VIEW OF A PORTION OF THE IRRIGATED DISTRICT OF CLARKSTON, ASOTIN COUNTYVINE COVERED COTTAGE, CLARKSTONShowing beautiful effect which can be produced with vines, trees and flowersIn 1916, a more momentous election even than that of 1912, Garfield did not line up with the state and nation, but gave her vote to Hughes. She was with the majority on Poindexter for senator and La Follette for Congress, but gave Lister for governor a slight majority over his republican competitor, McBride.COUNTY ELECTIONSTurning now from national and state choices to the county officers we find the following:In 1890, the chosen candidates were: For representative to the state legislature, James Palmer; sheriff, Gilbert Dickson; clerk, R. R. Spedden; auditor, Benjamin Butler; treasurer, R. E. Wills; attorney, W. N. Noffsinger; assessor, H. H. Wise; superintendent of schools, H. C. Benbow; surveyor, Hayden Gearhardt; coroner, G. W. Black; commissioners, John Lubling, George Stallcop, and Robert Story. All of the above were on the republican ticket except R. E. Wills.In 1892, the following were the successful candidates: Representative, F. W. D. Mays; superior judge, J. E. Edmiston; attorney, W. E. Greene; auditor, Joseph Davidson; sheriff, Gilbert Dickson; clerk, E. W. Gibson; treasurer, H. A. Adams; assessor, R. L. Kirby; superintendent of schools, H. C. Benbow; surveyor, Hayden Gearhardt; coroner, J. R. Gose; county commissioners, C. A. Shaffer, E. B. Fletcher, and Robert Story; sheep commissioner, G. F. Jackson. The parties were much more evenly divided than in the previous election, for Messrs. Mays, Edmiston, Greene, Davidson, Adams, Gose and Fletcher were democrats, the others republicans.In 1894, results were these: Representative, A. E. Allen; attorney, G. W. Jewett; clerk, E. W. Gibson; auditor, S. T. Sanford; sheriff, N. O. Baldwin; treasurer, H. M. Beach; superintendent of schools, E. V. Kuykendall; assessor, H. L. Wilson; surveyor, Edward Truax; coroner, G. W. Black; commissioners, George Ruarck and Chris Brockman.That was the populistic year, for of the above, Messrs. Allen, Sanford, Beach, Wilson, Ruarck, and Brockman are all set down as P. P.'s.In 1896, the county officers were as follows: Representative, James Parker; sheriff, N. O. Baldwin; auditor, S. T. Sanford; assessor, H. L. Wilson; clerk, A. E. Dickson; treasurer, H. M. Beach; attorney, G. W. Jewett; superintendent of schools, Emma Nelson; surveyor, Edison Griggs; commissioner, Chris Brockman; coroner, G. W. Black. That was another populistic year, for six of the successful candidates were of that faith.In the election of 1898, the ebb of the tide of populism became visible, for of the successful aspirants, only three were P. P'.s. The chosen candidates were these: Representative, C. M. Baldwin; sheriff, S. S. Russell; clerk, A. E. Dickson; auditor, J. A. Strain; treasurer, H. Dixon; attorney, E. V. Kuykendall; assessor, J. P. Buchet; superintendent of schools, Emma Elsensohn; coroner, W. P. Williamson; commissioners, S. S. Young and August Young.Election results of 1900 were thus: Representative, W. L. Howell; sheriff, J. A. Strain; auditor, E. M. Pomeroy; treasurer, W. H. Dixon; clerk, H. A.Adams; assessor, F. W. Messenger; superintendent of schools, Nellie Vallen; attorney, Frank Cardwell; coroner, C. G. Black; surveyor, J. M. Reid; commissioners, A. H. Malone and D. R. Lewis. In this election the populists no longer appeared, but several democrats carried away the trophies, the following being of that party, Howell, Strain, Cardwell, and Malone.In 1902, the successful ones were: Representative, W. L. Howell; auditor, Frank Burch; sheriff, J. A. Strain; clerk, A. A. Kirby; treasurer, H. A. Adams; attorney, J. T. Ledgerwood; assessor, F. W. Messenger; superintendent of schools, Nellie Vallen; surveyor, J. E. Tupper; coroner, C. G. Black; commissioners, J. O. Miles and D. B. Williams. In that list were four democrats.The year 1904 brought another presidential year and with republican victory there came also general success for the same party in the county votes:For representative, W. O. Long; sheriff, W. H. Dixon; clerk, A. A. Kirby; auditor, B. F. Burch; treasurer, J. H. Schneckloth; attorney, J. T. Ledgerwood; assessor, M. N. Jeffreys; surveyor, J. E. Tupper; superintendent of schools, Violetta Smith; commissioners, E. G. Hastings, W. J. Kelly; coroner, G. W. Black. Four—auditor, treasurer, attorney, and superintendent of schools were democrats.In 1906 the voters designated: For representative, J. O. Long; sheriff, W. H. Dixon; clerk, Harry St. George; auditor, J. P. Buchet; treasurer, J. H. Schneckloth; attorney, A. A. Kirby; assessor, M. N. Jeffreys; superintendent of schools, Violetta Smith; surveyor, I. J. Trescott.In that election the auditor, treasurer, and superintendent of schools were democrats.Another presidential and gubernatorial year comes in with 1908, and we find: Representative, H. C. Krouse; sheriff, F. V. Messenger; clerk, Harry St. George; auditor, J. P. Buchet; attorney, E. V. Kuykendall; treasurer, J. B. Hawkins; assessor, Daniel Kidwell; superintendent of schools, Elizabeth McCoy; commissioners, F. L. Miller, J. D. Lyon. Of these Messrs. Buchet and Hawkins were democrats.In 1910 the successful candidates were: Representative, W. J. Kelly; sheriff, B. L. Keatts; clerk, E. E. Powell; auditor, H. St. George; treasurer, J. H. Schneckloth; attorney, A. G. Farley; assessor, Daniel Kidwell; superintendent of schools, Mrs. M. E. Liggett; commissioners, F. L. Miller and E. D. Smith. The party distribution was about as before, Messrs. Keatts, Schneckloth, and Smith being democrats and the others republicans.The outcome in 1912 was this: Representative, C. G. Black; sheriff, J. C. McKeiman; clerk, E. E. Powell; auditor, H. St. George; attorney, A. G. Farley; superintendent of schools, Mrs. M. E. Liggett; engineer, R. W. Rigsby; assessor, A. J. Buchet; commissioners, E. D. Smith, Isaac Tewalt. All republicans except McKeiman, Rigsby, Buchet, and Smith.In 1914, we find the following: Representative, C. G. Black; auditor, E. E. Powell; treasurer, Emma A. Noble; clerk, Harry St. George; sheriff, W. J. Schneckloth; assessor, A. J. Buchet; attorney, C. Alexander McCabe; superintendent of schools, Belva L. Ball; engineer, R. W. Rigsby; commissioners, E. L. Sanford, C. H. Rommel. The politics were essentially as before.In 1916 we find: Representative, John T. Ledgerwood; auditor, E. E. Powell; treasurer, Olive O. Darby; clerk, H. St. George; sheriff, W. J. Schneckloth;assessor, A. J. Buchet; superintendent of schools, Belva L. Ball; engineer, M. W. Fitzsimmons; commissioner, Edward Malone. Politics were about as before.In the foregoing list we have not included the state senators or superior judges, for the reason that they were joint with other counties. It should be stated, however, that in 1906 and 1910, J. R. Stevenson of Pomeroy filled the position of senator from the district with conspicuous ability, and that Chester F. Miller of Dayton was almost continuously the superior judge. It may also be added that the position of sheep commissioner was dropped, and that a new office, court commissioner (presumably having no connection with sheep, though possibly with shearing) was established, and in the elections of 1914 and 1916 was filled by G. W. Jewett.GENERAL EVENTSTurning from political events to those of more general nature we discover that the most important developments in transportation were connected with three lines of business; the construction of the branch line of railroad from Starbuck to a little beyond Pomeroy; improvements in the navigation of Snake River and Columbia River; and the development of the peculiar shute and tramway system for moving grain from the high prairies in the northern edge of the county to the Snake River steamers.The railroad history goes back to 1883. In April of that year a delegation of Pomeroy and Pataha men, consisting of B. B. Day, C. B. Foote, John Houser, Cyrus Davis, and F. W. D. Mays, went to Walla Walla to meet Henry Villard, head of the O. R. and N. System, and received much encouragement that a road up the Pataha would be immediately considered. However, the time was not yet, and, as common in such cases, time passed on without results.In January, 1885, Pres. Elijah Smith of the O. R. & N. Co. made the proposal to the people of the county that if they would grade and lay ties the company would complete the work and inaugurate the line. To many farmers this seemed rather a skin game, not a unusual process in railroad building.We find some correspondence and some comments in theEast Washingtonianof so much interest that we incorporate them here:"At this period grain was stacked up on the banks of Snake River awaiting a sufficient stage of water to permit of its being hauled away by boats. With the road built it would soon be in the markets of San Francisco and Portland; the farmers of Garfield would be placed on an equal footing with those of Columbia County. Grain would be worth at least 10 cents more per bushel than it was at that time; cattle, hogs, etc., would not have to be sacrificed at cut-throat prices to pay taxes and grocery bills. With a railroad tapping the heart of Garfield County, an era of prosperity appeared likely to prevail. As conditions existed the county merchants could not take grain for store bills; they would be compelled to hold most of it until the next year before they could ship it; they must take all chances upon the price remaining at what they had paid for it. Within sixty and ninety days their goods must be paid for; wheat would not answer for that purpose; practically, the farmers had no reliable market whatever. The theory advanced was, 'Build a road and wheat will be legal tender for alldebts.' Under date, New York, January 24, 1885, Mr. John Harford, of Pataha City received the following letter from E. H. Morrison:"Dear Sir:"Your letter received, also one from Doctor Jorgensen, stating that the Garfield County people were willing to furnish the grading in case the O. R. & N. Company would build a road from Starbuck to Pomeroy or Pataha."I am sorry that there should be any opposition from the Pomeroy people, as certainly a road to their town would benefit not only the people of that city, but the tributary country. In the first place it is going to be a very difficult matter to interest the company sufficiently to have them build in any event, as there are some branches which they think are of far more importance, such as the completion of the road to Moscow and the road from Colfax to the Farmington country. Therefore it behooves your people to settle all your difficulties and unite as one in doing everything to get a road to that section of the country."Since receiving your letters I have had an interview with Mr. Smith, president, and some of the directors, and I can tell you that they are not exuberant over building additional roads in Washington Territory or Oregon. But, I think, if in addition to the grading, which your people must agree to do, you will secure subscriptions sufficient to pay for the ties, that they will go ahead and build the road in time for the coming crop. These subscriptions must be in the form of notes, of grain notes, something that they can turn over to a contractor who will have the building of the road, and in that way relieving them of all trouble in collecting the subscriptions."Yours very truly,"E. H. Morrison."In July, 1885, C. T. Stiles, Cyrus Davis, Charles Ward, G. A. Sable, N. C. Williams, L. P. Mulkey, F. W. D. Mays, G. A. McCanse, R. M. Smith and A. C. Short, from Pataha City and Pomeroy, were in Walla Walla. This was Saturday. Their object was to hold a conference with railroad officials, and, if possible, induce them to extend the Riparia branch to tap the rich agricultural country of the Pataha. There were over two million bushels of grain to ship from Garfield County; it was impossible for boats on the Snake River to handle such a bulk.August 10th, H. S. Rowe, general superintendent, and Robert McCleland, chief engineer, of the Oregon Railroad & Navigation Company, accompanied by Dr. Joseph Jorgensen and Frank Paine, of Walla Walla, visited Pomeroy in the interest of a railroad up the Pataha. A mass meeting was held. Mr. Rowe made the definite promise that if the right-of-way was procured, together with necessary depot grounds, the locomotive would enter Pomeroy by January 1, 1886. Here was a proposition far more reasonable than the previous one demanding that the farmers grade and tie the road; it demonstrated that the company was a trifle better "prepared" to extend its lines than it had at first made the farmer believe. Without the shadow of a doubt there had been considerable jockeying on the part of the railway magnates in the preliminary arrangements of the Pataha Creek extension.By August 15th, the right-of-way from Starbuck to Pomeroy, with one or two minor exceptions, had been granted to Messrs. Scott, Austin, Wilson andLynch. In reality, they had, two years subsequently, secured this right-of-way for what was then called the Starbuck & Pomeroy Road—one of the projects that had failed to materialize. These gentlemen offered to relinquish their claims provided the Oregon Railroad & Navigation Company would construct the line within a specified time; this Mr. Rowe promised should be done. A committee of three, viz.: F. W. D. Mays, W. C. Potter, Dixon Davis, were named to co-operate with the above named four gentlemen, the railway men, forming a committee of the whole, to secure the right-of-way through Pomeroy and negotiate with the owners of the prospective depot grounds as to assessments and valuations of property required to locate the road. Subscriptions were solicited from property holders to defray expenses for securing right-of-way privileges. August 15th theColumbia Chroniclepublished the following:"Superintendent Rowe, Hon. Joseph Jorgensen and Frank Paine of Walla Walla returned from Pomeroy Wednesday evening, having been to the Pataha country in the interests of the proposed branch railroad up that stream from Starbuck. While there a meeting of citizens was held and the depot grounds selected upon the company's land, one-half mile from Pomeroy. The people had offered $9 per ton for hauling grain to Portland, provided the road was built last season, but it was not thought likely that the company would demand more than the regular rate in such an event. It is thought that the graders on the Moscow branch will be transferred to the Pataha in October, and work on the road begun. The people of Garfield County need a road badly and we hope their efforts to obtain one will be rewarded."The following telegram was received at Pomeroy Friday morning, October 16, 1885:"I am instructed to commence work on the Pataha branch as soon as possible, and will commence immediately."H. S. Rowe.""Portland, October 15, 1885."January 9, 1886, construction trains were running within nine miles of Pomeroy; but track laying had ceased for some time past. Difficulty was experienced in getting railroad iron to "the front" fast enough. On the 23rd the track had reached Pomeroy; the railroad "consummation devoutly to be wished" was an accomplished fact. Here the road ceased; it was never extended to Pataha City; Pomeroy became the terminus. November 14, 1885, theEast Washingtonianpublished the following:"It is a fact that it was only by the 'skin of the teeth' that the people of the county have been assured of the speedy construction of a railroad in our midst. Had not the order to build been given when it was it is not likely that it would have been given for two or three years. It was really against the interests of the Oregon Railroad & Navigation Company to build the Pataha road this fall. Here there was no threatened competition. It would have been much more to their interests to have built the Farmington road first, because the Northern Pacific is competing for the traffic, while here there is no opposition, and no probability of any. It was difficult to get money to build any road, and if the company had constructed the Farmington branch first, they would so far haveexhausted their means that we might have had to wait for years for a road. It was a fortunate thing for our farmers that things took so favorable a turn. We have been assured that the guarantee for the right-of-way and depot grounds had much to do in bringing about this result. In fact, without this guarantee the road would not have been built, and we might have remained for a long time in the same helpless condition we have been in for years. It has cost something, and it will cost more to secure the right-of-way. A bond was given in the sum of $10,000 to secure the right-of-way and depot grounds. Had not a number of our citizens come forward and made this bond, there would not have been a stroke made on this road."Thus that great need of transportation was met by co-operation of railroad and people. It does not seem likely that the O. R. & N. Co. would have suffered, even if they had met all the expense themselves. Pomeroy has become one of the greatest original grain shipping points in the state, which means in the world. In 1916 there were over a million bushels shipped from the warehouses at Pomeroy.RIVER IMPROVEMENTThe improvement of the rivers has always been of special interest and importance to Garfield County. Immense quantities of grain are produced in the fertile plains of the northern part of the county. To much of that area the haul to Pomeroy is long and hard and the river is the best resource. For about half the year Snake River is navigable from Asotin to its mouth, and for nine or ten months, from Asotin to Riparia. Steamers of the O. R. & N. Co. have plied regularly for many years on this latter run, gathering up the wheat along the southern shore and conveying it to Riparia whence it went by train to seaboard. It is needless to observe that the railroad is not in business for its health or for gratuitous service and with practically monopoly conditions the freight tariffs were heavy. Hence it was clear that an "Open River" to the sea was of vital importance. Garfield County has therefore borne an active part in the systematic efforts to secure Congressional appropriations for these purposes. In the Legislative sessions of 1907 and 1909, a special effort was made for co-operation by the State of Washington with the Federal Government for improvement of Snake River, with the expectation that the Government would thereby proceed more rapidly with the Celilo Canal, the key to the Open River. Hon. J. R. Stevenson, representing Garfield County in the State Senate, performed a most valuable service in securing appropriations by the state looking to this co-operation. In the face of considerable opposition from portions of the state not directly interested, Senator Stevenson handled the situation with great skill and brought the result to pass which had a decisive bearing upon the Government. For following the successive appropriations by the Legislature the Government, convinced of the need and of the wishes of the people, proceeded to definite and continuous appropriations, culminating in the Celilo Canal in 1915, as detailed in an earlier chapter. For this happy result we are indebted largely to Senator Stevenson. In the House, Hon. W. O. Long of Garfield was equally faithful to the wishes of his constituents, though not in a committee position to exercise the same power.But the most unique feature of transportation on the rivers is the system ofrunning grain sacks from the highlands, 2,000 feet above sea level, to the river, seven hundred feet or less, above the sea.In the early '80s Paine Brothers of Walla Walla undertook to run wheat down in a wooden chute and sack it below. This was found impracticable, because of the friction. In 1887 and later a tramway with wooden rails was built about opposite Wawaiwai. In 1891 a much better tramway was built known as the Mayview Tramway, owned by a joint association of farmers. After several accidents and some discouraging experiences the enterprise passed into the hands of John Worum. Both tramways are now owned by Max Houser of Portland. It was found that the chutes either for grain in bulk or in sacks were not practicable on account of friction. But the tramways, one of them using buckets and the other cars, after some losses, have proved a great success. The cost of operation is small, as the weight of the descending cars of buckets lifts the empty ones, and a vast amount of grain is lowered by them to the steamers. The tramway at Ilia handles about one hundred and fifty thousand bushels annually, and the one at Mayview about two hundred and fifty thousand.The grain business, nearly equally divided in some years between wheat and barley, but in recent times with much more wheat, has been the leading source of income. Two large and well equipped mills, one at Pataha and one at Pomeroy, furnish constant centers of activity. Both these are owned by Houser. Mr. Fred Matthes is manager of the Pomeroy Mill, and Wm. Houser of the Pataha Mill.THE STOCK INTERESTSWhile the grain business is now foremost, Garfield County started as a stock country and even yet has important stock interests. A valuable article on the stock interests by J. O. Long appeared in the Pioneer Edition of theWashingtonian, and it is worthy of permanent preservation. We insert it here:"Stock raising was the first remunerative industry of Garfield County, and the first settlers believed that stock raising would be the only industry that would pay them best for their labor.Parson Quinn was one of the first settlers. In 1862 he settled on the place that Gilbert Dickson now owns, and started in the horse business. Soon after William McEnnery, Frank and Archie McBrearty and others settled along the lower Pataha and brought with them small bunches of cattle.J. M. Pomeroy settled where the city that bears his name now stands, in 1864, and brought with him 140 head of cattle which he drove from Salem, Oregon, over the Barlow route to The Dalles, and on up the Columbia.The Owsleys came in '68 and brought with them fifteen head of cattle and a few horses.Mack Tatman settled on the Tatman Gulch in 1869, and launched into the cattle business. Newt. Estes, about this time, settled on the Deadman and became the largest cattle owner in what is now Garfield County. All of the early pioneers settled along the streams where they fed.It was thought at that time that the hills you now see growing such bountiful crops of wheat and barley were fit for nothing but grazing. When we came, in 1873, they told us we couldn't raise anything on the old Pataha Flat. In '73we found the western portion of the county well stocked with cattle and horses, but the eastern part was sparsely settled, and there were very few cattle and horses.At this time a few sheep were ranged, but in a few years the sheep men began to come in—Charles Seeley, the Logans, Charles McCabe and, a little later, J. H. Walker, but the sheep industry did not grow to any great extent in this county. Cattle was the main industry up to '90, when it began to decline.From 1873 to 1880 the hills began to settle rapidly, the '70s bringing such stock men as Tom Burlingame, the Buchets, Williams, Bentley, Pings, Johnny Lynn, Brown and Wellers. Some of these men acquired large herds. I have no way of knowing the number of stock when the industry was at its zenith, but we had lots of cattle to drive and ship out.The first buyer to come to Garfield County operated on the Tucanon, near Marengo, about '76 or '77, and the price paid was fourteen to sixteen dollars for two year old steers, and about eighteen to twenty dollars for threes. They drove them East, taking one more years to make the trip.J. M. Pomeroy was the first to bring in good stock. In the bunch of 140 head were some of the best Shorthorns, or Durhams, as they were then called, that ever came to this county. People bought and sold "Pomeroy Durhams" for forty years. Perhaps a large portion of the readers will remember the roan Shorthorns that Vannattan had on his place below town, when he sold his ranch to Campbell & Sanford in 1902. They were descendants of the Pomeroy roan Durhams. Perhaps the majority of the people living here now do not realize what a stock county this was in the '70s.I remember in the summer of '75 or '76 Mr. William Cluster, my father and myself, then a boy, came down the Benjamin Gulch to the Pataha looking after our stock. We forded the creek about where the park is now, and a little way from the creek stood a little log cabin, and in the doorway stood Charles McCabe, then a young man. We inquired after our brands and marks, and came on down the north side of the creek, my father and Mr. Cluster riding along the road and I galloping back and forth from bluff to creek, scaring the cattle out of the grass so we could see the brands and marks. We took dinner with Mr. and Mrs. Pomeroy in the old log cabin that stood for many years afterwards in the lower part of town, and while we partook of fried trout and other good things that the pioneer wives knew so well how to prepare the men discussed the Roan Shorthorns.To illustrate what grass we had here in those days, I will repeat what Pearl Smith once said. He wanted to make a trip across the Snake River, and he had heard so much about the Alpowa he decided to go that way. He dropped down on the creek about where Vint. Gilbert's place is now and went on down. When he returned he was asked what he thought of the Alpowa, and said, 'Those hills reach from hell to heaven, with bunch grass from top to bottom.'Garfield County never contained very large stock owners. Newt. Estes was cattle king with something like one thousand five hundred head. J. H. Walker owned the largest band of horses, and George Gibson was the largest sheep raiser. The Owsleys at one time owned 750 cattle and a good many horses. Mack Tatman at one time had 400 or 500 head of cattle, and Tom Burlingame 350.In 1888 Mat Dixon, Moffat Williams and Dave Dixon bought and drove to Pataha Flat 512 head of cattle. This was the first large importation of cattle to this county.About this time, or a few years before, most of the large holders began to cut down their herds, and some quit entirely. Among them were Melton, Freeman, Estes and Tatman, and, after a few years, Rafferty and Bill Kelly practically quit.The horse industry of the country did not take much change from cow pony or cayuse till about 1880. A 1,000 pound horse was considered a good one, and a horse that wore an eighteen inch collar was a large one. Mr. Ford, who lived on the flat, bought a large Percheron, and a year later Tucker bought a grade Clyde, and our horses began to increase in size, and it wasn't long till the 1,000 pound horse and the eighteen inch collar were things of the past. The draft horse is here and as good as any county can boast of. We now have 6,581 taxable horses.We didn't raise many hogs till the railroad was built to Dayton. Prior to that a few put up bacon and hauled it to Lewiston. After the road reached Pomeroy people began to raise more hogs, and according to the assessor's roll we have 5,254.The sheep industry has held its own and we now have in the county 11,657, owned principally by Charles Dodge, Weller Live Stock Co., Clayton, Palmer, and J. O. Long. Part of the Palmer herd are assessed in Asotin County. The farmers are now taking up sheep husbandry on their own farms, and we look for sheep and hogs to increase, and horses to hold their own. The cattle industry is still on the decline, as the roll shows only 5,181 head milch cows included, and a thousand or more were brought in to be fattened. As our pasture land increases in value the people will discard the cow for the ewe and mare."THUS MUCH FOR LIVE STOCK, AND NOW FOR SCHOOLSThe schools of any American community must always be accorded a place of first importance. While our space does not permit extended details, we must make mention of the beginnings in this vital feature of the life of the county.The first school seems to have been the Owsley School, five miles below Pomeroy, built in 1872. At that time the children of the Pomeroy family were the only ones in the future town to go to school. As other families came in the need of another school was manifest, and a new building was completed in 1879 on what subsequently became the home of Mr. Benbow. That building was paid for by private subscription, Mr. B. B. Day being the largest contributor. There were about fifty pupils in that first Pomeroy School, and from the names the first families can be noted, there being representatives of the Pomeroy, Heaton, Rew, Milan, Potter, Hull, Dyer, James, Owsley and Benjamin families. Mr. and Mrs. De Bow were the first teachers.In 1873 the first school district on the Pataha Flat was organized by a meeting of the settlers at the blacksmith shop belonging to George Gill. The first teacher was William Butler. The pupils met first in a little log cabin, but in 1874 a schoolhouse was built.Such was the inauguration of the school system of Garfield County and of Pomeroy. The first school in Pataha City was started in 1878 with twenty pupils and the first teacher was Mr. Ogleby. The limits of space forbid us to do more than touch upon the chief stages of subsequent growth. It may be said that several of the Pomeroy and Pataha teachers have attained high rank in their profession in other parts of the state, and that the school system of Pomeroy, including the high school, has made an enviable reputation for breadth and thoroughness of instruction. That condition in the chief town has had a tonic effect upon the country schools. In 1889 the first considerable school building in Pomeroy was erected at a cost of $10,000 and Mr. Brown became first principal. Mr. Yerkes followed and under his regime a high school with a three year course was established. The principals following Mr. Yerkes were: J. A. Fertig, E. V. Kuykendall, D. E. Schnebley, Walter Lingenfelter, H. C. Benbow, C. H. Knaff, A. Kuykendall, R. R. Grant, and in the year 1910, the position of city superintendent was created, with C. C. Ockerman as incumbent. He was followed in 1912 by E. W. Collier who still holds the place. A large addition to the school building was made in 1905, and in 1916 the present elegant and well equipped high school building was opened. Through the courtesy of Miss Belva Ball, county superintendent, we are enabled to present the following data, covering the statistics of last year both for the county and for Pomeroy.There have been forty-five districts in the county, numbered consecutively from one to forty-four. There is also Dist. 100 in Pomeroy. Several numbers have dropped out, through reorganization. These are Nos. 2, 15, 22, 25, 27, 30, 38 and 40.No. 11 is Pomeroy. The teaching force in this district consists at the present date of Prof. E. W. Collier, Jessie Campbell, Ella Fisk, Emma Spenger, Charlotte Marshall, Mrs. Laura Davison, Gertrude Wilson, Dessa M. King, Jennie Dean, C. B. Lindahl, Mabel Owen, H. C. Hayes, Marie Schmidt, Brightie Considine, A. S. Kubitz, Mamie McCoy.The total assessed valuation of the county by current report is $4,192,340. That of the school property, including grounds, buildings, and equipment, is $370,240.The total school enrollment is 1,074, the school census is 1,339. The enrollment of the Pomeroy High School is 120. This is an accredited school. The school at Pataha has one year high school work. The total number of teachers in the county is fifty-five.TOWNS OF GARFIELD COUNTYFrom the foregoing glances at the history of the county we turn to that of the towns. Although, as we have seen, a number of towns were founded, having county seat ambitions and great expectations, only two were incorporated, Pomeroy and Pataha City, and of these the latter surrendered its charter, and hence Pomeroy is the only place that maintains a corporate existence.By the courtesy of theEast Washingtonianwe gather the following data about the founding of Pomeroy."The idea of converting his property here into a city first occurred to Mr. Pomeroy and took definite shape in 1877. At this time William C. Potter camewith some money and induced Mr. Pomeroy to join him in a flouring mill enterprise to be operated by power furnished by water from the Pataha Creek. To this project Mr. Pomeroy contributed liberally and the mill was built and the town started."The townsite plat of Pomeroy was filed for record May 28, 1878. Those who platted the town were Joseph M. Pomeroy, Martha J. Pomeroy, Benjamin B. Day and Minnie A. Day. It is located on the east half of the south half of the southwest quarter of section 31, and the west half of the south half of the southeast quarter of section 31, in township 12 north, range 42 east."Additions since that time: Wilson's by E. T. Wilson and J. M. Pomeroy, June 13, 1882."Day's by Minnie A. Day and B. B. Day, August 12, 1882."Pomeroy's, by Martha J. St. George and William S. Day, September 20, 1881."Mulkey's, by Logan P. Mulkey and Charles J. Mulkey, November 14, 1882."Darby's, by Walter L. Darby, August 14, 1884."Depot, by the Columbia Valley Land & Investment Company, April 30, 1886."Potter's, by William C. Potter, August 25, 1887."E. M. Pomeroy's, by E. M. Pomeroy, November 28, 1892."Crystal Spring, by S. G. Cosgrove, July 28, 1902."Highland, by H. C. Benbow and E. V. Kuykendall, July 9, 1902."Stephens', by Frank C. Stephens, March 29, 1904."The growth of Pomeroy continued to be particularly rapid. In March, 1879, we find the following business houses in the pretty little town: B. B. Day, general merchandise, and grist mill; Mulkey Brothers, hardware and tinware; Frary & Williams, drug store; G. A. Sawyer, Pomeroy Hotel; Calaway Brothers, livery stable; Scholl Brothers, brewery."The first meeting of the Pomeroy common council was held Wednesday, February 10, 1886. The officers named in the charter were J. M. Pomeroy, mayor; and C. B. Foote, John Brady, W. J. Schmidt, R. A. Rew and Jay Lynch, councilmen. At the first meeting, however, R. A. Rew tendered his resignation and S. G. Cosgrove was appointed in his place. Frank E. Williamson was selected by the council as city recorder. At the second meeting February 11, Mr. Williamson tendered his resignation as clerk. The following officers were appointed by the city council at this meeting: Recorder, C. H. DeBow; attorney, M. F. Gose; justice of the peace, W. S. Newland; marshal, G. D. Gibson."The initial city election held in Pomeroy was on Monday, July 12th. Officers appointed for the supervision of the election were D. C. Gardner and David Dixon, judges; W. S. Newland, inspector, and I. C. Sanford and Frank Jackson, clerks. There were two tickets in the field, the People's ticket, with Elmon Scott for mayor; John Brady, William J. Schmidt, George Gibson, David Dixon and Dirk Zemel, for councilmen, and the Citizens' ticket with M. F. Gose for mayor, and C. A. McCabe, D. C. Gardner, S. K. Hull, Jay Lynch and R. B. Porter for councilmen. There were cast 218 votes with the following result. Mayor, Elmon Scott, seventeen majority; councilmen John Brady, C. A. McCabe, D. C. Gardner, S. K. Hull and Jay Lynch."In August, 1887, the leading citizens of Pomeroy filed articles with the county auditor incorporating the 'Pomeroy Improvement Company.' The object of this organization was to improve the town. The original capital stock was $15,000 with the privilege of increasing this to $25,000. Forty per cent was paid in at its inception. Following were the officers and stockholders: G. B. Kuykendall, president; S. G. Crandall, vice president; W. F. Noffsinger, secretary; T. Driscoll, treasurer; C. A. McCabe, H. C. Thompson, C. H. Seeley, trustees. The stockholders were C. A. McCabe, S. G. Crandall, M. F. Gose, F. W. D. Mays, J. M. Hunt, Charles Kinzie, W. S. Parker, F. E. Williamson, G. W. Black, J. G. Hughes, T. Driscoll, H. C. Thompson, W. N. Noffsinger, John Brady, G. B. Kuykendall, John Rehorn, Charles H. Seeley, G. L. Campbell, Elmon Scott, R. L. Rush, W. J. Schmidt, Herman H. Schlotfeldt, H. Darby, J. A. Darby, and W. L. Darby."The permanent organization of the Pomeroy Fire Department was effected at a meeting of citizens held July 23, 1887. A constitution and by-laws were adopted and the following officers elected: M. F. Gose, president; J. M. Hunt, vice president; C. H. Seeley, treasurer; J. W. Rafferty, secretary; John Rehorn, foreman; H. St. George, first assistant; Charles Kinzie, second assistant. The enrolled membership was over thirty. Late in that year the department purchased a hook and ladder truck and a hose cart."The first brick building in the City of Pomeroy was erected in the fall of 1887. This was the First National Bank of Pomeroy; the cost was $20,000. This was followed by the Seeley block, which, while less costly, was not inferior in point of architectural beauty to the bank building."The first conflagration of importance following the organization of the fire department in 1887 attacked Pomeroy Thursday morning, February 6, 1890. The fire broke out near the dividing wall between J. H. Hagy's boot and shoe shop and the dry goods store belonging to S. Kasper on Main Street."In October, 1890, Company H National Guard of Washington was mustered into service."There were forty-three men in line; officers were: Captain, Harry St. George; first lieutenant, Elmer R. Brady; second lieutenant, J. W. Murphy. The company was mustered on October 2d, by Captain Wise, of Goldendale."The greatest fire known in the history of the town occurred July 18, 1890, when the business portion of the town east of Third Street was swept away. The Garfield County Courthouse was destroyed entailing a public loss of $10,000."In 1898 the City of Pomeroy had a population of 1,500, and the volume of business done was estimated at one million dollars annually."During all the time from the establishment of the city, it remained under the Territorial charter of 1886. But on May 28, 1917, an election was held for the purpose of voting upon a new charter. It had become plain that the old charter was no longer adapted to the growing city and hence the change was made by general consent. A primary election for officers for the new government was held on July 30th, and on August 27th, the election took place. As a result of this election the city government under the new charter was duly inaugurated.With the officers of the new government it is fitting that those of the outgoingbe named. They were as follows: Mayor, Fred Matthes; councilmen, C. S. Black, W. A. DeBow, O. S. Williamson, D. E. Smith, and R. Hender. Clerk, Harry St. George. The officers under the new government are: Mayor, C. E. Kuykendall; councilmen, first ward, W. F. Taylor, George Engleson; second ward, B. Y. Rainey, J. D. Lyon; third ward, J. O. Long; fourth ward, F. M. Robinson; councilman at large, H. B. Henley; city attorney, A. G. Farley; city treasurer, W. B. Morris; city clerk, D. A. Taylor.HISTORY OF BUSINESS HOUSESWe find in the special number of theEast Washingtonianso valuable a resume of the history of business houses of Pomeroy, including reference to Pataha, that we add it to the excerpts which we have the privilege to use.This is by a man peculiarly qualified to write, J. J. McGrath, written in the year 1914:"The leading general merchandise stores here twenty-seven years ago were Brady and Rush, B. Cohn & Co. and Ben Hirsch & Co. The leading grocery was Dirk Zemel; hardware, H. Darby & Sons; jewelry, McCabe & Whitcomb; shoe store, J. H. Hagy; furniture, Vassar & Sacknitz; bakery, George Eller; harness, C. Ed Moore and W. W. Swank; drug stores, Central Drug Store and I. C. Sanford & Co."There were a few smaller stores, among them being Doctor Storey's second-hand store and dental parlor."Soon after this Ben Hirsch closed out and S. Kasper opened a store."On September 1, 1887, I entered the employment of E. L. Hemingway, at Ilia, who conducted a general merchandise store, and grain warehouse. Mr. Hemingway established these houses some years before the railroad was built to Pomeroy, and did a large business, people from miles around coming to Ilia to trade. Many came fifteen and eighteen miles to purchase their supplies at the Hemingway store. There are but few people living in the county that were customers of the Hemingway store in 1889."Two years later I became connected with the store of B. Cohn & Co., of Pomeroy. In 1892 we incorporated the Pomeroy Mercantile Company, and purchased the merchandise from B. Cohn & Co. The first stockholders were B. Cohn, C. H. Seeley, M. F. Gose, G. L. Campbell, P. O. Seeley, M. A. Dunham, J. A. Strain, D. B. Williams and J. J. McGrath."Many pioneers will remember some of the stockholders with pleasure. Some have been very successful in the financial world. In 1912 the Mercantile Company purchased the stock, fixtures and real estate from the Pomeroy Mercantile Company. The stockholders of the new company are C. H. Seeley, R. E. Allen, J. F. Burr, Mrs. J. B. Warren and J. J. McGrath."The firm of Brady & Rush changed to R. L. Rush & Co. in 1890, F. J. Elsensohn and J. B. Brady becoming junior members. Later R. L. Rush sold his interest to his partners and took the presidency of the Pomeroy State Bank, and the firm name was changed to Brady & Elsensohn until J. B. Brady sold his interest to F. J. Elsensohn. Mr. Elsensohn continued the business under his own name until he incorporated the Fred J. Elsensohn Co. Two years later he sold the business to J. N. Cardwell & Sons, who consolidated it with their business."E. W. Wilson and Mrs. M. Gibson came here in November, 1879, and opened a store in the Dirk Zemel Building. A year later fire and water nearly destroyed their stock, and the remainder was sold to D. Zemel."Dirk Zemel's grocery store was purchased by Allen & Adams in 1890. This firm came here from Pataha City and opened a store, later purchasing the Zemel store and consolidating them. Mr. Adams is now conducting the grocery store. Mr. Allen is vice president and stockholder in the Mercantile Company."About twenty-two years ago, C. H. Mowrey, with A. L. Darby, purchased the hardware business of H. Darby & Sons, and formed a partnership under the name of Darby & Mowrey, which business they have successfully conducted up to the present time."In the jewelry business, both C. A. McCabe and L. J. Whitcomb are dead. Both will be remembered by all old-timers as kind-hearted, honest men. In the last ten years two new jewelry stores have taken their place—L. T. Christopherson and George Simenstad, owners. Both carry large and up-to-date stocks."J. H. Hagy sold his shoe store about ten years ago to Powell & Taylor. Later Mr. Powell sold his interest to Taylor Bros., and later D. A. Taylor assumed management of the store and his brother opened a store at Pasco."Sacknitz purchased the furniture business from Vassar, and the latter moved away for a time, returning and opening a store under the name of Williamson & Vassar, and later Vassar & Son, who are now conducting the furniture and undertaking business."The Central Drug Store, owned and operated by Doctor Kuykendall, was purchased by his son, C. E. Kuykendall, about ten years ago. He is doing business where his father did twenty-seven years ago. The East End Drug Store was sold by I. C. Sanford & Co. to Doctor Black & Son, and later to M. A. Black. Now it is owned by Crump & Dill."In 1892 L. F. Koenig sold his interest in the business conducted under the name of Koenig & Bournhouser, in Pataha, and, with O. S. Williamson, opened a store here under the name of L. F. Koenig & Co. This store has been very successful and is operated today under the above name, with E. J. Williamson associated with them."J. N. Cardwell & Sons opened a general merchandise store here sixteen years ago, and later purchased the merchandise stock from Fred J. Elsensohn Co., and consolidated the two stores."In the spring of 1890, J. S. Thomas, J. S. Davis and H. M. Hathaway organized a hardware store under the name of J. S. Davis & Co. Later the business was purchased by R. E. Wills, C. P. Gammon and J. R. Stevenson, under the name of C. P. Gammon & Co., and later Wills & Stevenson. About fifteen years ago Mr. Stevenson bought Mr. Wills' interest in the business and has since conducted it very successfully."In 1890 C. A. Lundy and E. M. Rauch incorporated under the name of C. A. Lundy & Co., and opened a grain and real estate business. Later they dissolved the corporation and Mr. Lundy moved to Lewiston. Mr. Rauch then opened a hardware and implement house, which business he conducts at present."About fifteen years ago Mr. J. P. Ford, who at one time previous had been manager for an implement house here, returned and formed a partnership with J. R. Stevenson and opened an implement house. Later he purchased hispartner's interest and conducted a very successful business. He sold to Morris & Tewalt, later Mr. Morris purchased the interest of Mr. Tewalt, and became sole owner. He has since enlarged the business, adding furniture and hardware in connection with the implement business. Later he purchased the stock of the Pomeroy Implement Co."About twelve years ago Ward & Meyers bought the hardware business of James Hazelton, and a short time afterwards took in T. B. McKeirnan and conducted two stores. Mr. Ward sold his interest to Mr. Meyers, and later the business was purchased by R. J. McKeirnan, J. C. McKeirnan, B. L. Keatts and W. L. Meyers, and implements and hardware were added. Later R. J. McKeirnan bought Mr. Meyers' interest. W. L. Meyers then opened a new harness store."About fifteen years ago H. Wenning opened a bakery and grocery, and conducted it until two years ago, when he sold to S. L. Nicholson, who has since managed it."A number of pioneers in business not mentioned in the above, who sold their stores and moved away were: Foote & Hull, who were among the earliest business men; George Eller, Hayden Gearhardt, J. D. Tyrell, DeBow, Pomeroy Hardware & Implement Co."PATAHA CITYFrom Pomeroy we turn to its one time rival, three miles up the valley. Pataha City was laid out in 1878 by Angevine J. Favor. In 1882 W. W. Rigsby added to the townsite the tract known as Rigsby's addition. A. F. Beal made the survey of the new town. It was at first called "Favorsburg" and afterwards "Watertown." One of the most important events was the sale of a water right for a flour mill from a large spring south of the town by Cassander Woolery to J. M. Bowman and George Snyder. This was subsequently acquired by John Houser and became one of the most important mill properties in the state.The Charter of Pataha City was granted by Judge W. G. Langford on April 3, 1888. As indicating the established residents of the town the list of those petitioning for the charter possesses historical interest: J. H. Walker, A. J. Favor, G. D. Wilson, John Harford, John Houser, H. B. Ferguson, W. J. Wills, B. Steele, H. L. Caples, Thomas Cunningham, C. A. Lundy, Robert Gammon, J. S. Dennison, A. McQueen, W. B. Wetzel, A. E. Allen, T. W. Shannon, Elmer Sage, R. M. Smith, Peter Cook, H. C. Krouse, H. Lanning, L. F. Koenig, R. Bornhouser, Charles Ward.The first meeting of the board of trustees of Pataha was held in Harford & Son's bank, on April 12, 1888. John Harford was mayor, and the councilmen were: John Houser, A. J. Favor, J. H. Walker and G. D. Wilson. H. B. Ferguson was clerk of the board. H. C. Krouse was the city marshal, E. D. Briggs superintendent of streets, and E. C. Harford treasurer.One of the bitterest contests ever held in Pataha was over the question of prohibition. There was an election under the local option law in June, 1886. In the issue of theEast Washingtonianof July 3d, there is a very grave charge against the judges of election, in effect that they allowed foul play with the ballot boxes during the noon recess, as a result of which eighty-two "wet" ballots were deposited in a bunch. It was matter of common knowledge thatthe "drys" were in a majority in the town, and so extraordinary a result could not fail to excite suspicion. The effort in the interest of the "wets" was unavailing and the entire county finally became dry. On April 7, 1893, a great catastrophe befell the town, for on that day came a fire which destroyed the larger part of the business portion. That was in the very hardest part of the "hard times." The year 1894 was indeed a black year, worse for Garfield County than for Walla Walla and Columbia, for they, being older, had more accumulations to fall back on. Wheat was bringing only 25 or 30 cents a bushel, and a good part of the crop of 1893 had been destroyed by continued rain. In 1894 came the "Great Flood," railroad strikes, bank failures and general chaos in the business world. Among other banks, that of Harford & Son at Pataha closed its doors. Pataha was manifestly on the down grade as a town. It was and is a beautiful and fertile spot and is now fulfilling its mission in the world as a central point of farming production. In April 10, 1911, the question of disincorporation was submitted to vote and by nearly a unanimous decision the charter was surrendered and Pataha ceased to be an incorporation. The business men mainly moved to Pomeroy or elsewhere and the Houser Mill alone remained in undiminished vitality.The churches of Garfield County and Pomeroy are entitled to a place in any historic review.The first church organization in the county seems to have been effected in 1878, by Father Peter Paaps, of the Catholic Church on land donated by J. M. Pomeroy and C. A. McCabe. This church has been maintained to this day, and with it a parochial school, conducted at present by the Benedictine Sisters. The present pastor of the Catholic Church is Father Peter Taufen.The first Methodist preacher in Garfield County was Rev. George W. Kennedy, already spoken of in the chapter on Columbia County. He first came in 1874. Then a year later came Rev. A. J. Joslyn, whose home was in Dayton. There was no church organized as yet. In 1878 Rev. C. E. Rigsby established preaching places at a number of points, the schoolhouses or private residences furnishing meeting places. Two years later Rev. D. E. George took up the work, and he is remembered as a typical pioneer preacher. The first Methodist Church in Pomeroy was built in 1884 during the pastorate of Rev. W. T. Koontz. A number of pastors followed, the last of whom was Rev. A. Monroe. During his time a parsonage was built.The first Baptist Church was organized on June 3, 1888, by Rev. J. H. Teale, then general missionary for Eastern Washington and Northern Idaho. Rev. S. E. Stearns became the first pastor. The church building was erected in 1895, being dedicated on March 29, 1895, by Rev. A. M. Allyn. Rev. John Cashman was pastor during that period. During the pastorate of Rev. W. E. Sawyer the parsonage was erected. Rev. C. S. Treadwell was pastor from March, 1912, to April, 1914. The church has not a settled pastor at the date of this publication.Turning to the Christian Church, we find that the first services in the name of that fellowship were conducted in 1886 by Principal Wolverton of the Dayton schools. On November 20, 1887, "Brother" J. B. Daisley organized a church of twenty-five members. Like other early congregations they held services in store buildings, schoolhouses, courthouse, or almost any available shelter. In 1889, a house of worship was erected on a lot donated by Gilbert Dickson, and this was dedicated by "Brother" N. B. Alley in that year. The present pastor is Rev. R. Tibbs Maxey.
VIEW OF A PORTION OF THE IRRIGATED DISTRICT OF CLARKSTON, ASOTIN COUNTYVINE COVERED COTTAGE, CLARKSTONShowing beautiful effect which can be produced with vines, trees and flowersIn 1916, a more momentous election even than that of 1912, Garfield did not line up with the state and nation, but gave her vote to Hughes. She was with the majority on Poindexter for senator and La Follette for Congress, but gave Lister for governor a slight majority over his republican competitor, McBride.COUNTY ELECTIONSTurning now from national and state choices to the county officers we find the following:In 1890, the chosen candidates were: For representative to the state legislature, James Palmer; sheriff, Gilbert Dickson; clerk, R. R. Spedden; auditor, Benjamin Butler; treasurer, R. E. Wills; attorney, W. N. Noffsinger; assessor, H. H. Wise; superintendent of schools, H. C. Benbow; surveyor, Hayden Gearhardt; coroner, G. W. Black; commissioners, John Lubling, George Stallcop, and Robert Story. All of the above were on the republican ticket except R. E. Wills.In 1892, the following were the successful candidates: Representative, F. W. D. Mays; superior judge, J. E. Edmiston; attorney, W. E. Greene; auditor, Joseph Davidson; sheriff, Gilbert Dickson; clerk, E. W. Gibson; treasurer, H. A. Adams; assessor, R. L. Kirby; superintendent of schools, H. C. Benbow; surveyor, Hayden Gearhardt; coroner, J. R. Gose; county commissioners, C. A. Shaffer, E. B. Fletcher, and Robert Story; sheep commissioner, G. F. Jackson. The parties were much more evenly divided than in the previous election, for Messrs. Mays, Edmiston, Greene, Davidson, Adams, Gose and Fletcher were democrats, the others republicans.In 1894, results were these: Representative, A. E. Allen; attorney, G. W. Jewett; clerk, E. W. Gibson; auditor, S. T. Sanford; sheriff, N. O. Baldwin; treasurer, H. M. Beach; superintendent of schools, E. V. Kuykendall; assessor, H. L. Wilson; surveyor, Edward Truax; coroner, G. W. Black; commissioners, George Ruarck and Chris Brockman.That was the populistic year, for of the above, Messrs. Allen, Sanford, Beach, Wilson, Ruarck, and Brockman are all set down as P. P.'s.In 1896, the county officers were as follows: Representative, James Parker; sheriff, N. O. Baldwin; auditor, S. T. Sanford; assessor, H. L. Wilson; clerk, A. E. Dickson; treasurer, H. M. Beach; attorney, G. W. Jewett; superintendent of schools, Emma Nelson; surveyor, Edison Griggs; commissioner, Chris Brockman; coroner, G. W. Black. That was another populistic year, for six of the successful candidates were of that faith.In the election of 1898, the ebb of the tide of populism became visible, for of the successful aspirants, only three were P. P'.s. The chosen candidates were these: Representative, C. M. Baldwin; sheriff, S. S. Russell; clerk, A. E. Dickson; auditor, J. A. Strain; treasurer, H. Dixon; attorney, E. V. Kuykendall; assessor, J. P. Buchet; superintendent of schools, Emma Elsensohn; coroner, W. P. Williamson; commissioners, S. S. Young and August Young.Election results of 1900 were thus: Representative, W. L. Howell; sheriff, J. A. Strain; auditor, E. M. Pomeroy; treasurer, W. H. Dixon; clerk, H. A.Adams; assessor, F. W. Messenger; superintendent of schools, Nellie Vallen; attorney, Frank Cardwell; coroner, C. G. Black; surveyor, J. M. Reid; commissioners, A. H. Malone and D. R. Lewis. In this election the populists no longer appeared, but several democrats carried away the trophies, the following being of that party, Howell, Strain, Cardwell, and Malone.In 1902, the successful ones were: Representative, W. L. Howell; auditor, Frank Burch; sheriff, J. A. Strain; clerk, A. A. Kirby; treasurer, H. A. Adams; attorney, J. T. Ledgerwood; assessor, F. W. Messenger; superintendent of schools, Nellie Vallen; surveyor, J. E. Tupper; coroner, C. G. Black; commissioners, J. O. Miles and D. B. Williams. In that list were four democrats.The year 1904 brought another presidential year and with republican victory there came also general success for the same party in the county votes:For representative, W. O. Long; sheriff, W. H. Dixon; clerk, A. A. Kirby; auditor, B. F. Burch; treasurer, J. H. Schneckloth; attorney, J. T. Ledgerwood; assessor, M. N. Jeffreys; surveyor, J. E. Tupper; superintendent of schools, Violetta Smith; commissioners, E. G. Hastings, W. J. Kelly; coroner, G. W. Black. Four—auditor, treasurer, attorney, and superintendent of schools were democrats.In 1906 the voters designated: For representative, J. O. Long; sheriff, W. H. Dixon; clerk, Harry St. George; auditor, J. P. Buchet; treasurer, J. H. Schneckloth; attorney, A. A. Kirby; assessor, M. N. Jeffreys; superintendent of schools, Violetta Smith; surveyor, I. J. Trescott.In that election the auditor, treasurer, and superintendent of schools were democrats.Another presidential and gubernatorial year comes in with 1908, and we find: Representative, H. C. Krouse; sheriff, F. V. Messenger; clerk, Harry St. George; auditor, J. P. Buchet; attorney, E. V. Kuykendall; treasurer, J. B. Hawkins; assessor, Daniel Kidwell; superintendent of schools, Elizabeth McCoy; commissioners, F. L. Miller, J. D. Lyon. Of these Messrs. Buchet and Hawkins were democrats.In 1910 the successful candidates were: Representative, W. J. Kelly; sheriff, B. L. Keatts; clerk, E. E. Powell; auditor, H. St. George; treasurer, J. H. Schneckloth; attorney, A. G. Farley; assessor, Daniel Kidwell; superintendent of schools, Mrs. M. E. Liggett; commissioners, F. L. Miller and E. D. Smith. The party distribution was about as before, Messrs. Keatts, Schneckloth, and Smith being democrats and the others republicans.The outcome in 1912 was this: Representative, C. G. Black; sheriff, J. C. McKeiman; clerk, E. E. Powell; auditor, H. St. George; attorney, A. G. Farley; superintendent of schools, Mrs. M. E. Liggett; engineer, R. W. Rigsby; assessor, A. J. Buchet; commissioners, E. D. Smith, Isaac Tewalt. All republicans except McKeiman, Rigsby, Buchet, and Smith.In 1914, we find the following: Representative, C. G. Black; auditor, E. E. Powell; treasurer, Emma A. Noble; clerk, Harry St. George; sheriff, W. J. Schneckloth; assessor, A. J. Buchet; attorney, C. Alexander McCabe; superintendent of schools, Belva L. Ball; engineer, R. W. Rigsby; commissioners, E. L. Sanford, C. H. Rommel. The politics were essentially as before.In 1916 we find: Representative, John T. Ledgerwood; auditor, E. E. Powell; treasurer, Olive O. Darby; clerk, H. St. George; sheriff, W. J. Schneckloth;assessor, A. J. Buchet; superintendent of schools, Belva L. Ball; engineer, M. W. Fitzsimmons; commissioner, Edward Malone. Politics were about as before.In the foregoing list we have not included the state senators or superior judges, for the reason that they were joint with other counties. It should be stated, however, that in 1906 and 1910, J. R. Stevenson of Pomeroy filled the position of senator from the district with conspicuous ability, and that Chester F. Miller of Dayton was almost continuously the superior judge. It may also be added that the position of sheep commissioner was dropped, and that a new office, court commissioner (presumably having no connection with sheep, though possibly with shearing) was established, and in the elections of 1914 and 1916 was filled by G. W. Jewett.GENERAL EVENTSTurning from political events to those of more general nature we discover that the most important developments in transportation were connected with three lines of business; the construction of the branch line of railroad from Starbuck to a little beyond Pomeroy; improvements in the navigation of Snake River and Columbia River; and the development of the peculiar shute and tramway system for moving grain from the high prairies in the northern edge of the county to the Snake River steamers.The railroad history goes back to 1883. In April of that year a delegation of Pomeroy and Pataha men, consisting of B. B. Day, C. B. Foote, John Houser, Cyrus Davis, and F. W. D. Mays, went to Walla Walla to meet Henry Villard, head of the O. R. and N. System, and received much encouragement that a road up the Pataha would be immediately considered. However, the time was not yet, and, as common in such cases, time passed on without results.In January, 1885, Pres. Elijah Smith of the O. R. & N. Co. made the proposal to the people of the county that if they would grade and lay ties the company would complete the work and inaugurate the line. To many farmers this seemed rather a skin game, not a unusual process in railroad building.We find some correspondence and some comments in theEast Washingtonianof so much interest that we incorporate them here:"At this period grain was stacked up on the banks of Snake River awaiting a sufficient stage of water to permit of its being hauled away by boats. With the road built it would soon be in the markets of San Francisco and Portland; the farmers of Garfield would be placed on an equal footing with those of Columbia County. Grain would be worth at least 10 cents more per bushel than it was at that time; cattle, hogs, etc., would not have to be sacrificed at cut-throat prices to pay taxes and grocery bills. With a railroad tapping the heart of Garfield County, an era of prosperity appeared likely to prevail. As conditions existed the county merchants could not take grain for store bills; they would be compelled to hold most of it until the next year before they could ship it; they must take all chances upon the price remaining at what they had paid for it. Within sixty and ninety days their goods must be paid for; wheat would not answer for that purpose; practically, the farmers had no reliable market whatever. The theory advanced was, 'Build a road and wheat will be legal tender for alldebts.' Under date, New York, January 24, 1885, Mr. John Harford, of Pataha City received the following letter from E. H. Morrison:"Dear Sir:"Your letter received, also one from Doctor Jorgensen, stating that the Garfield County people were willing to furnish the grading in case the O. R. & N. Company would build a road from Starbuck to Pomeroy or Pataha."I am sorry that there should be any opposition from the Pomeroy people, as certainly a road to their town would benefit not only the people of that city, but the tributary country. In the first place it is going to be a very difficult matter to interest the company sufficiently to have them build in any event, as there are some branches which they think are of far more importance, such as the completion of the road to Moscow and the road from Colfax to the Farmington country. Therefore it behooves your people to settle all your difficulties and unite as one in doing everything to get a road to that section of the country."Since receiving your letters I have had an interview with Mr. Smith, president, and some of the directors, and I can tell you that they are not exuberant over building additional roads in Washington Territory or Oregon. But, I think, if in addition to the grading, which your people must agree to do, you will secure subscriptions sufficient to pay for the ties, that they will go ahead and build the road in time for the coming crop. These subscriptions must be in the form of notes, of grain notes, something that they can turn over to a contractor who will have the building of the road, and in that way relieving them of all trouble in collecting the subscriptions."Yours very truly,"E. H. Morrison."In July, 1885, C. T. Stiles, Cyrus Davis, Charles Ward, G. A. Sable, N. C. Williams, L. P. Mulkey, F. W. D. Mays, G. A. McCanse, R. M. Smith and A. C. Short, from Pataha City and Pomeroy, were in Walla Walla. This was Saturday. Their object was to hold a conference with railroad officials, and, if possible, induce them to extend the Riparia branch to tap the rich agricultural country of the Pataha. There were over two million bushels of grain to ship from Garfield County; it was impossible for boats on the Snake River to handle such a bulk.August 10th, H. S. Rowe, general superintendent, and Robert McCleland, chief engineer, of the Oregon Railroad & Navigation Company, accompanied by Dr. Joseph Jorgensen and Frank Paine, of Walla Walla, visited Pomeroy in the interest of a railroad up the Pataha. A mass meeting was held. Mr. Rowe made the definite promise that if the right-of-way was procured, together with necessary depot grounds, the locomotive would enter Pomeroy by January 1, 1886. Here was a proposition far more reasonable than the previous one demanding that the farmers grade and tie the road; it demonstrated that the company was a trifle better "prepared" to extend its lines than it had at first made the farmer believe. Without the shadow of a doubt there had been considerable jockeying on the part of the railway magnates in the preliminary arrangements of the Pataha Creek extension.By August 15th, the right-of-way from Starbuck to Pomeroy, with one or two minor exceptions, had been granted to Messrs. Scott, Austin, Wilson andLynch. In reality, they had, two years subsequently, secured this right-of-way for what was then called the Starbuck & Pomeroy Road—one of the projects that had failed to materialize. These gentlemen offered to relinquish their claims provided the Oregon Railroad & Navigation Company would construct the line within a specified time; this Mr. Rowe promised should be done. A committee of three, viz.: F. W. D. Mays, W. C. Potter, Dixon Davis, were named to co-operate with the above named four gentlemen, the railway men, forming a committee of the whole, to secure the right-of-way through Pomeroy and negotiate with the owners of the prospective depot grounds as to assessments and valuations of property required to locate the road. Subscriptions were solicited from property holders to defray expenses for securing right-of-way privileges. August 15th theColumbia Chroniclepublished the following:"Superintendent Rowe, Hon. Joseph Jorgensen and Frank Paine of Walla Walla returned from Pomeroy Wednesday evening, having been to the Pataha country in the interests of the proposed branch railroad up that stream from Starbuck. While there a meeting of citizens was held and the depot grounds selected upon the company's land, one-half mile from Pomeroy. The people had offered $9 per ton for hauling grain to Portland, provided the road was built last season, but it was not thought likely that the company would demand more than the regular rate in such an event. It is thought that the graders on the Moscow branch will be transferred to the Pataha in October, and work on the road begun. The people of Garfield County need a road badly and we hope their efforts to obtain one will be rewarded."The following telegram was received at Pomeroy Friday morning, October 16, 1885:"I am instructed to commence work on the Pataha branch as soon as possible, and will commence immediately."H. S. Rowe.""Portland, October 15, 1885."January 9, 1886, construction trains were running within nine miles of Pomeroy; but track laying had ceased for some time past. Difficulty was experienced in getting railroad iron to "the front" fast enough. On the 23rd the track had reached Pomeroy; the railroad "consummation devoutly to be wished" was an accomplished fact. Here the road ceased; it was never extended to Pataha City; Pomeroy became the terminus. November 14, 1885, theEast Washingtonianpublished the following:"It is a fact that it was only by the 'skin of the teeth' that the people of the county have been assured of the speedy construction of a railroad in our midst. Had not the order to build been given when it was it is not likely that it would have been given for two or three years. It was really against the interests of the Oregon Railroad & Navigation Company to build the Pataha road this fall. Here there was no threatened competition. It would have been much more to their interests to have built the Farmington road first, because the Northern Pacific is competing for the traffic, while here there is no opposition, and no probability of any. It was difficult to get money to build any road, and if the company had constructed the Farmington branch first, they would so far haveexhausted their means that we might have had to wait for years for a road. It was a fortunate thing for our farmers that things took so favorable a turn. We have been assured that the guarantee for the right-of-way and depot grounds had much to do in bringing about this result. In fact, without this guarantee the road would not have been built, and we might have remained for a long time in the same helpless condition we have been in for years. It has cost something, and it will cost more to secure the right-of-way. A bond was given in the sum of $10,000 to secure the right-of-way and depot grounds. Had not a number of our citizens come forward and made this bond, there would not have been a stroke made on this road."Thus that great need of transportation was met by co-operation of railroad and people. It does not seem likely that the O. R. & N. Co. would have suffered, even if they had met all the expense themselves. Pomeroy has become one of the greatest original grain shipping points in the state, which means in the world. In 1916 there were over a million bushels shipped from the warehouses at Pomeroy.RIVER IMPROVEMENTThe improvement of the rivers has always been of special interest and importance to Garfield County. Immense quantities of grain are produced in the fertile plains of the northern part of the county. To much of that area the haul to Pomeroy is long and hard and the river is the best resource. For about half the year Snake River is navigable from Asotin to its mouth, and for nine or ten months, from Asotin to Riparia. Steamers of the O. R. & N. Co. have plied regularly for many years on this latter run, gathering up the wheat along the southern shore and conveying it to Riparia whence it went by train to seaboard. It is needless to observe that the railroad is not in business for its health or for gratuitous service and with practically monopoly conditions the freight tariffs were heavy. Hence it was clear that an "Open River" to the sea was of vital importance. Garfield County has therefore borne an active part in the systematic efforts to secure Congressional appropriations for these purposes. In the Legislative sessions of 1907 and 1909, a special effort was made for co-operation by the State of Washington with the Federal Government for improvement of Snake River, with the expectation that the Government would thereby proceed more rapidly with the Celilo Canal, the key to the Open River. Hon. J. R. Stevenson, representing Garfield County in the State Senate, performed a most valuable service in securing appropriations by the state looking to this co-operation. In the face of considerable opposition from portions of the state not directly interested, Senator Stevenson handled the situation with great skill and brought the result to pass which had a decisive bearing upon the Government. For following the successive appropriations by the Legislature the Government, convinced of the need and of the wishes of the people, proceeded to definite and continuous appropriations, culminating in the Celilo Canal in 1915, as detailed in an earlier chapter. For this happy result we are indebted largely to Senator Stevenson. In the House, Hon. W. O. Long of Garfield was equally faithful to the wishes of his constituents, though not in a committee position to exercise the same power.But the most unique feature of transportation on the rivers is the system ofrunning grain sacks from the highlands, 2,000 feet above sea level, to the river, seven hundred feet or less, above the sea.In the early '80s Paine Brothers of Walla Walla undertook to run wheat down in a wooden chute and sack it below. This was found impracticable, because of the friction. In 1887 and later a tramway with wooden rails was built about opposite Wawaiwai. In 1891 a much better tramway was built known as the Mayview Tramway, owned by a joint association of farmers. After several accidents and some discouraging experiences the enterprise passed into the hands of John Worum. Both tramways are now owned by Max Houser of Portland. It was found that the chutes either for grain in bulk or in sacks were not practicable on account of friction. But the tramways, one of them using buckets and the other cars, after some losses, have proved a great success. The cost of operation is small, as the weight of the descending cars of buckets lifts the empty ones, and a vast amount of grain is lowered by them to the steamers. The tramway at Ilia handles about one hundred and fifty thousand bushels annually, and the one at Mayview about two hundred and fifty thousand.The grain business, nearly equally divided in some years between wheat and barley, but in recent times with much more wheat, has been the leading source of income. Two large and well equipped mills, one at Pataha and one at Pomeroy, furnish constant centers of activity. Both these are owned by Houser. Mr. Fred Matthes is manager of the Pomeroy Mill, and Wm. Houser of the Pataha Mill.THE STOCK INTERESTSWhile the grain business is now foremost, Garfield County started as a stock country and even yet has important stock interests. A valuable article on the stock interests by J. O. Long appeared in the Pioneer Edition of theWashingtonian, and it is worthy of permanent preservation. We insert it here:"Stock raising was the first remunerative industry of Garfield County, and the first settlers believed that stock raising would be the only industry that would pay them best for their labor.Parson Quinn was one of the first settlers. In 1862 he settled on the place that Gilbert Dickson now owns, and started in the horse business. Soon after William McEnnery, Frank and Archie McBrearty and others settled along the lower Pataha and brought with them small bunches of cattle.J. M. Pomeroy settled where the city that bears his name now stands, in 1864, and brought with him 140 head of cattle which he drove from Salem, Oregon, over the Barlow route to The Dalles, and on up the Columbia.The Owsleys came in '68 and brought with them fifteen head of cattle and a few horses.Mack Tatman settled on the Tatman Gulch in 1869, and launched into the cattle business. Newt. Estes, about this time, settled on the Deadman and became the largest cattle owner in what is now Garfield County. All of the early pioneers settled along the streams where they fed.It was thought at that time that the hills you now see growing such bountiful crops of wheat and barley were fit for nothing but grazing. When we came, in 1873, they told us we couldn't raise anything on the old Pataha Flat. In '73we found the western portion of the county well stocked with cattle and horses, but the eastern part was sparsely settled, and there were very few cattle and horses.At this time a few sheep were ranged, but in a few years the sheep men began to come in—Charles Seeley, the Logans, Charles McCabe and, a little later, J. H. Walker, but the sheep industry did not grow to any great extent in this county. Cattle was the main industry up to '90, when it began to decline.From 1873 to 1880 the hills began to settle rapidly, the '70s bringing such stock men as Tom Burlingame, the Buchets, Williams, Bentley, Pings, Johnny Lynn, Brown and Wellers. Some of these men acquired large herds. I have no way of knowing the number of stock when the industry was at its zenith, but we had lots of cattle to drive and ship out.The first buyer to come to Garfield County operated on the Tucanon, near Marengo, about '76 or '77, and the price paid was fourteen to sixteen dollars for two year old steers, and about eighteen to twenty dollars for threes. They drove them East, taking one more years to make the trip.J. M. Pomeroy was the first to bring in good stock. In the bunch of 140 head were some of the best Shorthorns, or Durhams, as they were then called, that ever came to this county. People bought and sold "Pomeroy Durhams" for forty years. Perhaps a large portion of the readers will remember the roan Shorthorns that Vannattan had on his place below town, when he sold his ranch to Campbell & Sanford in 1902. They were descendants of the Pomeroy roan Durhams. Perhaps the majority of the people living here now do not realize what a stock county this was in the '70s.I remember in the summer of '75 or '76 Mr. William Cluster, my father and myself, then a boy, came down the Benjamin Gulch to the Pataha looking after our stock. We forded the creek about where the park is now, and a little way from the creek stood a little log cabin, and in the doorway stood Charles McCabe, then a young man. We inquired after our brands and marks, and came on down the north side of the creek, my father and Mr. Cluster riding along the road and I galloping back and forth from bluff to creek, scaring the cattle out of the grass so we could see the brands and marks. We took dinner with Mr. and Mrs. Pomeroy in the old log cabin that stood for many years afterwards in the lower part of town, and while we partook of fried trout and other good things that the pioneer wives knew so well how to prepare the men discussed the Roan Shorthorns.To illustrate what grass we had here in those days, I will repeat what Pearl Smith once said. He wanted to make a trip across the Snake River, and he had heard so much about the Alpowa he decided to go that way. He dropped down on the creek about where Vint. Gilbert's place is now and went on down. When he returned he was asked what he thought of the Alpowa, and said, 'Those hills reach from hell to heaven, with bunch grass from top to bottom.'Garfield County never contained very large stock owners. Newt. Estes was cattle king with something like one thousand five hundred head. J. H. Walker owned the largest band of horses, and George Gibson was the largest sheep raiser. The Owsleys at one time owned 750 cattle and a good many horses. Mack Tatman at one time had 400 or 500 head of cattle, and Tom Burlingame 350.In 1888 Mat Dixon, Moffat Williams and Dave Dixon bought and drove to Pataha Flat 512 head of cattle. This was the first large importation of cattle to this county.About this time, or a few years before, most of the large holders began to cut down their herds, and some quit entirely. Among them were Melton, Freeman, Estes and Tatman, and, after a few years, Rafferty and Bill Kelly practically quit.The horse industry of the country did not take much change from cow pony or cayuse till about 1880. A 1,000 pound horse was considered a good one, and a horse that wore an eighteen inch collar was a large one. Mr. Ford, who lived on the flat, bought a large Percheron, and a year later Tucker bought a grade Clyde, and our horses began to increase in size, and it wasn't long till the 1,000 pound horse and the eighteen inch collar were things of the past. The draft horse is here and as good as any county can boast of. We now have 6,581 taxable horses.We didn't raise many hogs till the railroad was built to Dayton. Prior to that a few put up bacon and hauled it to Lewiston. After the road reached Pomeroy people began to raise more hogs, and according to the assessor's roll we have 5,254.The sheep industry has held its own and we now have in the county 11,657, owned principally by Charles Dodge, Weller Live Stock Co., Clayton, Palmer, and J. O. Long. Part of the Palmer herd are assessed in Asotin County. The farmers are now taking up sheep husbandry on their own farms, and we look for sheep and hogs to increase, and horses to hold their own. The cattle industry is still on the decline, as the roll shows only 5,181 head milch cows included, and a thousand or more were brought in to be fattened. As our pasture land increases in value the people will discard the cow for the ewe and mare."THUS MUCH FOR LIVE STOCK, AND NOW FOR SCHOOLSThe schools of any American community must always be accorded a place of first importance. While our space does not permit extended details, we must make mention of the beginnings in this vital feature of the life of the county.The first school seems to have been the Owsley School, five miles below Pomeroy, built in 1872. At that time the children of the Pomeroy family were the only ones in the future town to go to school. As other families came in the need of another school was manifest, and a new building was completed in 1879 on what subsequently became the home of Mr. Benbow. That building was paid for by private subscription, Mr. B. B. Day being the largest contributor. There were about fifty pupils in that first Pomeroy School, and from the names the first families can be noted, there being representatives of the Pomeroy, Heaton, Rew, Milan, Potter, Hull, Dyer, James, Owsley and Benjamin families. Mr. and Mrs. De Bow were the first teachers.In 1873 the first school district on the Pataha Flat was organized by a meeting of the settlers at the blacksmith shop belonging to George Gill. The first teacher was William Butler. The pupils met first in a little log cabin, but in 1874 a schoolhouse was built.Such was the inauguration of the school system of Garfield County and of Pomeroy. The first school in Pataha City was started in 1878 with twenty pupils and the first teacher was Mr. Ogleby. The limits of space forbid us to do more than touch upon the chief stages of subsequent growth. It may be said that several of the Pomeroy and Pataha teachers have attained high rank in their profession in other parts of the state, and that the school system of Pomeroy, including the high school, has made an enviable reputation for breadth and thoroughness of instruction. That condition in the chief town has had a tonic effect upon the country schools. In 1889 the first considerable school building in Pomeroy was erected at a cost of $10,000 and Mr. Brown became first principal. Mr. Yerkes followed and under his regime a high school with a three year course was established. The principals following Mr. Yerkes were: J. A. Fertig, E. V. Kuykendall, D. E. Schnebley, Walter Lingenfelter, H. C. Benbow, C. H. Knaff, A. Kuykendall, R. R. Grant, and in the year 1910, the position of city superintendent was created, with C. C. Ockerman as incumbent. He was followed in 1912 by E. W. Collier who still holds the place. A large addition to the school building was made in 1905, and in 1916 the present elegant and well equipped high school building was opened. Through the courtesy of Miss Belva Ball, county superintendent, we are enabled to present the following data, covering the statistics of last year both for the county and for Pomeroy.There have been forty-five districts in the county, numbered consecutively from one to forty-four. There is also Dist. 100 in Pomeroy. Several numbers have dropped out, through reorganization. These are Nos. 2, 15, 22, 25, 27, 30, 38 and 40.No. 11 is Pomeroy. The teaching force in this district consists at the present date of Prof. E. W. Collier, Jessie Campbell, Ella Fisk, Emma Spenger, Charlotte Marshall, Mrs. Laura Davison, Gertrude Wilson, Dessa M. King, Jennie Dean, C. B. Lindahl, Mabel Owen, H. C. Hayes, Marie Schmidt, Brightie Considine, A. S. Kubitz, Mamie McCoy.The total assessed valuation of the county by current report is $4,192,340. That of the school property, including grounds, buildings, and equipment, is $370,240.The total school enrollment is 1,074, the school census is 1,339. The enrollment of the Pomeroy High School is 120. This is an accredited school. The school at Pataha has one year high school work. The total number of teachers in the county is fifty-five.TOWNS OF GARFIELD COUNTYFrom the foregoing glances at the history of the county we turn to that of the towns. Although, as we have seen, a number of towns were founded, having county seat ambitions and great expectations, only two were incorporated, Pomeroy and Pataha City, and of these the latter surrendered its charter, and hence Pomeroy is the only place that maintains a corporate existence.By the courtesy of theEast Washingtonianwe gather the following data about the founding of Pomeroy."The idea of converting his property here into a city first occurred to Mr. Pomeroy and took definite shape in 1877. At this time William C. Potter camewith some money and induced Mr. Pomeroy to join him in a flouring mill enterprise to be operated by power furnished by water from the Pataha Creek. To this project Mr. Pomeroy contributed liberally and the mill was built and the town started."The townsite plat of Pomeroy was filed for record May 28, 1878. Those who platted the town were Joseph M. Pomeroy, Martha J. Pomeroy, Benjamin B. Day and Minnie A. Day. It is located on the east half of the south half of the southwest quarter of section 31, and the west half of the south half of the southeast quarter of section 31, in township 12 north, range 42 east."Additions since that time: Wilson's by E. T. Wilson and J. M. Pomeroy, June 13, 1882."Day's by Minnie A. Day and B. B. Day, August 12, 1882."Pomeroy's, by Martha J. St. George and William S. Day, September 20, 1881."Mulkey's, by Logan P. Mulkey and Charles J. Mulkey, November 14, 1882."Darby's, by Walter L. Darby, August 14, 1884."Depot, by the Columbia Valley Land & Investment Company, April 30, 1886."Potter's, by William C. Potter, August 25, 1887."E. M. Pomeroy's, by E. M. Pomeroy, November 28, 1892."Crystal Spring, by S. G. Cosgrove, July 28, 1902."Highland, by H. C. Benbow and E. V. Kuykendall, July 9, 1902."Stephens', by Frank C. Stephens, March 29, 1904."The growth of Pomeroy continued to be particularly rapid. In March, 1879, we find the following business houses in the pretty little town: B. B. Day, general merchandise, and grist mill; Mulkey Brothers, hardware and tinware; Frary & Williams, drug store; G. A. Sawyer, Pomeroy Hotel; Calaway Brothers, livery stable; Scholl Brothers, brewery."The first meeting of the Pomeroy common council was held Wednesday, February 10, 1886. The officers named in the charter were J. M. Pomeroy, mayor; and C. B. Foote, John Brady, W. J. Schmidt, R. A. Rew and Jay Lynch, councilmen. At the first meeting, however, R. A. Rew tendered his resignation and S. G. Cosgrove was appointed in his place. Frank E. Williamson was selected by the council as city recorder. At the second meeting February 11, Mr. Williamson tendered his resignation as clerk. The following officers were appointed by the city council at this meeting: Recorder, C. H. DeBow; attorney, M. F. Gose; justice of the peace, W. S. Newland; marshal, G. D. Gibson."The initial city election held in Pomeroy was on Monday, July 12th. Officers appointed for the supervision of the election were D. C. Gardner and David Dixon, judges; W. S. Newland, inspector, and I. C. Sanford and Frank Jackson, clerks. There were two tickets in the field, the People's ticket, with Elmon Scott for mayor; John Brady, William J. Schmidt, George Gibson, David Dixon and Dirk Zemel, for councilmen, and the Citizens' ticket with M. F. Gose for mayor, and C. A. McCabe, D. C. Gardner, S. K. Hull, Jay Lynch and R. B. Porter for councilmen. There were cast 218 votes with the following result. Mayor, Elmon Scott, seventeen majority; councilmen John Brady, C. A. McCabe, D. C. Gardner, S. K. Hull and Jay Lynch."In August, 1887, the leading citizens of Pomeroy filed articles with the county auditor incorporating the 'Pomeroy Improvement Company.' The object of this organization was to improve the town. The original capital stock was $15,000 with the privilege of increasing this to $25,000. Forty per cent was paid in at its inception. Following were the officers and stockholders: G. B. Kuykendall, president; S. G. Crandall, vice president; W. F. Noffsinger, secretary; T. Driscoll, treasurer; C. A. McCabe, H. C. Thompson, C. H. Seeley, trustees. The stockholders were C. A. McCabe, S. G. Crandall, M. F. Gose, F. W. D. Mays, J. M. Hunt, Charles Kinzie, W. S. Parker, F. E. Williamson, G. W. Black, J. G. Hughes, T. Driscoll, H. C. Thompson, W. N. Noffsinger, John Brady, G. B. Kuykendall, John Rehorn, Charles H. Seeley, G. L. Campbell, Elmon Scott, R. L. Rush, W. J. Schmidt, Herman H. Schlotfeldt, H. Darby, J. A. Darby, and W. L. Darby."The permanent organization of the Pomeroy Fire Department was effected at a meeting of citizens held July 23, 1887. A constitution and by-laws were adopted and the following officers elected: M. F. Gose, president; J. M. Hunt, vice president; C. H. Seeley, treasurer; J. W. Rafferty, secretary; John Rehorn, foreman; H. St. George, first assistant; Charles Kinzie, second assistant. The enrolled membership was over thirty. Late in that year the department purchased a hook and ladder truck and a hose cart."The first brick building in the City of Pomeroy was erected in the fall of 1887. This was the First National Bank of Pomeroy; the cost was $20,000. This was followed by the Seeley block, which, while less costly, was not inferior in point of architectural beauty to the bank building."The first conflagration of importance following the organization of the fire department in 1887 attacked Pomeroy Thursday morning, February 6, 1890. The fire broke out near the dividing wall between J. H. Hagy's boot and shoe shop and the dry goods store belonging to S. Kasper on Main Street."In October, 1890, Company H National Guard of Washington was mustered into service."There were forty-three men in line; officers were: Captain, Harry St. George; first lieutenant, Elmer R. Brady; second lieutenant, J. W. Murphy. The company was mustered on October 2d, by Captain Wise, of Goldendale."The greatest fire known in the history of the town occurred July 18, 1890, when the business portion of the town east of Third Street was swept away. The Garfield County Courthouse was destroyed entailing a public loss of $10,000."In 1898 the City of Pomeroy had a population of 1,500, and the volume of business done was estimated at one million dollars annually."During all the time from the establishment of the city, it remained under the Territorial charter of 1886. But on May 28, 1917, an election was held for the purpose of voting upon a new charter. It had become plain that the old charter was no longer adapted to the growing city and hence the change was made by general consent. A primary election for officers for the new government was held on July 30th, and on August 27th, the election took place. As a result of this election the city government under the new charter was duly inaugurated.With the officers of the new government it is fitting that those of the outgoingbe named. They were as follows: Mayor, Fred Matthes; councilmen, C. S. Black, W. A. DeBow, O. S. Williamson, D. E. Smith, and R. Hender. Clerk, Harry St. George. The officers under the new government are: Mayor, C. E. Kuykendall; councilmen, first ward, W. F. Taylor, George Engleson; second ward, B. Y. Rainey, J. D. Lyon; third ward, J. O. Long; fourth ward, F. M. Robinson; councilman at large, H. B. Henley; city attorney, A. G. Farley; city treasurer, W. B. Morris; city clerk, D. A. Taylor.HISTORY OF BUSINESS HOUSESWe find in the special number of theEast Washingtonianso valuable a resume of the history of business houses of Pomeroy, including reference to Pataha, that we add it to the excerpts which we have the privilege to use.This is by a man peculiarly qualified to write, J. J. McGrath, written in the year 1914:"The leading general merchandise stores here twenty-seven years ago were Brady and Rush, B. Cohn & Co. and Ben Hirsch & Co. The leading grocery was Dirk Zemel; hardware, H. Darby & Sons; jewelry, McCabe & Whitcomb; shoe store, J. H. Hagy; furniture, Vassar & Sacknitz; bakery, George Eller; harness, C. Ed Moore and W. W. Swank; drug stores, Central Drug Store and I. C. Sanford & Co."There were a few smaller stores, among them being Doctor Storey's second-hand store and dental parlor."Soon after this Ben Hirsch closed out and S. Kasper opened a store."On September 1, 1887, I entered the employment of E. L. Hemingway, at Ilia, who conducted a general merchandise store, and grain warehouse. Mr. Hemingway established these houses some years before the railroad was built to Pomeroy, and did a large business, people from miles around coming to Ilia to trade. Many came fifteen and eighteen miles to purchase their supplies at the Hemingway store. There are but few people living in the county that were customers of the Hemingway store in 1889."Two years later I became connected with the store of B. Cohn & Co., of Pomeroy. In 1892 we incorporated the Pomeroy Mercantile Company, and purchased the merchandise from B. Cohn & Co. The first stockholders were B. Cohn, C. H. Seeley, M. F. Gose, G. L. Campbell, P. O. Seeley, M. A. Dunham, J. A. Strain, D. B. Williams and J. J. McGrath."Many pioneers will remember some of the stockholders with pleasure. Some have been very successful in the financial world. In 1912 the Mercantile Company purchased the stock, fixtures and real estate from the Pomeroy Mercantile Company. The stockholders of the new company are C. H. Seeley, R. E. Allen, J. F. Burr, Mrs. J. B. Warren and J. J. McGrath."The firm of Brady & Rush changed to R. L. Rush & Co. in 1890, F. J. Elsensohn and J. B. Brady becoming junior members. Later R. L. Rush sold his interest to his partners and took the presidency of the Pomeroy State Bank, and the firm name was changed to Brady & Elsensohn until J. B. Brady sold his interest to F. J. Elsensohn. Mr. Elsensohn continued the business under his own name until he incorporated the Fred J. Elsensohn Co. Two years later he sold the business to J. N. Cardwell & Sons, who consolidated it with their business."E. W. Wilson and Mrs. M. Gibson came here in November, 1879, and opened a store in the Dirk Zemel Building. A year later fire and water nearly destroyed their stock, and the remainder was sold to D. Zemel."Dirk Zemel's grocery store was purchased by Allen & Adams in 1890. This firm came here from Pataha City and opened a store, later purchasing the Zemel store and consolidating them. Mr. Adams is now conducting the grocery store. Mr. Allen is vice president and stockholder in the Mercantile Company."About twenty-two years ago, C. H. Mowrey, with A. L. Darby, purchased the hardware business of H. Darby & Sons, and formed a partnership under the name of Darby & Mowrey, which business they have successfully conducted up to the present time."In the jewelry business, both C. A. McCabe and L. J. Whitcomb are dead. Both will be remembered by all old-timers as kind-hearted, honest men. In the last ten years two new jewelry stores have taken their place—L. T. Christopherson and George Simenstad, owners. Both carry large and up-to-date stocks."J. H. Hagy sold his shoe store about ten years ago to Powell & Taylor. Later Mr. Powell sold his interest to Taylor Bros., and later D. A. Taylor assumed management of the store and his brother opened a store at Pasco."Sacknitz purchased the furniture business from Vassar, and the latter moved away for a time, returning and opening a store under the name of Williamson & Vassar, and later Vassar & Son, who are now conducting the furniture and undertaking business."The Central Drug Store, owned and operated by Doctor Kuykendall, was purchased by his son, C. E. Kuykendall, about ten years ago. He is doing business where his father did twenty-seven years ago. The East End Drug Store was sold by I. C. Sanford & Co. to Doctor Black & Son, and later to M. A. Black. Now it is owned by Crump & Dill."In 1892 L. F. Koenig sold his interest in the business conducted under the name of Koenig & Bournhouser, in Pataha, and, with O. S. Williamson, opened a store here under the name of L. F. Koenig & Co. This store has been very successful and is operated today under the above name, with E. J. Williamson associated with them."J. N. Cardwell & Sons opened a general merchandise store here sixteen years ago, and later purchased the merchandise stock from Fred J. Elsensohn Co., and consolidated the two stores."In the spring of 1890, J. S. Thomas, J. S. Davis and H. M. Hathaway organized a hardware store under the name of J. S. Davis & Co. Later the business was purchased by R. E. Wills, C. P. Gammon and J. R. Stevenson, under the name of C. P. Gammon & Co., and later Wills & Stevenson. About fifteen years ago Mr. Stevenson bought Mr. Wills' interest in the business and has since conducted it very successfully."In 1890 C. A. Lundy and E. M. Rauch incorporated under the name of C. A. Lundy & Co., and opened a grain and real estate business. Later they dissolved the corporation and Mr. Lundy moved to Lewiston. Mr. Rauch then opened a hardware and implement house, which business he conducts at present."About fifteen years ago Mr. J. P. Ford, who at one time previous had been manager for an implement house here, returned and formed a partnership with J. R. Stevenson and opened an implement house. Later he purchased hispartner's interest and conducted a very successful business. He sold to Morris & Tewalt, later Mr. Morris purchased the interest of Mr. Tewalt, and became sole owner. He has since enlarged the business, adding furniture and hardware in connection with the implement business. Later he purchased the stock of the Pomeroy Implement Co."About twelve years ago Ward & Meyers bought the hardware business of James Hazelton, and a short time afterwards took in T. B. McKeirnan and conducted two stores. Mr. Ward sold his interest to Mr. Meyers, and later the business was purchased by R. J. McKeirnan, J. C. McKeirnan, B. L. Keatts and W. L. Meyers, and implements and hardware were added. Later R. J. McKeirnan bought Mr. Meyers' interest. W. L. Meyers then opened a new harness store."About fifteen years ago H. Wenning opened a bakery and grocery, and conducted it until two years ago, when he sold to S. L. Nicholson, who has since managed it."A number of pioneers in business not mentioned in the above, who sold their stores and moved away were: Foote & Hull, who were among the earliest business men; George Eller, Hayden Gearhardt, J. D. Tyrell, DeBow, Pomeroy Hardware & Implement Co."PATAHA CITYFrom Pomeroy we turn to its one time rival, three miles up the valley. Pataha City was laid out in 1878 by Angevine J. Favor. In 1882 W. W. Rigsby added to the townsite the tract known as Rigsby's addition. A. F. Beal made the survey of the new town. It was at first called "Favorsburg" and afterwards "Watertown." One of the most important events was the sale of a water right for a flour mill from a large spring south of the town by Cassander Woolery to J. M. Bowman and George Snyder. This was subsequently acquired by John Houser and became one of the most important mill properties in the state.The Charter of Pataha City was granted by Judge W. G. Langford on April 3, 1888. As indicating the established residents of the town the list of those petitioning for the charter possesses historical interest: J. H. Walker, A. J. Favor, G. D. Wilson, John Harford, John Houser, H. B. Ferguson, W. J. Wills, B. Steele, H. L. Caples, Thomas Cunningham, C. A. Lundy, Robert Gammon, J. S. Dennison, A. McQueen, W. B. Wetzel, A. E. Allen, T. W. Shannon, Elmer Sage, R. M. Smith, Peter Cook, H. C. Krouse, H. Lanning, L. F. Koenig, R. Bornhouser, Charles Ward.The first meeting of the board of trustees of Pataha was held in Harford & Son's bank, on April 12, 1888. John Harford was mayor, and the councilmen were: John Houser, A. J. Favor, J. H. Walker and G. D. Wilson. H. B. Ferguson was clerk of the board. H. C. Krouse was the city marshal, E. D. Briggs superintendent of streets, and E. C. Harford treasurer.One of the bitterest contests ever held in Pataha was over the question of prohibition. There was an election under the local option law in June, 1886. In the issue of theEast Washingtonianof July 3d, there is a very grave charge against the judges of election, in effect that they allowed foul play with the ballot boxes during the noon recess, as a result of which eighty-two "wet" ballots were deposited in a bunch. It was matter of common knowledge thatthe "drys" were in a majority in the town, and so extraordinary a result could not fail to excite suspicion. The effort in the interest of the "wets" was unavailing and the entire county finally became dry. On April 7, 1893, a great catastrophe befell the town, for on that day came a fire which destroyed the larger part of the business portion. That was in the very hardest part of the "hard times." The year 1894 was indeed a black year, worse for Garfield County than for Walla Walla and Columbia, for they, being older, had more accumulations to fall back on. Wheat was bringing only 25 or 30 cents a bushel, and a good part of the crop of 1893 had been destroyed by continued rain. In 1894 came the "Great Flood," railroad strikes, bank failures and general chaos in the business world. Among other banks, that of Harford & Son at Pataha closed its doors. Pataha was manifestly on the down grade as a town. It was and is a beautiful and fertile spot and is now fulfilling its mission in the world as a central point of farming production. In April 10, 1911, the question of disincorporation was submitted to vote and by nearly a unanimous decision the charter was surrendered and Pataha ceased to be an incorporation. The business men mainly moved to Pomeroy or elsewhere and the Houser Mill alone remained in undiminished vitality.The churches of Garfield County and Pomeroy are entitled to a place in any historic review.The first church organization in the county seems to have been effected in 1878, by Father Peter Paaps, of the Catholic Church on land donated by J. M. Pomeroy and C. A. McCabe. This church has been maintained to this day, and with it a parochial school, conducted at present by the Benedictine Sisters. The present pastor of the Catholic Church is Father Peter Taufen.The first Methodist preacher in Garfield County was Rev. George W. Kennedy, already spoken of in the chapter on Columbia County. He first came in 1874. Then a year later came Rev. A. J. Joslyn, whose home was in Dayton. There was no church organized as yet. In 1878 Rev. C. E. Rigsby established preaching places at a number of points, the schoolhouses or private residences furnishing meeting places. Two years later Rev. D. E. George took up the work, and he is remembered as a typical pioneer preacher. The first Methodist Church in Pomeroy was built in 1884 during the pastorate of Rev. W. T. Koontz. A number of pastors followed, the last of whom was Rev. A. Monroe. During his time a parsonage was built.The first Baptist Church was organized on June 3, 1888, by Rev. J. H. Teale, then general missionary for Eastern Washington and Northern Idaho. Rev. S. E. Stearns became the first pastor. The church building was erected in 1895, being dedicated on March 29, 1895, by Rev. A. M. Allyn. Rev. John Cashman was pastor during that period. During the pastorate of Rev. W. E. Sawyer the parsonage was erected. Rev. C. S. Treadwell was pastor from March, 1912, to April, 1914. The church has not a settled pastor at the date of this publication.Turning to the Christian Church, we find that the first services in the name of that fellowship were conducted in 1886 by Principal Wolverton of the Dayton schools. On November 20, 1887, "Brother" J. B. Daisley organized a church of twenty-five members. Like other early congregations they held services in store buildings, schoolhouses, courthouse, or almost any available shelter. In 1889, a house of worship was erected on a lot donated by Gilbert Dickson, and this was dedicated by "Brother" N. B. Alley in that year. The present pastor is Rev. R. Tibbs Maxey.
VIEW OF A PORTION OF THE IRRIGATED DISTRICT OF CLARKSTON, ASOTIN COUNTY
VIEW OF A PORTION OF THE IRRIGATED DISTRICT OF CLARKSTON, ASOTIN COUNTY
VIEW OF A PORTION OF THE IRRIGATED DISTRICT OF CLARKSTON, ASOTIN COUNTY
VINE COVERED COTTAGE, CLARKSTONShowing beautiful effect which can be produced with vines, trees and flowers
VINE COVERED COTTAGE, CLARKSTONShowing beautiful effect which can be produced with vines, trees and flowers
VINE COVERED COTTAGE, CLARKSTONShowing beautiful effect which can be produced with vines, trees and flowers
In 1916, a more momentous election even than that of 1912, Garfield did not line up with the state and nation, but gave her vote to Hughes. She was with the majority on Poindexter for senator and La Follette for Congress, but gave Lister for governor a slight majority over his republican competitor, McBride.
COUNTY ELECTIONS
Turning now from national and state choices to the county officers we find the following:
In 1890, the chosen candidates were: For representative to the state legislature, James Palmer; sheriff, Gilbert Dickson; clerk, R. R. Spedden; auditor, Benjamin Butler; treasurer, R. E. Wills; attorney, W. N. Noffsinger; assessor, H. H. Wise; superintendent of schools, H. C. Benbow; surveyor, Hayden Gearhardt; coroner, G. W. Black; commissioners, John Lubling, George Stallcop, and Robert Story. All of the above were on the republican ticket except R. E. Wills.
In 1892, the following were the successful candidates: Representative, F. W. D. Mays; superior judge, J. E. Edmiston; attorney, W. E. Greene; auditor, Joseph Davidson; sheriff, Gilbert Dickson; clerk, E. W. Gibson; treasurer, H. A. Adams; assessor, R. L. Kirby; superintendent of schools, H. C. Benbow; surveyor, Hayden Gearhardt; coroner, J. R. Gose; county commissioners, C. A. Shaffer, E. B. Fletcher, and Robert Story; sheep commissioner, G. F. Jackson. The parties were much more evenly divided than in the previous election, for Messrs. Mays, Edmiston, Greene, Davidson, Adams, Gose and Fletcher were democrats, the others republicans.
In 1894, results were these: Representative, A. E. Allen; attorney, G. W. Jewett; clerk, E. W. Gibson; auditor, S. T. Sanford; sheriff, N. O. Baldwin; treasurer, H. M. Beach; superintendent of schools, E. V. Kuykendall; assessor, H. L. Wilson; surveyor, Edward Truax; coroner, G. W. Black; commissioners, George Ruarck and Chris Brockman.
That was the populistic year, for of the above, Messrs. Allen, Sanford, Beach, Wilson, Ruarck, and Brockman are all set down as P. P.'s.
In 1896, the county officers were as follows: Representative, James Parker; sheriff, N. O. Baldwin; auditor, S. T. Sanford; assessor, H. L. Wilson; clerk, A. E. Dickson; treasurer, H. M. Beach; attorney, G. W. Jewett; superintendent of schools, Emma Nelson; surveyor, Edison Griggs; commissioner, Chris Brockman; coroner, G. W. Black. That was another populistic year, for six of the successful candidates were of that faith.
In the election of 1898, the ebb of the tide of populism became visible, for of the successful aspirants, only three were P. P'.s. The chosen candidates were these: Representative, C. M. Baldwin; sheriff, S. S. Russell; clerk, A. E. Dickson; auditor, J. A. Strain; treasurer, H. Dixon; attorney, E. V. Kuykendall; assessor, J. P. Buchet; superintendent of schools, Emma Elsensohn; coroner, W. P. Williamson; commissioners, S. S. Young and August Young.
Election results of 1900 were thus: Representative, W. L. Howell; sheriff, J. A. Strain; auditor, E. M. Pomeroy; treasurer, W. H. Dixon; clerk, H. A.Adams; assessor, F. W. Messenger; superintendent of schools, Nellie Vallen; attorney, Frank Cardwell; coroner, C. G. Black; surveyor, J. M. Reid; commissioners, A. H. Malone and D. R. Lewis. In this election the populists no longer appeared, but several democrats carried away the trophies, the following being of that party, Howell, Strain, Cardwell, and Malone.
In 1902, the successful ones were: Representative, W. L. Howell; auditor, Frank Burch; sheriff, J. A. Strain; clerk, A. A. Kirby; treasurer, H. A. Adams; attorney, J. T. Ledgerwood; assessor, F. W. Messenger; superintendent of schools, Nellie Vallen; surveyor, J. E. Tupper; coroner, C. G. Black; commissioners, J. O. Miles and D. B. Williams. In that list were four democrats.
The year 1904 brought another presidential year and with republican victory there came also general success for the same party in the county votes:
For representative, W. O. Long; sheriff, W. H. Dixon; clerk, A. A. Kirby; auditor, B. F. Burch; treasurer, J. H. Schneckloth; attorney, J. T. Ledgerwood; assessor, M. N. Jeffreys; surveyor, J. E. Tupper; superintendent of schools, Violetta Smith; commissioners, E. G. Hastings, W. J. Kelly; coroner, G. W. Black. Four—auditor, treasurer, attorney, and superintendent of schools were democrats.
In 1906 the voters designated: For representative, J. O. Long; sheriff, W. H. Dixon; clerk, Harry St. George; auditor, J. P. Buchet; treasurer, J. H. Schneckloth; attorney, A. A. Kirby; assessor, M. N. Jeffreys; superintendent of schools, Violetta Smith; surveyor, I. J. Trescott.
In that election the auditor, treasurer, and superintendent of schools were democrats.
Another presidential and gubernatorial year comes in with 1908, and we find: Representative, H. C. Krouse; sheriff, F. V. Messenger; clerk, Harry St. George; auditor, J. P. Buchet; attorney, E. V. Kuykendall; treasurer, J. B. Hawkins; assessor, Daniel Kidwell; superintendent of schools, Elizabeth McCoy; commissioners, F. L. Miller, J. D. Lyon. Of these Messrs. Buchet and Hawkins were democrats.
In 1910 the successful candidates were: Representative, W. J. Kelly; sheriff, B. L. Keatts; clerk, E. E. Powell; auditor, H. St. George; treasurer, J. H. Schneckloth; attorney, A. G. Farley; assessor, Daniel Kidwell; superintendent of schools, Mrs. M. E. Liggett; commissioners, F. L. Miller and E. D. Smith. The party distribution was about as before, Messrs. Keatts, Schneckloth, and Smith being democrats and the others republicans.
The outcome in 1912 was this: Representative, C. G. Black; sheriff, J. C. McKeiman; clerk, E. E. Powell; auditor, H. St. George; attorney, A. G. Farley; superintendent of schools, Mrs. M. E. Liggett; engineer, R. W. Rigsby; assessor, A. J. Buchet; commissioners, E. D. Smith, Isaac Tewalt. All republicans except McKeiman, Rigsby, Buchet, and Smith.
In 1914, we find the following: Representative, C. G. Black; auditor, E. E. Powell; treasurer, Emma A. Noble; clerk, Harry St. George; sheriff, W. J. Schneckloth; assessor, A. J. Buchet; attorney, C. Alexander McCabe; superintendent of schools, Belva L. Ball; engineer, R. W. Rigsby; commissioners, E. L. Sanford, C. H. Rommel. The politics were essentially as before.
In 1916 we find: Representative, John T. Ledgerwood; auditor, E. E. Powell; treasurer, Olive O. Darby; clerk, H. St. George; sheriff, W. J. Schneckloth;assessor, A. J. Buchet; superintendent of schools, Belva L. Ball; engineer, M. W. Fitzsimmons; commissioner, Edward Malone. Politics were about as before.
In the foregoing list we have not included the state senators or superior judges, for the reason that they were joint with other counties. It should be stated, however, that in 1906 and 1910, J. R. Stevenson of Pomeroy filled the position of senator from the district with conspicuous ability, and that Chester F. Miller of Dayton was almost continuously the superior judge. It may also be added that the position of sheep commissioner was dropped, and that a new office, court commissioner (presumably having no connection with sheep, though possibly with shearing) was established, and in the elections of 1914 and 1916 was filled by G. W. Jewett.
GENERAL EVENTS
Turning from political events to those of more general nature we discover that the most important developments in transportation were connected with three lines of business; the construction of the branch line of railroad from Starbuck to a little beyond Pomeroy; improvements in the navigation of Snake River and Columbia River; and the development of the peculiar shute and tramway system for moving grain from the high prairies in the northern edge of the county to the Snake River steamers.
The railroad history goes back to 1883. In April of that year a delegation of Pomeroy and Pataha men, consisting of B. B. Day, C. B. Foote, John Houser, Cyrus Davis, and F. W. D. Mays, went to Walla Walla to meet Henry Villard, head of the O. R. and N. System, and received much encouragement that a road up the Pataha would be immediately considered. However, the time was not yet, and, as common in such cases, time passed on without results.
In January, 1885, Pres. Elijah Smith of the O. R. & N. Co. made the proposal to the people of the county that if they would grade and lay ties the company would complete the work and inaugurate the line. To many farmers this seemed rather a skin game, not a unusual process in railroad building.
We find some correspondence and some comments in theEast Washingtonianof so much interest that we incorporate them here:
"At this period grain was stacked up on the banks of Snake River awaiting a sufficient stage of water to permit of its being hauled away by boats. With the road built it would soon be in the markets of San Francisco and Portland; the farmers of Garfield would be placed on an equal footing with those of Columbia County. Grain would be worth at least 10 cents more per bushel than it was at that time; cattle, hogs, etc., would not have to be sacrificed at cut-throat prices to pay taxes and grocery bills. With a railroad tapping the heart of Garfield County, an era of prosperity appeared likely to prevail. As conditions existed the county merchants could not take grain for store bills; they would be compelled to hold most of it until the next year before they could ship it; they must take all chances upon the price remaining at what they had paid for it. Within sixty and ninety days their goods must be paid for; wheat would not answer for that purpose; practically, the farmers had no reliable market whatever. The theory advanced was, 'Build a road and wheat will be legal tender for alldebts.' Under date, New York, January 24, 1885, Mr. John Harford, of Pataha City received the following letter from E. H. Morrison:
"Dear Sir:"Your letter received, also one from Doctor Jorgensen, stating that the Garfield County people were willing to furnish the grading in case the O. R. & N. Company would build a road from Starbuck to Pomeroy or Pataha."I am sorry that there should be any opposition from the Pomeroy people, as certainly a road to their town would benefit not only the people of that city, but the tributary country. In the first place it is going to be a very difficult matter to interest the company sufficiently to have them build in any event, as there are some branches which they think are of far more importance, such as the completion of the road to Moscow and the road from Colfax to the Farmington country. Therefore it behooves your people to settle all your difficulties and unite as one in doing everything to get a road to that section of the country."Since receiving your letters I have had an interview with Mr. Smith, president, and some of the directors, and I can tell you that they are not exuberant over building additional roads in Washington Territory or Oregon. But, I think, if in addition to the grading, which your people must agree to do, you will secure subscriptions sufficient to pay for the ties, that they will go ahead and build the road in time for the coming crop. These subscriptions must be in the form of notes, of grain notes, something that they can turn over to a contractor who will have the building of the road, and in that way relieving them of all trouble in collecting the subscriptions."Yours very truly,"E. H. Morrison."
"Dear Sir:
"Your letter received, also one from Doctor Jorgensen, stating that the Garfield County people were willing to furnish the grading in case the O. R. & N. Company would build a road from Starbuck to Pomeroy or Pataha.
"I am sorry that there should be any opposition from the Pomeroy people, as certainly a road to their town would benefit not only the people of that city, but the tributary country. In the first place it is going to be a very difficult matter to interest the company sufficiently to have them build in any event, as there are some branches which they think are of far more importance, such as the completion of the road to Moscow and the road from Colfax to the Farmington country. Therefore it behooves your people to settle all your difficulties and unite as one in doing everything to get a road to that section of the country.
"Since receiving your letters I have had an interview with Mr. Smith, president, and some of the directors, and I can tell you that they are not exuberant over building additional roads in Washington Territory or Oregon. But, I think, if in addition to the grading, which your people must agree to do, you will secure subscriptions sufficient to pay for the ties, that they will go ahead and build the road in time for the coming crop. These subscriptions must be in the form of notes, of grain notes, something that they can turn over to a contractor who will have the building of the road, and in that way relieving them of all trouble in collecting the subscriptions.
"Yours very truly,
"E. H. Morrison."
In July, 1885, C. T. Stiles, Cyrus Davis, Charles Ward, G. A. Sable, N. C. Williams, L. P. Mulkey, F. W. D. Mays, G. A. McCanse, R. M. Smith and A. C. Short, from Pataha City and Pomeroy, were in Walla Walla. This was Saturday. Their object was to hold a conference with railroad officials, and, if possible, induce them to extend the Riparia branch to tap the rich agricultural country of the Pataha. There were over two million bushels of grain to ship from Garfield County; it was impossible for boats on the Snake River to handle such a bulk.
August 10th, H. S. Rowe, general superintendent, and Robert McCleland, chief engineer, of the Oregon Railroad & Navigation Company, accompanied by Dr. Joseph Jorgensen and Frank Paine, of Walla Walla, visited Pomeroy in the interest of a railroad up the Pataha. A mass meeting was held. Mr. Rowe made the definite promise that if the right-of-way was procured, together with necessary depot grounds, the locomotive would enter Pomeroy by January 1, 1886. Here was a proposition far more reasonable than the previous one demanding that the farmers grade and tie the road; it demonstrated that the company was a trifle better "prepared" to extend its lines than it had at first made the farmer believe. Without the shadow of a doubt there had been considerable jockeying on the part of the railway magnates in the preliminary arrangements of the Pataha Creek extension.
By August 15th, the right-of-way from Starbuck to Pomeroy, with one or two minor exceptions, had been granted to Messrs. Scott, Austin, Wilson andLynch. In reality, they had, two years subsequently, secured this right-of-way for what was then called the Starbuck & Pomeroy Road—one of the projects that had failed to materialize. These gentlemen offered to relinquish their claims provided the Oregon Railroad & Navigation Company would construct the line within a specified time; this Mr. Rowe promised should be done. A committee of three, viz.: F. W. D. Mays, W. C. Potter, Dixon Davis, were named to co-operate with the above named four gentlemen, the railway men, forming a committee of the whole, to secure the right-of-way through Pomeroy and negotiate with the owners of the prospective depot grounds as to assessments and valuations of property required to locate the road. Subscriptions were solicited from property holders to defray expenses for securing right-of-way privileges. August 15th theColumbia Chroniclepublished the following:
"Superintendent Rowe, Hon. Joseph Jorgensen and Frank Paine of Walla Walla returned from Pomeroy Wednesday evening, having been to the Pataha country in the interests of the proposed branch railroad up that stream from Starbuck. While there a meeting of citizens was held and the depot grounds selected upon the company's land, one-half mile from Pomeroy. The people had offered $9 per ton for hauling grain to Portland, provided the road was built last season, but it was not thought likely that the company would demand more than the regular rate in such an event. It is thought that the graders on the Moscow branch will be transferred to the Pataha in October, and work on the road begun. The people of Garfield County need a road badly and we hope their efforts to obtain one will be rewarded."
The following telegram was received at Pomeroy Friday morning, October 16, 1885:
"I am instructed to commence work on the Pataha branch as soon as possible, and will commence immediately."H. S. Rowe.""Portland, October 15, 1885."
"I am instructed to commence work on the Pataha branch as soon as possible, and will commence immediately.
"H. S. Rowe."
"Portland, October 15, 1885."
January 9, 1886, construction trains were running within nine miles of Pomeroy; but track laying had ceased for some time past. Difficulty was experienced in getting railroad iron to "the front" fast enough. On the 23rd the track had reached Pomeroy; the railroad "consummation devoutly to be wished" was an accomplished fact. Here the road ceased; it was never extended to Pataha City; Pomeroy became the terminus. November 14, 1885, theEast Washingtonianpublished the following:
"It is a fact that it was only by the 'skin of the teeth' that the people of the county have been assured of the speedy construction of a railroad in our midst. Had not the order to build been given when it was it is not likely that it would have been given for two or three years. It was really against the interests of the Oregon Railroad & Navigation Company to build the Pataha road this fall. Here there was no threatened competition. It would have been much more to their interests to have built the Farmington road first, because the Northern Pacific is competing for the traffic, while here there is no opposition, and no probability of any. It was difficult to get money to build any road, and if the company had constructed the Farmington branch first, they would so far haveexhausted their means that we might have had to wait for years for a road. It was a fortunate thing for our farmers that things took so favorable a turn. We have been assured that the guarantee for the right-of-way and depot grounds had much to do in bringing about this result. In fact, without this guarantee the road would not have been built, and we might have remained for a long time in the same helpless condition we have been in for years. It has cost something, and it will cost more to secure the right-of-way. A bond was given in the sum of $10,000 to secure the right-of-way and depot grounds. Had not a number of our citizens come forward and made this bond, there would not have been a stroke made on this road."
Thus that great need of transportation was met by co-operation of railroad and people. It does not seem likely that the O. R. & N. Co. would have suffered, even if they had met all the expense themselves. Pomeroy has become one of the greatest original grain shipping points in the state, which means in the world. In 1916 there were over a million bushels shipped from the warehouses at Pomeroy.
RIVER IMPROVEMENT
The improvement of the rivers has always been of special interest and importance to Garfield County. Immense quantities of grain are produced in the fertile plains of the northern part of the county. To much of that area the haul to Pomeroy is long and hard and the river is the best resource. For about half the year Snake River is navigable from Asotin to its mouth, and for nine or ten months, from Asotin to Riparia. Steamers of the O. R. & N. Co. have plied regularly for many years on this latter run, gathering up the wheat along the southern shore and conveying it to Riparia whence it went by train to seaboard. It is needless to observe that the railroad is not in business for its health or for gratuitous service and with practically monopoly conditions the freight tariffs were heavy. Hence it was clear that an "Open River" to the sea was of vital importance. Garfield County has therefore borne an active part in the systematic efforts to secure Congressional appropriations for these purposes. In the Legislative sessions of 1907 and 1909, a special effort was made for co-operation by the State of Washington with the Federal Government for improvement of Snake River, with the expectation that the Government would thereby proceed more rapidly with the Celilo Canal, the key to the Open River. Hon. J. R. Stevenson, representing Garfield County in the State Senate, performed a most valuable service in securing appropriations by the state looking to this co-operation. In the face of considerable opposition from portions of the state not directly interested, Senator Stevenson handled the situation with great skill and brought the result to pass which had a decisive bearing upon the Government. For following the successive appropriations by the Legislature the Government, convinced of the need and of the wishes of the people, proceeded to definite and continuous appropriations, culminating in the Celilo Canal in 1915, as detailed in an earlier chapter. For this happy result we are indebted largely to Senator Stevenson. In the House, Hon. W. O. Long of Garfield was equally faithful to the wishes of his constituents, though not in a committee position to exercise the same power.
But the most unique feature of transportation on the rivers is the system ofrunning grain sacks from the highlands, 2,000 feet above sea level, to the river, seven hundred feet or less, above the sea.
In the early '80s Paine Brothers of Walla Walla undertook to run wheat down in a wooden chute and sack it below. This was found impracticable, because of the friction. In 1887 and later a tramway with wooden rails was built about opposite Wawaiwai. In 1891 a much better tramway was built known as the Mayview Tramway, owned by a joint association of farmers. After several accidents and some discouraging experiences the enterprise passed into the hands of John Worum. Both tramways are now owned by Max Houser of Portland. It was found that the chutes either for grain in bulk or in sacks were not practicable on account of friction. But the tramways, one of them using buckets and the other cars, after some losses, have proved a great success. The cost of operation is small, as the weight of the descending cars of buckets lifts the empty ones, and a vast amount of grain is lowered by them to the steamers. The tramway at Ilia handles about one hundred and fifty thousand bushels annually, and the one at Mayview about two hundred and fifty thousand.
The grain business, nearly equally divided in some years between wheat and barley, but in recent times with much more wheat, has been the leading source of income. Two large and well equipped mills, one at Pataha and one at Pomeroy, furnish constant centers of activity. Both these are owned by Houser. Mr. Fred Matthes is manager of the Pomeroy Mill, and Wm. Houser of the Pataha Mill.
THE STOCK INTERESTS
While the grain business is now foremost, Garfield County started as a stock country and even yet has important stock interests. A valuable article on the stock interests by J. O. Long appeared in the Pioneer Edition of theWashingtonian, and it is worthy of permanent preservation. We insert it here:
"Stock raising was the first remunerative industry of Garfield County, and the first settlers believed that stock raising would be the only industry that would pay them best for their labor.
Parson Quinn was one of the first settlers. In 1862 he settled on the place that Gilbert Dickson now owns, and started in the horse business. Soon after William McEnnery, Frank and Archie McBrearty and others settled along the lower Pataha and brought with them small bunches of cattle.
J. M. Pomeroy settled where the city that bears his name now stands, in 1864, and brought with him 140 head of cattle which he drove from Salem, Oregon, over the Barlow route to The Dalles, and on up the Columbia.
The Owsleys came in '68 and brought with them fifteen head of cattle and a few horses.
Mack Tatman settled on the Tatman Gulch in 1869, and launched into the cattle business. Newt. Estes, about this time, settled on the Deadman and became the largest cattle owner in what is now Garfield County. All of the early pioneers settled along the streams where they fed.
It was thought at that time that the hills you now see growing such bountiful crops of wheat and barley were fit for nothing but grazing. When we came, in 1873, they told us we couldn't raise anything on the old Pataha Flat. In '73we found the western portion of the county well stocked with cattle and horses, but the eastern part was sparsely settled, and there were very few cattle and horses.
At this time a few sheep were ranged, but in a few years the sheep men began to come in—Charles Seeley, the Logans, Charles McCabe and, a little later, J. H. Walker, but the sheep industry did not grow to any great extent in this county. Cattle was the main industry up to '90, when it began to decline.
From 1873 to 1880 the hills began to settle rapidly, the '70s bringing such stock men as Tom Burlingame, the Buchets, Williams, Bentley, Pings, Johnny Lynn, Brown and Wellers. Some of these men acquired large herds. I have no way of knowing the number of stock when the industry was at its zenith, but we had lots of cattle to drive and ship out.
The first buyer to come to Garfield County operated on the Tucanon, near Marengo, about '76 or '77, and the price paid was fourteen to sixteen dollars for two year old steers, and about eighteen to twenty dollars for threes. They drove them East, taking one more years to make the trip.
J. M. Pomeroy was the first to bring in good stock. In the bunch of 140 head were some of the best Shorthorns, or Durhams, as they were then called, that ever came to this county. People bought and sold "Pomeroy Durhams" for forty years. Perhaps a large portion of the readers will remember the roan Shorthorns that Vannattan had on his place below town, when he sold his ranch to Campbell & Sanford in 1902. They were descendants of the Pomeroy roan Durhams. Perhaps the majority of the people living here now do not realize what a stock county this was in the '70s.
I remember in the summer of '75 or '76 Mr. William Cluster, my father and myself, then a boy, came down the Benjamin Gulch to the Pataha looking after our stock. We forded the creek about where the park is now, and a little way from the creek stood a little log cabin, and in the doorway stood Charles McCabe, then a young man. We inquired after our brands and marks, and came on down the north side of the creek, my father and Mr. Cluster riding along the road and I galloping back and forth from bluff to creek, scaring the cattle out of the grass so we could see the brands and marks. We took dinner with Mr. and Mrs. Pomeroy in the old log cabin that stood for many years afterwards in the lower part of town, and while we partook of fried trout and other good things that the pioneer wives knew so well how to prepare the men discussed the Roan Shorthorns.
To illustrate what grass we had here in those days, I will repeat what Pearl Smith once said. He wanted to make a trip across the Snake River, and he had heard so much about the Alpowa he decided to go that way. He dropped down on the creek about where Vint. Gilbert's place is now and went on down. When he returned he was asked what he thought of the Alpowa, and said, 'Those hills reach from hell to heaven, with bunch grass from top to bottom.'
Garfield County never contained very large stock owners. Newt. Estes was cattle king with something like one thousand five hundred head. J. H. Walker owned the largest band of horses, and George Gibson was the largest sheep raiser. The Owsleys at one time owned 750 cattle and a good many horses. Mack Tatman at one time had 400 or 500 head of cattle, and Tom Burlingame 350.
In 1888 Mat Dixon, Moffat Williams and Dave Dixon bought and drove to Pataha Flat 512 head of cattle. This was the first large importation of cattle to this county.
About this time, or a few years before, most of the large holders began to cut down their herds, and some quit entirely. Among them were Melton, Freeman, Estes and Tatman, and, after a few years, Rafferty and Bill Kelly practically quit.
The horse industry of the country did not take much change from cow pony or cayuse till about 1880. A 1,000 pound horse was considered a good one, and a horse that wore an eighteen inch collar was a large one. Mr. Ford, who lived on the flat, bought a large Percheron, and a year later Tucker bought a grade Clyde, and our horses began to increase in size, and it wasn't long till the 1,000 pound horse and the eighteen inch collar were things of the past. The draft horse is here and as good as any county can boast of. We now have 6,581 taxable horses.
We didn't raise many hogs till the railroad was built to Dayton. Prior to that a few put up bacon and hauled it to Lewiston. After the road reached Pomeroy people began to raise more hogs, and according to the assessor's roll we have 5,254.
The sheep industry has held its own and we now have in the county 11,657, owned principally by Charles Dodge, Weller Live Stock Co., Clayton, Palmer, and J. O. Long. Part of the Palmer herd are assessed in Asotin County. The farmers are now taking up sheep husbandry on their own farms, and we look for sheep and hogs to increase, and horses to hold their own. The cattle industry is still on the decline, as the roll shows only 5,181 head milch cows included, and a thousand or more were brought in to be fattened. As our pasture land increases in value the people will discard the cow for the ewe and mare."
THUS MUCH FOR LIVE STOCK, AND NOW FOR SCHOOLS
The schools of any American community must always be accorded a place of first importance. While our space does not permit extended details, we must make mention of the beginnings in this vital feature of the life of the county.
The first school seems to have been the Owsley School, five miles below Pomeroy, built in 1872. At that time the children of the Pomeroy family were the only ones in the future town to go to school. As other families came in the need of another school was manifest, and a new building was completed in 1879 on what subsequently became the home of Mr. Benbow. That building was paid for by private subscription, Mr. B. B. Day being the largest contributor. There were about fifty pupils in that first Pomeroy School, and from the names the first families can be noted, there being representatives of the Pomeroy, Heaton, Rew, Milan, Potter, Hull, Dyer, James, Owsley and Benjamin families. Mr. and Mrs. De Bow were the first teachers.
In 1873 the first school district on the Pataha Flat was organized by a meeting of the settlers at the blacksmith shop belonging to George Gill. The first teacher was William Butler. The pupils met first in a little log cabin, but in 1874 a schoolhouse was built.
Such was the inauguration of the school system of Garfield County and of Pomeroy. The first school in Pataha City was started in 1878 with twenty pupils and the first teacher was Mr. Ogleby. The limits of space forbid us to do more than touch upon the chief stages of subsequent growth. It may be said that several of the Pomeroy and Pataha teachers have attained high rank in their profession in other parts of the state, and that the school system of Pomeroy, including the high school, has made an enviable reputation for breadth and thoroughness of instruction. That condition in the chief town has had a tonic effect upon the country schools. In 1889 the first considerable school building in Pomeroy was erected at a cost of $10,000 and Mr. Brown became first principal. Mr. Yerkes followed and under his regime a high school with a three year course was established. The principals following Mr. Yerkes were: J. A. Fertig, E. V. Kuykendall, D. E. Schnebley, Walter Lingenfelter, H. C. Benbow, C. H. Knaff, A. Kuykendall, R. R. Grant, and in the year 1910, the position of city superintendent was created, with C. C. Ockerman as incumbent. He was followed in 1912 by E. W. Collier who still holds the place. A large addition to the school building was made in 1905, and in 1916 the present elegant and well equipped high school building was opened. Through the courtesy of Miss Belva Ball, county superintendent, we are enabled to present the following data, covering the statistics of last year both for the county and for Pomeroy.
There have been forty-five districts in the county, numbered consecutively from one to forty-four. There is also Dist. 100 in Pomeroy. Several numbers have dropped out, through reorganization. These are Nos. 2, 15, 22, 25, 27, 30, 38 and 40.
No. 11 is Pomeroy. The teaching force in this district consists at the present date of Prof. E. W. Collier, Jessie Campbell, Ella Fisk, Emma Spenger, Charlotte Marshall, Mrs. Laura Davison, Gertrude Wilson, Dessa M. King, Jennie Dean, C. B. Lindahl, Mabel Owen, H. C. Hayes, Marie Schmidt, Brightie Considine, A. S. Kubitz, Mamie McCoy.
The total assessed valuation of the county by current report is $4,192,340. That of the school property, including grounds, buildings, and equipment, is $370,240.
The total school enrollment is 1,074, the school census is 1,339. The enrollment of the Pomeroy High School is 120. This is an accredited school. The school at Pataha has one year high school work. The total number of teachers in the county is fifty-five.
TOWNS OF GARFIELD COUNTY
From the foregoing glances at the history of the county we turn to that of the towns. Although, as we have seen, a number of towns were founded, having county seat ambitions and great expectations, only two were incorporated, Pomeroy and Pataha City, and of these the latter surrendered its charter, and hence Pomeroy is the only place that maintains a corporate existence.
By the courtesy of theEast Washingtonianwe gather the following data about the founding of Pomeroy.
"The idea of converting his property here into a city first occurred to Mr. Pomeroy and took definite shape in 1877. At this time William C. Potter camewith some money and induced Mr. Pomeroy to join him in a flouring mill enterprise to be operated by power furnished by water from the Pataha Creek. To this project Mr. Pomeroy contributed liberally and the mill was built and the town started.
"The townsite plat of Pomeroy was filed for record May 28, 1878. Those who platted the town were Joseph M. Pomeroy, Martha J. Pomeroy, Benjamin B. Day and Minnie A. Day. It is located on the east half of the south half of the southwest quarter of section 31, and the west half of the south half of the southeast quarter of section 31, in township 12 north, range 42 east.
"Additions since that time: Wilson's by E. T. Wilson and J. M. Pomeroy, June 13, 1882.
"Day's by Minnie A. Day and B. B. Day, August 12, 1882.
"Pomeroy's, by Martha J. St. George and William S. Day, September 20, 1881.
"Mulkey's, by Logan P. Mulkey and Charles J. Mulkey, November 14, 1882.
"Darby's, by Walter L. Darby, August 14, 1884.
"Depot, by the Columbia Valley Land & Investment Company, April 30, 1886.
"Potter's, by William C. Potter, August 25, 1887.
"E. M. Pomeroy's, by E. M. Pomeroy, November 28, 1892.
"Crystal Spring, by S. G. Cosgrove, July 28, 1902.
"Highland, by H. C. Benbow and E. V. Kuykendall, July 9, 1902.
"Stephens', by Frank C. Stephens, March 29, 1904.
"The growth of Pomeroy continued to be particularly rapid. In March, 1879, we find the following business houses in the pretty little town: B. B. Day, general merchandise, and grist mill; Mulkey Brothers, hardware and tinware; Frary & Williams, drug store; G. A. Sawyer, Pomeroy Hotel; Calaway Brothers, livery stable; Scholl Brothers, brewery.
"The first meeting of the Pomeroy common council was held Wednesday, February 10, 1886. The officers named in the charter were J. M. Pomeroy, mayor; and C. B. Foote, John Brady, W. J. Schmidt, R. A. Rew and Jay Lynch, councilmen. At the first meeting, however, R. A. Rew tendered his resignation and S. G. Cosgrove was appointed in his place. Frank E. Williamson was selected by the council as city recorder. At the second meeting February 11, Mr. Williamson tendered his resignation as clerk. The following officers were appointed by the city council at this meeting: Recorder, C. H. DeBow; attorney, M. F. Gose; justice of the peace, W. S. Newland; marshal, G. D. Gibson.
"The initial city election held in Pomeroy was on Monday, July 12th. Officers appointed for the supervision of the election were D. C. Gardner and David Dixon, judges; W. S. Newland, inspector, and I. C. Sanford and Frank Jackson, clerks. There were two tickets in the field, the People's ticket, with Elmon Scott for mayor; John Brady, William J. Schmidt, George Gibson, David Dixon and Dirk Zemel, for councilmen, and the Citizens' ticket with M. F. Gose for mayor, and C. A. McCabe, D. C. Gardner, S. K. Hull, Jay Lynch and R. B. Porter for councilmen. There were cast 218 votes with the following result. Mayor, Elmon Scott, seventeen majority; councilmen John Brady, C. A. McCabe, D. C. Gardner, S. K. Hull and Jay Lynch.
"In August, 1887, the leading citizens of Pomeroy filed articles with the county auditor incorporating the 'Pomeroy Improvement Company.' The object of this organization was to improve the town. The original capital stock was $15,000 with the privilege of increasing this to $25,000. Forty per cent was paid in at its inception. Following were the officers and stockholders: G. B. Kuykendall, president; S. G. Crandall, vice president; W. F. Noffsinger, secretary; T. Driscoll, treasurer; C. A. McCabe, H. C. Thompson, C. H. Seeley, trustees. The stockholders were C. A. McCabe, S. G. Crandall, M. F. Gose, F. W. D. Mays, J. M. Hunt, Charles Kinzie, W. S. Parker, F. E. Williamson, G. W. Black, J. G. Hughes, T. Driscoll, H. C. Thompson, W. N. Noffsinger, John Brady, G. B. Kuykendall, John Rehorn, Charles H. Seeley, G. L. Campbell, Elmon Scott, R. L. Rush, W. J. Schmidt, Herman H. Schlotfeldt, H. Darby, J. A. Darby, and W. L. Darby.
"The permanent organization of the Pomeroy Fire Department was effected at a meeting of citizens held July 23, 1887. A constitution and by-laws were adopted and the following officers elected: M. F. Gose, president; J. M. Hunt, vice president; C. H. Seeley, treasurer; J. W. Rafferty, secretary; John Rehorn, foreman; H. St. George, first assistant; Charles Kinzie, second assistant. The enrolled membership was over thirty. Late in that year the department purchased a hook and ladder truck and a hose cart.
"The first brick building in the City of Pomeroy was erected in the fall of 1887. This was the First National Bank of Pomeroy; the cost was $20,000. This was followed by the Seeley block, which, while less costly, was not inferior in point of architectural beauty to the bank building.
"The first conflagration of importance following the organization of the fire department in 1887 attacked Pomeroy Thursday morning, February 6, 1890. The fire broke out near the dividing wall between J. H. Hagy's boot and shoe shop and the dry goods store belonging to S. Kasper on Main Street.
"In October, 1890, Company H National Guard of Washington was mustered into service.
"There were forty-three men in line; officers were: Captain, Harry St. George; first lieutenant, Elmer R. Brady; second lieutenant, J. W. Murphy. The company was mustered on October 2d, by Captain Wise, of Goldendale.
"The greatest fire known in the history of the town occurred July 18, 1890, when the business portion of the town east of Third Street was swept away. The Garfield County Courthouse was destroyed entailing a public loss of $10,000.
"In 1898 the City of Pomeroy had a population of 1,500, and the volume of business done was estimated at one million dollars annually."
During all the time from the establishment of the city, it remained under the Territorial charter of 1886. But on May 28, 1917, an election was held for the purpose of voting upon a new charter. It had become plain that the old charter was no longer adapted to the growing city and hence the change was made by general consent. A primary election for officers for the new government was held on July 30th, and on August 27th, the election took place. As a result of this election the city government under the new charter was duly inaugurated.
With the officers of the new government it is fitting that those of the outgoingbe named. They were as follows: Mayor, Fred Matthes; councilmen, C. S. Black, W. A. DeBow, O. S. Williamson, D. E. Smith, and R. Hender. Clerk, Harry St. George. The officers under the new government are: Mayor, C. E. Kuykendall; councilmen, first ward, W. F. Taylor, George Engleson; second ward, B. Y. Rainey, J. D. Lyon; third ward, J. O. Long; fourth ward, F. M. Robinson; councilman at large, H. B. Henley; city attorney, A. G. Farley; city treasurer, W. B. Morris; city clerk, D. A. Taylor.
HISTORY OF BUSINESS HOUSES
We find in the special number of theEast Washingtonianso valuable a resume of the history of business houses of Pomeroy, including reference to Pataha, that we add it to the excerpts which we have the privilege to use.
This is by a man peculiarly qualified to write, J. J. McGrath, written in the year 1914:
"The leading general merchandise stores here twenty-seven years ago were Brady and Rush, B. Cohn & Co. and Ben Hirsch & Co. The leading grocery was Dirk Zemel; hardware, H. Darby & Sons; jewelry, McCabe & Whitcomb; shoe store, J. H. Hagy; furniture, Vassar & Sacknitz; bakery, George Eller; harness, C. Ed Moore and W. W. Swank; drug stores, Central Drug Store and I. C. Sanford & Co.
"There were a few smaller stores, among them being Doctor Storey's second-hand store and dental parlor.
"Soon after this Ben Hirsch closed out and S. Kasper opened a store.
"On September 1, 1887, I entered the employment of E. L. Hemingway, at Ilia, who conducted a general merchandise store, and grain warehouse. Mr. Hemingway established these houses some years before the railroad was built to Pomeroy, and did a large business, people from miles around coming to Ilia to trade. Many came fifteen and eighteen miles to purchase their supplies at the Hemingway store. There are but few people living in the county that were customers of the Hemingway store in 1889.
"Two years later I became connected with the store of B. Cohn & Co., of Pomeroy. In 1892 we incorporated the Pomeroy Mercantile Company, and purchased the merchandise from B. Cohn & Co. The first stockholders were B. Cohn, C. H. Seeley, M. F. Gose, G. L. Campbell, P. O. Seeley, M. A. Dunham, J. A. Strain, D. B. Williams and J. J. McGrath.
"Many pioneers will remember some of the stockholders with pleasure. Some have been very successful in the financial world. In 1912 the Mercantile Company purchased the stock, fixtures and real estate from the Pomeroy Mercantile Company. The stockholders of the new company are C. H. Seeley, R. E. Allen, J. F. Burr, Mrs. J. B. Warren and J. J. McGrath.
"The firm of Brady & Rush changed to R. L. Rush & Co. in 1890, F. J. Elsensohn and J. B. Brady becoming junior members. Later R. L. Rush sold his interest to his partners and took the presidency of the Pomeroy State Bank, and the firm name was changed to Brady & Elsensohn until J. B. Brady sold his interest to F. J. Elsensohn. Mr. Elsensohn continued the business under his own name until he incorporated the Fred J. Elsensohn Co. Two years later he sold the business to J. N. Cardwell & Sons, who consolidated it with their business.
"E. W. Wilson and Mrs. M. Gibson came here in November, 1879, and opened a store in the Dirk Zemel Building. A year later fire and water nearly destroyed their stock, and the remainder was sold to D. Zemel.
"Dirk Zemel's grocery store was purchased by Allen & Adams in 1890. This firm came here from Pataha City and opened a store, later purchasing the Zemel store and consolidating them. Mr. Adams is now conducting the grocery store. Mr. Allen is vice president and stockholder in the Mercantile Company.
"About twenty-two years ago, C. H. Mowrey, with A. L. Darby, purchased the hardware business of H. Darby & Sons, and formed a partnership under the name of Darby & Mowrey, which business they have successfully conducted up to the present time.
"In the jewelry business, both C. A. McCabe and L. J. Whitcomb are dead. Both will be remembered by all old-timers as kind-hearted, honest men. In the last ten years two new jewelry stores have taken their place—L. T. Christopherson and George Simenstad, owners. Both carry large and up-to-date stocks.
"J. H. Hagy sold his shoe store about ten years ago to Powell & Taylor. Later Mr. Powell sold his interest to Taylor Bros., and later D. A. Taylor assumed management of the store and his brother opened a store at Pasco.
"Sacknitz purchased the furniture business from Vassar, and the latter moved away for a time, returning and opening a store under the name of Williamson & Vassar, and later Vassar & Son, who are now conducting the furniture and undertaking business.
"The Central Drug Store, owned and operated by Doctor Kuykendall, was purchased by his son, C. E. Kuykendall, about ten years ago. He is doing business where his father did twenty-seven years ago. The East End Drug Store was sold by I. C. Sanford & Co. to Doctor Black & Son, and later to M. A. Black. Now it is owned by Crump & Dill.
"In 1892 L. F. Koenig sold his interest in the business conducted under the name of Koenig & Bournhouser, in Pataha, and, with O. S. Williamson, opened a store here under the name of L. F. Koenig & Co. This store has been very successful and is operated today under the above name, with E. J. Williamson associated with them.
"J. N. Cardwell & Sons opened a general merchandise store here sixteen years ago, and later purchased the merchandise stock from Fred J. Elsensohn Co., and consolidated the two stores.
"In the spring of 1890, J. S. Thomas, J. S. Davis and H. M. Hathaway organized a hardware store under the name of J. S. Davis & Co. Later the business was purchased by R. E. Wills, C. P. Gammon and J. R. Stevenson, under the name of C. P. Gammon & Co., and later Wills & Stevenson. About fifteen years ago Mr. Stevenson bought Mr. Wills' interest in the business and has since conducted it very successfully.
"In 1890 C. A. Lundy and E. M. Rauch incorporated under the name of C. A. Lundy & Co., and opened a grain and real estate business. Later they dissolved the corporation and Mr. Lundy moved to Lewiston. Mr. Rauch then opened a hardware and implement house, which business he conducts at present.
"About fifteen years ago Mr. J. P. Ford, who at one time previous had been manager for an implement house here, returned and formed a partnership with J. R. Stevenson and opened an implement house. Later he purchased hispartner's interest and conducted a very successful business. He sold to Morris & Tewalt, later Mr. Morris purchased the interest of Mr. Tewalt, and became sole owner. He has since enlarged the business, adding furniture and hardware in connection with the implement business. Later he purchased the stock of the Pomeroy Implement Co.
"About twelve years ago Ward & Meyers bought the hardware business of James Hazelton, and a short time afterwards took in T. B. McKeirnan and conducted two stores. Mr. Ward sold his interest to Mr. Meyers, and later the business was purchased by R. J. McKeirnan, J. C. McKeirnan, B. L. Keatts and W. L. Meyers, and implements and hardware were added. Later R. J. McKeirnan bought Mr. Meyers' interest. W. L. Meyers then opened a new harness store.
"About fifteen years ago H. Wenning opened a bakery and grocery, and conducted it until two years ago, when he sold to S. L. Nicholson, who has since managed it.
"A number of pioneers in business not mentioned in the above, who sold their stores and moved away were: Foote & Hull, who were among the earliest business men; George Eller, Hayden Gearhardt, J. D. Tyrell, DeBow, Pomeroy Hardware & Implement Co."
PATAHA CITY
From Pomeroy we turn to its one time rival, three miles up the valley. Pataha City was laid out in 1878 by Angevine J. Favor. In 1882 W. W. Rigsby added to the townsite the tract known as Rigsby's addition. A. F. Beal made the survey of the new town. It was at first called "Favorsburg" and afterwards "Watertown." One of the most important events was the sale of a water right for a flour mill from a large spring south of the town by Cassander Woolery to J. M. Bowman and George Snyder. This was subsequently acquired by John Houser and became one of the most important mill properties in the state.
The Charter of Pataha City was granted by Judge W. G. Langford on April 3, 1888. As indicating the established residents of the town the list of those petitioning for the charter possesses historical interest: J. H. Walker, A. J. Favor, G. D. Wilson, John Harford, John Houser, H. B. Ferguson, W. J. Wills, B. Steele, H. L. Caples, Thomas Cunningham, C. A. Lundy, Robert Gammon, J. S. Dennison, A. McQueen, W. B. Wetzel, A. E. Allen, T. W. Shannon, Elmer Sage, R. M. Smith, Peter Cook, H. C. Krouse, H. Lanning, L. F. Koenig, R. Bornhouser, Charles Ward.
The first meeting of the board of trustees of Pataha was held in Harford & Son's bank, on April 12, 1888. John Harford was mayor, and the councilmen were: John Houser, A. J. Favor, J. H. Walker and G. D. Wilson. H. B. Ferguson was clerk of the board. H. C. Krouse was the city marshal, E. D. Briggs superintendent of streets, and E. C. Harford treasurer.
One of the bitterest contests ever held in Pataha was over the question of prohibition. There was an election under the local option law in June, 1886. In the issue of theEast Washingtonianof July 3d, there is a very grave charge against the judges of election, in effect that they allowed foul play with the ballot boxes during the noon recess, as a result of which eighty-two "wet" ballots were deposited in a bunch. It was matter of common knowledge thatthe "drys" were in a majority in the town, and so extraordinary a result could not fail to excite suspicion. The effort in the interest of the "wets" was unavailing and the entire county finally became dry. On April 7, 1893, a great catastrophe befell the town, for on that day came a fire which destroyed the larger part of the business portion. That was in the very hardest part of the "hard times." The year 1894 was indeed a black year, worse for Garfield County than for Walla Walla and Columbia, for they, being older, had more accumulations to fall back on. Wheat was bringing only 25 or 30 cents a bushel, and a good part of the crop of 1893 had been destroyed by continued rain. In 1894 came the "Great Flood," railroad strikes, bank failures and general chaos in the business world. Among other banks, that of Harford & Son at Pataha closed its doors. Pataha was manifestly on the down grade as a town. It was and is a beautiful and fertile spot and is now fulfilling its mission in the world as a central point of farming production. In April 10, 1911, the question of disincorporation was submitted to vote and by nearly a unanimous decision the charter was surrendered and Pataha ceased to be an incorporation. The business men mainly moved to Pomeroy or elsewhere and the Houser Mill alone remained in undiminished vitality.
The churches of Garfield County and Pomeroy are entitled to a place in any historic review.
The first church organization in the county seems to have been effected in 1878, by Father Peter Paaps, of the Catholic Church on land donated by J. M. Pomeroy and C. A. McCabe. This church has been maintained to this day, and with it a parochial school, conducted at present by the Benedictine Sisters. The present pastor of the Catholic Church is Father Peter Taufen.
The first Methodist preacher in Garfield County was Rev. George W. Kennedy, already spoken of in the chapter on Columbia County. He first came in 1874. Then a year later came Rev. A. J. Joslyn, whose home was in Dayton. There was no church organized as yet. In 1878 Rev. C. E. Rigsby established preaching places at a number of points, the schoolhouses or private residences furnishing meeting places. Two years later Rev. D. E. George took up the work, and he is remembered as a typical pioneer preacher. The first Methodist Church in Pomeroy was built in 1884 during the pastorate of Rev. W. T. Koontz. A number of pastors followed, the last of whom was Rev. A. Monroe. During his time a parsonage was built.
The first Baptist Church was organized on June 3, 1888, by Rev. J. H. Teale, then general missionary for Eastern Washington and Northern Idaho. Rev. S. E. Stearns became the first pastor. The church building was erected in 1895, being dedicated on March 29, 1895, by Rev. A. M. Allyn. Rev. John Cashman was pastor during that period. During the pastorate of Rev. W. E. Sawyer the parsonage was erected. Rev. C. S. Treadwell was pastor from March, 1912, to April, 1914. The church has not a settled pastor at the date of this publication.
Turning to the Christian Church, we find that the first services in the name of that fellowship were conducted in 1886 by Principal Wolverton of the Dayton schools. On November 20, 1887, "Brother" J. B. Daisley organized a church of twenty-five members. Like other early congregations they held services in store buildings, schoolhouses, courthouse, or almost any available shelter. In 1889, a house of worship was erected on a lot donated by Gilbert Dickson, and this was dedicated by "Brother" N. B. Alley in that year. The present pastor is Rev. R. Tibbs Maxey.