demand for English has compelled many of them to make a show of teaching it, but it is generally being attempted without adequate teachers. It was suggested that the curriculum in such schools, except in matters of religious instruction, conform to the course of the public schools, and that they be under the official inspection, such a course making it possible to have a real compulsory school law. The Liceo de Manila is a school organized and run by Filipinos. The late C. J. Zulueta was professor of history in this school and read an address at its opening, June 19, 1902. See LeRoy’sPhilippine Life, pp. 223, 224;Census of Philippines, iii, pp. 599, 600;Report of Commissioner of Education, 1899–1900, ii, p. 1622, 1901, ii, pp. 1437, 1438; andArchipiélago Filipino, i, pp. 344, 345.↑3i.e., Those wearing the cape or cloak.↑4Later transformed into the Ateneo Municipal,q.v.,post.↑5This school was located in the same building as the nautical school, and was established July 15, 1839 at the request of the board of trade, which had presented its petition to this effect, October 1, 1838. The report of 1883 shows a total enrolment of 562 pupils in double entry bookkeeping for the years 1866–72, with a graduation of 91; and an enrolment of 228 for the study of English, with a graduation of 57. SeeCensus of Philippines, iii, p. 614; and Montero y Vidal,Historia, iii, p. 30.↑6See these instructions, inVOL. VII, pp. 141–172.↑7SeeVOL. XVIII, pp. 282–288 for documents of 1610–19 regarding the grant of an encomienda made to this school or seminary.↑8Perhaps forpinaua, which signifies “half-pounded rice,” or “rice without the husk, but not bleached.”↑9Its foundation was approved in 1816, and endowed with the fitting rules and vocations, it had for some time only the character of a beaterio. In 1865 it was elevated to the rank of a school of higher grade. SeeArchipiélago Filipino, i, pp. 352, 353.↑
1Semper, writing in 1869, says of education among the natives. “The Christian Spaniard has not been able to exert much more influence of a spiritual than of a political nature upon the character of the natives. Popular education was formerly, and is now, entirely in the hands of the priests. Excepting the professors of common and Roman law all the chairs of the University of Santo Tomás of Manila are in the hands of the priests, who naturally arrange not only the theological lectures, but those upon metaphysics, physics, and logic, as well, according to the principles of the Catholic Church. In the provinces every village has its public schools in which instruction is obligatory; but, besides reading and writing, only Christian doctrine and church music are taught. This instruction, moreover, is by no means generally given in Spanish; at least, the general introduction of Spanish is still so recent that it will be long before the Spanish officials will be able to converse, even with their subordinates, in Spanish. On the east coast of Mindanao, one of the oldest and most settled provinces, the native dialect was exclusively used until forty or fifty years ago, and the priests used the old Malay alphabet until the beginning of the century, even in their official business. The number of natives—the Spaniards call them ‘Indians’—who can read and write is tolerably large, but owing to the total unreliability of all statistics on the subject, nothing accurate can be stated. In 1863 the Government attempted to make an enumeration of the population, and, incidentally, to note the number of those who could read and write. The fact that the result was never published seems to confirm the opinion that an unsatisfactory condition of things was found.” SeeCensus of Philippines, iii, p. 577.↑
2Under late Spanish domination, there were 67 private Latin schools in the archipelago, of which 23 were in the province of Manila, and nearly all the others in Luzón. In the term of 1886–87, there were 41 private schools, of secondary instruction, twelve of which were in the suburbs of Manila, two in the walled city, and the rest in the provinces of Luzón and the Visayas. Of the 41 professors in charge thereof, only one had the degree of doctor, eight were licentiates, and the rest held the degree of bachelor of arts. The course of study in these schools included Latin and Spanish grammar, Christian doctrine and sacred history, general geography and geography of Spain and the Philippines, Latin translation and analysis, elementary Greek, general history and history of Spain and the Philippines, arithmetic and algebra, rhetoric and poetry, geometry and plane trigonometry, and French. The attendance in 1895–96 was 1,915. They were under the charge of licentiates, in philosophy or science, or bachelors of arts who must have passed a teacher’s examination, and were under inspectors, one of whom was appointed by the rector of the university, who was ex-officio head of all the schools of the islands. Some of the schools had a one-year course, others two, and others three. The teachers were Filipinos. The supervisors of public instruction had the power to visit the schools, and recommend their establishment or removal. The pupils were required to enrol and be examined in the university, except those in distant provinces, who could be examined by a board composed of the alcalde-mayor, the parish priest, and the respective professor. The result of the examination was sent to the secretary of the university. The Dominicans had one private school at Dagupan (Pangasinán), founded 1890–91; the Franciscans, that of Guinobatan (Albay), founded 1894–95; and the Recollects that of Bacólod (Negros Occidental), founded 1895. There are still a number of private schools in the archipelago. During recent years many have sprung up in Manila and the provinces which give primary and secondary education, although the instruction is generally poor. Some of them have been started in answer to the complaint of some Filipino parents that the American schools are godless; some have been started by Roman Catholic priests for the purpose of combating purely secular instruction; and some are the expression of Filipino nationality and independence. Within ten months, since June, 1901, 29 new private schools were opened in Manila alone. They are generally patterned after the old method, and are either teaching in Spanish or the vernacular. The popular demand for English has compelled many of them to make a show of teaching it, but it is generally being attempted without adequate teachers. It was suggested that the curriculum in such schools, except in matters of religious instruction, conform to the course of the public schools, and that they be under the official inspection, such a course making it possible to have a real compulsory school law. The Liceo de Manila is a school organized and run by Filipinos. The late C. J. Zulueta was professor of history in this school and read an address at its opening, June 19, 1902. See LeRoy’sPhilippine Life, pp. 223, 224;Census of Philippines, iii, pp. 599, 600;Report of Commissioner of Education, 1899–1900, ii, p. 1622, 1901, ii, pp. 1437, 1438; andArchipiélago Filipino, i, pp. 344, 345.↑
3i.e., Those wearing the cape or cloak.↑
4Later transformed into the Ateneo Municipal,q.v.,post.↑
5This school was located in the same building as the nautical school, and was established July 15, 1839 at the request of the board of trade, which had presented its petition to this effect, October 1, 1838. The report of 1883 shows a total enrolment of 562 pupils in double entry bookkeeping for the years 1866–72, with a graduation of 91; and an enrolment of 228 for the study of English, with a graduation of 57. SeeCensus of Philippines, iii, p. 614; and Montero y Vidal,Historia, iii, p. 30.↑
6See these instructions, inVOL. VII, pp. 141–172.↑
7SeeVOL. XVIII, pp. 282–288 for documents of 1610–19 regarding the grant of an encomienda made to this school or seminary.↑
8Perhaps forpinaua, which signifies “half-pounded rice,” or “rice without the husk, but not bleached.”↑
9Its foundation was approved in 1816, and endowed with the fitting rules and vocations, it had for some time only the character of a beaterio. In 1865 it was elevated to the rank of a school of higher grade. SeeArchipiélago Filipino, i, pp. 352, 353.↑